0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Celestion G10 Greenback 10" 30-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 16 Ohm Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Celestion G10 Greenback 10" 30-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 16 Ohm?

Questions about the Celestion G10 Greenback 10" 30-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 16 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Vermont February 27, 2017

    Super speaker

    These Greenbacks are the best 10" speakers I've ever tried! Great clean and overdriven.

  • from Verona, NJ December 23, 2016

    Wow!

    I replaced the tubes in my VOX AC10 when I first got it and it was an improvement. BUT, with the Greenback it's a whole new amp! It took 15 minutes to swap to install and it just sings!

    Go for it!

  • from November 26, 2016

    clean and bright

    Picked up the G10 greenback to replace the stock speaker that came in the Vox AC 10. Original speaker was a little muddy, but now the sound is clean, bright and totally distinct. Makes the telecaster really shine. Highly recommended for the Vox.

  • from WA November 11, 2016Music Background:
    Worship guitarist

    Justin

    I put this greenback in my Vox Lil Night Train and what a difference it made. The cab originally had a "specially designed by Celestion" speaker, however it was harsh, so replacing it with the real deal was a obvious choice. Smoothed out the highs and mids but left all of that signature Vox tone. Great price fast shipping, another great Sweetwater experience.

  • from April 13, 2016

    Greenback bliss

    Completely changed my AC10 for the better! Glad I switched from the stock speaker

  • from Alvin, Texas March 15, 2016

    Tim Salter Guitar Extraordinaire

    I put two of these in a 2x10" Closed back Tremolux style extension cabinet. The Cabinet is powered by a Custom Vibrolux Reverb which is Open back and has 2x10" Jensens.
    I plug my Gold Top Les Paul with P-90's straight in. Incredible Tone!

  • from Southern ohio November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Creamy goodness

    I put two greenback speakers into a new fender pawn shop vaporizer and the amp went from something I was thinking about getting rid of to something that will never leave my possession! I had had so much trouble finding an overdrive pedal that I liked, little did I know all I needed was a pair of greenbacks to make all my overdrives sound awesome. This is a must have for anyone looking for cream era Clapton sound, or Hendrix

  • from Georgia, USA June 10, 2014Music Background:
    Player for 35 years - still learning

    Fantastic speaker

    I built a closed box for this speaker to match an Orange Micro Terror. I wanted something very small without the horrible tone that you get from the 8" speaker that Orange makes. This is absolutely the right speaker for this amp. It sounds great in a small, closed box.
    You can't go wrong with greenbacks.

  • from College Park, MD October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Owner of Arrows Custom Guitars, hobbyist

    Celestion G10 Greenback 16ohm

    I picked up a Peavey Classic 20 at Goodwill for $40 that didn't work. I changed out the fuses and it was fine but lacked a little zing. I re-tubed it with Groove tube EL84's and AT7's and the Celestion and now it's killer. A bit of tube rattle problem but I will isolated the chassis with rubber washers and tube retainers and hope that will make it studio ready.

  • from SLC, UT January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Music

    Worth it!

    It's hard to find the perfect speaker that does everything. It will usually cost you your life savings. I currently run two amps, my Deluxe Reverb '65 RI for cleans, and my Vox AC4TV for dirt. The Vox has an attenuator that allows me to get those nice natural distortion tones at low levels, so I keep in turned up strictly for distortion. I stuck this baby in my Vox and it changed the whole face of my sound. I A/B between the two amps and I feel I have the best of the cleans and now the best of distortion.

  • from Garvin, Mn. January 11, 2014Music Background:
    Over forty years playing experience.

    Greenback in a Marshall Class 5

    New the speaker was unbalanced and dark, but new speakers always require some breaking in. After just two hours in half hour increments, the speaker began to open up. I was after a darker Bluesbreaker, Duane Allman- type tone, and with vintage Mullard tubes and this speaker I get early breakup that cleans up just enough by backing off the guitars volume control. Very nice!

  • from Occidental Calif January 2, 2014Music Background:
    guitar nurd

    G-10 Greenback are a joy !!

    hay there in computer land I just an old guitar nurd that loves the sound
    of vintage tube amps, it goes without say,n that the Celestion Greenback
    goes in and makes these amps sound GREAT !! the G10 is, good in just
    about any tube amp from 1 to 100 watts as a single, duel,quad, like you
    name it .

  • from Northern Virginia May 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice speaker for tube overdrive

    I have put this speaker in my low watt tube amp. The stock speaker sounded dark and muffled, and this one is on the dark side too. It has broken in some, but still remains rather dark-sounding. The amp itself is dark, so that may not be entirely a result of the speaker. However, when I hit the amp hard with an EQ/boost pedal it rocks out with a focused and warm overdrive, so I am happy with it. It doesn't do clean that well, but that's what my Princeton is for. Overall a creamy speaker for tube overdrive, but not too versatile.

  • from VA December 18, 2016Music Background:
    30+ years playing semi-professionally

    Not a great fit for Peavey Classic 50 4x10

    Earlier this year I bought a used Peavey Classic 30, and shortly thereafter decided to upgrade the speaker. The speaker I chose was the Celestion G12H Anniversary 30w, and it sounded fantastic in the Classic 30. So when I was thinking about changing speakers in my Classic 50 4x10 I naturally looked at Celestion first. After researching Celestion, Jensen, WGS, and Weber speakers I decided on a pair of Greenbacks as my first upgrade - it seemed a no-brainer, considering the reputation Greenbacks have, and the countless musicians and amp makers who use them. I started with just 2 so that if I wasn't thrilled with the Greenbacks I could pair them with something else later. Well, I'm sorry to say I'm not thrilled with the Greenbacks. Compared to the Blue Marvel speakers that came in the Peavey these have a more pronounced bottom and mid response, but noticeably less highs. True to their reputation, they do also break up earlier than the stock speakers; even on the clean channel you can get a little grit with some aggressive picking. When the gain is turned up they definitely get crunchy in a hurry, but still keep that darker voice. I think the Classic 50 is naturally a darker sounding amp than most anything from Fender or Marshall, so I probably should have expected that, but I was hoping the Celestions would add a little more "chime" to the Peavey's sound. I think the Greenbacks would be great for rock/metal in a Fender, or Marshall, or any other amp where you wanted to tame the highs and wanted that crunchy tone, but in my Classic 50 they aren't the best fit in my opinion. Now I am looking for another pair of brighter speakers to balance these.

Questions about the Celestion G10 Greenback 10" 30-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 16 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway