rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

PreSonus FaderPort Reviews

4.0 stars based on 122 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus FaderPort?

Questions about the PreSonus FaderPort?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nick Schenkel

    Upon installing the FaderPort in my project studio, my workflow was simplified and improved drastically. The intuitive, hands-on approach that it affords allows me to focus on making music and working creatively. At this price, the FaderPort is a no-brainer of a bargain, and should be included in every home or portable studio.

  • Marcos Sanchez

    The PreSonus FaderPort is an affordable and powerful solution to having a tangible control surface for mixing. The controls map out easily with your native transport controls, and include all the features you would need from a larger scale control surface, in a space smaller than a piece of paper.

  • David
    from San Diego June 20, 2017Music Background:
    Engineer

    FADERPORT

    BEST OPTION FOR BASIC TRANSPORT CONTROLS AND MAKES TRACKING WAY MORE SMOOTHER. I LOVE IT

  • Jim Bouchard
    from Brunswick, ME March 27, 2017

    A wrist saver!

    I was looking for something to give my wrist a break from endless mousing. The FaderPort does everything they claim it does.

    One hint I picked up from a video. I originally placed the FaderPort on my right near my mouse. Simple but powerful tip––I moved it to the left so I can still use the mouse for detail stuff while using the FaderPort for the heavy lifting.

    Wish I'd bought it sooner.

  • M. Estrada
    from Los Angeles March 26, 2017Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    PreSonus FaderPort

    If you like you like to move fast around your mixer, then this is the item. There are various frequently used buttons that allow you to get to the most important parts of your mix - fast.
    The automated fader (which tracks where your mix faders are - provided it's plugged into a power source), makes it super smooth. No more changes in your levels as you mix along and have to try to remember where your fader was that you laboriously spent setting.
    This a great tool. Instant rewind with a press of two buttons at once.
    I recommend it to anyone who likes to mix fast but hates hunting around your screen with your mouse.

  • Jefferson Fox
    from Jackson Mo March 7, 2017Music Background:
    Washed up former pro. Active hobbyist.

    Why did I wait

    Ok. It's only been plugged in for 5 minutes and I regret all the years that lead up to now. If you're not working on a console for any reason: space, money, mobility...whatever your reason: this thing is SO much better than not having the controls you need. It's a handy format, it plugged in and worked (S1) and I have no regrets. (And it's not nearly as expensive as that last mic you bought that didn't make anything sound better at all). No it's not a Neve console. Yes it is absolutely worth every penny of the price tag and much more. Buy with confidence. (Of it breaks tomorrow I'll be sorry but as for now...)

  • Jerome
    from Orlando February 7, 2017Music Background:
    Singer / Songwriter

    A very useful single fader controller!

    I will keep it simple : 1 motorized fader that works in all DAWs! What more can you ask for!

  • Yair Harpaz
    from Los Angeles October 4, 2016Music Background:
    Producer

    Real control

    Just added my new FadePort to my Cubase 8.5 pro, and was happy to confirm that all function are working as stated. Using a PC with Win 10, I was not sure if I'll have a smooth sailing, but I am happy to report, all is great! Any Chanel that have the DAW focus on is fully controlled by the unit, make life much easier for the final mix or hands on control. Very happy with PreSonus and the advice from my Sweetwater rep, Thanks!

  • Old Zkul Rekordz
    from Salt Lake City, Utah August 3, 2016Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer

    Very Nice

    This device has been a very nice piece of gear. It has definitely gotten me to take my eyes off the screen and actually use my ears while mixing the way I used to before I switched to computer based DAWs. I've still yet to use it to it's full potential but for now I am very happy with what it has already done for me.

  • Customer
    from February 19, 2016

    Awesome controller

    I have owned multiple motorized controllers, and this is an excellent single channel controller for the simple or mobile studio. Great functions and extension to lesson the mouse functions.

  • Eduardo La Hoz
    from Avondale Estates, GA January 7, 2016Music Background:
    Musician

    Does it what should do

    If you are a one man studio with not a lot of desk space, or you have a low budget, or you just want to keep life simple, then this is for you. Works flawlesly.

    Additionally, I did some compulsive research on this before I got it, and there are a few reviews (mostly written by the same fool of a person) who said it is hard to configure this with Logic X. This is all bollocks, the site itself gives you instructions on how to do this (just need to download an additional file and add it to a special directory, VERY SIMPLE STUFF).

    So go for it.

  • Jim Gramze
    from Hastings, Michigan January 7, 2016Music Background:
    keyboard player/composer

    You Want This

    I have a dual monitor system with a QDHD (extra wide) monitor directly above my keyboards. It is highly inconvenient to have the computer's keyboard at my rig. With the FaderPort on my main keyboard, it is so very easy to control my DAW. The best features for me personally are the play and pause/stop buttons while working out a track. The fader is really nice too, but for my most-used features it is secondary until I am playing something back and mixing.

    Do not underestimate the utility this provides. There are many functions here plainly labeled that you do not have to memorize keyboard equivalents for. Dedicated buttons that you use a lot and that feel great to press can not be trivialized.

    What this gives you as a separate unit, is control over the transport of your DAW, and specific control of the track that is in focus. That track gives you a motorized fader (if it is plugged in to power separately), and various recording functions. It seems like a silly thing to have, but in many ways it is my single most prized piece of gear because it makes it stupid easy to control basic functions of the DAW — that is what makes this gold.

  • Walt Herman
    from Abingdon Virginia November 6, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    loving my new Fader Port

    This transport controller is so easy to setup and use I would recommend it with no hesitation.
    If your using sonar this is the controller for you.

  • Michael Livingston
    from Portsmouth, OH July 30, 2015Music Background:
    20 years playing in bands, 15 years of being recorded in large studios, 2 years having my own home studio.

    Perfect Desktop Controller

    I have bought two of these so far, one for each home studio I work in. I know most of the buttons on here have shortcut keys, but being able to put your hands on a stop, start, record, and RTZ buttons makes things so much easier. Plus, just having even the one fader helps a lot, especially for automation. Great controller if you don't have room for a larger board. I can't imagine working without it.

  • Geoff
    from Osage Beach May 19, 2015

    Great Product

    Love the FaderPort, works great!

  • Tod
    from Coeur d'Alene, ID May 3, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter/home studio owner

    Ezy-peezy

    I love this little device, and I forgot how nice it is to mix with a fader instead of a mouse! I'm using it with Pro Tools 11, and there are just a couple of things that it's not set up to do in Pro Tools, but they're not things I'm usually too concerned with anyway. I love the transport controls, the ability to bring up different window views on the fly, and the ability to determine fader mode (read, write, touch) and channel selection on the fly. So functional! If you've been stuck with the mouse, get unstuck and get one of these. I think it's well worth the money. Good solid build too!

  • David Garver
    from Everton, MO March 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just Right !

    This affords the home studio owner an economical way to enjoy a professional hardware fader and transport control system and adds a higher level of work flow to your system. I dig it.

  • Ceaser Miranda
    from Leesburg, VA February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Singer, Songwriter, Composer.

    Works with Logic Pro X, but....

    To get the PreSonus FadePort to work with Logic Pro X.
    Download and install the latest software from PreSonus.
    Download and install the FaderPort_Logic64.bundle. Without this bundle, the faderport will not work with 64bit Mac OS X or with Logic Pro X in 64 Bit mode.

    To properly install the FaderPort_Logic64.bundle., you must right mouse click on the Logic Pro X application and select "Show Package Contents" and navigate to the "MIDI Device Plug-ins" folder. Drag and drop the FaderPort_Logic64.bundle into that folder.

    Launch Logic Pro X and make sure the fader is selected in the control surface preferences.

    Once all is install correctly, the PreSonus FaderPort works like a champ and you'll be very happy with it. I've been a happy user for over 4 years now and can't live without it. Don't hesitate. Get yours today.

  • eric
    from October 26, 2014Music Background:
    mixing engineer, recording studio owner

    great for riding vocals and others

    well after using different controllers like the behringer motorized fader bcf, old digi control 24, the avid c24, the ssl matrix, digi pro control, and icon d command.... i can say this little guy its great... very useful for riding vocals and other automations, do just what its meant to do, transport, pan, vol and the other buttons like the markers, mixer view are great too.... very sturdy and you cant beat the price--- if youre on a budget, or dont have to much space at your desk. this guy its a nice option.

  • Bradley Emmett
    from Arlington, VA August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Songwriter, Producer

    Really amazing (especially for the price)

    I was worried with all of the "bad press" I had read in reviews about this thing (especially the way it works/doesn't work with Logic). I had some frustrations getting it installed and updated, but once I got it working, MAN I love it.

    I'm using it in Logic Pro X and have updated the newest firmware from Presonus (For Logic X). I was thinking about getting a larger mixing control surface, but after using this for a few weeks, I don't think the upgrade to something bigger is necessary. LOVE this piece of gear.

  • Rick Mendyka Sr
    from Gillette, Wyoming April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Recording & Mastering Engineer, Multi Instrument Musician, Pro Sound Tech, Mac guru.

    Works Flawlessly in Logic Pro X, but with a huge caveat

    Although PreSonus has not bothered to build 64 bit drivers, therefore making the install to Logic Pro X a monumental task... once it's done, the FaderPort is an amazing unit. Every feature works as it should in Logic Pro X and is an incredible asset for increasing workflow!
    Unfortunately PreSonus is too lazy to build a 64 bit driver, so unless you either own, or have access to Logic 9 Studio OR Logic 9 Express, you can't install it in Logic Pro X. PreSonus' lame workaround to get it to work in Logic Pro X's 64 bit only environment is incredibly nerve wracking & their instructions are almost nonexistent. A shame. But it will work right away in Logic 9 without hassle. Otherwise... as stated, it does work wonderfully in Logic Pro X if you're creative enough to do the workaround.

  • Diccon Lee Evergreen Sun Music
    from Illinois USA February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Singer songwriter

    Invaluable gear, fantastic support!

    Just staring to integrate this with my pro tools 11 studio, and I am so impressed. Don't even have to look at the screens while I'm song writing. Can't wait to use it for recording and writing automation! The support is unreal. Evan was so helpful with great suggestions on my studio set up, and he solved several problems I had been wrestling with in about five minutes. Kind hearted, no pressure support, great product. I couldn't be more pleased!

  • John Cyr
    from United States February 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician; novice sound engineer.

    Best Little Command Center

    Everything works like a charm. Fader is smooth 100 mm's and accurate -better than relying on a mouse movement. The buttons are easy to push (unlike other criticisms I have read about). The buttons are not so easy to push that a mistake can be easily made by brushing over them. The punch in feature is invaluable. I can do looping recording takes and auditioning takes much easier now. The buttons are logically color coded to help warn you of possible recording errors. All I need now is the pedal to improve my punching in. Great device. Wish I had gotten it earlier!

  • Anthony Sitter
    from Bowling Green, OH January 23, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Musician

    Good Piece of Gear

    Yeah, this is definitely one handy box. I was a tiny bit concerned as to its compatibility with Pro Tools 11. BUT the set up was super easy (like three simple steps) and every function I've tried so far works like a charm. Intuitive, straightforward, easy-to-use, convenient. A lot of value for the money.

  • Nathan Butler
    from United States December 12, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording and Mixing engineer.

    Integrates nicely, I'm using it more than I expected.

    I'm running Pro-Tools 9 on an older MacBook. The Faderport was automatically recognized. I purchased it because I have a new client that I know I am going to be doing considerable automation for, and wanted something a little more "in-the-moment" than mousing everything. It's so easy to scroll through the channels that I am finding myself using it to pull together even the most basic mix. I love it, and can't believe I didn't buy one sooner!

  • Oz Amaro
    from DeKalb, IL November 24, 2013Music Background:
    36 years professional drummer, percussionist, recording engineer.

    Great Unit

    This was a great investment. I really love the efficiency it has brought to my recording setup. I've spend much more money on studio gadgets and have not been this impressed. The software needed a rollback to get the flying fader to work, but other than that...it really is awesome. I bought the delux monitor station to compliment this. Nice!!

  • Steve Wood
    from CA USA November 12, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Producer, Artist, Engineer

    Better Than A Swiss Army Knife

    I am a long time film composer and recording engineer. I have all the moving faders one could want but since I bought this it is virtually all I use. I originally bought it to have sitting on my master midi keyboard to allow me to punch in during string tracks or anything with volume data. Worked great for that. However the ability to highlight any track on my DAW and have the Faderport be active on that track makes it easier to access than my console where there are too many faders that change every time I add a new track. I have already bought 2 as gifts and with the holidays approaching. . . maybe I can get a fleet deal (?).

  • Customer
    from November 4, 2013

    Some work to make work but worth it!

    I love this little device. It did take me jumping through a few hoops to make it work with PT LE 8 (Windows 7 64bit) but was well worth it!

  • Carl Sanders
    from Coldspring, TX October 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyiost Muscian

    Great tool for my studio!

    I have a midi keyboard/controller which works fine but the Faderport puts the controls I need into a much easier format. I use Presonus Studio One 2 and Ableton Live 8 and the Faderport works well with both. I play and record guitar and keyboard, so I connected a footpedal to the Faderport to enable record. It just makes everthing easier and more convenient. Once again, Thanks Presonus and Sweetwater.

  • reverend robert sexton
    from michigan ,usa June 20, 2012Music Background:
    pro musican

    well worth the buy

    the greatest thing since the invention of ice cubes,well worth the buy,
    looked a long time for a good fader port,this thing does every thing,
    no mouse needed,my wrist thanks you.

  • John Ferrara
    from Clinton Corners, NY April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, and Recording Engineer

    A Great Interface at any price

    The Faderport has been one on the neatest and most useful tools I have bought for my studio. Granted I have lots of equipment, both hardware and software, but the functions that this little thing performs are just what I need. It is solid, well built, and works perfectly. I needed to download an up to date driver from the Presonus website because the motorized fader did not work inititially, but it works now! I have Pro Tools 10 and Windows 7 64 bit. I have a fairly active studio, and do film scoring and record small groups so I needed something that allowed gave an alternative to using a mouse. I usually have up to 16 tracks to deal with, and even with one fader, the speed at which I am able to use the controls on the Faderport more than pays for the modest price I paid for from Sweetwater. Thanks guys. And thanks to Paul, my sales engineer.

  • Victor Tarassov
    from Princeton March 26, 2012Music Background:
    Recoding Engineer and Live Sound

    No More Mouse

    For me this was the ticket. I use Pro Tools 9, Logic Pro and Studio One 2. I found that it works great and frees up my hands to no longer depend on the (MOUSE) I like the price of the Fader Port and simplicity of use with the three above mentioned DAW's. The 100mm fader works great for adumation and just works.

  • andres ortiz
    from morganton,nc March 8, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer,hobbist,pro musician

    the best with s1v2

    let me tell ya i use the faderport with studio one v2 and it does everything i no longer need a mouse! buy it you wont regret it!

  • Reggie
    from Auburn Me February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Faderport

    This thing does just want you would expect.I find myself hardly ever having to use my keyboard anymore.This has been the coolest piece of gear that I have purchased.

  • Eric Messick
    from Va/WV USA January 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Student, Semi-Pro Musician

    Great product for on the go and compact studios, a necessity

    Finally you can write automation and have transport controls at the tip of your fingers, not your mouse. The touch sensitive fader give you that hands on feel that you've been looking for without breaking the bank. I used it recently in audio post production in a featured film and it dramatically increased my workflow and creativity within the project, something I would have never been able to do with my mouse alone. A valuable tool and a great buy that pays for itself in no time.

  • Kenny Gioia
    from NYC January 4, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    Works great.

    Works exactly as I expected. I think my unit came with the newer firmware so I had to downgrade to get the fader to work. Presonus should announce this info instead of saying not to upgrade if the unit is working. But I'm very happy with the unit. Fader feels as good as any pro unit. The pan pot is pretty flakey (in Pro Tools) but I got the unit to automate volume and it does that perfectly.

  • Customer
    from Deltona, Florida December 13, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    awesome

    very great, I think everyone would need to have, if recording.

  • Ney Mello
    from Washington DC area USA November 10, 2011Music Background:
    Professional recording artist, Professional Studio owner, author, educator

    GREAT RELIEF & GODSEND FOR DAW USERS

    No matter how much I love digital devices run with mouses..The mouse is too ergonomically inferior and too slow for professional use compared to console and hardware physical buttons and faders...

    Furthermore... Mouses are also inferior in that they fix your hand into one static position and right there, you are going against ergonomics and towards RSi injuries...due to blood flow reduction and tendon wear and nerve irritation.

    The FaderPort increases workflow speed dramatically and relaxes your hand as well. Concentration is much easier and eyestrain is much less.... You do more work, have way more fun, and get less tired.

    The DAW revolution is very cool but a mouse is quite a primitive interface compared to analog technology. A full regression in ergonomics. For DAW control it is a Stone age gadget masquerading as high tech..The mouse was never intended for audio technology- it is an old computer holdover that got picked up in spite its inappropriate nature for audio use and it never really worked in that capacity .. but we put up with the caveman mouse technology because of the benefits of DAW technology.

    Well..no need to put up with the mouse anymore for much of the work. Just use the mouse for what it does more or less OK, and use the FaderPort for the essence of audio DAW work.

    As you know, my perspective is full time professional, real world music making and production. It may not apply to most readers who can afford to be casual and take a long time to edit audio. In that case the FaderPort may not be a Godsend...

    The FaderPort is most assuredly a killer Godsend to the professional user.

  • ADK Teleman
    from Adirondacks NY June 29, 2011Music Background:
    Studio Owner, Musician

    Fantastic Tool

    I bought this for an easy tool with my "idea" studio. I didn't want to commit toa full board considering this is a portable notebook and it is basically for writing new material. Well, this is an excellent tool to keep creativity up when writing and not have to fool around with the computer keyboard! I love this little Fader!

  • Alex R.
    from SC, USA May 17, 2011Music Background:
    Recording and LIve Engineer, Musician, Hobbyist

    LOVE IT!!!

    I have used Faderport on my last project and it was amazing!!! It has alot of features in a compact size. The great thing about this is I can be in the other room and record from it without my computer.

    I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Bryce H
    from Midwest City, Oklahoma January 14, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Presonus FaderPort=AMAZING

    The Presonus FaderPort is an amazing product, the motorized fader blows my mind. Easy to setup (Cubase LE4). Works perfect, looks great.

  • John Blais
    from Orlando, Florida September 6, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    A ton of feature in a compact footprint!

    Do yourself a favor and get the FaderPort!!! I just can't go back to mixing with a mouse. It greatly improves work flow with buttons for mix, project and transport windows. The motorized touch-sensitive fader works like a dream, this makes editing track automation a joke! You really don't need a bunch of motorized faders at the same time when working on a DAW, 99.9% of the time you will be working on one track at a time (although... yes.... I know... having a bunch of flying faders looks really cool, but its just not that practical). PreSonus has impressed me once again with the FaderPort a solidly built unit that has become an essential part of any project that I work with. After you use it you will wonder how could you possibly work without one!

  • David Carlin
    from Philadelphia PA May 24, 2007Music Background:
    Home Studio, Guitarist for Plasma Prophets & Spankin Stanley

    Transport control at your fingertips

    Installation was easy. I am using this with a Nuendo system and it works flawlessly. Mixing read / write per channel operation is covered. Transport control works nice. Lights on the buttons are color coded for operation once communication is established.

  • Tom Jorgensen
    from Long Beach, CA May 18, 2007Music Background:
    composer

    Excellent product, highly recommended

    1. This is an excellent product. The principal selling point for me was the following from PreSonus' website: "FaderPort utilizes the same ultra high-quality Alps fader that is used in professional control surfaces and digital mixing consoles costing 200 times the price including DigiDesign's D-Command. The fader in the FaderPort utilizes a dual servo motorized drive belt system for fast-acting, accurate, and smooth operation. The FaderPort's 100mm long throw fader delivers 1024-step resolution for wrting ultra-fine and accurate fades and adjustments." I can confirm that the fader is very high quality and performs as promised. I only need, and would rather have, one very high quality fader than multiple lesser quality faders.
    2. The quality of the product is otherwise very high. It is all metal except for the buttons, which are high quality, durable plastic.
    3. I use this device with Cubase, and the controls are evidently specifically designed for use with this program.
    4. The buttons that appear white in the photograph are lit with different colors from beneath (green, yellow, red) which is very helpful in a darker studio environment.
    5. I cannot recommend this product highly enough.

  • Jerry Henderson
    from New Orleans May 10, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Super cool.

    I bought the faderPort and my friend bought the Alphatrack. We both like the Faderport way better. It's way easier to use, the fader feels better, and it follows my mouse clicks. My buddy is sending back his Alphatrack to get the faderport.

  • roger
    from March 3, 2017

    using with Logic 9 and Mac os 10.6.8

    I am not a computer geek. So installing things is always stressful. I downloaded some files from the Presonus website .. hooked this up ... chose it in the control surface menu and boom .. working.. took less than 15 min.

    When I started looking for a control surface I found I was limited by not having updated my DAW for a few years .. all the 'new' stuff needed newer OS or Logic versions. I found the faderport thru searching for control surfaces that would work with my versions without updating ( hey ..if its working for you don't fix it ...right?) .

    I am using this like an 'expanded' remote. and it works great .. it gives me transport controls .. solo, record enable, mute ..the all important undo button .. loop set ..track shift ... for tracking vocals or guitars it makes it sooo much easier to stay on the music side of my brain by not having to go away from the mic to the 'desk' ..do three stokes on the keyboard to undo/delete.. then more strokes to enable and record .. then hop back to the mic... I got a long USB cable and plug the power supply into an outlet near me and have the faderport right at the tracking station ...boom .. fun again ... great cost effective tool

    beyond that it feels very solid. the fader is smooth, accurate and quiet ... glad I bought it

  • BlaccSwan
    from Atlanta,Ga May 16, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    awesone convienience

    Makes editing easier!!!

  • Customer
    from December 1, 2015

    Great small investment (Ableton 9)

    This is easily a top 5 sub-$200 investment. The manual could use some updating, and the Presonus website could use clearer linking to Ableton integration, but once you find the diagram that shows what all buttons do in Ableton it's an amazing budget piece of gear for mixing. It's so nice that I am already looking at replacing it with a Mackie Control Universal Pro (which is the protocol that Ableton recognizes Faderport under)

    The fader quality, precision, and unit build quality is fantastic.

  • Daniel
    from Hollywood September 9, 2015Music Background:
    Musician Institute

    it's really useful

    I think it's really useful,but if it can support pro tools more is better.
    such as control send level…

  • Nicholas Taplin
    from Oakland, CA USA February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Excellent!

    This thing is excellent, and worth every penny. The options for affordable motorized control surfaces are extremely limited. Basically you've got the Avid Artist series, which EVERYONE hates because of extremely poor build quality and an extremely unstable connection to the computer, the Mackie MCU which seems to be built decently (though the screen apparently dies pretty soon) but is pretty large/clunky, and then the FaderPort. The build quality of the FaderPort is EXCELLENT, and I love how small it is so it sits on my desk very well. Unlike the Avid Artist Series the FaderPort is supposedly limited to MIDI fader resolution, but to my confusion working in Pro Tools 10, the resolution of fader control seems better than that. I also love that I can switch between Mix and Project windows with a push of a button. I totally recommend this unit, as well as control the transport.

  • Brian M.
    from Phoenix, Az. May 21, 2014

    Ditch the mouse

    This is one of the best purchases I've made in a while. Instant control without using the mouse. Everything you need to control Studio One (or other DAW's) is right there. No need to program anything, just plug into the USB port and the power supply and you're ready to go. Drawing automation curves is a blast!!! If you're on the fence about this product, just buy it, your mouse won't be too offended.

  • Barry Brown
    from Rochester MN January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Nice time saver

    This unit connected to Studio One ver. 2.0 without any issues. I was using it as soon as I plugged it in. I use it on a USB 3.0 port and it works well. I can not say this for a few other pieces of gear.

    It has already saved me several hours of mouse pointing. I am very happy

  • Masauko
    from Brooklyn, NY June 3, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Presonus FaderPort

    This things is at its best when you need to work with a vocal in Touch mode. I use it with Presonus studio one. I plugged it in and it worked...the click pan know should be a clean sweep from left to right but that is the only issue I can think of....

  • Customer
    from IL April 20, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Student

    Great!!!!!!!!

    No more mouse :) plus its recognized on all my software!!!!!!great buy

  • John
    from Fort Lauderdale, FL January 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, live and studio work, songwriter

    PreSonus Faderport

    Love the feel of the fader; gives me more control of automation when I'm mixing. Great piece, great price!

  • Alex
    from Colorado Springs, CO USA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    X-pro turned Hobbyist

    FaderPort

    First thing I had to try was the automated fader. Although it may not be terribly needed, it sure is fun to watch! On a more serious note, this has come in really handy for recording in other rooms a distance away from my main system. With a long USB cable, you can record, play and such without having a second set of hands. As such, I am very happy with this device!

  • Shay Sawyer
    from Corona, CA February 1, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Life Saver!

    This a great tool to have at your finger tips. It makes automation a breeze! The only issue is the redo button will cause protools to glitch and slow the tempo of your working project in which case you will have to restart the program. Other than that, it's awesome!

  • Robert Allen
    from Rockwood, TN January 30, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Time Saver!

    Super easy to get up and running with Cubase. I rarely use the Mute, Solo, or Record buttons, as there seems to be a bit of a lag with them, in Cubase and Logic at least. Not a big deal to me; I tend to use my keyboard for functions like those and transport controls. The fader responds just fine, as do the rest of the controls on the FaderPort.

    Basically, it does what I need it to do.

    Even the most basic DAW-based studio needs at least one motorized fader to create lively, dynamic mixes without slaving away with a clumsy mouse to draw automation points. I'd recommend this one.

  • Joe Drzewiecki
    from Phoenix December 29, 2011

    The missing link

    I never thought the GUI sliders on my DAW or the concentration it took to keep the mouse on them, or my subconscious desire to have a track at a particular level was marring my mixes. Since I've got my FaderPort, I've realized those prejudices really were messing with my mixes. Switch to the track (easy), find the slider with your eyes closed and mix it right. You'll be amazed. Points off for the difficulty of installation, but once it's in it's great. Follow the instructions on sweetcare TO THE LETTER.

  • Thomas Yacko
    from Pittsburgh, PA USA December 28, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works fantastic with Studio One v2

    This is a excellent compliment for the Studio One v2 software. If you need a compact controller, I'd recommend it.

    Improves workflow with Studio One. I'm glad I bought it.

    I also own Sonar X1, but could not get all of the features to work out of the box (probably programming with ACT would do the trick).

  • William Johnson
    from United States November 21, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Presonus FaderPort

    No this isn't a 16 or 24 channel controller but team this up with key commands and you will just about disconnect your mouse and put it away. The FaderPort makes working in your daw's mixer a breeze! Correcting automation is now a snap. You can now think like an engineer
    without the hassle of moving around with a mouse.

  • Willie Coleman
    from Warren Michigan (USA) November 20, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician, engineer

    Presonus Fader Port

    Just recently purchased the Presonus Fader Port to run my Protools digi 002 system. Man I am impressed. It has made my sessions run much smoother and faster, allowing me to be more creative in my recording process. Thanks Paul Allen for your assistance at Sweetwater. I placed the order and it was there the next day. Paul you have always been a life saver helping me make wise decisions with the equipment I purchase. If you haven't tried sweetwater you just need to!

  • Eric
    from Silverdale, WA March 11, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Perfect For Abelton Live

    It took years for them to update so live would work but now that it is done this thing screams. I was looking at the project mix i/o but it takes up too much space this does all the same stuff in a smaller area.

  • Bob Cates Stayin warm in Florida
    from Largo Florida January 28, 2008Music Background:
    sound engineer, musician

    Presonus Faderport review

    Read up on this item an decided to give it a try. This being my first presonus component. The drivers that come with it just do not work on some daw platforms. Mine being cubase studio 4.1. Just had some very weird reactions. At any rate the unit is very sturdy and the slider is smooth and all buttons solidly built. Contacted presonus about the problem, after a little prying I got them to send me a v1.2 beta driver for my cubase system. Everything works as it should after the update. I'm told when cubase did thier update, they changed some coding that presonus had to then rewrite the drivers to correct. At any rate, after that rocky start, this has to be the best thing other than growing another hand! It's very intuitive to use (and I'm left handed) the touch sensitive slider saves tons of mousework on volume control and the other controls are very usefull to speed up the workload. Highly recommend this item, but make shure you don't get frustrated out of the box until you get the correct updated driver.

  • Jefferson Fox
    from Jackson Mo March 30, 2017Music Background:
    Musical Background

    Fine machine

    i am very pleased with this unit. Functions beautifully, fires up instantaneously. A regular little marvel. My only troubles have been that my DAW seems to crash often if I'm using it (may be my CPU thoigh) and I'd like a heavier cord for the power supply (maybe a dash more length as well). Otherwise, I'm thrilled with it. Truly a time saver and an easy road to accurate fades in a portable rig.

  • Adrian
    from indianapolis December 2, 2016Music Background:
    indiana

    no problems faderport!

    purchased the faderport 2 years ago. truly is plug and play, no hastle of installing drivers at all. everything still works, especially when paired up with presonus studio 1. highly recommend. Thanks to my sales rep Bob Mondok! yep!

  • Rohan
    from November 16, 2016Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer

    Presonus FaderPort

    I've been using this little unit for a couple of weeks now and I am very impressed. It's small and very effective. Very well built and the fader is smooth and natural feeling. It has improved my work flow and I would buy it again. It would be great to have plugin control in protools........but overall a great choice for the price!

  • Customer
    from October 4, 2016

    Fader port is really worth it.

    The Faderport is a great addition to any small home recording studio setup. It's compact yet dynamic in its own aspects.

  • Josh C.
    from Olympia August 5, 2016

    Great product...drivers so-so

    First, the good. Looks sharp, functions well with cubase (more on that later), and a great price. The fader is pretty precise and I love the level of control it has on the selected track and the way you feel more connected. Pan pot could pan faster. You have to twist it a lot to go hard left or right, seems like a quick twist should snap to L or R, and a slow twist should be the more in between stuff. I like being able to hide/show the transport or the mixer with a push of a button, and the shift+trans to turn the click on and off is a great feature as well. Wish it had a polarity switch button or a way to assign a user button as such (I haven't found a way). I still reach for my mouse out of habit, but I know the faderport is easier all around, so I'm still training my hand.

    The only bad part was the setup. The included disc only contains a .dll to drop in the components folder of your daw. Yes, this allowed the faderport to be found in available devices, but didn't make it function properly at all, at least not on my win 7/cubase 5 setup. After updating to the most current firmware through the presonus website, it worked even less than before! After some more searching, finally found an actual installer with a firmware and driver install (none of which was included on the disc) that made it work. Works flawlessly now, but taking over an hour for setup (and I'm usually rather tech savvy) was annoying.

    I would still recommend the awesome product, but the included disc needs some updating for sure.

  • Bobby Vachon
    from N.H. May 1, 2016

    Yes With Sonar X3

    Ok, let's start with my 4.5 rating vs. a 5.0. There are two reasons I'm giviing this a 4.0 the firmware install for Sonar X3, and the pan control. It isn't just a plug & play situation, however, it isn't all that difficult to get it up & running either. With that out of the way, let me give some assistance to my fellow Sonar X3 users. Google " installing presonus faderport sonar x3" you'll find instructions from Cakewalk on the install. Follow the instructions. Now, after you have installed the firmware, you may find that the motorized fader on your faderport doesn't move/follow a volume automation. Don't panic. Go to the Presonus website, and download the Faderport Firmware update 1.3.8. Follow the instructions. Make sure any midi devices ie; a midi controller are unplugged from you computer. The new Firmare update 1.3.8 will tell you that your firmware is up to date, press continue, and let it install. After the install, you can plug all of your other midi devices back in, and your good to go.
    Now for my review. For 129.00 this unit is a no brainer. It's so much better than using a mouse. I used to own a Mackie Control Universal Pro, but had some fader issues, and the USB output died, so I sold it, and started mixing with a mouse. That got old really fast. So I decided to get another controller but didn't want to spend a fortune. When the unit arrived (quickly I might add) The first thing I noticed was how heavy it was. I expected a really light weight piece plastic. This little unit is pretty solid. It's not very big, so it won't take up a ton of real estate on your desk. The unit will control your tracks and your busses. To control your busses, you simply push the output button. The undo function is fantastic. Having the transport functions (FF, RW, Play, Stop, and record) is awesome. The only flaw that I see with any of the function keys is the Pan control. It sucks period. I wouldn't trust it for pan automation as it jumps around alot. The motorized fader is pretty smooth. Not totally quiet, but not bad at all. I'm going to buy a 10' usb cable so that I can move the unit while I record myself, that way I don't have to sit right at my desk. This unit can run off USB power without the power cable, but you lose the motorized fader which isn't a big deal if your laying down tracks as you won't need the motorized fader until your actually mixing your tune anyway. I hope thiat this review helps Sonar X3 users make their decision as when I did research on the Faderport before buying, I read alot of negatives about getting the Faderport to work with X3.

  • Barry Neely
    from Los Angeles February 4, 2016

    Wqant to use with this with DP9 AND Pro Tools 11?

    I spent days trying to get this thing to work with Digital Performer AND Pro Tools on my system. I was able to get everything but the motorized fader to work. But on DP9, when you switched to different tracks, those virtual tracks would then conform to where the fader on the Faderport was, messing up my entire mix.

    Here's the key: do NOT update the firmware. In fact, download firmware version 1.2. For some reason, it opens up as version 1.3.3, but USE THAT ONE. Everything is now working fantastic, and I can use it as it was intended.

    PreSonus NO LONGER SUPPORTS anything over DP 7. Don't call, don't fuss, just get the 1.2 firmware.

  • Joshua Hall
    from New Hampshire January 24, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Music Educator, Audio Production/Recordin

    Perfect for what I need

    I had been looking at control surfaces for a while and decided to try the FaderPort. I use Studio One Pro so set up was a breeze! It works great - The Fader is really sensitive and you can write really clean automations with it. The Pan knob was a little wonky at first - it never seemed to want to go back to but that seems to have straightened itself out. Also it is challenging go get back to Zero quickly using the FaderPort (It is a combination of buttons and it never seems to work....I still use the "," on my computer keyboard to do that). You can assign the USER button in the GUI to do whatever you want it to do. I use it to open my INPUT screen for session recording. There is also a foot switch input and you can assign that as well (I haven't used it yet). It comes with a USB chord and an unfortunate WALLWART Plug but both are long enough to make working away from the computer comfortable.

    If you are looking for a small, well built, control surface for your DAW, then this is a very reasonable place to start.

  • Customer
    from December 30, 2015

    Works w/ Reaper and Pro Tools just fine

    Despite all the whining in various places about how people couldn't get it to work, I decided to give this a try. I got it working with both Reaper 4.77 and Pro tools 12 on my iMac running OSX 10.8.5, in about 15 minutes. First up, even though I wasn't sure if it was necessary, I updated the firmware to 1.34, which I downloaded from the PreSonus site, and followed their directions. They clearly state in red letters that the firmware update won't work if you have USB 3.0, and that you should turn off your other MIDI devices before updating. I have an older iMac so not an issue for me. If you only have USB 3.0, you should update the firmware on another device that has USB 2.0. Then the trick with Reaper is, DON'T set it up as a "MIDI Device", even though it appears there (disabled by default). Instead, leave it disabled, and scroll farther down in Preferences to the "Control Surfaces" section, add a new one, select PreSonus - Faderport from the drop-down, and set both the input and output to Presonus - Faderport. Voila. In Pro Tools 12, follow the directions in the Faderport booklet to add a HUI device under MIDI controllers, set both the Receive and Send to Faderport, and leave Ch #'s at the default of 8. Voila. Hopefully this will be helpful to others. It's fun and much easier writing automation with an actual fader, and the transport controls are handy, too. My only gripes are: 1) the buttons are hard, require some force to activate, and have an audible click. I would have preferred softer, quieter buttons with less force required. Since my control room is also my tracking room, I'll need to avoid using the buttons while tracking quiet sections. Maybe they'll quiet down with some use. 2) at 0db in the DAW, the fader handle sits 6 hash-marks below the 0db mark indicated on the Faderport. 3) Reaper has a nice feature where double-clicking the fader sets it to 0db, and similarly the pan can be set to center with a double-click. I wish there was similar functionality available via the Faderport. Overall, this is a handy device at a good price. I look forward to using it.

  • Scot Bontrager
    from Frisco, TX December 5, 2015

    Works Great

    Works great in StudioOne and Ableton Live. I wish it had WaveLab support, but that's asking a lot.

    Just works. What more can I say?

  • Rick Karr
    from Brooklyn NY November 12, 2015

    Impressive and effective

    It's been a revelation --and not merely because I learned to mix long before DAWs had more than two tracks. Integrates seamlessly into PT, though the documentation could be better in one regard: The first page should start with the sentence "IF YOU'RE A PROTOOLS USER., JUST PLUG IT IN AND START USING IT"Tha would've saved me the few seconds I wasted paging through instructions for half a dozen other DAW and the two minutes I wasted reading the section on ProTools that's totally unnecessary if you have any familiarity whatsoever with automated consoles. sThe fader doesn't have the feel of what you'd find on an SSL or Neotek, but that would be silly to expect at this price, and it's a tiny quibble.

  • Customer
    from October 8, 2015

    Great product

    I love the motorized fader. I am a novice, but this makes me feel like a professional and is so convenient to use. It makes using your DAW so much easier. The fader is so fluid and precise. However, the only reason I will not give it 5 stars is the PAN know. It is stiff and difficult to use for automations. They should be ashamed putting that rigid knob on this otherwise flawless and ingenious product. It is like driving a Porsche with bad brakes. Still a good overall product.

  • Gera Montoya
    from Calexico California August 21, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer for 7 years.

    Game Changer.

    Let's start with the bad news for me. It was difficult to install. I spent about an hour trying to find the right drivers for my system, and then after finding them, the computer was not recognizing the unit. it took more than 10 tries to finally install correctly. ( Every info I needed to install was sent to me by Sweetwater )

    The good news are, once installed everything works fine. I'm using Pro Tools 8.1 on my still stable Digi 003.
    Is too soon to know if this unit will last a long time, I just started using it two weeks ago.
    But you must know that is nice to be able to look else where and adjusting the volume with the fader and making automations by feel instead of looking at the screen.

  • Flo-Town Productions
    from South Carolina June 1, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Producer, Engineer

    Great product

    Everything works as described. Outside of what's here i really wish there were a set of pots at the top or side that were programmable for use on eq, sends, etc... like 1 full channel strip. I'm old school and spent many years on Neve's and SSL's, as well as many others. The buttons are a bit firm, i personally would like a softer touch. I'm using this with Sonar X3 and needed to go to Cakewalk support for the proper setup in the DAW. Not complicated but important. maybe 3 steps and bang it all worked. I'm enjoying it very much and I've incorporated a touch screen to edit, mute, solo multiple tracks quickly. I've enjoyed all of the Presonus equipment that I purchased.

  • Thomas
    from May 31, 2015

    Great Product

    So I've been using this for about a month now. I'm on Logic 9 and X. So by default it worked fine for 9, but not for X until the other packages were installed. This was probably the most troublesome install I've ever really dealt with and the faders motor would never move for the first two days. On the second day, it just decided to start working properly. I've had installs on vista run smoother. After the second day though when everything started working right, it's been awesome. Between this and all of my other stuff, I don't really need to touch the mouse as much.

  • Malcolm Palm
    from Milford, CT April 22, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer

    Handy device

    After placing my order for the Fader Port (amongst other items) my Sweetwater rep. Clint Bransteter called me up directly. He first thanked me for my order, and then proceeded to caution me about the Fader Port. Apparently it's been around for a while and the drivers/bundles needed updating. Sure enough when I first tried to use it, the performance was poor to non-existent. After contacting Presonus tech support and downloading the latest 64 bit bundle (I'm on a Mac) everything is working just fine. It has a lot of functionality, some of which I have yet to utilize. Sure beats having to use the mouse all the time.

  • Danny Smooth
    from March 13, 2015Music Background:
    Longtime Producer

    Fadertastic

    Just copped the faderport and it works like a charm. I do notice however if you scroll through your channels to quickly you it will make ALL your levels become the same, don't know why??? It could just be me! Outside of that it's fine. I still need to know how to map some things to it, due to me NOT using all the functions that are there I'd like to re-assign the buttons.

  • ResX
    from Boston,MA November 10, 2014Music Background:
    Mix Engineer

    Work like a champ with Ableton

    Work great to ride fader and for transport control.

  • Randolph Thompson
    from Middleton, TN USA January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Didn't know what I was missing.

    A few years ago I purchased the Presonus FaderPort and sent it back because, I needed a controller that was not usb connected so I got the Xtempo Design foot switch which I use a lot. However I should have kept the Presonus FaderPort also. Now I have a better understanding of my needs I again purchased a Presonus FaderPort and it is serving me well. I didn't know what I was missing. I must say that Jorge "George" Fernandez at Sweetwater is a very knowledgeable and understanding sales representative and I will recommend Sweetwater for all the musical needs. Give them a call and let Jorge know that this review has been a help.

  • Howard Ziwa
    from SCOTTSDALE, AZ December 21, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician,Live and Recording Engineer

    Very responsive in use with Studio One software

    This unit integrates perfectly with Presonus Studio One software however the motorized fader is not as smooth as those on Mackie units (especially when moving the fader down it sticks). It is still rather functional in writing automation and as a transport control.

  • Steve Wood
    from Laguna Beach, CA October 8, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Producer, Artist, Engineer

    PreSonus FaderProt

    I am a very experienced film composer and producer. I have a fully automated console. I got this originally because I do a lot of riding of midi volume when I am playing parts into my DAW. I wanted something that would sit on top of my keyboard and allow me to punch in and grab a fader and pick up precisely where the fader was so there would be no jumps. Works perfectly. Funny thing is I am actually using this for almost all of my mixing of audio tracks as well. The ability to highlight a track and have the fader active is super convenient. When I have a whole console of faders, it is hard to keep track of where things are, especially when I am in the creative mode and adding tracks rapidly. Of course the transport and additional controls are great as well. I really can't live without this thing. It is by far the best bang for the buck gear I have ever purchased.
    I just returned from an epic recording week in Papua, New Guinea and had to leave my first one with the engineer there as he fell in love with it. Now working with my second one. I can see needing a few more with Christmas approaching!

  • Deco Comperehension
    from Belgium / Los Angeles October 1, 2013Music Background:
    www.leglu.com

    Darth FaderPort

    The Faderport would be super awesome if you could assign automatons, at least one. However, being able to control the Volume, Pan, Mute, Solo, and Record (Plus a couple extra specials depending on the DAW) makes this a sweet piece of equipment.

    All in all, this built to last with metal everything. Works great for me as most of my equipment must be road worthy

  • Customer
    from April 3, 2013

    Love it, but doesnt work with USB3.0!!!

    Its a great tool for the price. But unfurtunately it does not work with USB 3.0 yet. So if youre on a newer computer that doesnt have 2.0 ports this will be hit and miss. Ive been told theyre working on a patch to get it to work but no expected date. Could be a month, could be a year. Who knows. Good unit otherwise though.

  • Customer
    from December 24, 2012

    Pretty Bitchin!

    Sweet and worth the money. It communicates well with PT 10 and Abelton Live 8. Having some troubles with Logic 9 pro but i think that has to do mainly with the connectivity. I recommend this :)

  • Trent Martin
    from Portland, OR November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Musician

    Happy with this:)

    This little thing is pretty sweet. Especially since I don't have any other controller, this little guy is great as an auto locator for my DAW (Studio One3) and keeps me from having to scroll all over the screen for various necessary functions. The nice part about the FaderPort is it's able to hook up with other controllers so even if you have another surface to mix with you can still use the FaderPort right next to your keyboard for fast marker location and punches, plus it has a punch foot switch for recording alone.

    Bad thing is that it's got a wall wart, pretty big, so it doesn't fit well in a power strip or rack conditioner. There are ways around this i.e. mini extension or the bottom plug on a wall plate. The pan control also skips a bit when you are trying to automate by hand. The fader is super nice though. Very precise.

  • Thomas McGill
    from Scottsdale, AZ, USA November 23, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    PreSonus FaderPort

    I didn't know if I needed this piece of equipment because my keyboard controller has transport controls, and of course a mouse and shortcuts can do anything the FaderPort can. But my Axiom 49 is always off to the side, and not taking the time to make keyboard shortcuts consistant across a number of software programs makes simple functions confusing and irritating. Laziness aside, the PreSonus FaderPort is amazingly comfortable for the common moves of transport control and bringing up various monitor views etc. I still rely on the mouse and keyboard shortcuts for a few functions, but after a month with the FaderPort, I can't imagine not having my left hand resting on it, ready to perform the most basic functions of recording and mixing music.

  • Willy
    from United States November 20, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist, Engineer

    Logic 8 - Logic 9 - Firmware stuff

    This was my experience with it... My mac is a little older so there may have been other issues. I recently upgraded to Logic 9 and the thing works like a charm...

    -With Logic 8 and OSX Lion, you need firmware version 1.3.3 for the motor to work... This version of firmware is buggy, but the motor works...
    -With Logic 9 and OSX Lion, you need version 1.3.8 for the motor to work. It looks like this version is pretty solid.

    The buttons are noisy and have a strong tactile feel to them. I wish they weren't so noisy, but maybe they're designed to last forever...

    I kind of wish the fader was on the other side... I keep this to the left of my keyboard, so I can mouse with my right hand, faderport with my left. Usually when you push buttons, you do it with your first two fingers. Well, that leaves your ring and pinky finger dangling over the fader. When you switch channels, your hand can get in the way of the fader moving. Maybe the mechanical engineer who designed it was a lefty... :)

    Negatives aside, this thing is really cool. Gives your DAW a desk feel for cheap! I'd recommend it!

  • Joe Piccione
    from United States July 18, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, Mixer

    Works Like a Charm

    I used it with Reaper 4.x and will be using with Protools as well.
    Writing automation is very nice with this little baby. Nice feeling fader, however if I rest my thumb to the right of the fader and a just a bit of pressure to the surface it wants to tip over. The pan pot isn't wonderful, but can be used.
    Overall I'm very happy with it.

  • Shawn Appleton
    from June 5, 2012

    PreSonus FaderPort

    After overcoming the the specifics of intergrating the FaderPort with my DAW, the unit works perfect with my overall system. It provides a quick way of streamlining my workflow.

  • Nathan
    from Rochester NY April 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Live Engineer

    Good for the money, limited in Pro Tools

    I bought this to do fader automation in Pro Tools 10. It is very easy to set up and works well for what I want to do with it. The only issue really is that Pro Tools is so limited in its control protocols. This unit shows up as a midi device, and the fader and pan knobs work fine, all the mute/solo/Rec and automation modes work fine. Window buttons work. Transport works.

    The "shift" functions do NOT work, or they only sort of work in Pro Tools. Also certain buttons do not light up correctly, for instance the automation mode buttons. If you hit "touch" it will put PT into touch mode and will work fine but the button does not light up as it should. Again I should emphasize that this is really a problem with Pro Tools and not a problem with the Faderport itself. I imagine it works flawlessly with other DAWs. Anyway for the price and 95% functionality it is still a great buy.

  • Kan
    from chattanooga, tn February 27, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer, mandolinist

    Great Product!

    Overall a great product, had some firmware issues but it was quickly resolved with a firmware downgrade. Occasionally the fader won't function but usually a restart of the program or power cycling will fix any issues that arise.

  • Rob
    from Chicago, IL December 8, 2011

    Very useful!

    This controller is great and easy to setup. It does everything you need to keep your hands off the keyboard and improves workflow. I was just disappointed that the buttons weren't softer and less noisy when pressed.

  • Dan
    from Boston, MA June 16, 2009Music Background:
    post production

    Presonus Faderport

    I'm running the faderport on windows media center, service pack 2 (for some reason it is not compatible with service pack 3).

    All of the features work very well except for the pan control. It is either very jumpy or very precise, and sometimes jumps between being both. The only other thing I see wrong with the faderport is that the fader scrapes against the sides (very slightly) when reading automation. This doesn't seem to have any negative effects besides being slightly annoying.

    Other than that it works flawlessly, and responds instantaneously, which is the most important factor. Buy from Sweetwater, they have the lowest price online (including new models on ebay) by far.

  • Keith Knight
    from D/FW TX September 15, 2008Music Background:
    Metal

    Handy little unit!

    This is a very handy little unit. I purchased it mainly for the transport section to do on the fly quick punches with ProTools. It is spot on for that. Buttons are a little small but work great (they do light up, which is very nice). The pan and fader are a little sloppy, but once they locked into the track they work fine.
    When you switch from track to track, you would think the fader would move to match it's on screen location. If you move the fader or pan when on the selected track, it will move the on screen to the location of the FaderPort. The rest of the buttons MUTE, SOLO, RECORD, READ, WRITE, TOUCH, OFF, LOOP, ect. work perfectly with ProTools. The only other button I wish it had was Pre roll on and off would have been great. All in all it’s a good little unit with a very small foot print.

  • Dave B
    from Pasadena,CA USA October 27, 2006Music Background:
    TV Composer/Programmer

    Ingenious Fader Device at great price point

    Having run out of space in my studio and tiring of doing fader moves with my mouse I luckily ran into the Presonus Faderport. It has all the basic features I need to do quick automation moves in Protools when setting up test mixes to show my television clients. It's also nice that I can also use it with Cubase or Nuendo on the same computer. The single fader has a very smooth throw and the unit looks great. The price is also reasonable.

  • Walt
    from Ypsilanti, MI August 23, 2014Music Background:
    Chief cook and bottle washer

    Nice

    I feel the need to date this as Presonus will continue to update support for this plug. 8/23/14. I am using Cubase 7.5 64 bit.

    The concept is great. For a project studio the single channel approach with a motorized fader is extremely helpful. I had to do a lot of searching to find the correct driver firmware and the correct dll. It's a little strange when choosing a channel with a mouse. Depending where you click on the channel the Faderport may or may not follow. It is consistent however. The pan function is flaky. Jumps all over. Support for USB2 only is a little weird. I had one available. I get a strong sense that this product was released a little early in the development stage.

  • Jeff Rolka
    from January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer

    PreSonus Faderport Review

    The PreSonus faderport is a suitable addition to any small studio whose engineer has operated digital consoles in the past, and occasionally craves the feel of a fader under their fingers. For those who've not had the pleasure, the faderport is a small investment to find out if your workflow would benefit from such a device.

    All in all, the device does what it claims to do, and I have no complaints there. It integrated with ProTools (9) without any hassle, and operates as expected.

    It is nice to have a fader to write automation again, rather than mousing it all, and I would say that I use the transport controls about half the time if I'm mixing or just listening back, and one hundred percent of the time if I'm recording, particularly doing piano tracks across the room. Unplugging it from the power cable enables it to be a nice remote that sits on the piano and means I don't have to walk across the room to adjust levels or start/stop tracking.

    Some of the areas that could improve are minor, and perhaps not to be expected in a unit of this size/cost. Nonetheless, PreSonus is quality gear in my experience (Digimax LT in the studio) and I was a little surprised by a few items.

    First, the pan knob doesn't work as well as it could. It often skips around and doesn't really have fine control. It also feels a little 'gritty' when one twists it.

    Beyond that, I don't think PreSonus can be blamed.

    The way this unit integrates with ProTools is through HUI, and that eliminates some of the programmability features that this unit is supposed to accommodate. A few of the buttons are also rendered useless in this mode. The transport control, sometimes works brilliantly, other times not. Specifically, it will occasionally advance you to your next memory location, then a few minutes later, won't.

    Finally, in order for the Faderport to work on a given track, you must use the Channel Select buttons to move and highlight the track you wish to work on. If you mouse over and click on the track and highlight it, the Faderport will not recognize input for it, and you're sitting there moving a fader for nothing. That being said, it could be worse, when you do click on a track to do something, the faderport then won't move any faders, which saves you from moving the fader you were last working on randomly.

    Having worked on Icon and ProControl boards, I am spoiled for sure, but that being said, I enjoy having this item in the studio. It feels pretty good under the hand, and I would recommend it to anyone who misses having a fader from time to time.

  • Rick G
    from Orlando, FL July 3, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer

    Very Solid

    Very solid, low latency... I can't say much more than already has been said. When you're in record mode, and the lights are "blinking" on the faderport, if you listen carefully, you can hear it.

  • mike
    from MN January 24, 2017Music Background:
    Musician

    So Far So good

    So far this thing is working out just fine. I'm sure that the more I get use to it , it will get better..
    Sure beats using a mouse. A " MUST HAVE " for your set up.

  • Customer
    from Montreal October 23, 2016Music Background:
    Producer

    Convienient tool to have

    Very good tool to have if you don't want to spend over 1k for something in the range of a Mackie. Good for mixes. Only thing is if you want it to be fully functional, you need to have your DAW and driver for the faderport up to date. Wish they would come up with a solution where this would fully function no matter regardless of software updates. I use several DAWs and it doesn't work with Reason but works with Logic Pro. Overall good tool to have because it saves you the hastle of using a mouse or your fingers on a trackpad and you can switch from track to track with @ the touch of a button.

  • Dean Mancuso
    from February 6, 2016Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Guitarist, Songwriter

    Works great except for pan knob

    For the money, this is probably the best unit out there, at least in the sub-$500 price range. It's made well, and inspires a lot of confidence in its construction and functionality. I would have rated this five stars, easily, because it works as well as any pro gear, with one exception: the "pan" knob just doesn't work, and never has.

    I have owned three of these over the past six or seven years (I am in the habit of selling off my gear once in awhile when I renovate my studio). On all three pf them, the pan knob causes the pan setting in my DAW to jump around wildly, skipping and repeating values without any rhyme or reason. This is a well-documented issue if you read other reviews online. I have tried modifying the components in it (among many "fixes" online), updating all software for my DAW and the Faderport drivers, etc., etc., etc. It happened in the past when I was using two different versions of Sonar, Mackie Traction, and now Logic 9. It happens on both Mac and PC. It's the only fault with this thing, but I keep coming back to it because there is nothing better for under $500.

    Because of the pan knob issue, I deducted a star, and I deducted an additional star for the fact that Persons has chosen to ignore this issue for more than 7 years.

  • Todd
    from United States October 20, 2014Music Background:
    Drum Kit, Acoustic Guitar and Hobbyist Recording Engineer

    Not Bad...

    I purchased this so I could easily create volume and panning automation within my DAW. It does what it says it's supposed to do, but the fader is a bit noisy (not a big deal) and the panning knob may as well not even be offered (totally bummed by this). neither of the knobs are aluminum like they appear to be, but aside from that... pan knob doesn't work well at all. You turn it and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. It's a crap shoot. It's also a bit wiggly. All in all... I'd say it's kinda worth it, but Presonus should have put a few more bucks into it to insure it worked flawlessly.

  • michael galimberti
    from Farmington, NH March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, recording emgineer, musician

    Not Bad

    I like the ability to use the fader to write automation I don't like how the pan knob works though, It really doesn't work that well. The pan knob is stepped and when you go to adjust the pan the pan in the daw it jumps all over the place, isn't consistent and is pretty frustrating. I own a ton of presonus gear and I would think that it would work flawlessly with Studio One but it doesn't .

  • Lessandro
    from Brasil September 3, 2012Music Background:
    Audio producer

    Works,but many problems to config

    Works well and helps a lot at work automation. The problem is the setup. Does not come with 64 bit driver for Winodws 7. After downloading the driver from the Presonus site, the firmware is updated and a bug happens: the motor fader stops running. Only after finding another firmware in another section of the Presonus site, the motor fader started run again. Another problem is that there was a conflict with my sound card Lynx AES16e. After installing the Faderport, audio straight from Windows only works if there is no open application. It did not happen before. Another problem is that if I open Cubase, close and open the Pro Tools, I have to disconnect and reconnect the USB cable from the Faderport, otherwise Pro Tools does not recognize the Faderport.

  • Customer
    from August 20, 2015

    Good with cavet

    I like the unit a lot, it does what they say it should, setup can be easy- note that you have an unused 2.0 (it doesn't work on 3.0) port. However, if you are anywhere near an average of 50% CPU use in your mix, adding this unit overloads the CPU. Seems to use a lot. So when a song is nearly finished, 20-30+ plug-ins in use, it will overload CPU if I don't increase the buffer size to 512. I use an i7 chip, have 8 gigs of RAM and 1TB of memory.

  • Benjamin Bias
    from Atlanta, GA April 22, 2015Music Background:
    Mix Engineer

    Be Careful!

    It's really not a bad product, all the buttons work and it is a nice addition to any mix station and if you're using Studio One, it works right out of the box. HOWEVER, for some people getting the fader to work is going to be a pain, and the Presonus tech support is useless. Also I wouldn't recommend this IF YOU HAVE USB 3.0 PORTS, you will not be able to update the firmware and the fader won't work.

  • Arlo
    from USA January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician

    Great product but...........

    I love the concept! I would really love it if it worked properly.
    Ableton 9 is what I use most of the time and the Faderport has buggy issues when it comes to Ableton. I have had several crashs in the middle of writing and recording due to the compatibility issues between the Faderport and my DAW. One other thing is I have never gotten it to work properly with Reaper. At this time it is a paperweight on my desk until there are some significant improvements to the template.

  • alan mayer, recording engineer/producer , Vallejo, CA
    from December 23, 2014

    one fader to rule them all

    I have been working in protools for 15 years and gotten used to working with the mouse and automation lines for mixing, but sometimes you just miss the physical fader. I ordered the faderport to fill that wish. It does as promissed. Connected to my system with usb printer cable, downloaded the firmware and in protools preferences set it up as a controller. the controls are a little clunky but the learning curve is short and in minutes I was on my way using my new assignable fader to contrrol channel volumes and the buttons to operate transport: start, stop, record...

  • Chris
    from FL, USA February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Broadcast Engineer, Home Studio, Musician

    PreSonus not supporting.

    I gave this an extra half-star bump because I like the IDEA of the Faderport. PreSonus still hasn't released anything to make this work properly in Logic Pro X. I had Lots of problems when I first set it up about a year ago. After MANY hours trying to get it to work the guy at PreSonus asked me why I just didn't use Studio One! NO THANKS. Now since Logic X is now only 64 bit (as it should be) The Read, Write and Touch buttons have lost their functionality. (There was a workaround in Logic 9). No information on the PreSonus website about any of this. Only old outdated drivers that won't help you with obtaining full functionality with 64bit applications. It seems that PreSonus would rather push their third-rate DAW than support their products. No more Pre-Sonus for me.

  • Customer
    from July 3, 2013

    Good, but no plugin parameter control

    I like the way the fader feels and operates for volume and panning, but it would be much better if it could be mapped to plug-in parameters. There is no way to do this

  • steve
    from January 6, 2011

    Pro Tools users beware

    not every function works for pro tools. namely, the Prev and NEXT buttons that are supposed to let you jump through your markers. there's also a USER button that lets you assign a specific, user selectable function. not w/PT though! there's also an OUTPUT button that does absolutely nothing, nor is it even acknowledged in the manual. i don't understand how Presonus could create a product that isn't fully compatible with the industry-standard Pro Tools. to me, that's like designing a mic cable that would work with every mic except an SM57. other than these issues, it's great though ;-)

  • Bruno Serge
    from Los Angeles, CA May 18, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Composer, Arranger

    Partial support, wherever you go...

    Unless you use PreSonus' DAW (Studio One) exclusively, even the latest updates for the FaderPort, as of 2013, show that presonus just didn't bother with details. I was able to test it in a lot of 3rd party DAWs (Pro Tools, Live, Logic, Reaper) and the FaderPort, when it comes to function mapping and support, just feels like a beta/pre-release product that never passed quality control... Now I'm switching to Live and it requires pressing STOP for 2 seconds and then selecting "Output" before I even start Live. If I don't do that, it won't even work! Simply unforgivable.

  • Brandon
    from Houston, TX May 22, 2011Music Background:
    Radio Producer

    Good but flawed

    Good idea and design. Very convenient for those running Logic. The buttons are a bit loud for my taste, though, and the fader itself feels cheaply made. Prepare to have midi conflicts if you have a midi keyboard connected. I also hear that the motor burning out isn't really uncommon. My fader stopped working after the 10th use.

  • Mike Jenkins
    from Nevada April 13, 2017

    Can't Recommend for Reaper

    Despite Presonus listing Reaper among the supported DAWs, what they don't tell you is that Reaper isn't officially supported. You'll have to download and import a user-made .ini and .dll, and then half of the buttons will have unpredictable functions; the worst of which being that you won't be able to pan with the pan knob. For some reason, the pan knob moves you from track to track, which can also be done with the channel select buttons. I have to say I'm pretty disappointed in Presonus with this one.

  • Customer
    from September 7, 2015Music Background:
    Composer

    Product is dying a slow death

    It's a cool toy with lots of potential... but the software support is terrible, and it's not fully supported in most modern DAWs, at least on Mac.

    It's a shame, I wanted to like PreSonus. Won't be selling mine but will keep wishing decent .bundle files come out for it.

  • Mike M
    from January 12, 2016

    Doesn't work with Cubase 8

    Bought this for Cubase 8, but doesn't work properly. Confirmed in the Presonus forums...

  • Customer
    from Brooklyn, NY November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Mixer, Producer, Composer

    Buyer Beware

    Cubase/Nuendo Mac 64bit user? I wouldn't buy this.

    It does not work in 'native' mode on 64bit Macs, and you have to use HUI. However, this does not even function correctly. Not only that, but apparently a firmware update caused the motorized fader to stop functioning (version mine shipped with I believe). They tell you to update firmware to latest or older version. However you can't update on USB 3.0. So if you have Mac hardware a few years old or less, you are out of luck unless you happen to have an older computer lying around. I did, updated firmware and resigned myself to using unit in HUI mode (8 buttons on unit don't function in HUI mode, and 3 more have limited function) hoping to at least be able to use motorized fader (my primary reason for purchase).

    I'm tech savvy and have spent hours trying to get motorized fader to work, and for the unit to work consistently in any way with zero success. Before purchasing, Google the Faderport along with your DAW and proceed with caution.

  • Tom Daigon
    from United States May 1, 2014Music Background:
    Video Editor / Guitarist

    If you use LogicProX DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS !

    If you have a recent computer running USB 3( ie Mac Mini,etc) DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. It only runs USB 1.1. You will need to run a firmware update to get this completely working with Logic Pro X. BUT YOU CANT, since it wont be able to do this on a computer that runs USB 3. When you try to do the firmware update all you will get are error messages.

  • chris Johnson
    from tx March 21, 2014Music Background:
    producer, composer, guitar player, singer, songwriter

    Presonus Fader port

    I use digital performer 8 and the fader port does not work properly.
    Hopefully presonus will come out with a dp patch soon.
    pretty worthless at this point.
    all that works are play and record buttons

  • John
    from Yorba Linda, Ca. April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Not for me...

    First off, I have to say that Sweetwater is the best. Always there to help. Thanks Mike S.

    Now for the review, when I unpacked everything and started to run the setup for this device, the instructions and driver software didn't even come close to matching. I can't begin to tell you how many issues I had just to get the driver to load. I tried to call Presonus tech support, but they never returned my call. I spoke to sweetwater tech support and got answers almost immediately (Gotta love 'em). Now for the configuration of the Faderport in Sonar X1 producer Expanded. Again, the instructions should never have been shipped with this unit. You would have better luck just winging it! In the manual it stated that certain functions would not work in Sonar, that's fair....it said the same thing about other DAW's as well. The motorized fader was supposed to work, which when plugged in with the adapter sometimes worked and sometimes not, even after downgrading the firmware as was suggested. When loading a project the faderport would go nuts, just bouncing the fader around randomly. After about 3-5 minutes the project would finally come up, and sometimes it would cause Sonar to crash. Definitely not something I would recommend to anyone using Sonar X1.

Reviews

  • Marcos Sanchez
    5-04-2009

    I've wanted a control surface for my Pro Tools system for quite a few years now, but could never afford a full 8-fader bankable control surface like the Command 8 or a Digi 002/003 Factory system. However, my prayers have finally been answered! The Presonus FaderPort is an affordable solution to having a tangible control surface to get out of the box during mixing.

    The Presonus FaderPort has only one actual 100mm fader, with a 1024-step resolution for accurate and detailed fades. It can be assigned to any channel on the fly, windowed in Pro Tools through your selection view. The FaderPort, while being fully integratable with Pro Tools, has universal commands on the surface which will allow you to have a tactile and tangible feel to your control surface.

    The controls map out easily with your native transport controls, and include commands to change the fader on the fly without having to touch your mouse, a pan knob, solo, record, and mute buttons, as well as common window selectors and all the features you would need from a larger scale control surface, in a space smaller than a piece of paper. For someone like me who has a small project studio setup, this is perfect, as it ensures you have the experience of having a control surface, without having to buy new furniture for your existing setup.

    The FaderPort even includes an ALPS high quality fader, which is the same fader used in Digidesign's D-Command control surface, meaning you can get the tactile feel of a D-Command for a significantly lower price.

    Ultimately, the FaderPort is easy to use, fully featured and works perfectly with quite a few software applications and configurations. Whether you're a mobile engineer looking for tactile mixing on the road, or a project studio with limited space, or even a professional studio looking for a more compact design for an existing DAW setup, everyone can benefit from the Presonus FaderPort.

  • Evan Gilmore
    1-29-2008

    Having used the mouse and keyboard to mix for as long as I can remember, I began to feel that it was time to take the next step to a control surface. However, I didn't feel quite ready to jump into a larger scale $1000+ unit. I just needed something to make my mixing process flow more naturally. After researching my options, I finally decided on the single channel Faderport from PreSonus.

    I was immediately impressed with the no-nonsense design of the unit. It has all the key transport and edit controls you would most frequently use on any other control surface, all laid out in a compact, yet logical design. Despite its small size, the unit has an extremely sturdy feel, which makes you comfortable integrating it into your studio setup, or taking it on location if you need to. The small footprint of the Faderport, in addition to its durability and quality design, were all big factors in my choosing this control surface.

    I have several different software titles I use for recording on my DAW, including ProTools, Sonar, and Nuendo, so naturally I was curious about compatibility. The Faderport works flawlessly with all of these different programs, with minimal or no driver or support software necessary. Overall, it's a time-saving breeze to set up - just plug it in and start mixing!

Questions about the PreSonus FaderPort?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway