0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Boss FV-500Hl Foot Volume Pedal - High Impedance Reviews

4.5 stars based on 29 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss FV-500Hl Foot Volume Pedal - High Impedance?

Questions about the Boss FV-500Hl Foot Volume Pedal - High Impedance?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Preparing for a nuclear holocaust? Need to make sure your expression pedal will survive the initial blast and the fallout? The Boss FV-500H is the pedal you need. It's so sturdy and rock-solid, I'd feel safe fighting a mutant inside of Thunderdome with only this at my side. (Oh, and it's a great expression pedal too!)

  • from Seattle March 11, 2017

    Boss FH-500h

    I was an Ernie Ball VP Jr guy for years. Then during a live show, the string on the rocker snapped. I was betrayed! I was so frustrated, I tore that thing off my board and threw it into the crowd and knocked some poor dude's eye right out! Then I went to prison for 30 years! When I got out, the first thing I did was buy myself a BOSS FH-500H and never looked back! The string never breaks 'cause guess what? There's no string!

  • from North Texas August 3, 2016

    Boss FV-500H

    Used this pedal for the first time last night and I loved it. Volume increased at a linear rate unlike my two Dunlops. It works as well as my elderly Morley and doesn't color the tone.

  • from Los Angeles December 18, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Perfect

    Simply the best VP in terms of construction and performance. First got the Ernie Ball VP but could not accept the string rocker connection in the end. If you can accept the size on your board, then look no further.

  • from Rhode Island September 21, 2015

    BOSS FV-500H Volume Pedal

    The size of this pedal is large enough for "Big Foot's feet"! Therefore, making it easy to work with in terms of foot positioning! And, the pedal is designed to place at the beginning of your guitar signal chain; whether directly from your guitar or directly from an output signal source such as from your amp (if your amp is equipped with an output jack [such as a headphone jack]). The constructive metal material and non-slip grip of the pedal is designed to make this pedal comfortable and last a long time. It's also, equipped with: a) a side jack to connect directly to a tuner, if you wish, b) an expression jack to connect to an amp, synthesizer, or any other kind of equipment designed to alter your instrument's "voice", if you wish, and c) a min-max control knob to set your parameters toe-up to toe-down providing you with a comfortable parameter with which to work within. The movement of the pedal (toe-up to toe-down and vise versa) is smooth, also depending on how you set the min-max control knob. Simply put, the more toe-down you place on the pedal, the stronger your guitar's signal strength through your chain to such receivers as a pedal board. This pedal is very user-friendly and intuitive to use once you become accustomed to setting the min-max control knob to your desire. Chances are, if you purchase and make a sincere effort to initially work with this pedal (which is easy and quite effective), you will not be disappointed and so eager to return the pedal back to it's supplier!

  • from August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Works great!

    Bought this primarily to use in conjunction with the eventide H9. There was a bit of a learning curve figuring out how to set it up the way I wanted (due to the way the H9 works). Solidly built and has a nice big footprint for smooth even control.

  • from June 20, 2013

    Outstanding!

    Makes the Ernie Ball products look like (and feel like) a toy. Excellent choice for guitar volume or expression pedal... Built like a TANK!

  • from Columbia, MO USA February 27, 2013Music Background:
    Rockstar in training

    Flawless

    I have been an ernie ball guy for years but this one is just as good if not slightly better. It's super tough no string non-sense also very smooth sweep compared to my ernie balls with my midi setup. Also the pedal feel is adjustable! If you looking for volume look no further.

  • from Clarence, NY August 28, 2012Music Background:
    Devoted amateur

    Solid and Works Well

    This pedal is very sturdily constructed and will stand up to some serious knocking around. It operates smoothly and adjusts easily.

  • from NY July 18, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Boss FV 500H

    Solid indestructable expression pedal and works great with a Zoom B3 bass multi effect.

  • from St. Louis May 15, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Nice volume pedal

    Reasonably priced, nice looking, well constructed and smooth operating pedal. Easy to adjust pedal tension and minimum volume setting to suit individual's preferences. I like the tuner output feature as well. Just an all around quality product.

  • from Weyburn, Saskatchewan. Canada April 5, 2012Music Background:
    50 years hobby guitarist

    great pedal

    love the volume settings , very smooth and a super clean sound. this is a great pedal.

  • from chicago, il March 28, 2012Music Background:
    guitarist

    Versatile

    Whats not to like? its well constructed...and you can dial in precision control of volume fades. Great product.

  • from Simsbury, CT USA December 14, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist / Boutique Effects Fan

    Boss FV-500H Volume/Expression Pedal

    Robust, High Quality, Outstanding Performance.

    Used together with the TC Electronic G-System as volume and wah expression pedals; will be later used as modulation and whammy expression pedals as G-System grows with me.

    Do the right thing by choosing a high-quality expression pedal that will last the lifetime of your other multi-effects device: the Boss FV-500H is the correct expression pedal for the application.

  • from Motown November 2, 2011Music Background:
    Occasional gigger

    Works great as an expression pedal.

    Very sturdy. Works like a charm as an expression pedal. Didn't try it as a standard volume.

  • from Boise, ID October 28, 2011Music Background:
    Ex-professional musician - now just for fun.

    Your basic workhorse.

    Out of the many choices, I picked the Boss for a volume pedal because I trust the brand. As with other foot-operated devices made by Roland/Boss, this one lives up to the standard of being exceptionally robust and well crafted. I have not tried using the expression pedal output yet, but as a volume pedal it's been the bee's knees.

  • from Los Angeles, CA April 5, 2017

    Built Like a Tank

    This pedal looks to be almost indestructible and works as it should. Only drawback is that it's not completely linear. There is a bit of a "cliff" when moving through pedal travel, where volume jumps or drops precipitously. Would be nice if it were smooth all the way through.

  • from Westfield, Massachusetts March 22, 2016

    Review Boss FV-500H Volume Pedal - High Impedance

    The pedal does what it's supposed to do and is built like a tank. The weight of the pedal keeps it where you put it so it doesn't move around on you. The input jack on the front of the pedal works better with a straight rather than an angled cord due to the design of the body of the pedal. If using an angled cord be sure it's pointing up or it can work it can work it's way out of the jack and interrupt the connection. Minor design flaw when daisy chaining effects. Great pedal.

  • from Boston, MA November 30, 2012Music Background:
    Bass Player

    Great Pedal

    Great Pedal super solid and controls the volume great.

    The volume knob on my bass works fine in between songs but this pedal makes it much easier (at least for me) to control my volume while actually playing.

    This pedal is GIGANTIC so make sure you have enough room on your pedal board. On the plus side, I find that the size makes it easier to get volumes in between max or min.

  • from Detroit, MI USA May 22, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great pedal... overall

    I will only use this pedal, it's a tank (for the most part). Well constructed... externally. Internally, not so much. Why? Why the half-star? Because I went through 2 of these pedals in about a year and a half. Why again you ask? There is a screw in the hinge bar that keeps the pedal weighted enough to be disengaged. It tends to break in half and renders the pedal useless. $100 a year is a bit expensive to be sure. You get what you pay for and overall, it's a fantastically phenomenal pedal, one that I will ONLY use... if Boss were to fix this problem and make it better.

  • from Caribbean November 30, 2011Music Background:
    Active musician since 1985

    Great pedal built like a tank.

    This is a great pedal and will recommend it if you use a pedalboard and a tube amp.

    Pros:
    It's built like a tank and don't need any battery.
    Can be used like an expression pedal.
    You can assign the minimum and max volume levels.
    It has a tuner output.
    Smooth pedal action.

    Cons:
    Even when fully depressed (to minimum volume) you can hear a very minimal amount of your guitar signal, althought I primarily use this pedal for live performances than recordings, so it doesn't bother me at all.

    Up to now I had always used my guitar volume knob, but this pedal has made my life much easier. Just make sure you put it at the end of your guitar effect's chain but just in front of the delay so you don't affect the last repetitions of the delay signal.

  • from San Diego July 23, 2015Music Background:
    10 plus years guitar, lap steel

    Boss volume pedal

    Solid volume pedal. Does not seem to add any noise to the signal chain. Smooth swells. I use it with a 6 string lap steel, and I'm happy with it.

  • from Ocala,Fl USA March 3, 2015Music Background:
    PRO MUSICIAN

    FV-500H VOLUME PEDAL

    LOVE MY PEDAL. NICE ACTION, LOOKS GREAT AND IS VERSITLE

  • from Lima - Peru September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Session Musician (Live and Studio performer)

    Nice Pedal

    Very natural swell with this guy... I'm still wondering the diference with the one with Vertex Mod, just saying....

    Really recommend this one, fair price good quality.

  • from Baltimore MD. June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Great.

    Good piece of hardware has adjustable volume control, and very nice unit

  • from Thousand Oaks, CA August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Educator

    Boss FV-500H

    This pedal is everything advertised - heavy duty - great for touring, accurate, feels great on the foot and has incredible response! It's a no brainer if you need a volume pedal.

  • from AL April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Works just fine

    I'm using this as an expression pedal for the electro-harmonix q-balls envelope filter. It works perfectly. I also like that I can control the frequency sweep using the "min volume" knob. The travel is a little farther than the typical wah pedal, but it's easy enough to get used to. Works great as a volume pedal as well and has a silent tuner out option.

  • from New York City May 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Solid as a rock, but bulky and heavy

    Solid pedal, for sure. Passive, minimum volume and can handle being stepped on over and over. As said earlier, it is built like a tank. But tanks are very heavy and so is this pedal. Also, it's huge. Also, you can't use right angle jacks because the inputs are inset--a design flaw imo. For dragging out night after night for gigs it is heavy--if you're on the road and you have a road crew then what's to worry about? But for us average, work-a-day musicians it's a pain the a** to drag around.

  • from Billings, MT October 22, 2006Music Background:
    Active Musician & Recording Engineer

    Nice Volume / Expression Pedal

    I bought the Boss FV-500H as an expression pedal to work with my Boss PS-5 Super Shifter, as the aluminum casing appeared to be much more durable than the Roland EV-5. The addition of the volume control feature also prompted me to choose this product. On the negative side, this pedal is quite large and bulky (11" x 4"), making it unwelcome in certain pedal boards. Additionally, the moving parts of this unit are largely constructed of plastic, making it more prone to damage than its appearance would suggest. Having a cast-aluminum housing means nothing if the most important parts of the unit are plastic! If I were to redo my order, I would choose the Alesis F2 volume / expression pedal over this Boss product.

  • from Colorado June 8, 2015

    Built like a tank, but not a great feel

    I bought this to replace an Ernie Ball Volume that I was having reliability problems with (string/spring kept slipping off). The Boss is built like a tank, and doesn't seem to color the sound. But the feel/responsiveness leaves a lot to be desired. There is a very small section of the range where you can hear a volume change. If you're looking for something with a smooth taper, to do volume swells for example, look elsewhere. I went back to the Ernie Ball. I'll keep the Boss on hand as a spare.

Questions about the Boss FV-500Hl Foot Volume Pedal - High Impedance?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway