0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Boss FV-500L Volume Pedal - Low Impedance Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss FV-500L Volume Pedal - Low Impedance?

Questions about the Boss FV-500L Volume Pedal - Low Impedance?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    You could shoot at this pedal with 10 tanks and it would still stay intact! The FV-500L pedal works in many applications for a keyboard player and will last for years. Be sure to keep the 1/4" connections clean to ensure accurate and excellent sound quality.

  • from Soth Setauket, NY August 10, 2016Music Background:
    been a professional musician for over 30 years

    Built to last

    I use a stereo pedal in mono to 2 keyboards. I've had other cheaper Boss pedals, which ended up crackling or not working at all. The Boss FV-500L is quiet and built to last. I'm very impressed.

  • from San Diego April 25, 2015Music Background:
    `Pro musician and recording engineer for 50 years.

    Problem solved!

    I was using an Ernie Ball hi-impedance volume pedal after my Tech21 Blonde Deluxe pedal, which has a low-impedance output, and before my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe amp. When I rolled the Ernie Ball volume back the tone would get thinner. With the Boss FV-500L low-impedance volume pedal the tone remains consistent - only the volume changes, which is as it should be. Problem solved. Besides, the pedal is very well built and has features that were not available on the Ernie Ball. And, the pedal is passive so that it doesn't need a power supply or battery, and adds no extra noise or distortion. A good purchase.

  • from Riverside, CA USA August 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Sturdy and Smooth

    I bought two of these to use with my Yahama keyboards in a classic-rock band. The pedal is extremely sturdy and, I'm sure, will withstand many years of constant use. It stays in place on the floor and operates smoothly. It doesn't add any noise or otherwise diminish the sound quality. So far, I'm completely satisfied with it.

  • from Columbia, MO USA February 27, 2013Music Background:
    Rockstar in training

    Flawless

    I have been an ernie ball guy for years but this one is just as good if not slightly better. It's super tough no string non-sense also very smooth sweep compared to my ernie balls with my midi setup. Also the pedal feel is adjustable! If you looking for volume look no further.

  • from Niles, Ohio October 16, 2012Music Background:
    43 years live entertainment

    Boss FV-500L

    Exactly what I wanted. Works great with my Kurszweil keyboard and Roland midi unit. Last pedal I bought seem to suck the power out of the keyboard and quality of sound was lost. This works perfect.

  • from Nashville, Tennessee June 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Very pleased

    Mesa Boogie told me that the best place to insert my volume pedal would be out of my Triaxis then in to my power amp. Sweetwater told me I needed a low inpedance pedal for this since my preamp out would be at +4 output. The Boss FV-500L is perfect. Rugged, smooth action with linear taper, transparant. Could'nt be happier.

  • from Illinois June 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Volume Pedal

    Great pedal - Very sturdy, Should last a long time!

  • from Wildwood Park May 31, 2012Music Background:
    Anything to do with music...

    NOT just for keyboard instruments!

    First, I use this as a volume pedal after my guitar effects pedals, before my amp. This is the correct pedal to use if you are not going directly into it from your guitar. (IF you are going directly from your guitar into the volume pedal, then that's the FV-500H, btw.) It's built literally like a tank and can withstand about any rigor of the road. Also, it's handy in that it does both Expression (CC, or Continuous Controller) and audio volume. (Also, it does both simultaneously if you are as crazy as I am and want to do that.) I have the older FV300 series and this is a major upgrade, no question.

  • from November 21, 2011Music Background:
    classical guitarist

    Solid construction, great performance

    Does everything I want it to. Built like a tank! I use it to control the volume of my backing tracks,, and it works very well.

  • from Shortsville,N.Y. November 16, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-Pro musician since 1971.

    Volume Pedals

    I just got rid of my last boss pedals. They were 35 years old. They still worked but were starting to wear out. The new ones are well made,just like my first ones. I will probably leave these to someone in my will because I know they will out-last me. Thanks for everything.

  • from Murray, KY February 17, 2016

    Great pedal!

    I bought this pedal to replace an active Behringer pedal that i used for years. Love that it's passive and built like a tank. I'm currently running VB3 on my laptop when my B3 is impractical. Using an M-Audio Oxygen 61 key as a controller. The controller has no ability to use an M-Audio volume controller so the BOSS does the job of an expression pedal perfectly!

  • from LA December 1, 2015Music Background:
    Production

    Like a Rock

    Solid, smooth, and sweet. No lightweight pedal, the Boss is built like a rock.

  • from November 2, 2015Music Background:
    Working Artist of 25 years

    It will outlive you ..your children..and your childrens children

    If you are sick of flimsy,plastic,expression pedals that feel more like a cheap addition to your pedal board than a substantial edition that,if needed, could be used as a weapon against an impending zombie horde at your sketchiest post apocalyptic venue...then this is your huckleberry. Seriously the FV500l looks as if it were engineered by NASA as a gas pedal for a moonbuggy and repurposed by BOSS to throttle your effects pedals into the stratosphere.Ok...enough about the construction of the fv500l.This expression delivers as advertised to the BOSS pedal lineup. When introducing this expression pedal to the host of your choice make sure that you read the instructions,I see many people who fuss about these units not working and it is because they are not calibrating the pedals threshold as noted in the very simple
    Instructions provided by the manufacturer. Also if you are new to using an expression pedal go ahead and purchase a TRS cable ...a standard mono patch cable/guitar cable
    will not work with the pedal. I am using this pedal with my Boss RE-20 Space Echo where it provides the extra dimension of control that I desired with the RE-20. The FV500l also performs well as a volume pedal. Dual input and dual output on this pedal was a win for me as well when using the pedal as a volume pedal...it is always good to have more options when routing your signal. My only quasi-complaint would be the size of this pedal..it has a rather large footprint...as in frankensteins monster would be pleasantly suprised that he would plant his size 20 engineer boots comfortably on the fv500l..but if you are a minimalist,a spacesafer,or dont want to add an extra 5 lbs to your toybox...this may not be the expression pedal for you. As for me...I am pleased with all facets of this expression pedal.

  • from San Diego, CA USA November 6, 2014Music Background:
    50 years as professional guitarist, bassist, engineer, producer & performer

    Approaches perfection

    Perfectly smooth action, both in tactile feel and audio taper. Just the right amount of resistance to foot movement. When you remove your foot, it easily holds its setting right where you put it. Big pedal with rubber pads and very long throw, all of which are advantages. I suspect the sharp contours could damage a cable if caught between the base and the treadle at full-heel or full-toe positions. I use the Expression Out with a VPLM 10-light meter from OK Designs of Japan, and the combination succeeds where my Visual Volume pedal fails.

  • from Melbourne, FL September 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Guitar FX loop volume

    Needed low impedance pedal go to in FX loop of Marshall amp. Needed to achieve high distortion with low volume in the middle of a song.) Works great! (Don't forget to turn FX loop on.) Also have the high impedance pedal between guitar and amp. Very well made.

  • from Philadelphia, PA August 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    Best option for Kurzweil.

    I am really amazed by the construction of these pedals. To say they're solid is an understatement. I was in the market for a good foot controller for my Kurzweil K2600. I tried some other brands / models and immediately returned them. I finally decided to get two of these and I am glad I did.

    The reason why I am taking off half a point on the Boss FV-500L is due to the sweep length / pedal noise. The sweep length, although very good, does not come close to the gold standard set by Yamaha's FC-7 (which, without modification, is not compatible with Kurzweil). The Boss FV-500L does make a 'clack' sound when you engage the pedal rapidly at 100%. This is clearly the sound of metal hitting metal. While not a deal-breaker, some people might find it annoying.

    All in all, the Boss FV-500L is a great pedal. It might be the best off-the-shelf option for Kurzweil products. It has a 10K linear pot for expression and the stereo volume controls (which I am now using with a Mellotron M400D Mini) operate at a nice 25K. I plan on buying more of these pedals in the future.

  • from Circleville, OH USA April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Blues musician with award-winning female blue singer.

    Built tough, works great!

    This pedal is built tough and works great. I bought this for my Casio PX-3 digital keyboard, to act as an expression pedal when using organ sounds. I like the stereo inputs and outputs, and the adjustable volume range control. This replaces an old Ernie Ball mono pedal with a scratchy pot and less-sensitive control. Ben Robinson spent a lot of time with me, and found the best pedal for my needs. I will carry this pedal, along with my Rotosphere, to enhance my organ sounds with whatever keyboard I play at a gig.

  • from Poughkeepsie NY March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Keys off and on for most of my life.

    Solid Product

    Everything I expected. Solved my 2 audio source needs.

  • from Baltimore MD. June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Great.

    Good piece of hardware has adjustable volume control, and very nice unit

  • from United States February 11, 2013Music Background:
    Orchestral Composer/Post Sound FX editor

    Works okay.

    Rock Solid Construction. Totally worth the price

  • from Abuja Nigeria December 24, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great product

    Built well and solid construction.

    We use them for our keyboard rigs and no complaints at all.

    Meets all expectations

  • from Billings, MT October 22, 2006Music Background:
    Active Musician & Recording Engineer

    Nice Volume / Expression Pedal!

    I bought the Boss FV-500L as an expression pedal to work with my Boss PS-5 Super Shifter, as the aluminum casing appeared to be much more durable than the Roland EV-5. The addition of the volume control feature, which can be used either in mono or stereo, also prompted me to chose this product. The stereo volume control allows the user to place it after a stereo effects pedal with no loss of the stereo effect, which is very nice! On the negative side, this pedal is quite large and bulky (11" x 4"), making it unwelcome in certain pedal boards. Additionally, the moving parts of this unit are largely constructed of plastic, making it more prone to damage than its appearance would suggest. Having a cast-aluminum housing means nothing if the most important parts of the unit are plastic! I did have to return the first FV-500L that I purchased, as jolts during shipment were enough to render the unit inoperable. The replacement seems to function quite well, though; and I'm fairly happy with it. If I were to redo my order, I would choose the Alesis F2 volume / expression pedal over this Boss product, however.

Questions about the Boss FV-500L Volume Pedal - Low Impedance?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway