0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Boss FRV-1 63 Fender Reverb Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
  • from West Covina, CA February 10, 2017Music Background:
    Alternative/ Hard Rock

    Amazing!

    Sound like the real thing. Best reverb pedal I've ever used.

  • from December 28, 2016

    Fender Reverb

    Added this to my Fender Super Sonic 60 head and it makes the sound. Best reverb pedal on the market.

  • from Chicago November 24, 2016

    Nice splish

    This is my second reverb pedal in 6 months. I had a Hall of Fame, and although it is way more versatile, clean and delightful in many ways, I just wanted a credible splish of a reverb tank. I find this pedal to be just that. I can't say that it's just like playing the real thing in a real amp, but I don't need it to be. For my practice setup where using a real amp at volume isn't an option, it works very well.

  • from IN October 12, 2016

    Great Vintage Sound

    This is a great pedal, but may be one that gets very mixed reviews. If you, like me, grew up hearing and using a tube driven spring reverb tank such as the old Fender reverb tank then this is as close to that sound as you can get without spending the time and money to locate one of those vintage tanks. This gives a very good simulation of that sound. Exactly what I was looking for.

    If, on the other hand, are used to more modern and natural sounding reverb sound then this may not be the reverb for you.

    I am really happy with this pedal and spent the whole day that it arrived awash in the reverb sound I had in the late 50's and early 60's. Boss (and Fender) did a great job with this.

  • from January 8, 2016

    NAILED IT!

    The Boss FRV-1 is and unbelievably faithful spring reverb unit. It does exactly what one needs a spring reverb to do. And we've all heard a spring reverb - it's one of the most ubiquitous effects in electric guitar history. And hands down one of the coolest.

    This pedal simply nails it! It NAILS it! It's full and faithful to your tone, and incredibly musical. Out of the box, this pedal was easy to dial in and sounds great! It's and so simple to use that you quickly get down to the business of digging in with your playing. And it's also an effect that spans a lot of genres: Surf, Motown, Blues, Psychedelic, Country, Classic Rock. Take your pick of genres, folks...Heck, it's even got shoegaze in there, if you need it to.

    It's *stupid* cool.

    My gigging amp has an outstanding spring reverb on it already, albeit not with the tweak-ability of this thing, so this pedal was just for me to have to run with my practice amp that doesn't have any reverb. But the FRV-1 is so good, I'm probably gonna run it in may main rig anyway because of the additional spring 'verb sounds you can dial in! It's wicked fun!

    I love it. Boss, between this FRV-1 reverb and the RE-201 Space Echo, you've really brought back some amazing effects! I couldn't be more pleased...Thank you!

    And thank you to Robby Resnick, my Sweeetwater sales engineer. You rock, bro!

  • from La Mesa, CA August 31, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar and bass since 1964

    FRV-1

    I needed a reverb pedal for my 1973 Marshall 50 watt Model 1987. I decided to try this pedal first and see if it was up to the task. I have been surprised how good this pedal sounds. It nails the sound of the original spring reverbs and more. I have several amps (including a Fender) that have real spring reverbs and this pedal sounds just as good. I would recommend it very highly.

  • from albuquerque,nm June 24, 2014Music Background:
    beginner guitarist

    great pedal

    ez to use, great sound!

  • from United States March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Bluesman

    Reverbmania

    I am mainly a harmonica player and my amp, a '59 Fender Bassman has no reverb tank in it. I had been using the Holy Grail by Electro Harmonix and it was of poor durability. I replaced it with the Boss RV-3 and that was okay (a bit complicated in controls) and one minor change of the knob made major changes in the sound. The Boss FRV-1 is kiss simple and has the Boss Durability one is to expect, and the sound is just perfect for the tiny splash of reverb I am looking for and sounds super close to a real Spring and Tube reverb unit!

  • from Houston, TX January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Country Artist

    Wow!!!

    I just got this pedal in yesterday, along with a TS-9 tube screamer, an MXR super comp, and a EH Neo Clone. This pedal made my Tele almost sound like a pedal steel guitar, when I cranked it up and played some country riffs. I just re- did my whole rig, and so far this my favorite pedal, EVER!!

  • from Pflugerville, TX May 3, 2013Music Background:
    working musician

    exceeds expectations

    I purchased the FRV-1 as a reverb solution for an Egnater Tweaker 40 amp which does not have onboard reverb. While I have a reverb effect in my current pedalboard (boss me-50), none of the presets were to my liking. While a stand alone '63 reissue fender tube reverb unit was out of reach financially, I was convinced there had to be a solution. I remembered seeing a youtube demo clip of the amp when I was researching amps that appeared to have this unit running through the effects loop. I began researching this pedal in earnest and found the majority of reviews favorable. I purchased the pedal and was thrilled that it exceeded expectations. It took about 40 seconds to dial in the sound I was after and it really rounded out the sound of the amp nicely- especially the 'AC' setting on the Egnater. Is it identical to the product it models? No. Does it do a great job of emanating the characteristics of a Fender reverb sound? Absolutely. It captures the attack and resonance of the spring (virtual though it may be) as good if not better than anything else I have tried. I have used Boss pedals since their introduction in the '70s and have never had a Boss pedal fail - or at least never had one fail without my help. Like all things musical, this is subjective and I am the first to admit I am narrow minded and opinionated, but this pedal was definitely the correct choice for my rig and application.

  • from North Liberty, IN USA July 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Pedal

    Always have been a Boss fan. This pedal gives my tone the boost it needs.

  • from Kansas City June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro guitar player

    BOSS FRV-1

    amazing a pedal can sound like the old Fender Tube reverb I played through in the 60's

  • from Pasadena Maryland January 3, 2012Music Background:
    80's Hair Band, write & record at home now.

    Great stomp box!

    I got this to use with an old Plush amp with a Redcoat 10" Ramrod speaker, that did not have reverb. I was amazed at the spring reverb sound. I also have a Fender Twin Reverb. I wish the Twin Reverb had the Mix knob that the pedal has. In an A B test of the box VS the Twin Reverb it is very very close reproduction. & the mix knob lets me get effects I can;t get with the Twin. I also use it with a Marshall Hazs 40. It has some nice reverb in it, but I like to set the box over the top and the amp reverb mid way. It's great for kicking in that Eddie over the top reverb for dive bombs and then back to the mid level reverb on the Haze. If anything happened to this pedal I would buy another the next day. This is my favorite Boss pedal, I have 5 other Boss pedals now. Keep up the great work. Also, shipped fast, packed up tight, works great!

  • from Chicago, USA February 9, 2010Music Background:
    Professional guitarist

    Leave your vintage tank at home

    I bought the FRV-1 so that my original '63 Fender reverb tank wouldn't get damaged or worse, stolen when I am on the road. Wow! This pedal sounds so good, and so close to my tank that I only use my tank for recording; the rest of the time, I am using the FRV-1. Exceeded my expectations - Great job, BOSS!

  • from Ponta Grossa, PR BRAZIL December 23, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Cowabunga!

    Woooww!!!
    This pedal sounds so good!
    Sweet sounding reverb at lower setings, Drippy surf splashy tone with increased Dweel knob! The tone knob is algo very usefull to shape your sound from a smooth jazzy reverb to a monster wet surf tone!

  • from Detroit, MI November 6, 2009Music Background:
    Guitar Teacher

    Boss' New Master-Piece

    Ordered this pedal from here, got it earlier today. This pedal certainly does not dissapoint, does great by itself and interacts well with other pedals on the board. You can get very vintage reverb sounds from this pedal. You can really get the great 60's American tones, they're easy to dial in. If you turn the Dwell knob more to like 3'clock ish the pedal starts to develop a very realistic tube-like distortion that sounds great - not too hard but very warm and tube sounding. Sweetwater had this in stock when no-one else did and for that I am very thankful.

  • from Michigan June 1, 2015

    Pretty Good

    I like it for the most part. It's easy to use and dial in a pretty decent sound.

  • from Wilmington, NC September 18, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Performance Musician

    '63 Fender Reverb Pedal

    The pedal sounds pretty good. It's 100% worth the money. It really gives you a professional reverb sound.

  • from United States August 21, 2012Music Background:
    semi professional guitarist

    almost as good as a twin reverb.

    I have a marshall 100 watt tube amp and a Fender Princeton tube amp. I bought this effect because it is cheaper than buying a twin reverb amp. This pedal sounds great and has added to my over add sound.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN January 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I love this pedal!

    I'm big on the surf sound but didn't really have the space / setup for a Fender Reverb unit, this pedal really solved the problem. It sounds great and really nails that beach sound!

  • from Minneapolis November 26, 2011Music Background:
    Live player and Studio Guitarist

    It's as Close as You Can Get!

    I have been traveling with the actual Fender tube tank for many years. The tank just doesn't hold up on th road - I was constantly repairing connections and remounting the springs.
    I have tried other pedals, none came close to the tank.
    The FRV-1 is the REAL thing!! It sounds so good my band buddies can't tell the difference on stage.
    This box is GREAT!!

  • from Lexington, KY September 25, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I am very happy with my FRV-1

    This is a great little reverb pedal. I think the secret is having the three controls (Mixer, tone, and dwell) just like the vintage outboard reverb units. I use it into a silverface Vibro Champ. I find it easy to dial in a sound that I like, and then forget about the whole business of knob-twiddling and get lost in the joy of making music. And that's what a good piece of gear is all about IMO.

  • from Fort Wayne June 15, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Very close to the real deal

    I own a silverface twin reverb which has a wonderful rich and sparkly reverb sound. Once you hear a really nice fender spring reverb (and not every fender these days has "fender" sounding reverb) nothing else sounds as good. The problem is many amps, even nice tube amps, do not come with reverb. Often when they do, it sounds weak and flaccid, and lacks the sparkle that makes a good sounding tube reverb so essential.

    I am not a big fan of modeling, it usually sounds like crap. So many things happen in a real tube situation that just cannot be reproduced digitally. This pedal, however, does a very nice job of adding the depth and richness to your tone that only reverb can provide. Surprise!

    Does it sound as good as a really good Fender long spring reverb tank? No. It lacks some of the depth, richness, and sparkle. I would put it about 60-70% of a really good tube driven spring reverb. Now don't take that the wrong way. To my estimation, 70% of the way there from a pedal is an amazing accomplishment.

    Let me also qualify this statement by saying that I am talking about 70% of a really top notch reverb. It sounds every bit as good as a decent (but not great) tube driven spring reverb, and much better than a substandard reverb unit (ie the reverb in the new epiphone valve jr. hotrod head. yuck).

    This pedal gives you a very clean, usable reverb sound. It does not strip your tone to any appreciable degree, and the reverb provides a good range from light to very drippy. the tone nob does not do a whole lot, you will get a little (and I mean little) brighter tone if you crank it up, and turning it down will take out the sharpness without totally muddying up your signal. I find this limited tone range typical of Boss pedals that I have tried.

    Overall this is a very nice, useable pedal. The sound is much, much better than one would expect from pedal, and really does offer a decent tube reverb sound. It is not going to make any amp sound like a top notch super or twin reverb, but it is perfect for adding depth to low wattage tube amps or amps larger amps which lack a good reverb tank. I have a Crate palomino which sounds great, but the reverb tank only goes so far. The pedal gives me a much deeper, stronger reverb effect, and does not sound like a corny pedal in comparison to the real tube reverb tank that is in the amp. Awesome.

  • from Temecula Ca. November 17, 2009Music Background:
    Hobby

    Boss Really? Cant be good.

    Great reverb, very transparent off and on leaving your original tone intact. Very drippy spring sound at medium settings and good sounding reverb at lower settings. As close as I think you can get to the real thing.

  • from Indianapolis, IN August 17, 2009Music Background:
    Weekender

    Awesome - '63 Fender Reverb

    Got this hooked it up at home. Thought it sounded really good, then I put it in my road rig. I use a Fender Twin amp, and have turned its reverb off completely and just use this. Easy to tweak the mix and tone to give color. Cool thing is, when I turn the amp on from standby, there is that little sound that a tube-driven spring reverb makes (I have this pedal hooked in the amp's pre-amp). Has a great sound and vibe. Still feeling my way through it, but a little of the dwell does A LOT! I've always liked my Twin's reverb, but THIS is the way it was supposed to sound.

  • from Ft Wayne, In February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Electric Banjo, Keys & Recording

    True sound of the old spring reverb without effects when you bump the amp.

    I have a 96lb tube amp with the true spring reverb. I purchased a ART project series tube MP Au/Di amp for acoustic and recording applications. The tube amp had a nice warm sound but was missing the depth that I would get from the 96lb amp. Put the boss FRV-1 "63 Fender Reverb Pedal in line and now for 1/5 the weight I have a great sound. The best if you are after the spring reverb sound. Ps. don't bump the pedal though.

  • from Wayzata, MN USA December 21, 2012Music Background:
    Nearly 50 years, semi-pro, bass & guitar. Recording & live sound.

    That Surf Sound

    I have the '63 reissue Fender Tank Reverb. This FRV pedal sounds better, in my opinion, for most applications. I prefer the reissue for old-timey electric blues, it's tighter and drier. The FRV stomp has a nice clean wet sound for most any genre where you would want reverb. Your results may vary. Fair price.

  • from Santa Barbara, CA December 9, 2010

    Nice pedal

    I bought this pedal to liven up my Fender Ultra Chorus solid state amp. The effects sound pretty sweet, actually better than the small reverb tank on the amp. All in all the sound is good and it has a warm tone with adjustments and breaks up just the right amount to give it that tube feel.

  • from USA February 20, 2015

    I wanted to believe.

    I have a Fender Blues Junior III amplifier. That amp sounds absolutely incredible and one reason is because of the spring reverb built into the amp. It adds this round, full sound to the notes and decays in a very pleasing way. In a word, it's "dripping". It's one of those things where it makes the player sound great, it's very forgiving and it's difficult to make it sound nasty or harsh.

    I recently bought a second amp, a Vox AC4C1. This amp sounds absolutely incredible, albeit very different in character from the Fender. I think I am in love with that little amp. But one thing I miss from Fender when playing the Vox is that reverb. So I bought this pedal.

    Long story short, the pedal doesn't even come close. I tried turning the reverb on the Blues Junior all the way down and replacing the reverb with this pedal. Again... no comparison on that amp either. The pedal fails to capture the round, full tone of the true spring reverb. I will be searching for a better reverb pedal or maybe a legitimate spring reverb stage for my Vox amp. I don't know what Fender amps sounded like in '63, but hopefully not like this pedal.

    The pedal sounds brittle; even after messing with the "tone" knob it's incredibly treble-heavy and harsh sounding. If you pick hard, it makes this awful twangy sound, which, although it does sound like a spring, sort of sounds like... if you've ever had a legit spring reverb and accidentally kicked your amp, you'll hear the spring moving with a funny twang sound. There's a little of that in there.


    Basically, it's a quick way to suck the life out of a nice amp. If you have a solid-state amp or a cheap practice amplifier and you want to have a bit of reverb, this pedal is right for you. If you're into recording and trying to clone a spring reverb, or if you're seeking the tone you get out of your legit Fender reverb, make sure you manage your expectations.

  • from Tampa Fl January 2, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    Fender Reverb Pedal not what I expected

    Have used reverb pedals for years and was looking forward to the Fender FRV-1 giving my new amp that echo slap of days gone past- however it did not work that way.. The pedal sounds to sharp-little echo like I am used to. Would not recommend it.

Questions about the Boss FRV-1 63 Fender Reverb Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway