0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Celestion G12H-75 Creamback 12" 75-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Celestion G12H-75 Creamback 12" 75-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Questions about the Celestion G12H-75 Creamback 12" 75-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Scotland UK March 1, 2017

    great speaker

    I put this in a line 6 spider 111. The best investment I have ever made. It out does the line 6 celestion easily.I feel like I have purchased a far more expensive amp. I have only used it once will update later when i have put it through its paces more.

  • from January 24, 2017Music Background:
    60's to 80's Classic to Hard Rock

    75w Creamback

    I have a pair in a 2x12 wired for a 16ohm load to use with my Marshall circuits.
    These speakers required very little break in time as they sounded good out the box
    and now sound even better as they have warmed up a bit. Much more rounded than a V30.
    They retain a nice chime even with heavy gain settings and no flubby bass at high volumes.
    I'm purchasing two more to mix with V30's in a 4x12 as they did work well together in my 2x12.

  • from OK - Oklahoma October 6, 2016

    Amazing!!!!!

    I've been playing 37 years... And know "THE" sound... Right now I put these in a 65 RI Fender Twin with the David Hicks Fender Mender Module (friggin amazing cannot buy these ANYMORE). running the TC Nova system And EMG's in my Les Paul and SG Standard
    Amazing compared to stock Jensons. Killer distortion single note clarity ..cleans perfect...can't wait to here these live and recorded!!!!

  • from STOW, OH August 23, 2016

    Perfection

    What a fantastic sounding speaker this is. Just has that great old tone I think of when I think Celestion. Cream, Allman Brothers, Zeppelin. Yeah that tone. Very balanced tone. No weird peaks or valleys. Has highs but they are sweet, not brittle. Plus it handles 75 watts so it is perfect for most 1X12 combos. I can't even imagine anybody who likes Celestion speakers wouldn't LOVE this speaker.

  • from Boston May 27, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Sounds Fantastic

    I put this in a Line 6 Spider IV 75, and it's a huge, YUGE (ha ha) improvement over the stock Celestion. Way more note definition on the overdrive sounds; I found I had to turn the gain/drive up about 10% on some of the overdrive sounds because of the fact that it sounded so much cleaner; and also turned down some of the bass and treble settings as the speaker performs better than the original in those frequencies. Again, the clarity of the notes in chords when using overdrive, and with really saturated distortion tones is vastly improved. It's a pretty big investment for a $300-400 amp, but with this speaker, it will sound like a $1000 amp. I have an Orange Rockerverb to compare it to, and though it's not as good, it definitely holds it's own against it now. I should add that I built my sounds from the ground up, and the overdrive sound I use is actually one of the clean (green) amp sounds with their classic distortion pedal fx. I also use the metal red setting for high gain distortion.
    Anyway, this speaker is a great match for the Line 6 Spider 75.

  • from O'Fallon, MO January 19, 2015Music Background:
    I've played guitar for 54 years, have played in bands, worked as a guitar teacher both in stores and in the students home, have written and recorded music and currently have retired to to my home where I still write and play and do equipment reviews

    Celestion G12H-75 Creamback. Freakin' Killer !!!

    I've been playing a very long time and have owned a multitude of amps and speaker cabinets. Altec, Electro-Voice, Jensen, JBL Celestion, Eminence and Weber speakers have all had both good and less than good product offerings. The new Celestion G12H-75 Creamback is an especially good speaker and, in my opinion, for it's build purpose of bringing G12H tone to those needing a speaker that can handle a much higher wattage, it's excellent at delivering what the buyer is hoping for.
    My personal favorite speakers, to show where my head's at are, in no particular order, Eminence 12" Wizards and 10" Ragin' Cajuns, EVM 12L's, JBL D120 and Celestion's Heritage G12H 55Hz and 75Hz, G12H Anniversary, Vintage 30, Alnico Blue, Alnico Gold and 10" G10 Alnico Gold.
    My reason for purchasing the new G12H-75? I own a wonderful hand wired 60 watt Fender Concert 1 X 12" combo built in 1984. I wanted to pair it up for some stereo applications with my Tony Bruno Underground 30, (approx 38 watts). The Bruno is a 2 X 12" and, in my case, sports an Alnico Blue paired with a G12H Anniversary. After ready the specs on the G12H-75 I thought I'd give it a shot. It actually worked out much better than I'd hoped. The higher wattage capability causes the G12H-75 to be a bit darker than the G12H Anniversary and has a fuller, somewhat thicker sound quality to it. It actually compares quite favorably to the combined tonality of the G12H Anniversary and Alnico Blue used together and this is exactly what I was going for. I needed a speaker that could, by itself, stand up to the 60 watt RMS rated Fender Concert. Considering the limited number of speakers up to the task I don't think I could have made a better choice.
    A little icing for the cake ..... the Celestion G12H-75 has 8 mounting holes that matched up perfectly with the 8 mounting screws in the Fender Concert cab. The label on the speaker magnet is cocked a bit to the right but no one's going to know. Many speakers today sport 4 instead of 8 holes and it's a pain to either cut off four mounting screws or drill four mounting holes in a brand new speaker, (returns can be a bitch).
    I've now had time to use the G12H-75 both for it's original purpose as well as in the Fender Concert as a stand alone amp and truly couldn't be more impressed. The G12H-75 is not vintage Fender voiced but the 1984 Fender Concert had traded it's original "'60s Concert" second channel for a higher gain channel to fit the times and, for those times in the mid 1980's, the Celestion G12H-75 is absolutely perfect. Had it been around in 1984 I would have to believe it would have been Fenders speaker of choice for the Fender Concert 1 X 12" combo.

  • from Decatur IL January 10, 2015Music Background:
    touring, recording, writing and living it...

    RESPONSIVE

    This thing kills... I replace a Celestion G12s-50 in a Laney AOR 30 I bought on line. The speaker that was in the amp turned to mush on the low end. I read some reviews of the 75 and they were favorable in general. Saw one or two that said the high end was too much. I found the G12H-75 to respond to the amps tone controls perfectly. I used to run greenbacks in a 1960TV and loved the sound, but the 75 lit up this little combo unbelievably. Only had a few minutes with it but I can't wait for more...

  • from Nashville, TN May 26, 2014Music Background:
    singer/songwriter and guitarist for Michael McDonald.

    Great speakers!

    I recently bought a new Fender Vintage "65 Twin Reverb reissue that came with stock Jensens. My guitar tech told me about these Creambacks and they sounded like they might work with a Twin. They're really smooth and clean and handle the power of the Twin great. I LOVE THESE SPEAKERS! And the great thing is, our House Engineer loves the sound as well. Highly endorse these speakers!

  • from Hinckley, MN USA December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Recording artist, musician, weekend warrior for 25+ years.

    Excellent speaker

    Set two of these in my 2x12 cabinet and hooked up my Carvin V3m head. Sounded like a chain saw buzzing, and the clear channel is fantastic as well.

  • from Lamar, MO November 8, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Guitar/Bass player

    One Bad @ss Revealing Speaker!

    This is one amazing sounding speaker! Extremely articulate highs and defining lows. I was worried that it wouldn't carry the mids i was looking for, but its still extremely smooth in that respect. Swapped this one out for the stock speaker in my 1x12 Line 6 DT cab and it sounded so much fuller and richer, like a blanket was taken off the amp...If your considering a speaker upgrade this one is truly a no-brainer!

  • from Dallas, TX June 15, 2015

    Just Right....

    I am pretty picky about my sound and gear, and have spent a great deal of time listening to sound files of a number of different speaker brands and models. This G12H-75 sounded like it was on the mark to what I was after, but I have found that you really can't make that final conclusion until you hear it in person. I am very pleased with this speaker, and find that it appears to be the "happy medium" to all sound qualities: Good low end but not overwhelming, very good clean sound, the drive sound is great and not too raspy. It is a well rounded sound!

Questions about the Celestion G12H-75 Creamback 12" 75-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway