0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Boss FS-6 Dual Foot Switch Reviews

4.0 stars based on 44 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss FS-6 Dual Foot Switch?

Questions about the Boss FS-6 Dual Foot Switch?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    I love the fact that Boss makes products like this. The FS-6 can be used with multi-FX processors, drum machines, or amps. Another heavy-duty product from Boss that you can use for multiple applications.

  • Rich
    from May 13, 2017Music Background:
    A lot !

    BOSS FS-DUAL FOOT SWITCH

    Great pedal! I like the fact the pedal has a slot on the side so you can connect more FS type foot switches together !

  • Bob
    from PC Fl. September 5, 2016

    Boss FS-6

    Just the thing I needed to use with my Boss DR-770 drum machine. Also useful for controlling other Boss/Roland equipment I have. Sweetwater always seem to have what I need and at competitive prices!

  • flavio l cianflone
    from May 4, 2016Music Background:
    PROFESSIONAL MUSICIAN

    FS-6 DUAL FOOT SWITCH PEDAL

    EXCELLENT PEDAL FOR THE DR-3 DRUM MACHINE, EASY TO SWITCH VERSES AND FILLS

  • Raymond Arthur
    from Verde Valley, Arizona December 1, 2014Music Background:
    preacher's son, rebel, piano player

    Boss again

    Well engineered, ruggedly built, performs as described. The Roland/Boss folks deserve their sterling reputation. Count me in.

  • Customer
    from September 5, 2013

    The FS-6 footswitch is Awesome!

    Excellent Product. It has allowed me to use my Boss RC-30 in a better way!!. I can do more things on a live setting because I don't have to be n=bending down to make changes on the RC-3..... The FS-6 is a must have for anyone using a Looper pedal.

  • davi dochal
    from amsterdam, ny (USA) June 28, 2013Music Background:
    semi -pro perfomer

    A life saver!

    Added to the Roland Cube amps; this pedal makes guitar timbre easy to choose.

  • Anton Shakhov
    from November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    More than you ask for

    A tank of a pedal with it's metal case, paint looks like scratch-proof. Everything is in there:
    -- Single stereo or dual mono
    -- Normal off or normal on operation
    -- Latch mode
    -- Switch state leds
    -- Power status led
    I don't think battery is an issue, since a fresh battery will last long enough for any performance

  • John Powers
    from Hendersonville, NC September 13, 2012

    Awesome Pedal!!!

    This pedal works perfectly with my Roland Cube 80XL. I have three chained together to cover all the function my amp offers. With a stomp of my foot I can switch functions easily. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • Philly Guy
    from Philadelphia, PA August 10, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Must Have

    First, this switch is built extremely solid. Options for polarity and pulse/on/off make is versatile. Second, using this for switchable features on your gear ( I own several Roland amps) opens up new areas of functionality and creativity when playing. This is a must have (but often overlooked).

  • jonathan paul haggerty
    from United States June 18, 2012Music Background:
    Lead Guitarist

    Great with a GT-10

    I personally used this to expand off of my Boss GT-10 floor processor. In manual mode i used to have eight pedals to in one. now i have ten. Great reliability and tour reliable. Check em out.

  • Paul Pugh
    from Olympia Washington February 16, 2016Music Background:
    40 years of guitar playing, bit session work, now putting pieces together for a home recording space

    Boss FS-6 Dual Foot Switch Pedal

    I'm very happy with the FS-6, I'm using it with my Alesis SR-18 drum machine.
    This pedal allows for control of the starting and stopping, as well as control of some of the dynamics of the SR-18. I'm thinking of purchasing another to control other gear that I have. The draw backs are, that it is battery powered, and as far as I've learned does not allow me to scroll through the presets.(with my foot)
    Aside from that, it is overall worth the investment.
    I'm relatively new to making purchases from Sweetwater, but I absolutely will be making more.
    Much thanks to David Hess for his support!

  • Customer
    from September 7, 2015

    Boss FS-6 Dual Foot

    Great addition to my music presentation. I should have purchased it years ago. Only thing is I wish had
    a way to plug it in--- but the 9 Vt. battery does last a while if you remember to unplug the connection chord.

  • Andrew
    from Vancouver, WA USA February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist guitarist

    Does exactly what it's supposed to

    Built sturdy, easy to use, works great and does exactly what it's supposed to do.

  • Customer
    from Il March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Boss FS-6

    Does just what it is supposed to, no added noise or interference. looks to be built solidly.

  • Tom
    from west Michigan February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Studio musician

    Great Versatility

    I use this with my Boss RC-30 looper and with my Roland Cube COSM. Works great with both. Built tougher than a pig's nose and it can even take the unintended abuse you can expect on-stage. It has given me the freedom to learn my RC 30s functionalities without having to be kneeling down. It's a time-saver fer sher !

  • T. Edmonson
    from Suisun City, CA November 19, 2013Music Background:
    guitar player

    Good, but one little problem...

    Works great, but why couldn't they find a way to work off of passive power. As the other reviews indicate, the battery issue is a problem.

  • Pete Pravettoni
    from Lewisville, Tx. October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer

    Boss FS-6

    This product ROCKS! I use it to advance my metronome forward and back in church leading worship. It makes it so much easier than having to look and spin the dial on the unit.

    The only problem is if you leave the patch cable plugged in the light stays on which will drain the battery so you just have to remember to unplug that when you are done!

  • Henry R
    from Alameda, CA USA March 31, 2013

    Using for Alesis SR18 drum machine

    Connected to my drum machine and it works perfectly. Really useful when I am playing one of the other instruments. Using it for Stop/Start and A/B/Fill.

  • rokspodcast
    from North Carolina March 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, studio musician, podcast producer

    Boss FS-6 , hands free switching at its best

    A great value on a well built footswitch that just plain works great! I got this to use as a channel switch /looper function on my Roland Cube 80XL and it does the job with ease. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a solid footswitch. Thanks Sweetwater for another great product.

  • Chuck
    from Mass December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Serious weekend warrior

    An Essential For Multi- Keyboard Rigs

    A pair of "universal pedals" that connect to everything and anything you might own. I use mine to control a Nord Electro 3, which needs both piano sustain control -- as well as Leslie spin.

    The unit it solid, it doesn't slide around during a gig (even on a shiny floor) and does exactly what I expect it to.

    The only reason I dinged it a half-star is that I now have to remember to bring a spare 9v battery to each and every gig.

  • Rob
    from United States September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Home Recordist, Singer/Songwriter

    Great Pedal

    I use this pedal to operate the built-in looper on my Roland AC-33. It runs on batteries, so I can take it where ever my AC-33 can go. Wish it had some sort of indication of battery life on an LED.

    I was impressed with the build quality, and looking forward to using it with my other foot switch operable gear!

  • James Hearn
    from Port Charlotte, FL March 19, 2012Music Background:
    College degree in music

    Good pedal

    Excellent compliment to TR 880.

  • Bart Gilliland
    from Saint Louis, mo USA March 8, 2012Music Background:
    Professional guitarist

    Excellent little switch

    Pretty simple little pedal. I bought it soley for use with my Boss rc3 loop station, it is definitely a "must have" for all rc3 users! Especially if performing live. It does take a battery, but I have yet to change it as the draw seems pretty low. (Wish it didnt need one at all though). Very sturdy build and is small enough to fit on custom pedalboards.

  • Big Johnt
    from Amite, LA February 9, 2012Music Background:
    part time musician

    All New Gear.......

    Great service, prompt delivery, & clear view and description of the product(s)! I will Highly recommend!

  • LARRY WILL
    from UPSTATE N.Y. April 8, 2017Music Background:
    GUITAR PLAYER/PERFORMER

    FS-6 DUAL FOOTSWITCH

    SEEMS TO BE A GOOD PEDAL .. IT'S MORE CONVENIENT TO USE THIS TO SHUFFLE THROUGH PRESETS THAN USING MY BOSS ACOUSTIC SINGER TO DO SO
    I HAVE NOT YET USED THE LOOPER OPTION ON THE BOSS PEDAL SO THUS FAR
    I HAVEN'T USED IT FOR ANYTHING ELSE. I WISH THERE WAS A WAY TO SELECT A PRESET WITHOUT HAVING TO STEP ON TO STOMPS TO GET BACK OUT OF THE MEMORY MODE I WONDER IF THIS FOOTSWITCH CAN BE USED AS A STRAIGHT UP A- B SWITCH AND WHAT OTHER USES IT MIGHT BE GOOD FOR THE LITERATURE WASN'T VERY HELPFUL IN THAT WAY...

  • Dave Tarvin
    from OH March 20, 2017

    Boss FS-6 Foot Switch

    Needs a power connect. Great pedal overall.

  • John Montano
    from Albuquerque, NM April 27, 2016

    Clean, cleaner cleanest

    I wanted a clean, transparent solid state amp that took pedals like a champ – a tone the isn’t colored by the amp properties and that is exactly what I have with this amp. The stereo chorus and vibrato are rich and lush and fill a room with ambient tones. The distortion and reverb are more than adequate. I haven’t tried the effects loop nor stereo inputs. But what this beast does best is clean! Anyone looking for a clean solid state amp without any modeling or built in effects, just clean like a fresh snow – this is the amp. Get yours ordered, get on the waiting list - these do not last long in store or online, selling out just a quick as they arrive.

    Spencer Kennedy is my sales engineer and he always does an excellent job as does Sweetwater. Shipping is fast and free. How often do you get shipping that is fast AND free? Three days from Indiana to New Mexico and there was snowstorm in the Midwest! Can’t beat that.

    Reason why this is NOT a 5-star rating:

    I read reviews that mentioned a “hum” or “hiss”. And yes it does have a notable “hiss”. Not overbearing to the point the amp is useless – and when playing I don’t notice it. My amp is plugged into a power conditioner, my Strat is shielded and the pickups grounded – this reduced the volume of the “hiss” but did not eliminate it. I can live with it.

    It is expensive for what it is. Roland and Boss I feel are overpriced on all their products – but they have a winner here and can get away with it – shoot, I paid $599 for it too and keeping it. Ha hah.

    Footswitch or amp cover not included – must pay extra $$$ and being Roland/Boss – it’s not going to be cheap. For $599, they could have at least included a cover or one footswitch but the again - they have a winner here and can get away with it – shoot, I paid $599 for it too and keeping it. Ha hah.

  • Pat Wagonfield
    from Hamilton, OH February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Musician for 45 years

    Boss FS-6

    Bought this pedal to use on a Leslie cabinet I built. The pedal had to control switching the Leslie from corral to chorus or even off. The staff at Sweetwater suggested the Boss FS-6 and it worked perfect.

  • Andrew
    from Columbus, OH June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Keyboardist: Pop/Rock, Live and Recording Engineer.

    Does what it is supposed to, dangerous battery life for distracted people (like me)

    This is pretty simple and does exactly what it is supposed to do. Functions perfectly. The only annoying thing for me is that whenever a cable is plugged into it, it is turned on and drawing battery power. For someone who is easily distracted like myself, you may go through batteries pretty quickly. Would have been really nice if they just put a power switch on it instead of letting the cables act as such. If you are a very focused individual this will not be a problem for you.

  • Rich D.
    from USA April 30, 2014Music Background:
    keyboards almost all my life.

    Works Great! Worth every penny....but

    1. Just wish it had an on-off switch. It powers on by plugging in a switching plug. Well you work on a band job for 4 hours and the battery starts wearing down. You take breaks, you shut it off or if you are in a studio you may tend to leave it just as is and the battery will be dead overnight! I put a power switch on mine. Much better then removing all the plugs to shut down. Novel idea from Boss but not practical.
    2. Yamaha keyboards are not happy with this. I had to buy an extra one. As the grounds from both A-B interact with the Yamaha MOXF6 causing the effects not to work correctly.

  • Mitchell Borg
    from Fremont, CA June 15, 2013Music Background:
    Player and Recorder of Music

    Works with Avid Eleven

    I was looking for a footswitch that would allow me to move through the different banks on my Avid Eleven, the Boss FS-6 works fine. Footswitch B moves you progressively from A1 rig up through your rigs and Footswitch A moves you progressively down through your rigs returning to A1. Mode needs to be in Momentary, polarity doesn't seem to matter. Use one Balanced Cable plugged into the A & B receptacle of the footswitch the other end into the Avid Eleven Footswitch receptacle. Don't forget to program your Avid Eleven for Footswitch and your on your way. Easy inexpensive way to control your rack if your don't have the cash for the high priced footswitching systems.

  • Chris Laird
    from Marion, OH February 18, 2013Music Background:
    Long time guitar player

    Very handy.

    I bought this mainly to use with my Boss RC-3 loop station pedal, which can be a little tricky to operate by itself. Anyone who owns an RC-3 knows exactly what I'm talking about. I know that there's multiple other uses for the FS-6 pedal, such as controlling amp effects and keyboard controls, although I haven't attempted anything like that, yet. The fact that both pedals are switchable from momentary to latching (one or both at the same time) makes it very versatile. For what it actually does, it's a little pricey. There are cheaper alternatives, but I really wanted the Boss name to go with my looper and it's a quality product. It only runs on a 9V battery but that's a plus for me because I already have enough stuff plugged in. The battery life has been very good so far. If you're looking for something to simplify your amp or effects set-up, get one of these!!

  • John Ellard, Sr.
    from Houston, TX October 5, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Another great Roland product!

    It's small enough I carry it in my guitar's gig bag. It's lightweight, and it just flat out works! You WILL NEED a 9-volt battery to use this pedal. Unplug it when not using it to save the battery.

    I haven't owned it long enough to give it a 5.0 rating, but I expect it to last years.

    These pedals have a tongue and groove on the sides so that they can be hooked together on stage or in the studio. Roland obviously put a lot of thought into these pedals. Now all I need are 2 more to have instant access to all of my Roland Cube's features.

    This was my 1st purchase from Sweetwater and I am very happy with the service all the way through. Ordering was smooth and the rep spent time with me, even though my purchase was small. They make you feel like you're in a small local music store talking with them face-to-face. Thanks, Jon Krempel for shipping it out priority and getting it to me right away!! That was awesome.

    I chose Sweetwater because of all the great reviews I have read on them, the competitive price, and the FREE extended 2-year warranty Sweetwater puts on equipment (no one else gives you that kind of service). And they tell me that they have their own Service Dept.--so no waiting while stuff is shipped off somewhere for weeks at a time--if, forbid, repairs are needed.

    One final point about Sweetwater that really got my attention over the years. They have pictures of the ACTUAL guitar you're buying, right down to the Serial No. I've never bought a guitar online, but I feel confident to take that leap of faith with Sweetwater.

  • Porkforker
    from Portland, OR USA August 14, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer

    Perfect for Metronome

    This pedal is B.A. for using it with the DB90 metronome. I'm a drummer who just finished designing and finally building my dream monitor setup inside a road case. This pedal is the live controls for the whole rig and it works fantastically. Literally the ONLY thing I dislike is the pedal is battery operated only. There is simply no option to leave it plugged in during a set to direct power. So I always have to make sure the 9V are new. Otherwise it's the perfect pedal for my setup

  • Deltason
    from Mississippi January 26, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Professional

    Good Pedal, Good Battery Drainer Also

    Would have give it better rating but since I've had mine for months now I mostly replace expensive batteries. Batteries get costly in the music business! No place for a power plug and must unplug to save batteries. Would be a pain if I had to unplug all my pedals when finished playing.
    It works great with a Boss Looper and drum machine. I'll invent my own power plug for it. Also kinda pricey.

  • Customer
    from July 2, 2015

    Switching works great but...

    The switching capability works great on this device. We use it for a metronome's stop/start and advance capability. But the thing does not have an on/off switch so you have to unplug it each time or the battery is dead when you come to it back days later. I guess if you are prepared or accustomed to totally breaking down your gear each time this may be perfect for you.

  • Sharon
    from Brooklyn, N.Y. September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Not Quite Intermediate Guitarist

    Boss FS-6 Pedal

    I use this pedal with my eBand JS-10. Works well, can be configured to control different settings on the eBand. My only problem is that is pedal doesn't have an on/off switch. Plugging it in will turn the pedal on. So if you forget to unplug at the end of practice, you'll kill the battery. It does have a power light, so that helps to remind you that it's plugged in. Otherwise, it's a great pedal.

  • Dave
    from Knoxville January 2, 2016Music Background:
    Home Hobbist

    Boss FR-6 good, but . . .

    I agree with other reviewers about the construction and functionality of the switch, however, I should have read the manual/instructions, because that is the only place that references the requirement of a 9v battery. I really dislike having to use batteries as opposed to an AC adapter, and the fact that the switch has to be disconnected after each use (to preserve the battery life) is a pain in the butt.
    Obviously, I would rate this switch higher if it was AC powered vs a battery.

  • Ray Martin
    from Melbourne, FL, USA August 13, 2011Music Background:
    Soft Rock/Country performer

    Boss FS-6 Footswitch

    The FS-6 is a good footswitch and functions as advertised. It is well constructed and should withstand road abuse. On the negative side, at least for me, is the fact that it is powered by a AA battery. An improvement would be an optional AC power source or a low battery warning light. It is very disappointing to find out the battery in the footswitch has gone bad just after you installed your last AA in another device. Even worse if you are at a gig when this happens.

  • Dave Moore
    from Planet Earth July 28, 2011Music Background:
    Performing musician, recording veteran

    Batteries required!

    This is a good quality footswitch. Each switch is individually selectable for latching or momentary function. However, a 9v battery is required for the switches to function. Battery life is good, but a dead battery can kill a show, so this switch is not right for me.

  • Customer
    from illinois June 8, 2014Music Background:
    composer/producer

    Battery only Operation

    This is a nice foot switch but really hard to justify a good rating since it only operates on 9 volt batteries.

    I really hated investing in more stuff that won't connect to a power supply.

  • Customer
    from Frankfort, KY March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Needs Battery

    I use it with a GT-10 and it is a solid pedal. I have owned it for about 3 years and it has worked flawlessly. My only issue is that it requires a battery. There is a long battery life, but if forget to unplug the cable it drains the battery.

    If it didn't require a battery this would be a 5 star review!

  • Dave Berry
    from Oro Valley, AZ November 12, 2016

    Roland FS 6

    Practically bullet proof pedal! However, just like everybody else is saying HORRIBLE HORRIBLE design with regard to 9 volt battery with no on off or AC tranny! I am using two of these pedals with my Roland drums and I cuss em out every day when it comes time to pop 4 plugs out so the battery doesn't die!

  • Finkilium
    from NY, NY January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Boss FS-6

    Outside of the number system imposed by this web site, the switch is just OK. I thought 3.0 was average. My biggest and only problem with the switch is that there is now external 9v power jack. Therefore you must remove the cable to disengage the unit, otherwise it will drain the battery. Otherwise, this unit is great, quiet, rugged, etc. But to me the missing DC jack is a show stopper so I sold it.

Questions about the Boss FS-6 Dual Foot Switch?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway