0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

RME Fireface 400 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    If you want stellar converters, great jitter suppression, clean preamps, plenty of I/O, and something that would be phenomenal live or in the studio, pick up an RME Fireface 400. I have gone through 10 interfaces in the past five years and this is the one I have settled on.  It has always been stable, it is expandable, it's small and I noticed an immediate difference when I went from my last interface to the RME.

  • from Ukraine November 17, 2011Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Nice RME 400

    Fantastic Audio Interface !!!!!

  • from Providence RI January 4, 2010Music Background:
    Live sound,

    RME me!

    I can 100% reccomend this interface. Yes you have to shell out a bit more dough than you planned. Yes, you have to put your thinking cap on in the begining. Yes you're going to be so glad you did. Sublime audio, flexible as an octopus. I don't know about my face but my ears are on fire.

  • from Seattle, WA, USA September 4, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Super Sweet

    So easy to hook up. No fire wire issues at all. I use Cubase and Reason. Works perfectly and the mic pre's are spectacular. The routing is infinite once experienced no other interface will do. 100% worth the in investment.

  • from Richland, WA June 9, 2009Music Background:
    4 years recording experience/Advanced Guitarist/song writer/Audio tech/Electrical Engineer

    Good things come in small pacages

    I love this thing. I've been recording in my home for the last 4 years and have gone through 4 interfaces and I finally have a unit that fits my recording needs. It sounds amazing, its built tough, and its portable (half a rack space in size). It will run off of the power provided by your computer or you can plug it into the wall.

    This unit also provides room for me to grow into. It has great converters and plenty of inputs and outputs for me to build my studio around. And if I get to a point where I grow enough to where i would need to upgrade to a larger setup I will be able to use this unit as a mobile unit. All I will need is a good laptop and I'm set.

    The software mix program it comes with has a little bit of a learning curve with it, but its worth learning. Read through manual and you'll be good

    I originally was turned off from this unit when I saw the price and the fact that it only had 2 mic pres, but when I thought about how much money I have been spending on buying and replacing units because either they fall apart or I want something that is going to sound better I decided that I need to spend the money on something good, and typically when dealing with ad/da converters, that means more money equals better conversion quality.

    My worst fear when purchasing this thing was that if something were to go wrong with the unit, I would have to learn German in order to communicate with customer support. But, I solved that problem by purchasing through Sweatwater, now if something falls apart its up to them to learn the German. (cheesy I know, but it sounded funny when I said it in my head).

    Big thanks to Sweetwater support and Mark Brody I now am happy with the gear that I have.

  • from Bourbonnais Illinois November 16, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician, not a pro studio guy yet though, but I will get there and I know sweetwater is there for me (home studio)

    Terrific

    Moving form Omega (which was a fine start) to this Audio interface is nothing short of jaw dropping! Be prepared for a steeper learning curve but be assured Sweetwater will be there to help. Preamps sparkle that was my main objective, plenty of I/O for a home studio and even the pro on the run. Plays nice with my DAW, again a bit of a learnign curve and I have a ways to go yet. I have a rich friend who has an apple and appogee audio interface and he was very impressed that is saying quite a bit considering I am using xp pro. I have tryed some of the other big name dealers on the internet, and no one I mean no one will go the extra mile like the folks at Sweetwater!!!! Thanks Sweetwater and thank you Keith and Mikey!!!!!!

  • from Thief River Falls, MN August 2, 2008Music Background:
    Project Studio Fanatic

    Fantastic!

    Wow. I got it in only 2 days, ate some candy from the sweetwater box, and 2 minutes after I plugged it in, I had playback, and recording. Worked seamlessly with Cubase, and audio sounds great. It took me a few minutes to get a handle on how to operate the rotary, but now I love it! It's so easy, and you can set it to control your main monitor outs as well (a big question I had). I added a few backup vocal tracks to a mix, and they sounded great. I ran my Martin through the front D.I. and that also sounded fantastic. It was so nice to have it up and running so quick. It's almost disappointing that it's half the size of all the gear I just got rid of, and sounds 3 times as good. The Presonus I had was great, but this kicks tail. It only has two preamps on the front, but 3 and 4 also have a bit of gain (+18db) that will work for many applications. I got this as a new cornerstone to a new studio with fantastic A/D conversion and I/O options. I'll have to save up to add some additional pre's to make the great A/D worth it. Thanks Paul Allen!

  • from Paris October 18, 2007Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, Musician

    Great little unit!

    Got the RME Fireface 400 togheter with a pair of Dynaudio BM5a and everything sounds amazing. Everything is thight and clear. Solid drivers and everything is working pefectly in Vista, which came as a suprise to me.

  • from Taiwan Taipei June 21, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    good job !!! RME

    It's a great converter.but you need another pre for Fireface.good for Dance Music.I love it more than apogee AD-16 DA-16.

  • from burns46824@yahoo.com April 2, 2007Music Background:
    Everything

    Fantastic

    This is about as good as it gets under $3000. If you're recording music that only requires 2 channels (hip-hop, electronica), then this is the interface for you. It makes everything so easy. Unlike Apogee products, you won't have to spend an extra $500 for a firewire connector. Simple, elegant...and it doesn't have the compatability problems that the fireface 800 has. My main qualm is that this is a very complicated piece of equipment to install for some reason. RME is very PC specific...and they like their install process to be as specific (and therefore complicated) as possible.

Questions about the RME Fireface 400?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway