0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Fulltone Fulldrive 3 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Fulltone Fulldrive 3?

Questions about the Fulltone Fulldrive 3?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Ephrata, PA September 7, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Guitarist

    Great Value!

    If you can't find something you like about this pedal, you probably just haven't used it for long enough!

    This drive is an absolutely wonderful thing to have if you're working with limited budget or space. I needed a pedal that could do a lot of things well, without having to break the bank, and this little number delivered way beyond my expectations!

    First of all, the independent boost circuit is really what makes this thing special. Being able to get a clean boost, or some extra dirt depending upon the situation is extremely useful. Not having to buy a separate boost allows you to save some money as well as some space on your board.

    How good does the drive sound? Well, that's a tough question to answer, because this pedal is capable of such a wide variety of sounds. "90's" is your classic "Full Drive 2" sound, "Wide Asym" is the closest this drive gets to "transparent" and can work well if you need a lighter sound. "CC" is a really gritty (and REALLY loud) setting that just offers the drive's natural tone with no clipping enabled. I've found uses for all 3 settings, but since this is my stage 3 drive, I leave it on "CC" most of the time.

    It's also built like a tank! It's made of solid metal, so no need to worry about damaging it on the road. It's price point is also pretty fantastic, as I've seen similar models (think JHS Kilt or similar) running for well over double the price.

    Overall, I really don't have anything bad to say about this pedal!

  • from October 27, 2015

    Dial in the right boost!

    Love this box as you can dial in the exact boost that you want - all you have to do is tap the boost switch after that! Nice overdrive and I put this box behind my fuzz pedal. Works as advertised - love it.

  • from Wisconsin May 14, 2015Music Background:
    Rock, blues, funk, soul

    My new favorite overdrive!

    The Fulltone Fulldrive exceeded all expectations.
    From subtle and smooth to angry and biting, this does it all. Overdrive flavored range from almost clean to tubescreamer tones, as well as the clean boost function being a stand alone effect.
    Well done.

  • from Davis CA. May 11, 2015

    Full-Drive 3 is Fantastic

    I really like my new Full-Drive 3. I own one of the earliest Full-Drive 2's out there. In fact it is the earliest serial number (in the 300's) with the Comp-Cut feature, which Michael modded for me at my request. Anyway, this sounds as good and I really like the independent boost feature. On the FD-2 I always wished I could have an independent boost. I also really appreciated the online video that Sweetwater posted showing the features. It's always nice to see how someone else uses gear. This is a very solid box. It has many sounds available and is built like a tank. I also like the fact that it is smaller as it barely fits on my crowded pedal board.

  • from isanti, Mn. April 17, 2015Music Background:
    40 yrs and still playing

    fulltone strikes again!

    My first fulltone purchase was the fulldrive 2 and I was thrilled with the little blue box, so.....my curiosity was telling me to check it out, Well let me tell you! Another great pedal. Being able to select the order of boost and overdrive is a way cool idea , not to mention tweakable options. Now I'm gonna go for the red GT 500, the grand slam!!! What a great set of options very affordable and well built. Thanks Justin for your advice, another good pick!

  • from NJ/USA April 1, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer/Mixer, Composwer, Performer, Grandpa x 8

    Dumbletone Quest Ended Today

    I had a brand new set of Jimmy Page SH18 Whole lotta hummers somebody just gave me, but I needed a really bad*** dedicated rock guitar to put it in and not make any more holes adding in dpdt / spdt switches and I hate'em since the. 1980s. I came across this TS-1 by accident and watched the vid on Youtube two days ago and ordered a set immediately and they arrived today with my brand new $179.00 Fulltone 3 [dumble in a box] which I also discovered by accident the same day.

    30 minute installed of SH-18s the with the TS-1s in less than 30 mins all soldered in and done. Then I did a slight fret dressing on the guitar in five additional mins! I ran it through my big rig then combos and had a genuine lovely experience discovering the tonal combinations clean and dirty.

    It does a convincing tele, strat, Brian May out of phase and full blast Jimmy Page at my fingertips. I am so happy my head is about to explode. FYI blues jazz fusion players my 30+ year quest for dumbletone ended today with the Fulltone 3. I almost bought a used Fuchs ODS amp and an ethos and saved myself around three thousand + dollars combined. I am going to build a second one with the JS23 natural oil with JB/Jazz when it arrives at Sweetwater expected in mid May 2015 per my sales engineer and a third one with Duncan 59 set.

    You will obviously have to get your own pickups for this or convert an exiting guitar with four wires per pickup. Seymour has wiring schema for all other MFGs out there to work with this system. Absolutely brilliant and sounding amazing! Kudos!

  • from ISANTI,MN. March 30, 2015Music Background:
    + 40 yrs..old school

    worth every penny!!!!!

    I am fast becoming a fulltone fan, ....very versatile pedal with tons of tonal options, hand built, giant value ,U.S. made, and sounds fantastic!!!!..I also have the full-drive 2 and will be buying a few more of the other pedals. thanks Justin Lieberman for the help, Its great to have the help of a sales engineer that is great at his job. at first I thought he was a standard pitch man and I gave him a hard time, INSTEAD OF GETTING A BAD TUDE he just upped his game and showed me he was the real deal!!!!..p.s. change the tie,L.O.L

  • from Texas February 6, 2015Music Background:
    live long hobbist

    Great Pedal

    Just bought a Fender 65 reissue Twin Reverb, very clean amp. Bought the Full Drive 3 by Fulltone and now my Fender Twin Reverb can get very dirty. Love my new pedal, recommend it highly. The price, shipping, warranty and delivery will be hard to beat. Saved buying through Sweetwater instead of other famous sites.

  • from Hinckley, OH August 2, 2014Music Background:
    33 years slinging, lead guitar, studio gremlin

    sexy

    sounds sexy, very sexy

  • from Boone, NC June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Performing Guitarist, Live Sound Engineer

    Wonderful pedal!

    Thanks to Fulltone for listening to customer feedback and making some wonderful changes to the Fulldrive. The left half of this pedal is a smooth Tubescreamer clone with 3 clipping mode. The 90's clipping is the Fulldrive 2 tone we all know and love. The Wide Asymmetrical clipping is a bit more open ended, with a bit more sparkle from added high and low end. The no-clipping mode is an exceptionally loud and raw rock sound the shows your guitar's true colors (not my personal favorite, but it has its place).
    The right half of the pedal is a JFET clean boost circuit, a noticeable change from the 2's MOSFET boost aka more gain button. You also have the ability to choose whether the boost comes before or after the drive. Before, it adds more gain and afterward it makes the volume louder. The dynamics switch is one of the favorite features: it cuts out the annoying peaks that so often come with a boost and eliminates them. It's like a strange little noise gate/compressor/limiter thing.

    Overall, this is an awesome overdrive pedal that will suit many different styles and can impress even the pickiest tone snob.

  • from California August 22, 2016

    Fulltone Full Drive 3

    LOVE this pedal! Great having the overdrive/boost-boost/overdrive option. I even use the boost on my acoustic rig when the band starts getting too loud. With the 2 different types of overdrive, it's like having 3 pedals in one.

  • from Eugene, Oregon June 28, 2016

    3 Drive Full

    Originally bought FD-2 but returned it. Sounded fantastic, but I was disappointed that boost would not work independent of drive.

    Enter FD-3... Huge step up form FD-2.
    FD-3 sounds amazing, and has independent boost that can be placed before or after drive. In essence it is two pedals in one. In addition it is smaller than FD-2 and you can access the battery without performing surgery. Only issue is that dynamics effect ether doesn't work, or it is so subtle I can't tell what it does.

    Over all exceptional pedal. Well worth it!

  • from San Francisco Bay Area May 30, 2015Music Background:
    Actively gigging musician with a day job

    Found my tone

    This pedal is one of the sweetest ODs I've tried! Trust me, I own and have owned quite a few, but this is my new favorite. At my last gig, I used it all night in front of a Brown Note ODS 44 D'Lite amp (D*mble-ish clone), and I was playing with a big smile on my face all night. It's a really versatile OD with the three way voicing switch and the switch that lets you choose the boost before or after the OD stage. The boost in combination with the limiter can get this pedal to put out some singing sustained sweet OD tones. I'm sensitive to if a pedal colors the original tone or not, and I've found that most pedals mess with the EQ range. Not this one! It just adds sweetness and crunch. It's also very quiet, which is something I really appreciate. I don't think I'll need another OD pedal in a long time.

  • from Wake Forest September 16, 2015Music Background:
    Playing guitar for at least 30 years. Mainly classic rock, blues and metal.

    Fulltone Fulldrive 3

    This is my first fulltone pedal. I read about the great quality and sound and I wasn't disappointed. The pedal gives a nice crunch but doesn't go into metal type distortion. I've had a few distortion boxes but this is my first overdrive as I'm trying to get away from over the top metal tones to more classic rock crunch.

    The pedal does this well. I'm still playing with it and learning the different tones it can produce. I did find the hotter the pickup on the guitar, the more crunch the pedal can produce. I generally play strats and for now I think the best pairing is my Eric Clapton strat going into the fulldrive.

    I really like the fulltone quality and my next purchase will be the Deja Vibe as I really love the univibe/chorus sound.

    Sweetwater were great as the first pedal I received wasn't working. I sent it back and got a replacement which was fine.

    Very impressed with Sweetwater as the Customer Service is fantastic and the selection is great. I've bought a few things from them and am always totally satisfied with the price, shipping and customer service.

    Thanks!!

Questions about the Fulltone Fulldrive 3?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close