0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Wampler Faux Tape Echo with Tap Tempo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 28 customer reviews
  • from Springfield, MO September 15, 2016

    LOVE LOVE LOVE

    Been playing guitar for about 35 years now. I discovered the Danelectro Dan Echo pedal a couple decades ago and nothing else compared. The only problem is that they make them really cheap and pretty much anyone who has ever gigged with one will tell you a story of how the inputs go out. Such a shame because it is beautiful sounding - and newer Dan Electro pedals just don't sound nearly so perfect.

    So.. I spent the last few years looking for something better. I played through several other delay pedals and most recently a MXR Carbon Copy. I'll never understand the Carbon Copy love as it just did not give the warm, analog sound that a pedal should (it was great on cleans but forget it on rock solos). I found this and on my first try with it, I hooked it into my chain and was only mildly impressed. Then... I put it in the FX Loop. Wowza! Exactly what I had been searching for.. warm slap-back that never gets in the way of your sound. It is digital but it sure sounds analog. The tap tempo works flawlessly and I pretty much hit the tempo for the perfect delay before every song when out playing a gig. I just couldn't ask for more in a pedal.

    Oh wait.. yes I could. I almost gave it 4 stars just because that danged red light never goes off. That's my only gripe. I don't like lights on when I'm not using a pedal. When I hit 'Bypass', everything should be off. I've learned to live with it though. :)

  • from East Greenville, PA June 23, 2016

    This thing is nice

    usually am not super impressed with new equipment but this pedal is nice.....doesnt affect my tone at all...have only played with it for a little bit but can tell im going to have a long relationship with this delay.....sky is the limit!

  • from Palatine, IL March 15, 2016Music Background:
    30+ Years in a band

    Awesome!

    I have been using a Boss DD-20 for a number of years - after seeing all of the glowing reviews of the Wampler Tape Echo I thought I would give it a go...and I am very glad I did. I a/b'd the two and the biggest initial difference is the FTE does not color your sound at all, it just adds a luscious delay that blends perfectly with guitars, amps and effects. It is really hard now not to keep the delay on when playing as it really adds to a great tone/sound. Great purchase and I highly recommend.

  • from Ms January 27, 2016

    Wampler Faux Tape Echo

    Closest to a real tape echo I've found, and I have a Fulltone Tube Tape Echo.

  • from October 21, 2015

    10 stars

    I've had quite a few delay pedals in my years of playing guitar. Some I hated some I loved. I've been using the mxr carbon copy for awhile and it's alright, even fit perfectly on my board. Well after playing this pedal, I'll rearrange my board quick! This is the best delay I've come across so far. The tones are out of this world. The slap back is the heavenly, the tap tempo is great, the modulation is usuable. If you're looking for a delay pedal, this is the one. First wampler pedal for me, and definitely won't be the last. Thanks Tyler for recommending this one and for the awesome service!

  • from Hammond, IN July 11, 2015Music Background:
    Rock/Blues

    Well thought out Delay

    Like most guitarists that have been playing for many years I own several delays and all have both good and bad or pros and cons. The exception to the rule is this pedal. I am still trying to find something, anything, that I don't care for or that could have been done differently or better. After 6 weeks I've given up because I don't think there is anything that could be better or that I would change. This delay is a winner!

  • from Hammond, IN June 15, 2015Music Background:
    Rock, Blues

    Really really Nice nice nice

    Picked this up at Sweetwater's Gear Fest on 6/13/15 in addition to a PRS SE Custom 24. I read reviews and checked out You Tube for a few weeks before buying this delay. I have been playing for over 30 years and have owned and continue to own several delays from Boss, TC Electronics, MXR, etc. I have always felt the Flashback and the Alter Ego 2 were really fine delays and each has its use. The Wampler produces stellar sounds that are exactly what I wanted and I find it incredibly easy to dial in what I'm looking for. I have respect for Wampler pedals as my board now holds 6 of Brian's creations. I have 2 pedal boards, my main board now has 2 delays, the Faux Tape Echo and the TC Alter Ego 2. I no longer gig but I spend many hours each week in my home studio creating and my main board is loaded with the Wampler Ego, Clarksdale, Euphoria, Sovereign, and Velvet Fuzz and now I'm running the Wampler delay alongside the Alter Ego and between the two I have it covered. If I had to choose just one, it would be the Wampler. Great sound, ease of use, quality of construction and American made!

  • from mathews .virginia January 25, 2015Music Background:
    played all my life

    best thig going

    if your looking for a versatile delay and echo this is it. does not get any better ,does net rob your sound just brings it to new heights fantastic little piece of hardware and the servie here is fantastic at Sweetwater .TANKS MUCH BART A.

  • from Ohio January 4, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    I love this pedal!

    This is a great sounding delay pedal. It creates a richness and depth to my sound that I wasn't getting with my Boss DD-5. This has quickly become my favorite pedal that I own. I highly recommend it.

  • from Eastern N.C. January 3, 2015

    Great versatility!

    This pedal is pure sonic bliss!! It covers mild to wild!! If broken or stolen,
    I'd buy another one.Ive owned a number of other delay pedals from other un named brands..and none of the them had the versatility and build quality that this pedal has.

  • from Tyler, Texas October 18, 2014

    Wampler Faux Tape Delay

    Heavy construction. High quality is obvious - built like a tank. The sound is out of this world! Transparent and crystal clear. The warbling effect is outstanding.

  • from Tampa, FL October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Engineer, Producer, Musician

    WOW...WOw...Wow....wow...

    Pure sonic bliss. This pedal is fantastic. It so perfectly fits my needs that it is almost as if the crew at Wampler had my studio bugged for R&D and then created this just for me. This could be my signature model :)

    Seriously though, it nails the main types of delay sounds I use. It's obvious that it nails tape style, but it also nails tube style echo, and echo with modulation. From a country or retro slap to a lush landscape swirling with ambiance to everything in between, this really works great. My tone stays my tone, it just gets made better by the inclusion of the effects. The controls are well thought out and very powerful, yet simple to use.

    hands down a winner. Literally replaces every type of delay/echo that I use on a regular basis.

  • from September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/guitarist for BeBop DeVille

    Wampler Faux Tape Echo

    I was totally blown away by this pedal, incredible tone and endless capabilities is astonishing. For what I do the Tap Tempo feature is not
    necessary, The Faux tape real has a real vintage feel to It !
    and thumbs up to the folks at sweetwater there expedience on my order was amazing !!!

  • from Viera, FL July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Tone, Easy Use & Quality Components

    I recently purchased several new pedals with the goal to build the best pedalboard I could. I wanted to buy the best all around delay pedal I could get and after much research the Wampler Faux Tape Echo won. The combination of delay, and tape echo was a great benefit.

    One small but important thing I found in all the Wampler pedals was the inclusion of a good Duracell battery. While other similar priced pedals included a 9v battery, it was usually a crappy one. The kind that would blow out and ruin your pedal if you didn't keep a close eye on them. By including a good battery Wampler is showing a commitment to quality components that result in the best tone.

  • from South of Ann Arbor, MI July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Wow and Flutter is the new Shock and Awe!

    You can run the Faux Tape Echo as a regular delay by turning off the "Faux Tape Reel" and it sounds great. But when you engage it, you can dial in just the right amount of "shimmer" that adds an extra dimension to the delays while you play.
    Just as important, the pedal also has a Tap Tempo feature which keeps your delays in time with the music.
    Quality build and great sound.

  • from Alabama June 29, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing guitar since about seven years old.

    Faux echo

    Great pedal. Delay is about all I use. My amps are all single ended. I have tow old tweed Fender Deluxes,a !49 and a'59. This delay is less intrusive than my TimeFactor. I love it,but the Wampler is easy to get what you want quick.

  • from Newburgh,Indiana April 26, 2013Music Background:
    Part-Time Musician

    Wampler Faux Tape Echo with Tap Tempo

    I really love the clarity of different Echos of this Wampler Faux Tape Echo with Tap Tempo pedal. The Tap Tempo feature is a must have I was looking for also. A definite improvement from my old Danecho and not as much bending over.

    Thanks for the interest in helping me with the personal service from Brent at Sweetwater!

  • from Beaverton, OR March 14, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Composer, Producer, Hobbyist, Former Performing Musician

    Amazing sound and versatility!

    The Faux Tape Echo is my 4th Wampler pedal and I couldn't be happier with it. The quality of the sound is amazing. The unaffected analog signal path helps keep your guitar's sound pure while the echoed sound says out of the way of your original signal, even in the wettest mix settings. The modulation effects are warm and natural sounding and give a real sense of depth and space. From great slapback sounds, to warm subtle repeats, to lush Eric Johnson-esque modulated delays, the Faux Tape Echo is a stellar pedal. Buy one today! And no, I have no affiliation with Wampler. I just love their stuff. :)

  • from Logan, UT March 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Impressive now has an upgrade?!

    Wampler does it again... I owned the original Faux Tape Echo and sold it in an effort to consolidate delays. Well, I regretted it ever since. I absolutely loved the Tape Emulation it did, and although I had many delays with "modulation" None came close to producing the real time slow down/speed up of the tape type sound. I was thrilled to hear that they were coming out with an updated version.

    First off, with the modulation switched off you are getting the Faux Analog Echo, which is great in and of itself. With the modulation switched on, this pedal gives you control over the tape modulation. You can adjust this so its more subtle than the original, or complete all out warble, broken tape player wackiness!

    The shade knob allows you to dial back the intensity of the echo.

    All in all another home run for Wampler.

  • from West Lafayette, IN January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Buy This!

    This pedal is unbelievable! The price may be a little hard to swallow, but it is well worth the pain in the pocketbook. The Faux Tape Echo can do anything and everything you like. Although digital, it has the controls and the methods to provide the user with both digital and analog tone. That is, you can make it maple syrup thick or light and easy like a feather. Literally, whatever you want. Additionally, those who enjoy experimentation with weird and wobbly sounds can engage the "Faux Tape Reel" and dial in an entirely different world of tone. Easy to use and fun to play with! I am sure you will find yourself leaving it on more and more, making it a permanent fixture to your tone!

  • from Indiana, United States July 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tremendous Effect!

    I use this delay to thicken my clean tone or solos. The Wampler Tape Echo does a fantastic job! There is enough control to allow you to get the echos just as you want them but it is not difficult to get great sounds.

    If the maximum delay time was a little longer it would be perfect! Still, this delay is awesome!

  • from South Carolina June 17, 2013

    Its own sound

    This is an excellent, tone character building pedal. The sound is peculiar, its own and it works great with or without the faux tape engaged. Nevertheless, in my experience, the pedal is very sensitive to where you place it on the effects' chain. In my case, I almost returned it due to an unpleasant white noise that would be evident starting on repeat #1. After trying different placements, the one that worked for my setup was on the loop, before my digital delay- go figure. I know others have used this at the front of their amps with no issues...
    I am so glad I was able to make this work since it really provides warmth to my lead and multi delay work. This will not provide a dozen delay types but does provide a great delay with awesome modulation!

  • from July 10, 2016

    Great delay, but there might be better options.

    The features on this pedal are great. The variable modulation is awesome. The delays sound really good as well. The only gripe for me was the pedal has a bit of noise that wasn't pleasant. If noise increased as the delays trailed off, I could appreciate it. Or even if the noise was selectable, but it was a bit distracting. For live situations, I don't think it would be noticeable. In a studio situation you might reach for something else. Really cool pedal overall, though.

  • from California January 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro For 30 Years, Full time Gigging!

    Wampler Faux Tape Echo with Tap Tempo

    Nice Pedal, Easy to dial, not what I expected as far as tape sound! It is Digital sound if I had to use a name! It Has Some Artifacts in the sound when dialing the pedal but you don't hear them in regular uses! That Being said It Does a nice job for what I need it a short tap delay. Built like a tank! The faux tape reel is a very good added effect, very useable! Has no coloring in your tone in the bypass mode which is good! I like the pedal and I will be using it a lot! only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because it was more digital then I expected, not a full on tape sound. Go to youtube and listen to it before you buy! works good for me but may not for others.

  • from South Central MI October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Never Mess With Tape Again!

    For years I used various tape delays and always hated re-winding the cartridges. The Faux Tape Echo gives me the best approximation (pretty much spot-on) of that sound without ever having to deal with the headache again! The only reason it doesn't get a five star rating is that I don't care to have the red tap tempo LED flashing at me all the time, but a bit of tape will take care of that.

    I'll second all the comments that say it's built like a tank, too. This is my second Wampler pedal and I'm very pleased with their stability and reliability.

  • from Summersville, WV May 22, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar, Bass, Drums - 35 years (Mostly Hobbyist)

    If you only have one delay pedal - make it this one!

    I have had numerous delay pedals throughout the years and have gotten rid of all of them. I recently purchased this pedal and like it very well. I really like the Faux Tape Reel feature. I adjust it to where the sound is kind of chorusy. Good for Pink Floyd echo. Right now this is the only delay pedal on my pedalboard.

  • from North Carolina July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wampler Faux Tape Echo with Tap Tempo

    This pedal exceeds your expectations and does no harm to your tone.

  • from Fort Wayne March 22, 2016Music Background:
    Tone Junky

    Great, but...

    First off, I own and love Wampler pedals... great stuff. This pedals sounds great, and I actually owned a Roland Space Echo. I would give this pedal five stars all day, but, at least with my rig, it interjected a gentle white noise, which was really audible when playing soft, or as notes faded out. Not loud, but loud enough I returned it and opted for the Strymon El Capistan. Both pedals are an analog path and add the delay digitally to your signal, so they never convert it, which is nice; the Strymon uses a 24/96 AD/DA conversion, which is lovely. If you have the extra $100, I'd up to the Strymon; more tweaks, dead quiet, and because of the tweaks (and secondary features), it sounds more authentic. Wampler are some of my faves, usually a home run, in my book, but this was a bit of a swing and a miss. Could have just been my pedal, or something particular to my rig. Again, great sounds though, but as I use delay delicately and frequently clean, the noise was just a bit too much for me to wanna keep it on my board, but most people, including my bandmates, never noticed.

Questions about the Wampler Faux Tape Echo with Tap Tempo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway