0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

PreSonus FireStudio Project Reviews

4.0 stars based on 49 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Lucas Anderson

    The PreSonus FireStudio Project's eight discrete, clean, phantom-powered XMAX preamps enable me to get a clear, noise-free signal chain in my home studio via a Firewire port. And because multiple FireStudio Projects can be daisy-chained, as my recording needs grow my interface will grow with me.

  • Mike C
    from Wisconsin May 23, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer Musician

    Easy set up...

    I needed to add extra inputs to the single Firewire Studio. Initially feeling a little uncertain on how this was all going to work and if daisy chaining these units together really performs.
    To my amazement. It is virtually plug and play. Increased my Computer inputs to 20+ so now can really reduce my reliance on my hardware recording system.Seamless upgrade

  • Carl Carnes
    from Florida December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Long time musician

    Worry Free Interface

    What do you say when a item comes out the box, and works exactly as it claims. The Presonus Firestudio did this 3 times! This was my 3rd unit that was daisy chained together. With simple procedures, and loading of the software, I was up, and running in minutes !!!

  • Carl Carnes
    from Florida November 17, 2014Music Background:
    Long time musician

    Outstanding user-friendly interface

    This interface out the box is as simple to set up, and use as I would have hoped for. Presonus really did a good job with designing this. As I said, a piece of equipment coming out the box ready to play!!!!

  • Roey Haviv
    from Charlotte, NC March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist, Studio owner, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician,

    Amazing!

    I have to start with saying I had experience mixing on a Presonus studiolive console for live bands before getting these units but a live setting (PA) did not do justice to these xmax preamps.
    Now I have 2 of these firestudio projects in my studio (daisy chained) I can here them over studio monitors and they exceeded my expectations to say the least.
    One small thing, If your computer has a firewire 800 (Like mine) make sure you get a bilingual cable, a regular 800 to 400 won't work and the unit won't sync.
    The software is also great! I am switching from Protools to studio one now, There is nothing I can do on one that I can't on the other, Studio one is more stable on my macbook pro.

  • Dave
    from United States August 5, 2013

    I love this

    I had the maudio project mix and I switched to this because I hated the volume dial because you never knew what volume it was at and it ended up blasting my speakers at times. This is so conveniently designed. It'd be better if it had another headphone input but I bought a stereo splitter and that thing is awesome. Everyone should be a stereo splitter. you can listen to music with someone without sharing the same headphones. Anyway, the preamps are pretty good too. I don't if it sounds better than the project mix but it's so much more convenient for me.

  • Mike
    from Concord, NH, 03301 July 11, 2013Music Background:
    professional recording engineer and producer

    Fire Studio

    For the longest time i have been using mackie onxy 16 channel fire wire interface. But honestly it was way far that i need, plus the preamp are not so great. So I've recently researching audio interface that be mobile but professional with good sounded preamp I look no further to presonus fire studio it has everything that i need to do my job right.

    I just order the fire studio last night and can't until i received it. The studio one 2 artist will be my new daw by by logic

  • Brandon Bohannan
    from United States June 20, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Sound enigneer

    Pre Sonus Fire Studio Project

    Blown away so far with the capabilities of this machine. I bough two and daisy chained them together. Now i have so much more control and the improvement in sound quality is definitely noticeable.

  • Jim
    from Detroit, MI April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Band leader and musician

    StudioLive 16.4.2, eat your Heart Out!!! Multiple FireStudio Projects with the SSL Console!!!! More busses, more channels, one third the cost!

    Here is some outside the box thinking for you? How about you use the FireStudio Project as a live mixer with your DAW?!?!? I do it every weekend!! ...AND IT'S AWESOME WITH THE FIRESTUDIO PROJECT!

    I use 2 FireStudio Project interfaces as a live mixer for my shows. The gigs have been a raving success with the client! It is largely due to the use of the crystal clear and lightening fast FireStudio Project.

    I typically run 18 simultaneous in and 8 simultaneous outs with 2 FireStudio Projects (daisy-chained, which makes it act like 1 large interface) via the Reason 6 SSL Console on my MacBook pro. The buffer is set to 64 (1ms) and I get no Latency AND the best part is that I control the SSL Console wirelessly from my iPad (with rsTouch by Delora Software). Below is the typical gig setup for me with the FireStudio Projects:

    Note that all channels are utilizing separate compression, gate, and effects processing on each and doesn't effect the performance of the FireStudios.

    IN
    Full drum mic-up (7 mics)
    Bass
    Guitar
    2 keyboard players
    5 Vocals Mics
    Stereo Stems

    OUT
    6 separate monitor mixes
    Stereo main

    Compared to the much more expensive Studiolive w/ 16X10ish channels of I/O, I got the same XMAX preamps, arguable a better console by using Reason (SSL Console), more I/O, and wireless capability for less than half the price. Oh and I can still add 1 more FireStudio, if I run out of room and end up with 56X56 (I think this is the max channels Presonus will allow).

    Not that I am against the StudioLive but the SSL console in Reason gives me much more versatility and 20X20 channels of I/O with my 2 FireStudio Projects at 1/2 the cost of the StudioLive, which I have also used a lot in other bands.

    Bottom line: GET ONE!!! or two...or three! You wont be sorry!

  • Rick
    from East Bay San Francisco January 10, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing and recording for years.

    Presonus Firestudio Project

    Great DAW and the included software "Studio One 2" is awesome. I remember when you had to have a whole rack of gear to do what this does for $350. It's rock solid and well built, I really like the knobs.

    I do wish that I had know about Firestudio Project before I bought my 16 track mixer, because I could have easily gotten by with a smaller mixer to run my PA.

  • Mark Marshall
    from Kingston, NY January 5, 2013Music Background:
    Composer/multi-instrumentalist/producer

    Quiet, feature-packed and VERY stable.

    I had to replace two still functioning but seriously aged MOTU 1224's. I did a boatload of research before settling on the Firestudio Project - and I was NOT disappointed. I had it up and running within 10 minutes of getting it out of the box.

    The Mic Pres sound great, the FSP is VERY VERY quiet, and the cherry on top is Studio One, which ROCKS. It ended up replacing my former DAW entirely.

  • Dave
    from Northeast PA November 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Great upgrade from an Audiobox USB

    This is probably the best 8 Preamp interface in this price range. If you are a drummer or want to record multiple instruments at once then consider this unit.

    - The knobs are smooth.
    - Level LEDs work well enough.
    - Firewire is more efficient at transferring data to your computer than USB 2.0.
    - There are 2 firewire ports on the back of this unit meaning that if you wanted to, you can link 2 Firestudios together for a total of 16 Preamps!
    - Studio One works well enough and has a lot of features you can download from the Presonus website. (Works flawlessly with REAPER too.)

    I highly recommend this interface. Just make sure that your computer has a firewire port or else you may need to install a firewire card. I use this interface on a laptop so I had to pick up a 4-pin to 6-pin Firewire cable because this unit comes with a standard 6 to 6 pin cable. Either way there is no loss to performance and I think this is the last interface I will ever need for recording.

    Thanks Sweetwater and Presonus

  • Randy McDonald
    from Pineville, Louisiana October 12, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound and Recording, as well as musician

    PreSonus Project Studio Awesomness

    I have had a Firemobile Studio for some time. I really liked what it gave me, with the exception that sometimes I was very limited due to only two preamps available for two separate tracks to record simultaneously. Well, it doesn't take a genius to read up and see that the Fire Studio Project can do 8 simultaneously, however, I have been totally blown away by the crispness of those preamps, it's as if I purchased new microphones as well (which I haven't).

    This is really far better than I would have hoped, for the money I spent! Keep it up Presonus, and all hail to the experts at Sweetwater who know what I need and how to present it to me!

  • Anthony
    from Philadelphia October 10, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    I honestly owe my life to this interface.

    I ordered this interface on 10/5/2008. Its 4th birthday just passed today, October 10th. October 10th was day that it showed up on my doorstep and I recorded my first piece of audio with a condenser microphone completely by myself. I even got a free faderport too with a cool rebate! Little did I know that this interface was going to decide what career path I was going to take after high school. 4 years ago I was a 16 year old nerd. Today I'm a professional audio engineer, I have bachelors degree in Recording Arts, and I'm making a solid living. Went through all of school, and the beginning of my career still using this interface. I'll admit, I'm upgrading to an HD rig this Christmas, but it has served one hell of a life with me. The preamps are solid. Bright, but solid. It has 2 insert send and returns. I would recommend using a different 2 channel pre for vocals and overheads, then sample out the individual drums. The instrument DI sounds great for bass and guitar. Other than that, the thing is solid and can go through one hell of a beating. If I wasn't recording, I was using this interface to playback music all 1,460 days of its life. It has countless hours under its belt and still going strong! A+ to Presonus. I thank you guys for changing my life.

  • David Brown
    from Baltimore, MD August 27, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Mixing Engineer, Recording Engineer

    Excellent Interface

    I have used this interface for over a year in my home studio. I have yet to have a single issue with it (knock on wood). The Presonus Firestudio Project is an amazing interface for it's price range. I would even rival it against interfaces that are slightly more expensive (up to around $700 range). Good internal preamps, firewire connectivity, solid interfacing software(Presonus Universal Control) and comes with Studio One v2 Artist (Amazing DAW). When it comes to "Bang for your buck", nothing compares.

  • Justin Dean
    from Columbus, GA July 9, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician, Mixer

    WOW

    I have just recently made the leap to drum recording and I was on a SUPER tight budget since my wife needed shoes and yoga pants. So I was looking at interfaces and came across the FireStudio.

    I could not be happier! The metering is great, it sounds fantastic, and it has plenty of gain to do anything I want! The routing is great for what I need and I have even more options for future upgrades.

    I highly recommend this unit to anyone on a budget that needs 8 channels of great recording power!

  • Bradley
    from Boston, MA USA December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Student in Video/Audio

    Just Get It!

    I know how $400, $500 but honestly, it's really worth it. I had a bunch of gear, panning mixers, several cables to try and get a solid recording but this made it so much easier. Simply power it up, plug in the firewire cable, and open your software. I use yourself

    Get yourself a decent compressor ($150), Behringer's MicroAMP ($20), and some decent headphones/monitors and you'll have a perfect recording setup for WHATEVER all for UNDER $800!!!

  • Stuart Garlock
    from Rochester, NY USA August 5, 2011Music Background:
    Student, Recording Hobbyist

    So good, I had to pick up a second.

    This unit works. It's simple to use. Plug it in, hook up your mics, Record. It sounds great, haven't had any problems with drivers or hardware. PreSonus has a bad rap for their driver updates, but they released the beta for Lion with in a week of the Lions release, and everything works. I'm really happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone who is trying to start up a project studio.

  • Customer
    from bahamas July 22, 2011Music Background:
    producer

    awesome interface

    this is an awesome interface. presonus has some of the best D/A converters in this price range. the quality of my recordings skyrocketed after i got this unit. perfect for your rack, because everything is on the front! never understood why some companies put the INPUT connections on the back of a rackmounted unit... and the levels on the front are nice too :)

  • Alex R.
    from SC, USA May 17, 2011Music Background:
    Recording and Live Engineer, Musician, Hobbyist

    Great Item!!!

    I was looking for an Audio Interface upgrade for my home studio and I came across this one. Overall its was Amazing!! The first time I have used it I was amazed by the sound quality. Before this I had M-Audio and you can tell the difference right away. The Preamps sound great on the FireStudio; they have warm, full sound to it.

    One problem I had was to get it to work... It took me to hours to get it to work with mac and windows.

  • PATT
    from La. April 27, 2011Music Background:
    mastering, mixing, recording, production

    VERY COOL

    VERY IMPRESSIVE INTERFACE. I USE IT WITH SONAR 8.5. I LOVE THE IDEA THAT IT CAN FIT IN THE RACK NO LITTLE BOX SLIDING ALL OVER THE PLACE (lol). THE OTHER GREAT FEATURE IS THAT YOU HAVE REAL KNOBS THAT ARE SLOTTED NO PUSH HERE MOVE THERE NAVIGATION. THE OVERALL QUALITY EXCEEDS OTHERS LOWER AND HIGHER IN COST IN MY OPINION. I HAD A FEW ISSUES WITH STATIC BUT SWEETWATER TECH SUPPORT IS ALWAYS ON TOP OF THEIR GAME. I ALWAYS ENCOURAGE ALL MUSICIANS TO BUY SWEETWATER BECAUSE IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH GEAR THEY "MAKE" IT HAPPEN!

  • Caleb Fritz
    from Bloomsburg, PA August 16, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Presonus delivers with the FireStudio Project

    I have been using the FireStudio Project for a year now and I can say with confidence that the thought of upgrading to another so-called "professional" converter hasn't even crossed my mind! I recorded my first demo song with the built in preamps and was pleasantly surprised with how quiet they were. I have since put the Presonus Eureka in front for the added presence and warmth, but for jumping right into recording out of the box, the preamps on this thing are more than sufficient. The converters are super clean and maintain the sonic quality of the recording without any noticeable loss in character. In short, they produce a very professional sound...something that you can be proud to let your friends or professionals listen to. I did a lot of research before I bought this thing, and I have done a lot of research since...I haven't found anything anywhere near this price range that offers not only high quality A/D conversion but also a bundled software package that will get you up and running and keep you there for a long time. I produced my entire CD using the included Cubase LE4, plug-ins, and drum loops that came with the FireStudio Project. If you are serious about recording a great sounding album and don't want to be eating Ramen noodles for the next year because you busted the bank on some other overpriced piece of equipment, then look no further. Presonus has delivered an awesome piece of gear with the FireStudio Project.

  • Ben Balser, ACT
    from Southeast Louisiana March 10, 2008Music Background:
    Live Sound, Composer, Post Production for video and broadcast

    Field and Studio, this rocks!

    I do broadcast and video production, as well a music composition in the studio. I wanted a flexible I/O solution for my Mac tower and MacBook Pro. It had to work with Final Cut Pro, SoundTrack Pro, Logic (that it also works with GarageBand is a plus, too). This unit does it all! The sound quality is outstanding, pre amps are super awesome. Flexible, powerful, and at a reasonable price. I very highly recommend this unit!

  • Chet A.
    from Cherry Hill, NJ November 22, 2007Music Background:
    Musician/Studio Guy

    Pleasantly surprised

    I was able to track the entire band and send each musician a separate headphone mix using the built in mixer and several hp4's. Everybody was happy with the Firestudio Project. The drum sounds we got were really shockingly good. The drummer kept asking me what preamp and eq we were using. I tracked all the drums flat with no eq or compression - just the preamps from the Firestudio Project. Cubase LE4 is a HUGE step up from LE as well. Although I'm probably going to upgrade to Cubase4 soon.

  • Red Rock Recording
    from Topeka, KS November 2, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    good one presonus

    I was looking at this and the motu8 pre. The meters look and function great and I love the sound of the preamps on the firestudio project. I'll be adding the central station soon.

  • Steve
    from November 11, 2015Music Background:
    musician/producer/engineer

    Good interface

    I use it with Sonar 8.5 (never upgraded cuz it does what I want). Very good mic pres and sounds good enough that I'm buying better mics and shopping for better monitors. It's quiet. Using a slightly older Windows machine (win 7) and it gets a little twitchy once in a while, but mostly works great. The main thing is, that in this price range, you get superb sound and flexibility. It's good enough that I'm thinking to upgrade my OS and add another FSP to daisy chain. I've had a couple of other interfaces (mAudio, etc). and this is my go-to unit. Here's the thing: I do a lot of live audio mixed with midi and it handles that exceptionally well. My outside clients have been thrilled with what I can do and my own projects have worked out great.

  • Steve
    from November 5, 2015

    Extra channels for live mix

    We have a 24 channel presonus mixer and needed more channels. We were using 8 channels for the drum set. We sent the 3 toms to the unit and assigned them to one output and sent that to the mixer and did the same with the 3 cymbals. Reduced the drum channels on the mixer from 8 to 4. We still can control the individual toms and cymbal volumes on the Firestudio Project. We used the last 2 channels to combine 2 click tracks (computer and drumset) into one input on the mixer. Total of 10 channels into 3. The unit has worked perfectly for nearly a year.
    The manual assumes this unit will be used as a recording interface and doesn't give any info to set up for the way we used it. After much reading and overthinking, just assigned the channels to the outputs and it was ready. Doesnt need to stay connected to firewire once it is set up

  • cyrral
    from Michigan January 25, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Solid interface, depending on price point

    I purchased this when it was nicely discounted, which makes it a great at that price. Especially when you can daisy-chain up to 4 of these units. (I have two that work perfect together)
    At its current price, there is a lot of competition from PreSonus' own 1818VSL and other manufacturers. So it's important to know your needs and potential for expansion.
    Still, the unit has held it's own for 4+ on the market, so that says quite a bit about the stability of the design and features. Plus, the fact that you'll find many videos on how successful the interface is when used to record huge multitrack large-venue church concerts and services.
    Depending on your expansion needs and price range, this unit does exactly what it's intention, and performs excellently.

  • Richard
    from Maine May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, and Live

    Good Unit

    Great Unit, I used it for recording and now in a Live app. Note- I have gotten noise out of it and found "Everything" going into it is polarity sensitive. It can handle all our keyboards with a Macbook using Studio Logic 88 key and Logic's programs. Never had a problem and has been on the road (cold weather) and take the bumps and bangs fine.

  • Ross M
    from United States April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Home Recording, Live Sound

    FireStudio Project

    Preamps sound fine, low noise, and simple to use. Universal Control is incredible useful for monitoring with no latency, and helps cut down on your DAWs CPU usage when recording since I'm not running the audio live from the DAW, I'm running it from Universal Control. Being able to daisy chain these with other FireStudio's is awesome too, my drummer has a Project as well, so that gives us 16 tracks to record at a time. ADAT would've been a nice addition so I don't have to have to specifically have more FireStudio interfaces to get more channels, but I'm doing fine with it.

    It was also incredibly generous of PreSonus to include Studio One. I don't use that particular DAW (I'm an Ableton and Logic Pro guy), but that's super useful for people just getting into recording.

  • Allan Ronas
    from Chicago October 19, 2012Music Background:
    Pro R.E.

    A REAL piece of equipment!

    It is a real piece of equipment! It works as it should! It feels and performs in very reliable and intuitive manner. Also, remember when almost all studio equipment was housed in a metal enclosure? And knobs and buttons felt hefty and secure? Presonus has revived those reassuring feelings of ruggedness and durability with their products. At this affordable price I expected some corners to be clipped, but it is housed in actual metal! A real metal face! And real metal knobs with multi-detents as you turn them one way or the other! Its actually as heavy as it looks!

  • gene argel
    from wailuku, maui June 29, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    great price, service

    so far I love the equipment

  • Brent
    from Atlanta, GA November 19, 2010Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Engineer, Producer

    Great Interface for the Money

    Just wanted to pop in and give this interface a review due to the extensive use it has had in my studio. Prior to this I was using a.....mmmmmm.....box of some sort. When I received the Firstudio Project, I could not believe the difference in sound quality. Sure, the average listener might not be blown away, but anybody who has had any amount of time in the studio (behind proper monitoring) should have no issue in hearing that this has wonderful Preamps and converters....both the AD and the DA are great quality for the price.

    AND.....I love Studio One. As a previous protooler, I understand the DAW world, and Studio One definitely adds up to be the quickest creation station I have worked with (along with Logic).

    Kudos Presonus!!

  • Ian "Mr. Drybones" Wellsby
    from Buffalo, NY September 16, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician & Producer

    great firewire interface for project studios and mobile use

    The Presonus Firestudio Project has excellent quality XMAX mic pres. these pres have neutrik combo jacks which accept traditional 3 pin XLR or 1/4" phono plugs. Although i put a preamp in front of the firestudio, these mic pres are certainly good enough to use without any outboard gear.
    Presonus includes Cubase LE4 recording software and a decent tutorial dvd to get you started. The 48 track software is more than adequate for recording your entire band at once or doing track by track recording for solo musicians who play all the parts themselves. There are plenty of plug ins included to help add spice and spatiality to your recordings as well as produce broadcast quality masters.
    Presonus includes all necessary hookup wires so there is nothing else needed to get started as long as you have a pair of headphones or some other means of monitoring (which by the way presonus made making great monitor mixes a breeze).
    All in all, the Presonus Firestudio Project is a great, easy to use firewire interface that can be used as a mobile recording setup, a front end for your home studio or as a mixer for your live performances. When quality counts (as it always does), this is a very inexpensive (and expandable) solution to your digital I/O needs. Purchase with confidance!

  • Joshua
    from Texas, USA September 16, 2008Music Background:
    classical pianist

    Good price/performance

    I was looking at upgrading my aging Fostex digital recorder with a firewire interface. For the quality and price point, the FireStudio Project can't be beat. Very quiet pre-amps, and an overall nice-sounding package. Works well with the included Cubase software, there is a little bit of a learning curve to it. I had problems getting everything to work properly until I upgraded with the most recent patches from the website.

  • Customer
    from February 9, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, engineer, producer

    Actually has 10 outputs.. Spdf on back!

    I owned one of these and was confused when I hooked it up, much like my fellow confused reviewers have described in their reviews below. I'm posting to be helpful, if I can, because I was ready to throw it in to the street before it started to make sense. Mine worked great for around five or six years once it did make sense.

    The spdf jacks can be used as inputs and outputs. There are two orange spdf jacks- arranged vertically- on the back of the interface. Their mixing settings can be seen digitally at the bottom right hand side in the Universal Control mixer software. You need to download the software from Presonus's website. The tabs on the right side of the software interface must be clicked individually to show the 2 channels listed on that tab. From there you can route these channels in pairs or individually, as well as disable or enable each pair. The spdf tab works the same way. However, spdf is a two channel digital protocol using one in and one out jack. They are the exact same size as a normal RCA jack. Each cable carries two channels. One jack for in and one jack for out. You need a spdf device to send to the spdf jack. If you want to pass the spdf signal on after it is taken in to the interface, you need a spdf device to recieve that signal as well.

    SPDF gear seems pretty rare these days, though.

  • Frank Cotinola
    from Laguna Beach, California November 16, 2015Music Background:
    over 50 yrs playing, teaching & recording drums

    My second Presonus FireStudio Project

    When we finally (with the assistance of a tech on the phone) got the two FireStudios to since up, things have been great. I only record drum tracks but now, with 16 channels, I can give my clients more options with the addition of ambient room and under-snare tracks. All in all, quite an improvement.

  • Matt Osterholt
    from Chicago Heights, IL,US January 19, 2012Music Background:
    Lifelong music lover

    A great addition to my small studio.

    It makes managing all my input/output seemless. I love the flexability not to mention it sounds great!

  • Cory
    from Rocklin January 4, 2010Music Background:
    Musician/Producer

    Awsome sounding but has bugs

    This Interface workes great and sounds great. If you expirance popping and hissing you need to restart your computer. I believe the drivers are not the best. Mine always works when I turn on the firestudio and then restart my computer befour opening up cubase.

  • Jeff
    from Salinas, Ca. May 11, 2009Music Background:
    Live Sound, Recording, Musician, Hobbyist

    Very Nice

    I have Sonar 6 and this was reccomended by my sales rep , After I installed the software , driver etc plugged it in ...it did not work , I walked through the install one more time and went online to sweet care and reviewed q/a section on Sonar ... checked my settings on/in Sonar ... perfect it all works !!

  • Matt
    from El Centro, CA March 2, 2008Music Background:
    amature performer and recording engineer

    good value

    A freind of mine asked me to help him set up his own home studio. When we were shopping for a mixer, we ran across the thing and the salesman really recommended it. Although I thought the thing looked mickey-mouse, we bought it. We got it home, hooked it up and 45 minutes later we were getting very clean tracks with the thing. It comes with good software, but we used it with Sonar 6 and it worked like a champ. Because of the ease of set up (just plug it in and run the installation disk) and the high quality signal we got I would recommend this product to anyone wanting to set up a home studio where space is premium. If you really like all the sliders and stuff, they are still there, only they are virtual, saving a ton of space.

  • Howard Ziwa
    from Scottsdale, AZ September 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Recording Engineer/ Pro Musician

    Clean Pre-amps , Questionable Outputs (Main and general purpose)

    The X-Max Pre-amps are impressively flat in frequency response what you give is quite noticeably what you get . I usually put products through frequency analytic tests. Feeding white noise and Pink noise as well as a frequency sweep yielded an impressive flat response with the pre-amps with very minor peaks in the bottom end. On the other hand when i did a loop test from the main outputs and the general purpose outputs the results were horiffic; The bottom end is boosted beginning around 700 hz till about 65 hz ; the crazy part is that there are several bad peaks at approximately 1.4, 2.9,4.3,5.7,7.1, 8.5 khz and so on and so forth which appear to be 1st , 2nd , 3rd order harmonics ....etc

    Now these tests were not exhaustive but you get my drift...
    What this means is that one should compliment this interface with an external DA converter for monitoring like maybe a Dangerous Music Source via SPDIF or save money and just get a better interface maybe in the RME line.

    This may just be my unit but you might wanna test yours as well just to see otherwise i am keeping it for the Pres.

  • DD
    from Howell, MI March 7, 2013Music Background:
    m

    Good product, iffy user manual

    The FireStudio Project and Studio One Software work as described. No complains about the gear at all but the support documentation is really poor. While I'm new to pro level DAW processes, I'm not new to computers. Many of the software functions are pretty intuitive but several are not and when I referred to the user guide the text often assumed you had familiarity with functions that are not addressed in the guide at all. Thankfully there are plenty of third party videos on YouTube that explain this software clearly and quickly, often highlighting functions that are nowhere to be found in the user guide.

  • PK
    from December 14, 2012

    Be Careful

    These units can be a bit touchy. I have two of them. One of them outputs dual mono for no apparent reason. The warranty is up on that unit so I just use it as the slave for extra inputs. The other unit was outputting half voltage on the left for a while, but suddenly decided to work properly again one day, no apparent reason. I often have to quit logic and reset the unit when the inputs go down for no apparent reason. The price is right for the home studio but I would say they are a bit unreliable.

  • Tim
    from Indianapolis area June 15, 2015Music Background:
    Trumpet Performance Degree

    Not again...

    I just had my 2nd Firestudio Project in about 3 years fail. Odd things like losing one side of the headphone amp, not being able to turn the sound off is the latest issue. I switched to the alternative outs only to be greeted by a new and wicked 60hz hum. This is a real bummer as I like the sound and functionality.
    Not gonna buy another...

  • Shetoro Henderson
    from Atlanta January 6, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/ songwriter / engineer

    False and misleading claims

    I am very disappointed that I purchased this product. Presonus claims that there are 10 outputs, yet there are really only 8. Outputs 9 and 10 { the Mains} are duplicates of outputs 1 and 2 I purchased this product thinking I'd get ten separate audio outs, but was very surprised to found that I was back to eight outs and two duplicates that Presonus is advertising as 10 outputs. Moreover, I was again taken back that the software that you get with purchasing the interface {Studio One} does not support 3rd party plug-ins unless you purchase the additional software upgrade for $80.00

  • Dale
    from Washington State August 21, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio

    SUCKS!

    Bought this as a 3rd party interface for ProTools and it sucks.

    Steer Clear!

  • Elbee
    from Brooklyn March 27, 2015Music Background:
    classically and jazzically trained percussionist turned producer, enGineer, writer and vocalist bass keys.

    waaait! before you buy. (8 outs??)

    maybe there's somethinG that i don't understand, and if I'm wronG please correct me: it claims to have 8 assiGnable 1/4" outputs, but 2 of those eiGht outputs, are a duplicate of the Main Outs and cannot be chanGed. so it seems to be a lot like 6 assiGnable outs.

    and it should be possible to send two tracks out of your SPDIF, but that requires an SPDIF converter box for me bc the 8 track tape machine that I'm goinG into from the interface, doesn't have have SPDIF.

    i tried to 'trick' this interface into actinG as i needed to by tryinG to use the two SENDS OUT as the other two assiGnable outs that
    are 'missinG'- but the siGnal chain from the SENDS and RETURNS are hardwired to the INS of channels 1 and 2... Not the Outs of channels 1 and 2. so gettinG somethinG already recorded to playback out of the SENDS from 1 and 2 is impossible w. this machine.

    so if you REAALLY need 8 completely separated and assiGnable outs, (like i do) this doesn't seem to so justice.

    unless you buy TWO and link daisy chain em.

    like i said, if it's me that's not understandinG somethin, help a brother out. Threece.

  • Carmen
    from United States June 21, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer, pro musician, composer/sound designer

    You get what you pay for

    Ever since I bought this box, it's been nothing but problems. I originally hope it would be a cheap fix to a live set-up. A few months in, the MIDI just stopped working so I had to send the box back to Pre Sonus and have them fix it. Now I've tried to upgrade my computer and their driver, although it says it's compatible with Mountain Lion, does not work on my machine. Customer support? They pretty much force you take a message instead of holding to speak to a live person. They said they would contact me within 1-2 business days over e-mail. Well it's been two weeks...

    In terms of sound, this box is very cold IMHO. It definitely sounds like a cheap digital unit without any warmth, or even transparency. If sound quality is not a big deal to you for your application though, then it may not matter as much.

    Lesson learned: cheap boxes are cheap for a reason. My last box was a $800 MOTU and it lasted 8 years of heavy use before the LCD screen stopped working. I'd be surprise if this one makes it 2.

  • Michael Valeri
    from Charlotte, NC September 16, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Active Musician

    Poor Quality, Strongly Recommend a Different Interface

    The bassist in my band recently bought this as he was beggining to create a recording setup. We set it up the way the manual said with a brand new macbook (2.4 gHz processor and 2 GB of RAM). The interface constantly made popping and hissing through the monitors and distorted the sound quality. We recieved 3 of these interfaces, and they all contained the exact same problem. I strongly recommend an Alesis interface or M-audio. Presonus has shown a strong lack of quality in this product.

Questions about the PreSonus FireStudio Project?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway