rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

TC Electronic Flashback X4 Delay and Looper Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 34 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic Flashback X4 Delay and Looper Pedal?

Questions about the TC Electronic Flashback X4 Delay and Looper Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mike Godlove

    When the TC Electronic Flashback X4 delay first came to market, I had to have it. It's incredibly clean with a ton of headroom. The presets are really useable and with the new TonePrint Editor, the TonePrint options are limitless . It's a permanent fixture on my pedalboard. It even works great with an acoustic guitar!

  • from January 24, 2017Music Background:
    Worship director

    A must own pedal!!

    Love it! Hands down one of my favorite pedals. I plugged in a cheap Fender Starcaster and just the flashback alone made the guitar sound through the roof amazing. Great job by TC Electronic!

  • from October 31, 2016

    AWESOME awesome awesome awesome

    Love looping with the delay effects! A million and one sound possibilities and they're all fantastic!

  • from Albany, GA October 19, 2016

    No Going Back!

    The X4 is huge. Operation is very simple. All controls and options are well labeled. The delays sound amazing. The looper is excellent and you can use the delays while looping and even switch delays while overdubbing. Stereo jacks are a nice option. I won't use the MIDI and haven't tackled TonePrint yet. I'm using it like any other pedal on the board. However, I'm finding the delays on this to sound much better than anything on my DL4 or Aqua-Puss, so those may get sold. The tone of the delays on the tube and lo-fi settings are amazing! Make room on your board for this gigantic pedal! The huge size makes footswitching a lot easier. Very awesome pedal!

  • from Mentone Ca July 11, 2016

    Awesome!!

    Have the Flashback and wanted more. The X4 does it all! Easy to switch delay types on the fly thanks to the presets. Tap tempo is a huge plus for me. I can still use delay while using the looper. Takes up a lot of space on my board but it sure looks cool! Another plus is that it comes with the adapter. TC can do no wrong!

  • from Columbia, MO July 9, 2016Music Background:
    Rock, Metal, Worship

    Delay For Days

    This pedal is the best delay I've ever experienced! Its possibilities are endless and it makes your playing sound huge. The toneprint is legit and made me want to practice again. This pedal is worth every penny!

  • from Cleveland, OH USA April 24, 2014Music Background:
    Composer/Songwriter

    mind-blowing delay!

    If you want to sound professional you can't go wrong with the Flashback x4! The delays sound so good, and the looper is so easy to use - it's the best pedal purchase I've ever made!

  • from salisbury, nc April 18, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist / church musician

    Awesome Delays

    The flashback x4 is a great delay pedal. It's actually like having 3 of the original flashbacks at your feet because of the presets. I have the first preset set to a quiet tube delay for the majority of my playing, the second is a space echo with more delay level, and my third is with modulation and set to a dotted eighth for that EDGE sound. There are also four toneprints with this pedal and you can use your phone to download them. I have tried this several times and it worked with no hangups. Some of the toneprints are useless but most are very useful. The tap tempo is a great feature and something I use on every song I play. The looper is fun, but I wouldn't use it in a live application, more for practicing at home - a great tool. All in all this is a wonderful delay pedal. I really dig this pedal

  • from Ames, Iowa USA March 31, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced, recording, hobbyist

    A game changer: The real 'thing'

    I initially bought a used mini Flashback pedal and couldn't get it to work... so I thought, why fear the big Flashback X4... so I got it during the exchange (which happened very quickly due to Sweetawater's excellent customer service). This thing puts you in delay heaven. I like all of the sounds as they are from the factory. You need a torx 10 screwdriver tool to take the back off and adust to buffered bypass (which I need for my long pedal change). I run it last, right before the amp, and I use the supplied power supply that comes with it. The clear and crisp FX are just beautiful -- and it adds the dimensionality to your sound that one always hopes a delay might be able to deliver. I would never consider another delay pedal over this one. The other features it has (looper etc.) are just icing on the cake. I'm still learning the device - but the sounds are so good that I'm already satisfied with the memorized presets I've already saved to the 3 foot-switches it has for that. The tap-tempo (4th foot-switch) seems to respond even after just two taps at the desired tempo. Using the effects at subtle settings gives you that "sound of infinity". The 2290 settings are just simply beautiful. You might say I like this pedal... I actually love it. I hope it doesn't break, so I'm very careful with it.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN March 20, 2014

    Mother of all delays!!

    This is the last and only delay pedal you will ever own. This does it all and it sounds absolutely outstanding. It really sounds like real analog and tape echo effects. The engineers at TC probably went grey trying to perfect this unit but they finally did it. My hat is off to TC. This is a beautiful pedal. No substitutes.

  • from February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Great delay! Replacing my DL4

    I really liked my DL4 but this is so much clearer and usable.The price is worth it just for the delay. Great for use live with 3 presets plus 3 potentially on the Tone Print. Super intuitive and easy to use. Does the dotted 8th+quarter note thing well though would be nice to be able to adjust the dual delays individually. It is a beast on my Pedal Train board but actually a slight improvement in size over the DL4. I'm running things simply - Strat -> Signa Comp -> Keeler Push -> Flashback X4 -> Carr Mercury amp. Really pleased with the Flashback X4.

  • from Colorado December 31, 2013

    Love it!

    Two words: LOVE IT!

  • from Auburn, WA October 26, 2013Music Background:
    30+ years Pro Musician

    Beautiful & Simple

    I researched a lot of delays, and this one had everything I was looking for... 3 presets is ideal for a gigging musician, but it's so incredibly easy to set up a new sound on the fly if you need to. I set mine up for a rhythmic delay, a short slapback delay, and an old school Tape delay, then use an expression pedal to blend them in, it covers just about everything I need.. The "Analog" delays sound like the old school bucket brigade units, and the 2290 Digital preset is just pristine. My favorite presets are the Space Echo & Tape settings.. The Looper & Tap Tempo is nice, but where this thing really shines is when you hook up an expression pedal (highly recommended).. I forked over the money for a Mission Electronics, but any Expression Pedal with a 25k linear pot will work fine.. The Tone Prints feature is cool, but only found a few that seem really useful so far.. There's so much under the hood already.. do yourself a favor, and get this pedal..

  • from Missoula, MT USA September 9, 2013Music Background:
    'Getting The Band Back Together'

    This is quite a machine

    This is a great stomp box and has many good preset Delays! However, the beauty is in it's 'TonePrint' feature that will enable anybody to get the desired effects they want... And it even comes with a Looper to get layered effects with the Delay preset.... Wonderful!!!

  • from Muskegon, MI USA May 12, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Great Pedal

    This is a great pedal! Very easy to use and plenty of awesome presents. Great tone quality. Definitely the best delay I've found so far.

  • from MI January 28, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    TC does it again

    I really like this unit. Very easy to navigate and great onstage with the 3 presets. Another great product from TC Electronics.

  • from Charleston WV January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Blues and Rock

    TC Electronic Flashback X4 Delay and Looper

    This pedal is easy to use in either delay or loop mode. It is a great addition to my pedal board and would be missed if removed.

  • from N. Billerica, Ma. January 16, 2013Music Background:
    Berklee College of Music

    TC Electronic Flashback X4 Delay and Looper

    Every feature is well thought out and performs well. The looper is an excellent practice tool as well as a performance tool.

  • from The far Northern Calfornia Coast January 13, 2013Music Background:
    Gradually improving guitar fanatic

    It took awhile to get it right but was sure worth it!

    This is a long review, but I need to clarify a couple of things. It seems that maybe TC Electronics let these out of the factory a bit prematurely, based on my experience and some of the chatter I have seen in reviews. I had problems with the looper not working on my first unit, and then was not able to get the tap delay to work on another. Toneprints would not load on any of them. They sent a third unit and I still could not get the TonePrints to download. I was frustrated, because i have the Corona Chorus and was digging the Android-Toneprint-straight-into-my-guitar-thing. I need to say that both Sweetwater and TC Elect provided world class service to me and stayed in touch with me over the Holidays. Very cool!! We got through this and it was worth it.
    So as it turns out, TC had to update their app, which was done about the first week of this year. However, I could not download it because I first had to re-do the firmware on my 2010 Android,. (That took about 2 hrs and all of the technical patience and knowledge I could muster.)
    However now it works!! And it is very cool!!
    Let me share a couple of other things. This unit is a power hungry device, however i am able to use it fine (so far) with the One Spot in my pedalboard. I have decided to go back and use the original power cord from TC "just in case", but there has been no functional difference.
    Also, the looper works very well, and it is a high quality, I think 24 bit, looper.. I wish it was 15 seconds longer, but ...
    Last thing -if this unit did not do toneprints and had no looper, it would probably still be worth the money. I really believe this device inspires, motivates, captivates, and elevates my musical creativity. I really, really like it. It is a game changer.

  • from Jersey, NOT the shore December 31, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    AWESOME

    I upgraded from small FB to X4, the sounds are so good! awesome features, plus toneprints are nice to mess with as well. Viva la TC!

  • from Champaign-Urbana,IL December 10, 2012Music Background:
    Church Worship Music

    Great New Delay!

    Excellent delay for my applications (church contemporary worship music). True bypass, so its super quiet. It runs on, i believe 250 mA, so lots of headroom. Very usable delays; the 2290 Mod delay Nails the U2 thing/Hillsong stuff. I like the large black knobs for easy adjustments while giging. Looper is usable: i can record a Whole verse and play solos over it with ease. Overall, a very solid built and intuitively designed pedal.

  • from June 1, 2017

    Seamless Delay Switching

    You can turn off the delay and let the repetitions ring out, so it's very natural. Nice variety of delay sounds and love the fact I can save several different settings and switch between them with a congruous sound. The only thing I have a gripe about is that in the effects loop, the pedal tends to boost the signal. My only gripe is that there isn't a final volume control for the delayed signal. Otherwise, great pedal.

  • from Minnesota May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar, Keyboards, Scoring, Music Production

    Great Package for the price!

    Let me start by saying the only reason I'm not giving this unit 5 stars is due to only two things.
    1) The TonePrint app used to load presets on the device is very clunky and locks up the phone.
    This is only speaking of the Android version of the app. By all accounts, it runs seamlessly on an iPhone.

    2) Only three presets can be stored at a time. While this would be more than enough to make it through most any gig, if I were to need more, it would have to be done in between songs (the process to set up three can be done in under a minute) but it takes away from the mood of a live performance.

    That being said, I absolutely LOVE this unit! The 2290 settings are worth the price of the pedal alone.
    The Looper is a breeze to use and sounds amazing. It incorporates nicely into any MIDI setup or inline.
    I prefer to run mine in the FX Loop and control it via MIDI.

  • from January 6, 2016

    Perfect

    I bought this to replace a Line 6 DL4 that I had on my pedal board for about 4 years. The Line 6 sounded good but I always noticed a volume drop whether running the pedal through an effects loop or in-line. I gave the Flashback a shot (in buffered mode) and BINGO .... NO ISSUE. As transparent and passive as it gets. I use it in the effects loop of a Fuchs ODS and in-line with a Germino. It works great in both applications. The effect choices are exactly like the DL4 and just as easy to set up. I also like the S-Water 2 year warrantee which is worth a few extra bucks. No problems for me so far.

    The only thing I can't comment on is the looper component because I don't use it.

  • from sugar hill, GA December 2, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Best I've heard

    I recently replaced my Boss DD20 delay with this one. I've become a fan of the TC Electronics stuff the last few years - Chorus, delays, etc. This delay is the best sounding I've had or heard in the last 20 years, shy of having a sophisticated rack system. Hands down a better sounding delay than the Boss, in my opinion (and Boss makes good stuff too). The only minus on it is that it is a little bigger than I thought - so a tight squeeze on the pedal board.

  • from SC July 18, 2014Music Background:
    Prog. Rock

    Best value for the money

    This is a top notch delay unit. With the vast availability of tone prints and the editor app if you have time to tweak, there is nothing out on the market like that. I use mine on the loop and have prints for ambiance, leads, oscillation and " always on". 3 on tap and 4 on tone print slots. 7 custom sounds plus all the other delay types... At this price point, nothing is even close. And most importantly, it sounds great.

  • from Postfalls Id USA November 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro die hard musician

    secret info

    Love the no nonsense straight forward easy to use unit--- yet very complex, I run this through my Mesa boogie and i run it through the effects loop which makes it sound so much better than in front of the amp. Still not getting AMAZING over the top sounds I resort to the the manual (on line). Turns out there is a tiny little switch inside-(have to open it up) and if you are running it through your effects loop as you ought -- this switch needs to be turned to "buffered position" O yea! there it was -- heaven delay! Hope this might help someone! Now if only Mxr would make a Carbon copy with a 4 preset option!

  • from August 28, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Producer

    Excellent Sound, Versatility & Functionality.

    This is a great pedal not only on my pedal board, but in the studio as well. I use it with a Pigtronix Keymaster as the main delay in my studio & love it. It's awesome on stage too - having 3 preset delays is great. One long, one slapback & one ducked & set low in the mix so I can use it on rhythm stuff when needed is just amazing. The buffer on this pedal is great as well. I've tried a few shows with it engaged & while I notice a bit of a difference, it is subtle. (For the record I usually leave it off) The built in looper is great for writing & working out lead/melody ideas, although I think it would be even better if it were a separate & independent feature of the pedal cause as it is you can either use the looper or the delay live which is a little inconvenient. (I guess that's why they make the Ditto) In any case, as far as digital delays go, this one is killer. My favourite sound is the Roland Space Echo setting. It sounds very close to the original & it's very cool to have a more analog style tone with all the functionality of a digital pedal. SO to sum it up, lots of different sounds, great for studio work, great for live, Great pedal all around!

  • from Boston, MA January 13, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro player with multiple projects (British Blues, Classic Rock).

    Ideal for live gigs - studio quality sound

    I've been searching for a delay pedal for live performances that has multiple presets with individual toggle switches, tap tempo and is NOT a modeling pedal. What makes this special is the ability to easily dial in and store three distinct delay/modulation effects. Changes on the fly are simple and can be reloaded as a new preset.

    The toneprint feature is nice to have, although it requires flipping a mini-toggle switch and dialing in one of the four toneprint presets by hand. Many of the downloads are exquisite and tasteful - not over the top.

    The looper mode is super easy to use in live settings with the same level of control as the delay (delay time, delay volume and feedback).

    The footprint of the unit is a bit large, but I've come to appreciate the spacing of the switches and dials. This is a pedal that will be put to use for a long time.

  • from Earth December 3, 2012Music Background:
    who cares?

    QUITE NOVEL YET UTILITARIAN (i.e. for live and studio)

    First off READ THE MANUAL. I made stupid mistakes because I just was too lazy to learn how to effectively utilize this in a live and studio setting. But once you are up and running (and if I can do it anyone can), its a beauty. My biggest problem was allowing a loop going while playing a solo over it - problem was the solo would start looping well stupid me I just turned the volume on the delay knob all the way down and PROBLEM SOLVED! This is far better than the smaller version this X4. I've tried both and I am keeping my X4 I think anyway. And for the price its a pretty good deal esp. with the toneprints which is quite novel and fun to play around with. All in all, you need to have discipline with this pedal and be patient because you can get too caught up in what you want to do you just miss what is plain as day but you'll catch on. It's for sure a good buy.

  • from Seattle, WA November 13, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician with a day job

    Nice and quiet

    I basically wanted to be able to have a delay where I could recall three settings - long analog, short digital, and slap back. There's a lot of good stuff in this pedal and it will take me a while to get it all dialed in after changing my mind a few dozen times. I like the option to have it as true bypass or buffered signal. The only negative I have is that when switching to a new setting, you have to tap tempo it again - not that big a deal, but it could be a pain live if I switch through the presets on the fly. Another good thing is that the switches are soft toggling, so there's no audible 'click' or pop. A very pro-minded delay pedal.

  • from Terre Haute May 15, 2017

    Flashback delay

    I purchased the Flashback for the looper, and ended up keeping it for the delay. In terms of loopers a 40 second, without MIDI sync is not very impressive compared to other loopers on the market. The delay has an amazing sound, not even gotten into the tone print feature yet. I ended up getting the Ditto X4 for the 5 min loops and midi sync to my Beatbuddy. When using the Flashback and the Ditto X4 in tandem it is a pretty cool system. Both stand alone units are great, I am just not sure I would purchase the Flashback for the loop features (or lack of).. although it is a really great unit

  • from Eagleville, PA March 23, 2015Music Background:
    15+ years.

    Pretty groovy pedal!

    I'm not a guitarist, I'm a vocalist. However, I use mostly guitar pedals and kaoss pads for my live shows. I was looking to replace a Kaoss Pad 2 with a dedicated delay unit, and having already used two other TC pedals, I looked to the FBX4 for my delay needs. Overall, the pedal is great. The delays are awesome, the controls are good for what I need, and the 4 toneprint slots (plus the ability to save TPs in the presets, giving you 7 total TPs) is great. My main issues are that the pedal us MASSIVE. I'm sure it could have been an inch or 2 smaller in width and height, but since I use it as a table top unit, I can't speak to how it would work smaller on the floor.

    The Toneprint editor is great, as well, but it seems a bit handicapped by the lack of certain features. You can't control the panning (even though it has a ping pong delay setting), nor can you turn off or on the reverse function without selecting that preset.

  • from Traverse City, MI October 21, 2015

    Delay and Looper don't play nice.

    First off, great sounding delay effects. I bought this pedal for 2 reasons - a great digital delay and a good stereo looper. I now have each, but I still do not have both. When you finally dial in a great sounding delay effect with the tap tempo and want to loop the riff you are playing using that effect, you can't. When you switch to the Looper mode it resets the delay time to the current setting of the knob. And the MIDI clock doesn't work in Looper mode either. I can't stand setting the delay time using a knob. This is an incredibly frustrating limitation that the designers clearly implemented intentionally, presumably to avoid making their Ditto pedals obsolete. I would gladly pay an extra $100 for a firmware update to allow dual mode functionality.

    I will keep this pedal for the sweet sounding delays, but it looks like I will have to purchase a second one of these enormous sized pedals to achieve the result I was expecting. I will forever shake my head in disgust every time I switch over to Looper mode with the intention of looping a tempo synced riff.

    TC Electronic, release a firmware update to remedy this situation and make this pedal the ultimate delay that you sought out to do.

  • from Brunswick ME USA December 22, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician and recording engineer.

    Mystery defect

    This is a terrific sounding unit with studio grade tones. The looper repeats are very clean and the controls are easy to use. Unfortunately, both my first unit and a replacement (which Sweetwater's excellent service department got to me extremely quickly-thank you! ) would not retain the customer presets. This mattered because I bought it for my stage rig with specific tones for specific songs in mind . The presets were easy to set up and could be recalled during a session, or recalled if powered down and up again the same day, but if left off overnight , my presets were gone the next morning every time. Can't imagine what could cause this. Reluctantly returned it.

Reviews

  • Mitch Gallagher
    12-07-2012

    I love delay pedals. I have many in my collection, and each one is slightly different. But what I really want is a pedal with tap tempo and a few presets. The big thing this delay needs is an input for an expression pedal for real-time control over a parameter (usually delay level) when I'm onstage.

    Imagine how thrilled I was when the TC Electronic Flashback X4 showed up! Not only does it have three delay presets and 12 delay types (including several brand-new types, such as Space and Tube), tap tempo, and an expression pedal input, but it also has a 40-second looper -- and you can load in up to four TonePrints from TC for additional delay types! It even has MIDI for syncing delay time to tempo or for changing presets. Other features include three rhythmic delay subdivisions, analog dry through, true-bypass or buffered operation, independent loop and delay engines, and more.

    The Flashback X4has the same quality delays as the original Flashback, a pedal I love. It's simple to operate. It has tons of features and control options. I have found my ultimate gigging delay!

Questions about the TC Electronic Flashback X4 Delay and Looper Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway