0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Gretsch G100CE Synchromatic Hollowbody - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Gretsch G100CE Synchromatic Hollowbody - Black?

Questions about the Gretsch G100CE Synchromatic Hollowbody - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from sacramento October 10, 2015Music Background:
    playing for 40 years self taught

    AWSOME

    i've been wanting this guitar since it first came out last year i just recieved it today (4 days after i orderedit) and i can't stop playing it, wich is a little hard because i jjust got the splint off from a brocken pinky 2 days ago on my chourd hand wich means no hamer on's. but i only have one wordto say about thisguitar, AWSONE!! that stands for my sales person to. i am a sweetwater custemer for life

  • from Porter, TX March 2, 2015Music Background:
    New Guitarist, Experienced Drummer and Sax Player.

    This Guitar Is AWESOME!!!

    I ordered this guitar last week on Thursday February 26th. Though I have only been playing for about a year, I own 6 guitars, each with it's own purpose and unique sound. This guitar was specifically purchased for playing Roy Orbison. Though he used a Gibson Memphis (I can't afford lol), I knew this would sound great.

    I order it online and selected Overnight shipment. I recommend this as it has fewer people handling it. The guys at Sweetwater took great care in packing this guitar (with original box into another box for added protection). It was easy and couldn't wait to get this bad boy.

    Within 15 minutes of my order Robert Koch called me to thank me for the purchase and rely important information about the company and the purchase. I was not expecting a dedicated Sales Manager nor a call. Nice touch.

    Anyway, on to the guitar review...

    This guitar is beautiful. The image that they posted and serial number was the guitar they shipped to me. Trust me when I say this, the images do NOT do the guitar justice. It looked good on the web, looks GREAT in person. The guitar played beautifully right out of the box. I was playing acoustic songs first. While it is quitter than a standard acoustic, which is expected for an ELECTRIC guitar, it had great sound and projected what I played just fine without and amp.

    Once I connected it to an amp though, WOW is all I can say. I use a small Fender Series 7 amp....but boy the sound output from that guitar versus the Fender Squire I have is leaps and bounds better. I will tell you though that in a METAL setting or Rock setting, you will not be able (or need) to turn the guitar gain past 1/4 of the scale. if you do, you will get resonance feedback. This should be expected as it is a Hollow Body guitar. the Tone can be adjusted at will and has several nice sounds even without changing the AMP settings.

    I played it all day Friday, most of Saturday and Sunday. In total I have logged over 30 hours in 3 days with this and can't put it down. When I do, I just look at it!!! I have a professional musician friend that is so green with envy that he may order one too...and OWNS a Gibson!!

    Great product, EXCELLENT service. I will be ordering more from Sweetwater and at least one more Gretsch (there are still 2 or 3 on my list that I want lol).

    TOTALLY WORTH THE MONEY.

  • from Cincinnati, OH August 22, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    This guitar brought out the demon in me

    Without ever playing this guitar or seeing it in person I bought it. The first time I saw it I just knew it was for me. It plays, sounds, and looks absolutely amazing. I play slide on this guitar through a Silvertone 1484 while using a tubescreamer, and it sounds mean as hell. I would have expected a guitar of this quality to cost well over $1000. The only problem I've ever had with it was when I fell over on stage and my instrument cable pushed through and broke a half dollar size hole in the body. However, you shouldn't have this problem if you don't rock out as hard as I do.

  • from Ocala Fl September 2, 2009Music Background:
    Classic Rock,Classic R&B,,Latin Music

    Ah! The Gretsch Sound

    I bought mine in March and having lots of trouble putting it down. Fender,Gibson,Rickenbacker are all great but when you play a Gretsch it's a totally different sound no matter what kind of music you're playing.

  • from oakland , michigan May 26, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    gretsch g100c

    I play the guitar as an acoustic and as an electric. It has its own sound, its own feel and is a joy to play.
    If I am not playing it.... I am probably looking at it.....this is a keeper !

  • from Waxhaw, NC September 30, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Gretsch G100CE

    Very crisp pristine sound with and without an amp. I only give it 4.5 stars because of where the volume knobs are located and the shape of the pick guard itself, very tacky looking. The only hard case I found that the guitar will fit in is the Gater dreadnought deluxe, because of the volume knobs and the height of the bridge.

  • from Northern Plains USA March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Music Background: Former weekend warrior and teacher, now hobby and some benefits; playing over 50 years.

    nice guitar... versatile

    The reason this doesn't get a "5" has to do with me as much as anything. I came across a "I don't like this guitar so I'll get another something else" personal deal on it, although it's a great dollar deal here.

    It has a great neck and excellent balance. the body size for my personal geometry is nearly perfect except - and here's why I'm not listing it as a "5" - I much prefer a shorter scale. That's all pretty much a personal preference thing, but it fits better how and what I play.

    I just took some things for granted that I shouldn't. I thought the guitar is not a shiny "look at me" instrument. I got it because it was a very good sounding and playing guitar for some of the material I do and a virtual steal. The looks were less than secondary I can't see it when I'm playing anyway. Funny thing is how many people told me what a beautiful instrument it is after I did some ragtime and blues at a benefit - both those backstage and those in the audience.

    Anyway, for anyone who likes a good, versatile single pup archtop with a 16-inch body and 25 1/2 scale, this is one that definitely is worth consideration. It's one I'm very unlikely to trade.

  • from Morgantown WV August 10, 2014Music Background:
    Everyday Strummer

    Pretty close to perfect

    All round play-ability is good. Action is close to perfect. There is a slight feedback when played cleanly through an amp. The looks of this guitar are heavenly. Quality built. Great low end. Tonal range is ok. Is it worth the money? Absolutely! This guitar is a keeper.

Questions about the Gretsch G100CE Synchromatic Hollowbody - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway