0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Electro-Harmonix Freeze Sound Retainer Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Freeze Sound Retainer Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Freeze Sound Retainer Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Shoegazers, Noise rockers, Post rockers, Experimentlists: This is a must-have pedal for you! Combine this pedal with reverbs, delays, and modulation and you will have an all-new sound palette for your guitar rig.

  • from December 24, 2015

    Great Pedal!!

    Amazing Sound and love the options on it! Arrived extremely Fast Thanks to the Great Cutomer Service by Ryan!!

  • from Wheeling, WV December 12, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for about 20 years now

    It does what it says

    It does exactly what it says it does. It's cool

  • from Napa, CA August 8, 2015

    One of my favorite and most used pedals on my board.

    Does what I want it to do when I want it to do it. Solid and sturdy and well designed. A great secret to have on stage. And of course, ordering it from Sweetwater, as with everything else I've purchased through them, the support and guidance (thanks Evann) is always stellar, reassuring and helpful. What a great product (Freeze) through a coo-a** company.

  • from Syracuse, NY January 18, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist / home recording nerd

    really cool pedal!

    I love this pedal! We were recording, I played a chord and FROZE it. During the next droning 10 minutes, I noticed the character of the sound changed.... I play through a tube amp, the gain was at about 1/2. There were overtones, harmonics, coming and going. Perfect for the ambient/psych style we do! Highly recommended!

  • from Brooklyn, NY April 3, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Make mine Frozen

    I've been having a ball with this pedal since it arrived the other day. Looking forward to tomorrow night's rehearsal when I can break it in with the band. So far I really dig using the momentary switch with mid level decay while soloing. Grabbing accent notes and holding them - then bending them to get some really cool dissonance. A totally new twist. Gotta love a new toy.

  • from Sebastopol May 12, 2016Music Background:
    space rock,

    dronealicious

    Creates a thick hypnotic underlayer/drone that can be soloed over, or modulated with all kinds of delays to create a mind expanding palate of sonic bliss

  • from Belton, Mo January 9, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    Electro-Harmonix Freeze

    This was a gift for my out of town son but have watched him use it and he loves it. It works flawlessly.

  • from Baltimore, MD April 25, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging and recording

    Well worth it!

    I took a chance on this after reading many mixed reviews. I must say that this effect is well worth having! My main concern was about the switch making a loud clicking sound...but this is not the case. It is very quiet and smooth. As for the effect itself...this is great to have. I use it mostly to hold non distorted chords, than BANG...into the heavy part with the chord fading out...this works out great for me. I use it in slow mode for a slow fade, but there are many options for slower and faster fade outs....and latch mode if you want to hold the note or chord until you release the button.Getting the timing down on when to actually hit the switch will take some trial and error. You don't want to hit the switch when you are picking the chord, but just after! The only downside I have found is that at times...depending on how you strike the chord....it does almost sound like a keyboard player is there. Give this a shot...it's worth the money...and comes with the power supply!

  • from Northern California March 7, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro nusician

    Perfect For What It Does

    The Freeze is a great pedal for creating sustain tones and drones underneath your playing. The quality of the freeze sound is superior to both the EHX HOG and the Roland VG-99, both of which I have extensive experience with. It is simple to set up and use and is also pretty quiet.

    You will find that the Freeze works particularly well when fed into a chorus or similar modulator to liven up the sound a bit. The frozen sound can be a bit bland by itself.

  • from Washington, DC October 29, 2010Music Background:
    Electronics Engineer, Amature Musician

    E-H Freeze

    From the first demo to the unit I just received from Sweetwater the Freeze is living up to its promise. It is simpler than looping pedals to get musically usefull results with this box. It is instanly intuitive to freeze passing tones to change chords over to creating synth bed like sustained chords to riff over. Freezing reverb tails really expands the atmosperics palette for psychobilly and surf guitar. Can't wait to put it across the fx bus in the mixer. My only concern is the toggle switch that I use my shoe on to change from Latch to Slow. That's just me. Nothing wrong with the pedal. Good job E-H!

  • from Lehigh Valley, PA October 14, 2016Music Background:
    Cover band bass player

    Now Freeze it, Freeze it good.

    Got it for my Bass. Think of it like holding down a key on a keyboard, With a phaser after this, it's really wild! There is no more taping on the bridge on those long ended tunes and while sustaining you can hit all the harmonics you can handle. Like having a second set of hands. So I agree with the most used pedal comments here. A word of caution is advised, catching the string attack early can induce a ring into the sustain. This can be avoided through timing the button press after the note's attack has just passed peak amplitude, Just like any other pedal some common sense is required. I would have liked more choices for the decay rate but there are pros and cons with that too. The Effect Level knob will add/remove some signal to assure unity to your effects chain. More tool then effect really. - May the Freeze be with you!

  • from Nyack, NY August 9, 2016

    Unlocking Creativity

    The Freeze is an amazing concept for a pedal. Freezing a note or chord and playing on top of it opened up a ton of options for my playing. I'm a big fan of David Gilmour and this pedal lets me simulate the "sound on sound" effect he created for doing certain versions of Shine on You Crazy Diamond. The reason I'm giving it a four is for a few reasons.

    First and foremost, the switch: It's noisy as hell, for something that you're clicking down regularly, I'm surprised EHX hasn't made a noiseless switch (with a smaller profile) a standard component on the Freeze. There are tons of easy DIY fixes that require one solder joint and a noiseless switch online but it should be standard.

    The second reason is that the effect is very digital sounding. I find that playing with the knob turned around 9 o'clock puts it far enough back that it's less noticeable. I'm not sure if anything could be done about this complaint but it's worth noting.

  • from November 20, 2015

    Freeze Sound Retainer Pedal

    Once you get the hang of timing (triggering the effect) it opens the door to many options for live play and recording. With my first test of the pedal, I composed two new music riffs for future songs. YouTube video Dems are impressive. However, I always seek to create new compositions for studio projects.

  • from Kansas August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Cool Pedal

    It has a singular function to hold a note or chord. Make sure you read the instructions especially regarding the latch mode. It will take you a few minutes to get the hang of it. I bought it to use in conjunction with the new electro-harmonix B9 pedal.

  • from Texas June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Giging musician

    electro-harmonix Freeze, does what is supposed to.

    Does what it says it does. It's a one trick poney but that's what it is. I use it to blow split octives on my harmonica then I play lead or melody lines over the freeze. works on some songs but not all of them. Built like a tank and produces no noise in my pedal chain.

  • from February 20, 2012

    Great pedal! Lots of fun to mess around with

    Lots of fun to experiment with. Sounds like another guitar is playin with you.

  • from United States January 16, 2012

    Great New Effect from EH

    A cool, inventive pedal, especially for us bass players. Highly recommended. I look forward to what new and weird stuff EH has in store in the future.

  • from Cupertnio, CA March 14, 2011Music Background:
    In a band

    fun little thang

    This thing does exactly what it says! Grabs a note or chord and freezes it, allowing you to play licks over a drone. You can get some really interesting effects if you time your pluck just right while doing a mute...gets an interesting swelling pulse. Reallly cool if you use with some octave pedals, synths, etc (it plays well with other pedals). Sounds awesome on bass too!

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Freeze Sound Retainer Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway