0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Fender Frontman 212R - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
  • from SAN DIEGO February 20, 2013

    Easy choice !

    LOUD, CLEAN AND CLEAR !!!

  • from Roseville, CA December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love this Amp

    I got this Amp for Christmas so I have only had it for a week now but i have to say that this is the best Amp i have ever played, its clear tones are so crisp and clean, you hear every little stoke on the strings you make, which makes you a better player because you hear all your mistakes as well, I read all the reviews that this Amp is loud they were not kidding its LOUD!!! but that is why I wanted it, plus its true Fender sound, I still can't believe I was able to get an Amp of this quality for the price, its a beautiful looking Amp with classic Fender logo and grill, i can play this Amp at any small and medium venue, which is what i was looking for as well. so if you wanted a great Amp with a lot of power, great tone for not a lot of money this is it, its the only Amp i will every need to have for what ever kind of music you play. If you buy this Amp you will not be disapointed, you will be blown away.

  • from fort pierce florida August 6, 2012Music Background:
    musician

    the frontman 212r

    i love my frontman 212r i play i every sunday in church. Its the best

  • from Thomson,Georgia USA. June 20, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician.

    ITS EXCELLENT

    I JUST LOVE MY FENDER FRONTMAN 212R ITS SOUND SO VERY GOOD HAS SUPERIOR VOLUME I DONT EVER HAVE TO TURN THE VOLUME NO HIGHER THAN MAYBE 2 I RECOMMEND 100% ITS AWESOME.

  • from Ontario Canada January 18, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Love The Amp!

    Im very happy with the Fender amp thankyou! i wish i had bought one sooner. Your service was very helpful. Out of anywhere i checked for the amp you guys were by far the best. Thanks again!

  • from Rochester NY December 21, 2011Music Background:
    30 years a player electronic technician

    ultimate clean sound

    in all respect I am basing this on a Fender Twin Reverb 1992 reissue
    I has same set up almost as that amp I owned a 65 Twin Reverb
    Reissue and that was loud too but it only had 85Watts not 100Watts
    Like this does. I am not a heavy metal player so could care less about overdriving the amp I am after a clean sound as possible when you play
    a Pedal Steel you want cleanest sound possible I have had many Fender amps all good mostly tube but a few others as well It is roadworthy as well I worked on these as a electronic tech I only had one bad it had a bad B+ switch and I got bit 500 volts dc smarts a little
    Have owned 10 to 12 Fender Amp very few problems as far as reverb
    tanks go I had a Fender 63 Reverb Unit souped it up for more gain
    sounded darn good through a Silverface Bassman 50 Watt amp

  • from Indidana July 27, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great amp

    This amp is the perfct amp size. I have yet to have to turn the amp higher than 1 1/2 and that is playing on stage. I use a zoom foot pedal and it sounds so amazing. The price for this amp is great. Sweetwater had this puppie sitting on my doorstep the next day.Had i been there i would have gotten it. I am very impressed.

  • from NE Indiana March 28, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The price is INSANE!!

    Very versatile amp. Cranks nice and heavy. For the price you're crazy not to buy one. Better distorted tones out of the box than my pod xt live.

  • from MOUNT PLEASANT , IOWA February 2, 2010Music Background:
    WORKING MUSICIAN

    * 2009 * 100w FENDER FRONTMAN 212R

    WOW ,I HAD READ ALOT OF REVIEWS OF OTHER AMPS AS WELL AS A LOT OF REVIEWS ON THIS AMP AND I KNEW AS SOON AS I SAW THIS AMP THAT IT WAS THE ONE FOR ME . FIRST OF ALL , THIS AMP TRULY LOOKS AS GOOD AS IT SOUNDS WITH THE SILVER GRILL CLOTH AND THE MORE TRADITIONAL FENDER LOGO , BUT WAIT TIL YOU PLUG INTO THIS BEAUTIFUL LITTLE MONSTER AND UNLEACH A 100 WATTS OF LEGENDARY FENDER TONE THROUGH THE TWO 12 INCH DRIVERS ! YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO BELIVE THAT ALL THAT TONE AND POWER ARE COMING OUT OF AN AMP THAT COSTS LESS THAN * $300.00 * I WOULD BE WILLING TO BET THAT YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER AMP THAN THIS ONE FOR THE PRICE .THIS AMP COULD EASILY SELL FOR $500.00 , AND OH YEA DID I MENTION THAT THIS AMP IS LOUD ! THIS AMP HAS THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS , IT'S SMALL ENOUGH TO USE AS A PRACTICE AMP BUT ALSO , WITH A FULL 100 WATS OF POWER AT YOUR FINGER TIPS YOU CAN EASILY PLAY ANY SMALL TO MEDIUM SIZED CLUB. ALSO IT WAS A PLEASURE TO DO BUSINESS WITH ** SWEETWATER ** THEY MADE MY PURCHASE OF THIS AMP VERY PLEASURABLE , WITH FREE SHIPPING ( I GOT MY AMP IN 3 DAYS !, PLUS IT CAN'T BE CHEAP TO SHIP SOMETHING THAT WEIGHS FIFTY POUNDS FOR FREE ,BUT THEY DO ! ) ALL IN ALL , I AM VERY HAPPY I BOUGHT THIS AMP , I PLAN ON USING IT FOR MANY YEARS TO COME ( THE NEXT VINTAGE COLLECTABLE AMP ? )IF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT BUYING A NEW AMP , BUY THIS ONE , YOU'LL BE GLAD YOU DID !

    SINCERLY,

    JEFFERY L . DOWNEY

  • from kansas city, MO July 20, 2013Music Background:
    professional club musician 30 + years

    Great for solid state

    I had one of these years ago when it was called a stage 160...mine had a 160 watt power stage and was incredibly loud ...the channels are versatile enough to use as a gigging amp or as a backup to your gazzillion dollar tube monster that you dont always want to risk at a gig, as mentioned in other reviews it takes pedals well the distortions are not boutique by any means but they are good and the more gain in combination with a good OD pedal will work as a boost...if you want to upgrade the sound of the amp put some vintage 30 celestions in it ...that will clear up those so so kind of drab OD sounds and really make this thing sing...its one of the better all around solid state amps i have used...

  • from MN, USA August 26, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Great keyboard amp

    I've been using my 212R to power my Hammond XK...great tone and the Leslie comes out clean and clear, with more than enough power. I used a 1975 Twin Reverb for 20 years, but the weight finally got to me.

  • from Cave city, KY December 28, 2011Music Background:
    church Praise Band

    Quality sound

    This is a quality, brand name amp at a very affordable price! Great sound and usable features. I'm lovin' it!

  • from RICEVILLE TN. June 17, 2011Music Background:
    HAVE ALWAYES ENJOYED PLAYING GUITAR

    THE FENDER FRONTMAN 212 R IS GREAT

    VERY PLEASED WITH SWEETWAPTER ;AND CHARLIE DAVIS WAS A PLEASURE TO WORK WITH; THANK YOU

  • from St. Louis, MO USA September 29, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Better than the Fender Deluxe Tube Amp I had and spent twice as much on

    I switched to this, because was sick of replacing the tubes in my fender deluxe that I spent around $700 on. This amp sounds just as warm as the tube. I'm an Audio Recording Engineer/Guitarist and really know my amps and how they should sound. This is great for recording in the studio, or playing on stage and is an awesome price.

  • from Platteville, WI USA August 11, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best $200 I ever spent

    I bought this used about a year ago, and haven't looked back since. The clean channel is very wide and round, thanks to the open backed cab and Fender speakers. The overdrive is smooth with a strat at the input, and much more saturated and agressive with humbuckers. I turn DRIVE to 4 and have a good classic rock tone, anything above that gets heavy. The open-back cab may be a minus for headbangers, but for blues, rock, it sounds excellent. I use a Crybaby in front, and a DD-7 Delay in the effect loop. Sounds great. The mid contour is nice, like a graphic EQ set to scoop the mids, I only wish it could be controlled via footswitch. Overall, a great ampp and a good investment. :)

  • from Woonsocket,R.I. June 4, 2007Music Background:
    Active Musician

    This Is Only $329.99?

    I've had this for over 3 months now,having had to replace my old Princeton 65(R.I.P.).This amp delivers that classic clean Fender tone in spades.I'm not a big fan of the distortion on this amp though.To me it sounds a little muddy,hence the 4.5 on the review.Maybe it's me,I don't know,but that's why I bought a Boss OS-2(Shameless Plug).I've gigged with this several times already,and let me tell you,this amp is LOUD!The most I had to set the volumne on was 2,that's it.My drummer always complains that it's too loud.Then again he's in his 50's,so maybe that old age syndrome is creeping up on him.What I'm saying is for the price,this is the best 100 watt amp out there,and it's great for Fender to put out a great product for those of us on a fixed income.

  • from Morelia, Michoacn, Mxico October 14, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician and Recording engineer

    fender

    I have been a user of fender products and is very important that this kind of amps, continue the sound and versatility of the old fender amps. congratulatiosn. Salvador

  • from usa May 26, 2011Music Background:
    old school and experienced

    REALLY UNBELIEVABLE AFTER A COUPLE OF MODS

    I have been searching for that Fender clean , undistorted, sound for years.-- The one that poured from my old pre CBS black face Pro Reverb. Had no luck till now.The FM 212 was close but still broke up on the clean channel when pushed hard. Dispite all the complaints about the fizzy, buzzy distortion, I decided to try one, after finding out that the new Mustang series is just another modeling amp voiced for the shredders. I was plesantly surprised by the sound after changing out the short spring reverb pan (they should have just left that out) with an acutronics long spring unit. My bandmates all commented during rehersal that they were impressed with the "vintage" Fender sound. Before gigging, I made one further mod -- i removed the cheesy (spelled J-u-n-k) speakers, and installed a pair of Peavey Sheffields I had removed from an old 412 cab, and now have an amp that sounds like an old Twin. The stock speakers in this thing are why the price is so attractive. They are absolute $#1T.
    Distortion is supplied on demand by a Bixonic Expandora, and this makes the FM212 a perfect gigging amp -for me. High volume cleans with single coils or humbuckers and the volume set on ten, and screaming, howling distortion when I want it using a stomp box. The Sheffields did add a little to the weight, but they sure improved the dynamics and attack. If I were Fender, I would seriously consider offering premium quality speakers as an option.

  • from Corona Ca September 2, 2010Music Background:
    semi pro

    Great amp. But beware of the spring reverb

    I have owned and gigged with this amp for 6 months now and I am very happy with the clean sound. I use effects pedals, so I can't comment on the overdrive sound. It has plenty of power also. BUT,

    Don't be fooled by the spring reverb unit. I am a surf musician as well and I was very disappointed to see that Fender used a miniature (half size) spring unit. It does not sound any thing like an older amp with spring reverb. I had an extra standard sized reverb tank and switched it out. What a difference! So shame on Fender for skimping on this.

    BTW, I have also "hot roded" the reverb for greater "spring spit" sound. But that's another topic.

  • from Caguas, Puerto Rico April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musiciand and guitar player

    Frontman 212R

    If you are just starting to play with a band, this is the amp to get. Its got that classic Fender clean sound and the Drive channel packs a punch for when you need it, I used it mostly on the More Drive channel. Its a workhorse. I played this amp for 3 straight years and it never gave me a single problem, but my rig was ready for an upgrade. Id recommend this amp to anyone from people just starting a band and need an amp to be loud enough to be hear, to even pro musicians looking for a good, reliable and economic amplifier.

  • from 61 M, Gulberg III, Pakistan. September 12, 2007Music Background:
    Playing guitar for the last 27 years as a hobbyist.

    Simplicity at its best.

    I have purchased this amp about 3 months ago. This amp is a very simple one as far as its features are concerned. It is very easy & quick in shaping your basic sounds. The best feature which really impressed me about this amp is the special designed speakers with large voice coil cones which is definitely a plus point for this amp for produceing powerful, punchy, warm and well defined overall sound. The sound dies out very evenly and smoothly from these speakers. The Clean channel is loud and clear but not that much bright & thats why I wish it would have equipped with a Presence control as well. On the other hand the overdrive channel is satisfactory and fulfills almost all sort of music style applications. Personally I liked the Drive channel more than More Drive one because the later channel is somewhat noisey but the sustain is endless, so I suggest you to use a Noise gate. The reverb is again satisfactory but I do not use it at full level and mostly keep it around midway as I do not find it that impressive above 5 because it starts to sound unnatural & metallic. I perfer to use Boss RV-5 or Zoom G1 reverb. In my opinion if you really want to get the full potential out of this amp then add any 7-band graphic equalizer and Compressor pedals with it and keep them ON all the time. One more thing I have noticed that if you use the effect loop the overdrive channels really improves remarkably and here what I think its overdrive Touch-senstive feature also seems to work more effectively but you may notice a little decrease in the overall volume level. I have used this amp with both humbucking and single coil guitars and I found it quite good. I wish it would have also a Mid-boost switch on the Clean channel. I do not like the Power ON/OFF switch located at its rear panel. Nevertheless this is a worthful & impressive amp by keeping in view of its overall quality & price tag.

  • from April 1, 2005

    shook me all night long

    Well, it is a simplistic model. It doesn't have any special effects or anything like that. It merely has your basic lineup of gain, 3 EQ knobs, reverb. I've heard better reverb, but this one isn't too bad. It seems it sounds better if you play cleaner overdrive w/ little gain, or of course, on the clean channel as well. The features that make this amp unique are the more drive control (which basically enhances your range and saturation for gain control, great for lead playing in many aspects) and also a mid contour control (which cuts your mid range tones and if you know how to use this right, it can seriously allow for some kickin' tones and makes way for a whole new setup of sounds). A couple other extras include a second input for guitars w/ highly sensitive pickups (so the amp isn't overpowered). also, this isn't very recommended to do, but you could play two guitars through this. other features are a foot pedal that changes between channels and also turn on/off the more drive control. there are a pre out jack and pwr in jack which allow for other devices to be looped through the amp. the pre out can also act as a line out, which allows you to play through other amps simultaneously, or you can plug a recording device or mixer in here.
    This thing is a bloody beast. I bought it because it is literally cheap muscle. It is extremely loud and powerful, great for gigging in decent sized venues. As many people have said, no it doesn't have hardcore distortion like what other amps/pedals offer, but it does in fact have great distortion period. It's awesome if you like playing blues, classic rock, alt. rock, and the likes. you can make a perfect sound for these types. The clean channel is of course beautiful and clear.
    i must say that 300 bucks is kickin awesome for what you get in this amp. For the power and potential, this is a steal.

Questions about the Fender Frontman 212R - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway