rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Yamaha FG700S w/solid top - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • from August 23, 2015

    Incredible Value!

    This is the best value guitar for anyone looking for a good playing and sounding acoustic without electronics. This guitar has amazing sound and is made incredibly well. If you do not need electronics and don't want to spend more than $500 on a guitar, this is probably the best of them all. I did have to sand down the bridge a little bit to get the action where I liked it but action is all a matter of personal preference and a setup is usually needed on any guitar you buy at any dollar value. I use Ernie Ball Aluminum Bronze strings on mine and they sound great!

  • from Dallas tx July 30, 2015Music Background:
    New player

    stunning

    A have been playing for few months, and I wanted to get a good guitar from the beginning, so I bought a fender for 380dls, I went home exited to play only to find out the frets where so sharp within minutes I had cuts in my fingers, I took the guitar back and my money, as I was living the store I saw the fg, and I new that was love at first sight, this guitar is amazing, am no expert but I absolutely love this guitar,love is so much I bought a 150 dl case for it, and on the future I will buy a higher end yamaha, no matter what any expert says, this guitar on the right hands sounds better than any Martin or Taylor under 1000.

  • from San Diego June 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic guitar

    This guitar is famous for a reason, it sounds amazing, looks sharp, and the price is very hard to beat. The neck is very comfortable and while it is gloss finished it really stays out of the way nicely. All of the frets are even and there is no buzzing anywhere on the fretboard. It is also very very light; which is always nice for taking it places, and seems to be very well put together, and after owning one of these for about two years there have been absolutely no problems with it at all. This is a perfect starter guitar, or a stage guitar that you don't have to worry too much about getting damaged. Overall I am very happy I bought this guitar. (Also: This guitar really shines when used with Elixir Nanoweb strings of whatever gauge you prefer)

  • from Reading,Massachusetts March 10, 2015Music Background:
    Blues, Blugrass & Gospel Player & Enthusiast

    yamaha fg700s

    Picked up my FG tonight and my first impression was this is a Real Sweet Looking Guitar for $200 ! The Spruce is Beautiful & The Nato is Nice. Once I tightened up all the screws & truss rod and changed the strings to custom light's phosphor bronze & upgraded the pins & saddle we were off to Bluegrass Heaven ! Thank You Yamaha. Pete

  • from Divide, CO March 1, 2015Music Background:
    Rhythm in an enthusiast band, soundtrack artist for small films, guitar teacher

    A solid guitar deal

    This is probably the best guitar for the price on the market. It is extremely comfortable to play, and it does indeed have a nice voice. The FG700S has served me well through many situations, whether playing for an audience or playing recreationally. I recently purchased a new guitar, but this one will stay handy for stuff like campfires and recreational travel where I may not have a lot of control over how my guitar is treated. With this, I get a beautiful sounding guitar without worrying about what situations it ends up in.

  • from Los Angeles, CA January 22, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    UN Freeking REAL.

    This guitar is INCREDIBLE !! I had read all the reviews praising this guitar and talking about its amazing voice and action. I have to admit with all the hype I was a little skeptical that I could get such a deal - I mean $199. come on. It arrived yesterday and shut my mouth it is simply true. Not only that but this guitars action is PERFECT out of the box…WHAT?!? I fully expect to be paying for a pro set up if I am ordering an instrument online…but NO! Sweetwater came through and saved me $30 and a trip the the local luthier. Clint was beyond helpful as a sales rep. I will always goto sweetwater.com first.

  • from Midwest July 19, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Band

    Never call this a beginner guitar

    Played over 30 years now and like everyone else have had plenty of gear pass through my hands. I own and have access to acoustics costing many times the FG700S but this would be my desert island guitar if I could take only one. Had mine for several years now and the top has turned that beautiful golden amber color. Cleaned up the fretboard and polished the frets the other day and played her for a couple hours. No fancy abalone or pearl here. This is a plain jane but she can sing with the best of them. My wife knows nothing about guitars or their cost and she thinks this one sounds better than the big dollar guitars laying around. I agree. You can call this a beginner guitar based on price if you want but a couple hours of jamming and you'll know this won't be a dust collector. . The FG series has been around for a long time. They know how to build a great acoustic guitars. If you don't need on board electronics stop looking any further. Lovin' my Yamaha

  • from Deer Lodge, MT September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    My First Guitar

    I don't have anything to compare this to, except for my daughter's beat up mini guitar. BUT, I think this guitar sounds great! Very rich sound. Feels like high quality even though I know there's a lot better hand made stuff out there. Sturdy. I tuned it with ease... I recommend the electronic headstock tuner! I also recommend the learning guitar course by Gibson, though I had to buy it from another site.

  • from Oregon May 24, 2011

    Yamaha FG700S is one nice guitar

    I purchased the Yamaha FG700S from Sweetwater for my son.
    It is a really great sounding guitar and a real beauty. Solid spruce top
    with great finish/detail. I recommend anyone to shop with Sweetwater, the service is exceptional.

  • from Edinburg,TX September 8, 2010Music Background:
    Music Education

    Amazed!

    For the price, this is an amazing instrument! It's truly a good solid guitar for beginners and advanced players.

    I love it!

  • from Raleigh,NC January 18, 2015Music Background:
    20 plus years

    It was worth it

    After much review of this model, I bought it from Sweetwater. Overall packaging was well done. It came in a separate box, packaged pretty well. I bought this model because it is the newer brother to my 1994 Yamaha FG411S. For $200.00 it's not bad. I gave it almost 5 stars, because there were less than equal qualities to the neck than my FG411S. The neck on the FG700S is glued together in different areas and not one piece like my other one. But that's me. The finish is nice, opening the box I noticed that the guitar still has that glue smell to it. But that's because it was only made 3 months ago. I bought this model because I'm a long distance trucker and didn't want to beat around my 25 years Yamaha anymore. That model has seen it's road time and a newer model would be better. The 700s plays well. It came with 11 or 12 gauge strings. It has a bright, spongy sound to it. It will take a year or more for the wood to season out. So expect a brighter sound from any newer acoustic at first. Over time the sound will mature and become a better sounding instrument. this instrument is headlining as a Solid Spruce Top. But it has Nato sides, back and neck with a Rosewood fretboard. It's not Laminate as far as I can tell, but the back sides and neck are just inferior wood compared to other models with better woods. But it's a $200.00 rig so don't expect a $800.00 set up. As far as buying a better guitar for this price, I don't think you will. If it's anything like my older model I can only expect a great guitar to last for years to come. And that's why I only buy Yamaha's. That name has always stood for quality ever since I heard one 40 years ago. I hope all this helps in your purchase.

  • from USA November 8, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    fg700s yamaha

    high quality for a Low price!

  • from January 13, 2013

    Great Guitar!

    I really love this guitar. Only thing that caught me by surprise was how how the action was. But I fixed it and now she plays like a champ. This guitar looks way better in person then it does in the pictures. YOU CAN NOT GO WRONG WITH THIS GUITAR.

  • from October 28, 2015Music Background:
    Sound tech 40 yrs in various roles

    Finally

    I am a sound tech that has heard a lot of acoustic guitars but never really played. With this new desire I have to play I was pointed to this guitar. I love the sound, quality and feel this guitar has, especially for the price.

  • from Huntsville Alabama October 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Better than expected

    When I first received the guitar I thought it sounded a bit tinny. I put a bone nut and saddle on it, along with a new set of strings, and now it sounds as good or better than my Gibson LG2 American Eagle. I only gave it 4 stars because I had to make modifications to get the sound I was looking for.

Questions about the Yamaha FG700S w/solid top - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway