rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Celestion G10 Gold 10" 40-Watt Alnico Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm Reviews

5.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Celestion G10 Gold 10" 40-Watt Alnico Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Questions about the Celestion G10 Gold 10" 40-Watt Alnico Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from June 3, 2017

    Celestion G10 Gold

    I bought a Princeton Reverb that was gutted and re-wired with a hand wired Mojo Tone Princeton Reverb kit. It still had the stock speaker though. It wasn't bad tone, just flabby above 6. The gold delivered just what I wanted. I can crank it to 10, it sounds tight and it's not even broke in yet.

  • from April 28, 2017

    Quality-Tone

    I put this speaker in my Silverface 1981 Fender Princeton Reverb and my search is now over. Incredible tone!

  • from Alabama April 2, 2017

    Smooth low end. Big sound.

    Put this is a fender pro jr amp. (Had to remove the back plastic "bell housing" to get it to fit.)
    This speaker made a huge difference in sound. Highly recommend to get better low end response out of a small amp.

  • from Los Angeles January 31, 2017Music Background:
    Gigging Guitar Player

    Great Speaker

    This is a fantastic speaker. It's like a 10" Alnico Blue that you can use without worrying about going over 15 watts.
    I purchased one from Sweetwater for my 65 Princeton Reverb RI and it kills in this amp. Beats the pants of the Jensen P10Q reissue that came stock.
    I think these are quite possibly the best Alnico based speakers currently in production.

  • from California September 26, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist, church worship, varies gigs and jams

    Gold star rated

    Since discovering the Celestion Gold of which I now have in my Vibrolux, Princeton, Blues Junior, and 65 Deluxe Reverb I have the tone I've been looking for. The clarity, punch, ability to get driven and hold each note, strum, power chord with a full bouquet of sound makes the Gold speaker worth the investment. I have honestly had people ce up to see my amp and the setting I use always commenting on the tone. I suppose I'm a Celestion snob now and super happy to say so. Highly recommend if your looking for a great sounding speaker

  • from California September 4, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Church contemporary and traditional worship, blues, 60-70's rock

    Gold Rush (continues)

    Just purchased a set of Celestion Gold10's for my Vibrolux Reverb Reissue. Wasn't pleased with the tone coming out of the amp which was built in 2007. I had purchased Celestion Golds in 12" and 10" sizes prior for my 65 Deluxe Reverb Reissue, 68 Custom Princeton Reverb, Blues Junior and now the Vibrolux. I tried Eminence speakers such as the Legion 1058, Copperhead, the WGS and just couldn't get the tonal sound I was looking for as I have the Celestions Gold's. YES, they are pricier BUT why sell yourself short for a cheaper priced speaker. The speakers coupled with a new tranny and better caps/resistor mods by a reputable amp repairman friend of mine and all of my amps are incredibly beautiful now. I've also purchased a Celestion Heritage G12H for my VOX ac15c1 which I would highly recommend for this particular amp. I know everyone went to the Blue, but I wanted more head room before breakup and got it in the Heritage. Overall, I'm a purist when it comes to speakers and will stay loyal to the Celestions for the tonal quality and speaker quality I get for my money.

  • from nitro, WV April 25, 2016

    great speaker

    these speakers are fantastic i bought two to replace some blown speakers in a 1973 super reverb. I was apprehensive about british speakers in an american amp but that went away when i strummed the first chord. these speakers are warm and very articulate and they have a very pleasing smooth top end.

  • from Orcutt October 22, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist / church worship / 60-70 rock / blues

    True Gold

    After reading the reviews here on Sweetwater I decided to go with the recommendations and put the G10 in my Fender 68 Custom Princeton Reverb as I wasn't happy with the stock tone. While I haven't had the G10 long enough to allow for a good break in period I can already hear a wonderful difference as it allows me a bit more headroom and chime. I also put a 12AT7 preamp tube in the 3rd position after reading the common "dark" comments. Seems to have helped out my Princeton and I am finally getting to really enjoy it. I will likely put the G10 in my Fender Pro Junior as well. Well worth the money

  • from Norman OK February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Player Over 30 Years,

    Huge Difference

    I installed this in my 1964 Fender Princeton Reverb about a month ago and I have been loving it ever since. I was a bit hesitant at first because of the price, I'm notoriously stingy. However, any feelings I had about that immediately disappeared the moment I struck the first chord. The Celestion G10 Gold, 8 ohm speaker gave my amp the kick it needed. The sounds I get now fill the room more, giving it a more 3-dimensional character. The cleans are great and the reverb has never sounded better. From what I read online, some said this "British-voiced" speaker would ruin the true character of my amp. IMHO, they were wrong. It just sounds like a better Fender to me now. I should have gotten this speaker a long time ago!

  • from Atlanta, Georgia July 3, 2014Music Background:
    Part-time pro keyboardist and bassist

    Huge Upgrade

    I replaced the stock speaker on my Fender Super Champ XD with one of these. The stock speaker is perfectly fine at low volumes, but breaks up in a bad way as you put on the gas. This upgrade was really a nice surprise. I can turn gain and volume to 10 with no degradation in the sound. Even with my cheap Strat, the clean sounds are very "present" and unmistakably "Fender". Every bit of the guitar's character comes out, and the ever-so-light boxiness of the stock speakers is gone. The modelled distortions are also clearer, with a nice "big" quality. My cheap little hybrid has morphed into a treasure.

  • from Santa Rosa, CA November 20, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound pro, bass player.

    The heart of the mod

    I got this for my 20 year old grandson to replace the wimpy 8" speaker in his Line 6 Spyder III that I got him. I had to do a bit of wood working to make it fit. Actually I completely made a mew panel, front-loaded and made an additional panel for the grille cloth. It turned out great and this speaker sounds phenomenal! Rich lows, creamy mids and clear sparkly highs. How did they get one speaker to do all that? Wow! It is well worth the price.
    Note: the Line 6 loads a 4 speaker. This speaker is 8, but it works fine.

  • from Atlanta, GA March 27, 2013

    Best speaker for Princeton Reverbs

    I recently bought a Princeton Reverb from Sweetwater, mostly for the Celestion G10 Greenback it came with. Unfortunately for my preference, it was too similar to the normally stock Jensen speakers: bass heavy and dark. I would keep the bass at 1 with treble at 6 or 7 and the bass was still overpowering the mids and treble in my chords, even on my 12 string Strat. I bought this as a replacement and it has an amazing balance b/w bass and treble. It can deliver chime, surf sounds, bluesy grit, and anything mellow. At 40W it's a highly efficient speaker and if it were up to me these would be stock in every PRRI.

  • from Chicago December 9, 2012Music Background:
    Enthusiastic amateur

    Simply stunning

    This speaker replaced the Rajin Cajun in my Fender Super Champ XD. The Eminence was a step up from the stock speaker, but the difference was not night and day. Playing through this Celestion, on the other hand, is like having a Klieg light shining on my practice space at four a.m. My goal in making this purchase was to convert the Super Champ into a super clean tube amp for playing light jazz; delivering high-fidelity and warmth while providing instant access to a battery of good quality DSP effects. Replacing the stock tubes with JJs and my no-name cables with Spectraflex Vintage Tweeds helped a lot but did not go the distance: the G10 Gold closed the gap and I am hearing EXACTLY the tone I was after. Finally... no more harsh trebles, honking mids and booming bass. I've always been ambivalent about the flatwound D'Addario Chromes on my hollowbody because strummed chords sounded lifeless. Now chords ring true and I no longer feel that I have to write around a handicap. The Celestion G10 Gold: priceless.

  • from LA, CA November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    SUPERIOR TONE BEYOND EXPECTATIONS!!!!!!

    My 1x10 Black Shadow in my TransAtlantic cab just mysteriously died, so I bought this to replace it and man am I happy I did!!! Now I am hearing subtle details in the TA-15 head that I was never able to hear before. Chimes and clarity and crunch and creamy distortion are now present which had before been impossible to achieve. Those classic late 50's and 60's tones are only possible with this speaker! SPEND THE MONEY AND BUY ONE!!!!!!

  • from kent, OH March 23, 2017

    more tone...more everything

    My band mate suggested I get Celestian speakers to replace the Naylors that I have in my original black face super reverb, 1963. I asked why? He replied, more fun. Now I can cut through with less upping the knob on my volume control. The tone is distinct and the presence of the speakers is quite amazing. I am eager to hear it when the speakers are truly broken in...still a tad bit stiff. All in all amazing speakers! My bandmate was correct...more fun, indeed!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN December 30, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, recording hobbyist

    Smooth Fidelity

    When you've been listening to music, insturments, amps and speakers as long as I have (40 years!) you know quality when you hear it. This is the real deal. The full spectrum of rich musical fidelity is reproduced by this great speaker. I slipped it into my 15 watt Fender Super Champ and the difference between the Celestion and the stock speaker was profound. It is rich and warm and authentic; giving me solid, biting crunch when I bore down on it with distortion, and winsome, wistful and delightful jangle when I threw some jazzy chords or clean arpeggios at it. It's a real delight to listen to my amp now at any volume level. The old speaker didn't cut it and sounded like a sick, papery, honking goose at high volumes. Now my amp sounds like it should. Very nice. Buy it! You won't be sorry.

Questions about the Celestion G10 Gold 10" 40-Watt Alnico Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway