0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Yamaha FG730S - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • from Sunapee NH January 1, 2016

    Great service and product!

    Unbelievable service! Above and beyond customer attention and assistance. The guitar that I bought my son for Christmas was perfect and he was thrilled. It arrived as expected and was extremely protected with careful packaging. I have already recommended you to others!

  • from Perry Hall, MD December 31, 2015

    Happy with my Choice

    i wanted an acoustic having sold my other one a few years ago. In this price range this Yamaha stood out with the great reviews I'd been seeing. Went to a guitar store to play it along with some others.
    Once I decided to buy I went with Sweetwater mainly because I could view the exact guitar on line and compare the colors available. They advertise that they setup each guitar and I was pleased to see that there was absolutely no buzz and the string height was perfect. Sweetwater does as advertised.
    The FG730S plays great, sounds better than I thought it would and is built beautifully.

  • from NYS November 5, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboard, Trombone

    Great Sound as good as any $800-1000 instrument

    I bought the Yamaha FG730S as a back up to my Martin 000-15M to leave in my winter home to avoid frequent travel with the Martin. I also added and lowered a bone bridge and added bone bridge pins. D'Addario extra light strings added to to mellowing of the guitar and for a total cost of $350 have a great guitar with a powerful and now better rounded sound and great low action playability.

  • from kansas October 19, 2015

    chuck

    Been playing since I was 9 yrs old ( I'm 55) this little guitar plays better than guitars that cost much more. Put some elixir strings on it you'll get that Martin sound. This guitar is worth getting a case for. Yamaha is having a hard time keeping up with the demand on these. I had an ovation celebrity that doesn't stand up to this guitar. Go to you tube you won't hear anything bad about this guitar .It is a best seller.

  • from PA July 19, 2015

    Couldn't ask for a better guitar to learn on.

    Let me preface this with a bit of honesty—this guitar doesn't sound as good as an American-made Martin. It does, however, come so much closer than I ever expected.

    I'm relatively new to the guitar, but I've played the cello for a long, long time, so I have an ear better than most beginning guitarists have. I started playing on a First Act that's probably worth less than a pack of smokes, and while I hate to bash the instrument that got me playing, going from that to the FG730 was something like trading in an old Pinto for a new M-series BMW. It was like graduating from plastic-bottle-vodka to a good single malt scotch.

    It's difficult to describe tone and feel with words, so I'd recommend getting your hands on one, if possible, or at least check some of the better Youtube reviews. I doubt you'll be disappointed. Broken-in, this guitar sounds stellar. I have it strung up with D'Addario phosphor bronze, because I'm too cheap to buy coated strings. She's loud. At $300, I'm confident it can't be beaten. Good on Yamaha for making quality, attainable guitars for the rest of us. It's a great-looking guitar, too. I've gotten more than a few compliments.

    One con—the action was a bit high from the factory, but that's the nature of the beast when buying imported guitars. I elected to sand down the saddle and adjust the truss rod myself after a little Google research, and I have to say, it came pretty nicely. I'd considered replacing the saddle with one made of bone, but honestly, after playing the instrument for a few months, I don't feel the need.

    So, in short, if you're looking for an inexpensive dreadnought, I can't imagine you'd go wrong with a Yamaha FG730S.

    PS: you'll need a case for this one. I have one of those Gator hard-soft bag-cases, and it's a solid fit. I'd recommend it, but that's a topic for another review.

  • from Columbus, OH June 30, 2015

    Excellent service

    The guitar exceeded my expectations and the service I received from Sweetwater was exceptional.

  • from April 12, 2015

    Great beginner/intermediate acoustic

    An extremely nice guitar! It has a solid sitka spruce top, and rosewood back/sides; it sounds very good. The finish is well done and shiny. The decoration around the sound hole is also very nice. The only downside to this guitar is a plastic saddle (which is kind of loose fitting into the bridge) and a plastic nut, but at this price point, those are minor problems. Overall, this is a great buy and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for their first acoustic or even their second guitar; you'll be surprised how well it plays compared to other guitars at this price point.

  • from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina March 1, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Really nice tone box!

    At this price, it's hard to find another acoustic of this quality. Comfortable player, with a great sound. I would definitely recommend this!

  • from United States January 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest for 30 plus years.

    Great

    I bought this guitar for my granddaughter,for Xmas.When it arrived I just had to 'check it out'.WOW,what a great sounding and great playing guitar.I played it for about an hour before my wife made me put it away and wrap it,lol.Just an amazing guitar for the money,and in my experience,better in all ways to much more expensive machines by the 'big' names.

    And once again,Ryan and the Sweetwater experience was outstanding.Setup was just right,and like my last guitar I bought from Sweetwater,ready to play with great action and in tune.That still blows me away.This guitar is a total keeper.

  • from Indiana, USA December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist these days. (Home Recording)

    FG730S - Awesome guitar!

    Been playing for well over 50 years, mainly acoustic. Had read many good reviews on this guitar and had tried one in a guitar store and liked it a lot. Very hard to beat this guitar for the price. Excellent fit and finish to this guitar. Plays and sounds as good as it looks.

    Beautiful guitar, plays well and sounds really nice. Dealing with Sweetwater just adds to the good part of this whole deal. They give the type of customer service that is sadly uncommon these days.

  • from Bethelehem, PA August 14, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, Electric guitar luthier

    Great guitar! Solid, Beautiful Woods! Stellar Price!

    This guitar is beautiful, plays great and the cost is a fraction of what you would pay for an instrument made by someone else. The tone is treble-rich and somewhat "thin" compared to a larger dreadnought or jumbo guitar. It still sounds excellent and will only be outmatched by guitars in the $2000+ range. I know because I live right next to the Martin Guitar factory and have played them. Great for beginners and seasoned players alike!

  • from South Carolina June 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist for bout 20 years

    Amazing guitar for price

    Bottom line, this guitar is the best deal in acoustics. Craftmamship is perfect, Set up perfectly out the box, sound is bright and rich and loud! I put daddario phosphor bronze 12-53 strings on it and made it even better. You will not be dissapointed!

  • from decatur IL June 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Yamaha FG730S

    Tonewoods on this guitar are stellar. Like one would find on a Gibson or Taylor. MOP inlay gorgeous.
    Tuners stay in tune for the most part, they are similar to grovers i think.
    Sound is fantastic although i am going to upgrade nut and bridge and string pins. Sounds real good strummed and fingerpicking.
    This guitar only costs $299? Wow. Better get one while you can.

  • from Woodruff, WI January 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, bassist and guitar player

    Just a really nice guitar

    Fit and finish on this guitar are very good - a couple tiny spots that look like finish blemishes, but nothing but the pickiest would even notice or care about. Interior finish is good - a bit of extra glue around the bracings, but not bad. Spruce top is very nice with good grain. Laminate B/S looks very nice. Gloss finish on the body is nice, not gaudy or too thick like alot of asian import guitars. The guitar projects really well for a $300 laminate instrument! I'd put the tone between Taylor and Martin - but haven't started changing strings yet to find the sweet spot. I know it fits with my voice very well - I really like the tone. It arrived in perfect shape with a pretty darn good action - I might lower it a bit yet by sanding the saddle (or putting in a bone saddle)- neck had just a bit of relief - about perfect, haven't touched the truss rod yet. I love the feel of the satin neck and the dread body fits me well even though I'm a smaller guy (5'9). String spacing is good for strumming and flatpicking but probably wouldn't make a good fingerpicker. But - if you are buying a dread, you probably aren't fingerpicking!! I love how people say 'such a good guitar for a beginner' or 'great beater/campfire guitar'. Whatever. This is a good instrument that is well built and easily sounds good enough and projects well enough to be a gigging instrument. No question. I did alot of research into this price point and the general consensus is that the FG730S is the best $300 guitar on the market. I'm inclined to believe that now that I own one.

  • from Florida September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Beautiful guitar

    I love this new Fg730s. It looks and sounds great. Other than a few minor adjustments I'm very happy with it. It does have a slight imperfection on the neck (a finish issue). I also have a Fg that's 30 years old. These guitars hold up and this new one should only get better with age....

Questions about the Yamaha FG730S - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway