0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Mesa/Boogie Flux-Drive Overdrive Reviews

5.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Flux-Drive Overdrive?

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Flux-Drive Overdrive?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Michigan January 7, 2017

    Mesa/Boogie Flux-Drive Overdrive

    Built with high standard of quality. It is very sensative for great adjustability. It sounds great! Love It.p

  • from Cleveland July 28, 2016Music Background:
    3rd rate bluesman

    I love the mesa/boogie flux drive!

    It's a well manufactured, American made tone box. From thick & gritty to high treble and biting spank , notes swell into rich, beautiful harmonics ! I'm so happy I ordered it ! Thanks Anthony and everyone at Sweetwater for another job well done!

  • from new kent va October 20, 2015

    Great pedal

    This is a great pedal to have to compliment your sound. I use it in front of my Euphoria OD to add extra harmonic flavor. Its also great by itself for playin clean tones with the gain around 9 or 10 o'clock just to add some dimension and sparkle. Its like an EP booster with much more characteristics to it, and if you use it to push your OD pedal, it can get creamy saturated tones or add a metal bite to your OD.

  • from N Dallas TX August 6, 2015

    Mesa Flux Overdrive pedal

    Seriously, the best drive ever. Versatile range of EQ and gain structure, stacks in all sorts of complex matching. I am not easy to please on drives but this puppy, it is the one. I chose this over so many higher end drives. Really marvelous and decent priced. Only wish I'd have got the EQ model, now I will have to get it anyway, this series of pedals by Mesa are killing other choices. If you have a hard time finding just the right drive and the right musical tones, stop looking you found it.

  • from March 20, 2015

    Amp friendly!

    Was not impressed at first but as soon as I paired it with other drives it came to life! Sounds great as a stand alone pedal on some amps also.

  • from October 20, 2014

    mesa/boogie flux drive

    best overdrive pedal out there

  • from Nashua, NH, USA August 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, teacher, conductor, composer

    Great compromise to get that Santana-like tone

    There's no way I could afford a Mesa Boogie amp such as Carlos Santana uses a lot, and I was looking for a way I could get closer to his tone without spending a lot of money or having to crank my amp up to stadium-like volume and playing with the feedback like Santana does so well.

    This Flux-Drive pedal is a great compromise -- it gives incredible sustain and the controls allow me to get just the sound I want. The True Bypass Switching is great -- turn it off and pure guitar tone comes through with no shading at all.

    This pedal is ruggedly built and very well designed.

  • from June 12, 2014

    mesa boogie flux drive....EXACTLY what I waslooking for!

    Wow. What stellar, powerful tone. I ordered this pedal, as it was billed as the best match for my boogie mark v. I as most people that truly understand this amp, was interested when I heard that both channels 1, and 2 would benefit from increased sustain, and powerful overtones. What a great description. I plugged in my prs on channel one at a rehearsal, and my entire band was blown away. I was able to achieve sweet, singing allman brothers tones, to all out, blistering, harmonic nastiness on channel 2. Channel 3 doesn't pair so nicely with this pedal, but Cmon...who needs an overdrive on a mark 4 setting? Overall, I'm beyond impressed with this pedal. I play in a touring modern country band, which as people have come to tell me has evolved into classic rock. The flux drive has improved my tone immensely. I thought that after plugging straight into my mark v I'd be satisfied, but after hearing the two together, I'm starting to imagine what a mesa boogie guitar would sound like. Lol. Cheers mesa, the spirit of art in technology.

  • from Philly April 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    WOW

    Pedal reminds me of the Mark IIC. Its tone controls (Treble and Bass) works well with the gain control to sweeten your tone or turning it to an aggressive beast. Everything good you read about this pedal is true. If you choose to setup your amp at a breakup point it gets very intresting turning on the pedal and adjusting the gain/tone controls to enhance your sound. It's not just a booster, it's another true gain stage in your amp. But the pedal alone on a clean amp sounds great too.. Must be played to really feel the sound. Blues, Rock and heavy Rock players should love it. Metal heads will need to adjust there amps accordingly then turn on the Flux Drive to let her rip. To my ears, this is one of the best pedals for shaping your tone. Cleans up really nice turning down the guitar volume knob. Well made pedal inside and out. Looks great on your pedal board too. True bypass. Bottom line it's more than a overdrive pedal. It's another channel for your amp. A must have for guitar tone heads. MESA (Boogie) Engineering does it again! MESA know about gain.

  • from United States April 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist / occasional gigging / recording

    Breathes new life to my mesa gear nicely.

    I purchased this after testing it out through a mesa roadster in the store. I own a roadster so that's why I used it on that. Makes sense right? It's not like the roadster needs an overdrive, but from a utility device and sustain point of view, it's great to have for that amp. Anyway, I just bought a used Mark IV 1x12 with a black shadow speaker in it. WOW! This pedal is making that amp sing with luscious pushed tone on any channel. I have been using it on channel 2 mostly right now and pushing an already crunchy setup. The harmonics and sustain I'm getting are crazy delicious and never ending. I"m running the gain, bass, and treble between 12-3 o'clock and I'm in love. I've heard this pedal is good for high and low gain pickups in reviews, so keep that in mind. Also, don't buy unless you have tried it out, preferably through your own guitar rig or something close like I did.

  • from La Junta, Colorado USA March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Club Musician

    My first overdrive pedal

    I have been playing though Boogie amps since 1987, and currently have the Mark V. Got the Flux Drive to help boost channels 1 and 2.
    This is my first overdrive pedal because I have always been a tube amp distortion purist. So many great players use pedals, I just had to try it. Gives the amp a different feel, makes the clean channel sound like a killer blues amp. Makes channel 2 sound smoother, less gritty.
    The build quality of the pedal is awesome.
    So far.......love it.

  • from Independence NJ January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Artist / Guitarist / Songwriter

    True To Mesa's Rep !

    This pedal is extremely well built and extremely responsive to your playing style. As with all Mesa products, the EQ controls are interactive with the gain and level, and if you are a tone fanatic, dialing in the "perfect sound" will take some time. BUT....it's well worth it !! If you are using this pedal to take your crunch sounds to blistering, or using it to take a clean sound to a crunch sound, the range of overdrive is 100% useable, and doesn't get muddy. If you are using it to enhance your solo sound, it is capable of providing violin like sustain without ever losing the nuances of your picking attack. Just make your tweaks in small increments, especially for pushing an already overdriven amp, and you'll have your dream tone set up in short order !!

  • from Chester, TX December 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist & Home Studio Recording

    Enhance Your Amplifier's Tonal Quality With a Mesa, Flux-Drive

    This pedal provides additional distortion and volume through my amp and can be implemented in boost mode or normal mode. A great little gadget that's simple and easy to dial in a cleaner, minimal distorted sound or can be adjusted to growl like a wounded bear. I'm a previous owner of an older Mesa, Mark ll amp & I detected Mesa Boogie tonal characteristics while routing through this pedal into my Vox amp...a very effective distortion pedal. I prefer using this pedal to adjust the entire range of distortion after amp settings are dialed in. I sounded better playing through this pedal & the tonal qualities of my amp were enhanced somewhat & I'm well pleased with Mesa's FLUX-DRIVE pedal.

  • from NJ November 5, 2013Music Background:
    love commitment...life time

    Flux Drive

    This pedal is amazingly flexible with all aspects of overdrive of my Mark V. Alone it's equally as impressive....it's a has a very smooth overdrive and loves to work in conjunction with other pedals like compression and boost which breaths a whole new life with it's tone.

  • from new york city, ny October 25, 2013Music Background:
    gear freak, recording engineer, hobbyist, GAS MAN

    ba ba boosh!!!! FLUX STYLE

    i bought this on a whim like most everything else and was not thinking it'd do the trick, but it does very well for me...

    what's the trick?? it's boosting the **** out of my amp shelving the lows and boosting highs prior to hitting the pre amp,

    I own an old tc electronic integrated preamp, and always go for that tone when looking for a booster/overdrive pedal, and this is pretty darn close, not as drastic as the TC but idk what could be

    subtle and yet can do way more than i want it too, an all around wow of a pedal!

    yaaay mesa, you did something right since the mark iv! hehe

  • from Jaffrey n.h. August 5, 2013Music Background:
    semi pro.

    fluxcapacitor drive lol

    wow best o.d. ever just what the doctor orderd. put this in front of a throttle box and get an awesome lead tone keeping the bass where I need it and the highs crisp and detailed. This pedal can go from creamy break up to a nice full roar. Very musical and responsive. no other o.d. pedal can touch this. get one now>

  • from Houston, TX USA July 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro. Musician

    Truly The BEST

    I own two Mesa Boogie Amps and i was a little concerned when Mesa announced that they were making a new line of pedals. So i bought this pedal after my previous so called "Botique" pedal broke, and let me just say that this pedal was simply amazing, Mesa you've done it again.

    Thank you SWEETWATER for helping me find this pedal!

  • from The Motor City June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic Pedal!

    I chose this pedal after talking with my sales rep Adam Chesi about a couple of available overdrive pedals. I play acoustic mostly, but wanted to add a litle something to my electric rig. I have a nice Tele and Blues Junior with the "special" Jensen speaker. The description does not over estimate this pedals capability. All of the controls influence your sound in a noticeable and high quality way and did not add unwanted noise to my set-up. Clean to pretty darn dirty, (not quite metal band), it will get you there, no window dressing here. There is no way you won't enjoy extra output this pedal gives. The quality is evident.and make it well worth the money. Thanks Adam.

  • from United States April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best overdrive I've ever owned

    This pedal totally kicks major ***. Its the perfect overdrive. Obviously it increases the gain and volume, but it doesn't really change the tone of the amp. It adds these subtle harmonic overtones that just make the notes sing that much more. I use a Gibson Les Paul Traditional Standard into a JCM 800 2210. Best tone I could ever wish for.

  • from Beaumont, TX April 23, 2013

    Liquid Gain

    I've had this pedal a few months now and it continues to seduce me. Smooth, creamy, focused, and tight overdrive with a full range of usable control settings. Go no further...your search is over.

  • from Berkeley, CA USA April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great, though it cuts out

    The overdrive is really nice for me, typical for the range of blues-rock style. Having the bass and treble controls allows you to get an awesome variety of tones. Overall, my favorite overdrive pedal in sound alone.

    I've also paired this with a tube screamer - while the tube screamer punches the mids, this pedal can really drive the low and high end.

    All I can say is that "it might get loud".

    I have had issues leaving the pedal plugged in - it kind of cuts out. I now leave it unplugged and plug it into my board right when I want to play, and I have had no problems. If I were to put it on some real road wear, I'd want to have a backup around.

  • from Va, USA April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    Awesome!

    I'd seen these in the British guitar mags 1st, and knew this is the one out of the 4 advertised, that I wanted! I just hoped the hype would live up to the product, once I plugged my guitar in! It sure did!! I already had an overdrive pedal, and the difference was night and day, and I had less problems with the pedal whining against the amp than the one I had. I recommend this pedal hands down!!

  • from San Jose, CA December 3, 2012Music Background:
    Active musician

    Exactly what I hoped it would be

    I picked one up at a local music store in San Jose - guitar show case - on nov 29 - as soon as they came out. I did not even know they had them and was going to get smth else, but when I saw Mesa pedals. I kinda I had to try one. I only needed overdrive, as I like my amp - Burriss Royal Bluesman - create most of the sound. This pedal gives very smooth overdrive, with a bit of midrange focus (I would 't call it hump) to cut through the mix. But this can be almost dialed out and have quite transparent unaltered sound using bass and tone knobs. Very gentle sounding at low gain setting, but if the amp is slightly breaking down already (mine only gets very slightly there with volume on max, if master is kept at house friendly level) and the flux drive on max gain, you're instantly in angus young territory. This pedal compliments the sound of your amp and let your clean sound shine through, but I would not say it does not add a bit of color- it does, and since I own a Lonestar and in general well familiar with mesa amps (i like them a lot), I can honestly say that it does make your amp sound somewhat mesa-ish ... For me it's cool, since I dial my Burriss in a similar fashion anyway, but for someone this could not be as nice. One thing for sure - it's very gentle and musically sounding, so the sound you'll get will be beautiful - but whether it'll be what you're looking for or not , I can't say

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Flux-Drive Overdrive?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close