0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

MXR M116 Fullbore Metal Distortion Pedal Reviews

3.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR M116 Fullbore Metal Distortion Pedal?

Questions about the MXR M116 Fullbore Metal Distortion Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Raymond McCarley
    from San Jose, CA March 16, 2017

    Not joking

    I use 3 pedals to get my various overdrive tones I like, but I still needed something with the "mid scoop" sound that was completely ridiculous... well here you go, it even has an adjustable noise gate thingy.
    So until you get a grid melting 100 watt full stack, use this to do your metal ear damage. Not kidding, this thing delivers.

  • Patrick David
    from Murfreesboro, Tn December 16, 2015

    Metal To The Pedal

    If your expecting some little overdrive pedal, this is not for you. The name says it all, Full Bore Metal.
    MXR designed a metal amp, and then, squeezed it into a foot pedal.
    The controls are very powerful, as mentioned in other reviews. It doesn't take much of a turn to really boost each frequency and function on this pedal.
    There will be no one turning all the knobs on this baby up to 10.
    I dialed up a very clean Mesa single rectifier tone on my Kemper, and then hit the pedal.
    It went from a chimey cord/note picking humbucking sound..to a slamming triple rectifier sound..with the gain set on 30.
    As we all know, there is no 30 setting on a Mesa, or on any amp, but with this pedal.......there is now!!!!!!
    Try this experiment....set your amp as clean as you can get it, then, set the MXR Volume to 3 o'clock, Frequency full left, Scoop button on, Gain full left, Low just a very slight nudge, Mid 9 o'clock, Treble 9 o'clock,.......now your ready.... play your crystal clean sounding intro chords and notes, and then hit the button..... think kinda Mark Tremonti kicking into the first heavy chord after the intro on Higher when the bass and drums kick in. It's that kind of heavy when you hear it.
    No hype to this pedal. (and it has true bypass, and the noise gate is seamless)
    Just watch the video that Mitch did of it thru a super clean Fender amp, he demos a couple of overdrive pedals in the video, and then, demo's this beast about mid way thru the video... when he kicks on this pedal...the sound that you are hearing is for real...no studio tricks.
    My jaw dropped the first time when I heard it on the video, and my jaw dropped a second time when I kicked it on for myself.
    So, you can either drop a couple of grand buying a metal head just to get this sound, or, you can order this beast of a pedal from Ed Nystrom like I did, and still have enough money left over to buy another guitar to add to your collection instead of a one trick pony 2000 dollar metal amp head.
    And don't forget about the free candy suprise with every purchase!!!
    They are putting it in bags now, personally, I prefer digging around in the shipping box for it like a squirrel, the bag just takes all the fun out of finding it, kind of like just handing a kid all of his Easter eggs in one basket and telling him here's your Easter eggs bubba, instead of letting him go out and have fun and dig under all the plants and bushes for all of them one by one.

  • Nev
    from Kansas September 12, 2015Music Background:
    Two local bands, one profesional band. 8 years of experience.

    Great Distortion Pedal!

    Just the tones you get from the main knobs are more than I've ever worked with in a heavy distortion pedal. I used to play on a Boss Metal Zone, but now this is my all time favorite. I set the distortion around 10'O-clock position then back it up on an overdrive channel. Add in the mid-scoop and the world is in your hands. The saving grace to this pedal though is the built in noise gate, seriously. You wont ever need a noise gate pedal with the built in features on this. You can literally crank the distortion and overdrive to max and pump the volume up, and with the noise gate, not hear a **** thing other than crunch.

  • William Alley Sr
    from Middletown, OH February 15, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    One hot pedal!

    It's my suggestion that you start out with minimal settings the first time you use this pedal. It has killer low end for some super crunch. The mid control I don't really care for, it took me a little while to figure it out. The high is screaming when you max it out. Every control on this pedal is super sensitive and super responsive. This has to be one of the hottest pedals I've ever used! Once again it is very hot!

  • Bill Neve
    from Iowa April 28, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    A great pedal

    It doesn't matter if you have humbuckers or a single coil pickup with this pedal. It works best with amplifiers that are good with distortion. I have a spider 3 line 6 amp and a standard telecaster guitar. This pedal makes it sound scary mean and the noise gate is great when you set it up and if you've played telecasters you know what that means. If you don't get a sound you like off of this pedal you've either given up to easy or you don't like metal. If you're only going to buy a few pedals and don't want to worry about noise suppressors this is a must buy. You won't be dissappointed.

  • Steve
    from Southeastern US September 14, 2012Music Background:
    avid student

    Outstanding

    I really like this pedal! Even though its gain levels are really high, it doesn't sound raspy or artificial. The EQ is fantastic, and gives you a lot of usable tonal range. Highs aren't shrill, bass isn't muffled, and mids are gutsy and well-defined. The noise gate is very transparent, although the pedal doesn't seem to really need it. It tightens both ends of the frequency range when you are really hammering the gain, though, so it does have its uses. The scoop function is spot-on for shredding and, unlike most that I've tried, this pedal sounds great without it engaged. It has a huge range of mid-frequencies, which is great for old-school metal (or hard rock, with the gain backed down) . I
    I am extremely impressed with this pedal. (So much so that I've since bought two more MXR's, which are also great.) I'm really surprised that it doesn't cost a whole lot more!

  • Antonio C
    from Seattle, WA May 25, 2016Music Background:
    Noodling on various instruments since the mid 70s

    Smokin' Aces

    This is my first, and maybe last, Distortion pedal. Dropped a weak 9-volt battery in it (all I had on hand), and it still had enough juice to make the Blackstar Fly3Pak combo kit sound like a full-blown metal rig. Very simple to use, easy to dial in just the right amount of everything to get tones you hear all the pros using. Thanks again to Nathan Parker for making the magic happen.

  • Hutch
    from Litte Rock, AR May 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Does the trick!

    I was looking for a good metal pedal for my 65 Fender Deluxe Reisue. I have tried many and had got a flabby sound out of the speaker when cranked- not with this pedal! Very versatile! Not a one trick pony! You can go from heavy distortion to hard core metal with this one! Not a big fan of the noise gate but other than that- this pedal is the bomb!

  • Brian
    from July 6, 2015

    MXR M116 Fullbore Metal Distortion Pedal

    Very good it sounds great

  • Tom
    from Palm Desert, Ca. June 12, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyest

    Great Metal Sound

    Sounds awesome, 3band EQ allows you to have many different sound options, From a real chunky to a clean sharp metal edge sound. The scoop works fine(would be nice if it was a foot switch) I already have a EQ in my chain, so I really did not need the scoop. The noise gate works too, but it does get in the way of long sustains. I did not expect much from the noise gate anyway, most noise gate pedals are over $100.00, so to have the feature built in, I did not expect it to very good, It isn't. Like I said I did not expect it to be anyway. Overall nice pedal, sturdy and well made. The Metal sounds are real nice and I am always happy with Sweetwater!!

  • Nicolas Vazquez
    from New Britain, CT USA December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Depends how you use it

    When i first used this on my 15-watt amp I was so happy. This sounded amazing and the noise gate was awesome. If you put your guitar volume down the sound would cut out quicker than you wanted to with the noise gate but it was okay because if you're playing at a normal practice volume that's understandable. When I hooked it up with my tube amp and used it as the only distortion it made some weird screeching noises even with the noise gate on and only when I turned my guitar volume down would the screeches cease. I thought I was going to have to scrap this and I was disappointed that I had to find a new distortion pedal to use. I decided to try it one last time and when I combined this pedal with my tube amps high gain channel it sounded perfect. There was little to no feedback and the tone was amazing. I would recommend this to anyone. Even if you're just starting to play guitar or have been playing for quite some time. I just wouldn't recommend this as the only thing you use as distortion if you're gigging and playing loud. That being said. Since you can play at a normal volume and this wouldn't give you any trouble as your only distortion source; I feel like this would be amazing to use if you're recording guitars. Just ask Mr. Brenden Small himself!

  • Sergio E.
    from Quito, Ecuador April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyst Recording, Drums, Guitar

    Crushing Sound - Leave the treble control alone!

    Nice metal tones, noise gate is a plus, sweeping mids are a great thing to have. Highs EQ control is to harsh for my liking, but good sound nonetheless. Built like a tank!

  • Donald Kuchta
    from McPherson, KS July 15, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    I must be getting old

    Like all MXR Pedals, this puppy is a well built pedal. The noise gate works very and there are lots of tonal control capabilities. But for me I found the FullBore Metal too edgy and over the top for my tastes. I typically keep my EQ on my amp at twelve o'clock. Once I enabled the the FullBore Metal pedal, out came the most edgy and grainy sounding noise I've ever heard. No how much tweaking I did with the gain and EQ on the pedal the results were only slightly diminished. I suppose if I EQ'd my amp tone control I could have corrected most of the harshness but that would leave my normal channels sounding muddy when I wasn't using the FullBore Metal pedal. I'm sure this is a great pedal for the right musician trying to get his or her sound but again this is not for me. The MXR Custom Badass 78 Distortion is more my style. Again, I must be getting old!

  • peter
    from June 5, 2016

    Worst Pedal Ever

    Not good. Fuzzy, and solid state sounding.

  • jack
    from New York May 31, 2016Music Background:
    shred, metal/hard rock

    This pedal SUCKS

    If you want a sound that will make you cry from extreme high end... then buy this pedal. It cant produce "classic metal" or even thrash metal tones. If you like the tone in "Hammer Smashed Face" then this pedal will achieve that for you. it is very fuzzy and unclear.

  • Jay Sambuco
    from New York May 30, 2016

    Worst Pedal Ever

    sounds terrible. mids are too scooped and sounds very raspy.

  • joe
    from April 17, 2016Music Background:
    metal, hard rock, shred

    Dont buy

    it sounds like rubbing a can on concrete. Don't buy. It is way to raspy sounding.

  • Jay
    from April 7, 2016Music Background:
    Metal Hard Rock

    This is bad

    This has the most turd sound ever. Don't buy it. It is worse than the Boss M-2 Metal Zone. It is just garbage.

Questions about the MXR M116 Fullbore Metal Distortion Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway