rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

MOTU FastLane USB Reviews

4.0 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the MOTU FastLane USB?

Questions about the MOTU FastLane USB?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from March 22, 2017

    SAD

    The interface does work with Macs running OS 10.9. (It's a known issue). Had to return it ...

  • Customer
    from February 23, 2017

    Great

    Typical great MOTU device.

  • Kevin
    from Linden, MI February 22, 2017Music Background:
    45 years

    Motu FastLane USB

    This is a replacement for the first one I purchased that didn't work. I plugged it in and it works fine.

  • Keith R Montgomery
    from California January 5, 2017Music Background:
    some

    MOTU FastLane USB

    Had a very difficult time with this. I contacted MOTU technical support, and they were very helpful.
    We tested everything and decided the unit I had was not working. They sent me a replacement unit.
    Replacement unit also did not work.

    So I dug deeper into the drivers they provide. I found that the driver they have for Windows XP (had to really look to find this version) works on my old XP machine. However the driver that I would need for my Windows 10 machine would not work even though they say it should be ok for Win10.

    This process took me over two weeks of lost time.

    Finally went out and bought a competitor's product instead, which installed and ran within fifteen minutes.

  • Matthew Blais
    from Keaau, HI February 6, 2016

    Buggy Windows driver

    It works great, until you try to suspend/sleep Windows. Then you're going to need to HARD reboot your computer.

  • Lee Berger
    from Florida April 16, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur keyboardist.

    Works well

    Using it with my 2009 Macbook Pro and Garage Band. Sometimes you have to unplug the USB cable and plug it back in or it does not show up. A minor inconvenience. Once it's working it works well.

  • Tazu
    from St.L, MO November 14, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, engineer

    MOTU doesn't dissapoint

    It's only supposed to do one thing - connect MIDI, and it does the thing.

  • Harrison Fisher
    from Raleigh, NC September 6, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician for 65 years,FL, NYC and NC.

    MOTU FastLane USB

    Well, it does the job: 2-in/2-out midi, works with Win98SE (with great assistance from your tech support}. I find the construction to be flimsy (one of the connectors is loose and the plug falls out), but more annoying, I have to unplug it before shutting down the computer.

    The salesman and your tech crew were great!

  • J.
    from Dallas, TX July 1, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Fastlane to my DAW

    I purchased this to connect my hardware synths to Reason. Specifically to send MIDI clock to the synths and then record them into Reason in sync with the Reason sequencer. Worked without a hitch and I was up and running in ten minutes. I'd read previous reviews here so I had a heads up that I had to download drivers first for Windows 7. So thank you to the previous reviewers who mentioned that. MOTU fastlane seems to live up to it's name and I have not noticed latency issues.

  • Frank Saffi
    from Florida USA March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Entertainer

    Great product for the money

    Product works great, simple and easy to hook up.
    Only negative is the software is a little tricky to install.

  • Dwayne Barker
    from Rockford, IL. September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Studio owner/engineer

    Works great, great price too

    This is a really great interface. I used on a Mac and a PC. Flawless. Nice to find something that works great and is reasonable in cost.

  • David Vaughn
    from September 1, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer (Hobbyist)

    Works as advertised

    I loaded the drivers, connected the MIDI cables (10 meters) from the keyboards and electronic drums to the FastLane and then to Studio One 2 via USB and I was in business. No problems to date. It is an odd shape but small enough to fit under my laptop with other small items (hard drive, WiFI port) atop a Mighty Gig Rig.

  • Brad Pilkington
    from Central Ohio December 4, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Pastor, Song Writer, Recording Producer

    Simple and Sweet: Fastlane USB

    Everything I needed and nothing I didn't. Works great with my MacBook Pro Retina, Propellerhead Balance and ancient Korg 01/WPro!!

  • Michael Kassner
    from Big Sandy, MT. USA October 20, 2012Music Background:
    Play guitar and synth and have played for over 40 years. Primarily a hobbyist, am a retired engineering tech and like building and designing my own.

    Small Studio

    I just have a couple of midi devices. I bought the MOTU primarily for use with library software. The MOTU is seamless and works perfectly and for a small studio, gives me room to expand in the future.

  • Nick Couture
    from Detroit , MI USA April 20, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer

    nice & easy

    I bought the fast lane not knowing that its drivers were not compatible with 64 bit windows 7. So i had to go on motus website register the fastlane and download the updated driver.... That was the only set back i have had so far with thiss product. Other than that my experience with the motu fastlane usb has been great. I only have three peices of midi gear that i use simultaneously( keyboard/controller in ports a&b of the fast lane and a guitar controller into mbox midi in.) For the price this product is awesome it is really easy to install (if you have the right driver.) it is small and and doesnt take up space in my already over crowded studio. i would recommend this to people who only need a couple midi inputs and have a tight budget.

  • Dave
    from March 29, 2012Music Background:
    45 yrs in music bizz

    Midi a go go

    Droped the drivers in the computer.pluged it in and it worked fine.Its built to be used without worry

  • Dave Larroquette
    from Independence, La March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    USB Midi Interface

    I bought this unit, loaded the drivers in my imac and it has worked problem free since the initial install

  • Cliff Lowe
    from Cincinnati, OH March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Classical Music Composer Hobbyist

    Success with the MOTU FastLane USB

    Ordered MOTU FastLane 2 x 2 USB. Received it from Sweetwater the next morning. Just about the best MIDI interface I have ever used. Loaded the software from the CD-ROM and connected the MOTU to drive soft synths on 2 other PCs. Worked perfectly instantly. Comes with a decent manual too! Good tech support available from both Sweetwater and manufacturer. Made in the USA too! Would highly recommend.

  • ED
    from August 30, 2011Music Background:
    Music Director/Conductor National Tours (music theater)

    Great 2x2 MIDI interface

    Worked perfectly right out of the box. A simple but necessary tool for a small MIDI setup like mine. Once it was setup with the right Audio-MIDI setup in my Mac, it not only worked great with Mainstage (a patch management application for live playing) the bonus is it works great with Sibelius too.

  • Ken Voorheis
    from Redwood City, CA July 20, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    So far, so good

    With some set-up help from Sweetwater, I was able to get it up and running just fine. It's a pass-through device, so there's not to say. it works and I'm pleased.

Questions about the MOTU FastLane USB?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway