0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Fulltone Fulldrive2 MOSFET Overdrive / Boost Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 32 customer reviews
Questions about the Fulltone Fulldrive2 MOSFET Overdrive / Boost Pedal?

Questions about the Fulltone Fulldrive2 MOSFET Overdrive / Boost Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    If I could only have one overdrive pedal for the rest of my life, it would have to be this one. The Fulltone Fulldrive2 MOSFET sounds very natural and doesn't cover up the natural tone of your guitar, or amp. Also, the Boost allows you to add more gain, or volume, for solos. The overall great sound and versatility make this a terrific pedal. It's no suprise the Fulldrive can be found on so many professional pedalboards.

  • from Champaign, IL September 16, 2016

    Great Value. Great Overdrive!!!

    Incredibly awesome deal!!! USA made, two stage of OD and a quality build for a little over $100. It even comes with a 9v battery—which doesn't go dead if you leave the patch cables plugged in. Very versatile. I can get several tones out of this when pushing my Mesa Boogie 5:25.

    As always, Sweetwater has prompt service and great support!

  • from Portsmouth, Ohio July 8, 2016Music Background:
    Classic Rock Cover Band

    Swiss Army Overdrive

    The Full-Drive 2 MOSFET has been my go-to overdrive for several years now. When I go to a practice, jam, or gig where I only have room for 1 overdrive pedal, this is always the one I take. It covers all the bases I need to cover, and it sounds fantastic. Super versatile. I have one on each of my pedalboards, and I just got a spare. Fulltone really pulled a massive rabbit out of the hat for this one.

  • from June 1, 2016

    fulltone

    This pedal offers more sustain than most overdrives. I play telecasters with low output pickups and it sings. Hard to describe, I think a bandmate said it best when I heard what the heck is that? This is a professional pedal and I have to thank Fulltone for keeping the price so low.

  • from Greencastle Pennsylvania May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Played 11 years in a classic rock cover band, Now worship music

    Fulltone Fulldrive 2 MOSFET Overdrive Boost

    This pedal is exactly what it said it is and what I was looking for. I play in a praise and worship band and I play my Fender strat through their equipment. Fender Acoustic Amp that is plugged into the soundboard. At times I need a slight crunch and some distortion. I bought a few pedals but could not get that warm tube sound that I was use to playing through w/ my Fender tube deluxe. But I used my new Full-Drive 2 and it was GREAT !! I got the crunch I wanted and the boost gave me the slight distortion I was looking for.
    Thank you for the video you provided , that helped sell me on this pedal. Thanks again !!

  • from Youngstown, OH March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound engineer/musician

    Still one of the best OD pedals out there!

    I have owned many overdrive petals over the years. I always come back to the full drive.

  • from DFW, TX February 24, 2015Music Background:
    songwriter, guitarist, hobbyist, active musician

    There is NO other OD, this is the ONE!

    I got this pedal to push the green A channel on my '98 Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 100 head and I have to say this was one of the best investments I've ever made to any rig and I'll explain why. The clean/crunch channel on my head has a nice, big, round tone with lots of bottom end which I love. The lead channel simply does not. It's fairly tinny and harsh, lacking much of the bottom end and fullness channel A has. Unfortunately, channel A just doesn't have quite enough saturation and bite on its own to be my main distortion...I play a mix of rock, hard rock, and post hardcore. Simple solution, add an overdrive. But which one? The other guitarist in my band has a 60 watt TSL and uses a tube screamer so I considered that. It sounds ok but, no matter the setting, it tends to cut out the lower frequencies which would only add to my problem. I've found this to be the case with a lot of the Boss ODs as well. I read so many great reviews everywhere on the Full Drive 2 so I decided to give it a shot. WHEW! It instantly turned my amp into a roaring JCM 800, and what's better than that? If you have an already good or great sounding tube amp tone and want to take it to absolute perfection, this is THE pedal. It adds just the right amount of saturation, doesn't subtract any bass but rather enhances it, and it tightens up the overall loosey-gooseyness of the green channel of my amp. Adding the boost really adds a lot of harmonic richness, thickness, and sustain as well, perfect for those big choruses we write. This is an extremely versatile pedal as the different settings are really meant to accommodate different amps. I have mine set to CompCut, Mosfet, volume at 9 o'clock, tone at 3 o'clock, and overdrive at 5 o'clock with a slight boost when I need it and it just takes my amp to a whole other level. Can't say enough about this product, it's just phenomenal and I'm convinced I couldn't have possibly found a better overdrive pedal for my amp. HIGHLY recommend this to anybody!!

  • from Woodbridge, VA January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Praise & Worship, Hobbyist, Student

    Full-Drive 2 = Full of Awesome

    I play regularly Sunday morning for the worship service and this is my favorite pedal on my board. It can sound like anything in between Clean/Boost (For that I really like the CompCut mode) to symmetrically clipped overdrive in the MOSFET mode (Note I didn't say Distortion).
    The BOOST mode is really a more button for either more Gain or literally a boost for easily stacking gain on gain.
    For those who may want to run this on 18v supply, you will have to buy another supply like a Dunlop ECB-004 18 V Power Supply.
    It's really good for Tomlin, Jesus Culture and UNITED type sound.
    All in all it's exellent and very versatile overdrive that will probably stay on my board forever!

  • from isanti,Mn. January 15, 2015Music Background:
    over 40 yrs and thousands of $$$$, and gtrs

    monster bang for the buck!!!

    I put in front of my class A amps and it makes me giddy like a little girl. It is gonna be my only addition for boost and overdrive. Good solid pedal. Warren Haynes tone! We all need one of these blue magic boxes!!!!!

  • from Vista CA USA October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Recording enthusiast, musician.

    Awesome overdrive

    This is the best overdrive I own to date so far. I run it through my fender reverb deluxe and the fulldrive takes my guitar tone right where I need it. The second boost function helps to add a more colored and gritty overdrive with more sustain. If you are looking for a clean rich overdrive with lots of overtone you will like this.

  • from Florida USA September 15, 2014Music Background:
    Giging Musician

    AWESOME OVERDRIVE!

    This is a awesome overdrive it can go from transparent overdrive to gritty blues! If you want a real heavy or dark overdrive this is not for you, but if you want anything from U2 to Rolling Stones or any of your favorite blues players you got it! This pedal is very easy to use and very easy to tweek for different tones and sound. This pedal has found a permanent home on my pedal train!

  • from Sacramento, CA July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Guitarist, Producer (in that order!)

    Full-Drive = Full satisfaction

    I just bought this pedal. I have historically played a Mesa Boogie rig, and am recently making the transition to a Fender Deluxe Reverb. I fell in love with the Fender clean sound, reverb and tremolo, which is more consistent with the sounds I am playing presently, but was missing the overdrive sounds beyond grit the amp is willing to give. This pedal wowed me right out of the box. It is extremely versatile, providing everything from tasteful slight breakup to ACDC crunch. It will not go into metal (unless you are playing through a Marshall or Mesa Boogie type rig, in which case you didn’t need the pedal in order to go metal anyway). As a long Mesa fan, I am used to gear that takes some tweaking and exploring to find that voice you’re looking for. But I was very relieved when I plugged this pedal in and I could immediately find tones and setups that were not just useful, but downright awesome. Fulltone makes it easy even if you are intimidated by more than two knobs, because they provide three setting recommendations in the manual that give you a really good idea of how each knob and switch affects the sound. This thing was absolutely worth every penny; it sounds fantastic with my Deluxe Reverb. But what was really surprising is that I plugged it into an old Vox pathfinder solid state amp I have laying around, and it made it sound like a completely different amp, one I would have no problems using in a gig that did not require much volume (and that’s a lot so say, because I otherwise would not even admit I own this amp;-). Great product!

  • from Seattle, WA USA May 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro/ Been playing since 1972

    Full-Drive 2 Mosfet

    I have about a dozen pedals which I use interchangeably. The Full-Drive -2 is the most versatile by far, and I'll tell you, this thing kicks ***! total tweak control from bluesy overdrive (lots of that, pick your poison), to total balls to the wall high-gain overdrive.
    This is the perfect overdrive as any setting accentuates your tone with no coloration, bus=zziness, or added fuzziness.
    I'm p[laying this with a '59 jazz master through a miked Fender Princeton . Tone Heaven!

  • from Phoenixville, PA USA December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Touring Musician, Church Musician, Guitarist for 10 years

    The Greatest Overdrive

    I don't usually write reviews, but the Fulldrive compelled me to do so. This is one of the best overdrives I have heard. Enough said. Two levels of overdrive, providing anything from the lightest of breakup to saturated drive, this pedal can easily cover any genre with the exemption of metal. Every setting is usable; just choose your tonal preference and bask in glorious tone. Did I mention its handmade in the USA? If you need a go-to overdrive, get this baby, you won't be disappointed. Hats off to Sweetwater for exceptional service!

  • from Sacramento, Ca USA October 22, 2013Music Background:
    Church musician, and Jimi Hendrix fannatic

    all around useful

    I dont even know where to start this pedal just loves my Strat and Les Paul with my blues jr. It can go from creamy to full gain with loads of feedback its super easy to set up cause every setting essentially sounds great the boost is a little bassy but it doesnt sound bad.I use it for my churches contemporary service and youth service. You just cant go wrong with it unless your looking for a metal sound.(which i find as overkill) but its a great pedal very versital i use it normally in the flat mid mode with the volume at 1-3oclock tone at 3oclock gain at 9oclock and boost an noon for leads my amp is normally set up to already be a that slight break up point so with this pedal i drive the amp harder and add some over drive. Its a great pedal especially at its price point and i love it (:

  • from SAN BERNARDINO, CA July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist for 10 yrs

    Sweetness to my Ears

    I just loved the Pedal. I used it for a 3 day event and was impressed on how great the distortion sounded. I have heard great reviewed before on this pedal, which is why I bought it and it definietely held up to my expectations.

    I really do recommend it. I ran it through a JVM 410 Marshall amp head, using a 4X10 Cab. It did its job, and it sounds great in live recorcding.

  • from San Juan, PR April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Musician

    Incredible!

    This pedal is amazing. It's incredibly versatile because it can produce from tube-cranked overdrive to almost distortion. Every chord you play makes sense with this pedal unlike others which is an important factor for me cause I'm a pain when it comes to guitar tone. HIghly recommend it!

  • from Portland, Or April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Totally Committed

    My Other OVerdirves are Collecting Dust

    Besides the Fulldrive2, I own a Way Huge Pork Loin, a Tech 21 Blonde, and an Effectrode Tube Drive (with 3 tubes!), but the Fulldrive is only one that remains velcroed to my pedal board.
    Of all four, the Fulldrive sounds the most versatile, amp-like, feature laden, and usable.
    I refuse to play without it. It lives up to the hype. Th other pedals, not so much. The Effectrode is an interesting, wild beast, however.

  • from CO March 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Praise & Worship, amateur band

    A great pedal with transparency and lots of options

    Note: I played this with an American Tele and Gretsch 5422 through a VOX AC15 Custom.
    This is the pedal to get if you want a truly versatile overdrive. Super transparent all the way around the overdrive knob. Even with the boost on and cranked, it does a great job of preserving the tone, and does so even when the guitar volume is low. The Mosfet/Standard toggle is a great way to adjust the tone just that little bit, but what i liked the most about this pedal is the 3-way toggle for CompCut/FM/Vintage. This is a thing of beauty. You can go from solid overdrive in Vintage, toggle it to FM to add a little tone, and clean it up a bit, to a complete boost with basically non-existent distortion at CompCut. What's even better is if you leave it in CompCut, and then add the OCD to it, it completely reinvents the OCD. I even tried it out with the VOX Ice 9, and it sounds pretty great.
    I would definitely recommend this for any board.

  • from Port st lucie FL USA March 12, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Sounds perfect

    I was waiting and I was really excited to get this pedal
    Sounds,clean they got to many choices to set up your distortion
    I'm really happy more then happy!!

  • from Atlanta October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Occasionally Gigging Musician

    Awesome Pedal - Improved My Whole Board

    I have a friend that has one and loves it so I gave it a shot and bought my own. I play rhythm so I don't need to go too crazy with peaks and overdrive. Basically you are spending an extra 50 bucks for a really high quality dual purpose pedal. I put it first in the line and my Marshall Gov'nor (GV-2) pedal and Boss Super Chorus CH-1 sound great now. I play a Strat, a Les Paul and A PRS Custom 24 through my board, and with slight adjustments to just the Full-Drive 2 I get the sounds that I am looking for. Like everybody else I have a small pile of pedals that did not quite work out. Next up I will try adding some of those back in to the line. Great pedal that sounds great and is built like an old fasioned Tonka Truck.

  • from Indianapolis Indiana July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Very Usable Tool, Killer Transparent Tone

    The Full-Drive 2 Mosfet, was my first ever Fulltone pedal purchase, I was so impressed with the build and sound quality, that I immediately ordered a Fulltone OCD as well. The first thing that caught my attention about this pedal was how, if I was playing my Strat, my SG, my Les Paul, or my PRS, every guitar's sound and tone was still in there, you could tell what was being played through it. The thing I love most about this pedal is how it cleans up, just from your guitar volume, and the Tone still stays great, I seem to always run it in the Vintage/Mosfet setting. Something I think people should know, if you plan on using this pedal alot as a Boost pedal, theres not alot of "volume" difference from regular to boost mode, it actually seems to boost the effect, not so much the volume, so some people may not like the boost mode as much as they hoped they would, its still a great feature on the pedal, I think, just like me also, your kind of pre-programmed to think when you hit that button, theres going to be a big spike in volume, and there isn't. One last thing, this IS NOT a Distortion pedal, its made to drive a tube amp into clipping, your NOT going to get heavy metal sounds from this pedal. If you want very transparent OD, that retains your guitar and amps sound, is very versatile, and very high quality, you'll want to add the pedal, to your board. I'm certainly glad that I did.

  • from Ct February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great pedal

    Has been a faithful component on my board for a few years. I pull it off and try others but it just makes it's way back.

  • from Columbia, SC January 5, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player, prog. Rock, worship

    Listen to believe

    This pedal is excellent. Mine substituted an Analogman modded sd-1, a good pedal in its own right if you want a ts-808 mid-hump. Still, this fulltone is way more versatile and matches my strat perfectly when in flat mids mode It excels in live situations. In my case, I use it for light gain applications and the boost side provides higher gain on tap. By the way, set like that it is really 2 pedals in one since the boost is really higher gain, not more volume. This pedal is more than I thought it was going to be and plays nice with the rest of my pedals as well.

  • from Florida December 12, 2012Music Background:
    25 years pro

    Great pedal

    Great sound, for worship music. It has a lot of range, yet keeps your sound smooth. This is my main pedal. Also the switches work well. Solid build. If lost I would get another.

  • from Richmond, VA September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Church Praise Team

    Great pedal - great deal

    This pedal is the latest evolution of a classic. I had borrowed a 90's era FD2 and loved it but was a little concerned about how the new MOSFET version would sound., I shouldn't have worried, it sounds great and I've got more selectable options with this pedal than with the original.
    I play a Big Apple Strat into an Egnater Rebel-30 head and this pedal adds just the right amount of drive to give me some good crunch with a boost setting for leads.
    Plus, Sweetwater threw in free shipping while some other sites exclude this pedal from free shipping for some reason.
    A great pedal at a great price and I got it fast!

  • from July 19, 2012

    Great pedal

    It has a great tone and the amount of control between all the different knobs and switches allows you to really get a tone you want. The one downside is that the boost does not really offer to much boost unless the overdrive volume is all the way up. I guess you just have to play louder.

  • from Ames IA June 13, 2011Music Background:
    45 years of playing every imagined style

    I love it

    This pedal has replaced a Mesa Boogie V twin rack mount. a Boss Super overdrive, and a Boss Metal Zone. It is the most versitle OD pedal I have ever owned in my 40 yrs plus of playing. I needed something to finnish out my pedalboard when I dumped my rack gear. Now it is the only OD pedal I use.

  • from North East PA July 5, 2016Music Background:
    boutique hobbyist

    Great boutique pedal

    I don't know about versatility. I find one tone and keep it there. This pedal has a nice soft clip without sacrificing clarity. Imagine a perfect TubeScream. I don't like TS too well. Not enough real punch. This pedal gives you the right amount of punch. Has an amazing sound considering no tube. It's beautiful, IMO. Smooth overdriven tone.

    I run this as a cascading OD. Things get mushy. I'm not sure what MOSFET does.

  • from Seymour, Tn October 12, 2015Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter/Guitar Player

    6505+ Tamer

    I lucked into a mint Peavey 6505+ head for the right price. And although Peavey hit a home run out of the Metal ballpark with this high gain monster it left me struggling to find a warm articulate not to fuzzy, not to metal, semi-sweet dirty singing overdrive. All you guitar players know the sound I'm talking about. It's the sound that makes you feel like you're connected to the music and not just beating on a overly loud six string axe. You all know what it is and it "ain't that nail to the forehead 6505+ crunch channel. No offense to the metal guys. I enjoy trying to play metal ever now and then just to relax. I'll never be any good at it. (Guess I'm just to old)
    Anyway, I was determined to tame that Peavey and I must have tried a half dozen or so overdrive and crunch pedals searching for that sound. To make a long story a little shorter this Fulltone Fulldrive 2 Mosfet Pedal allows me to use the so called clean channel on the 6505+ as an EQ base and then using the Fulldrive dial in any amount of dirt I want. I never touch the crunch or lead channel switch on the Peavey and the Fulltone Fulldrive 2 Mosfet gives me all the different tones I could ever want at a level I can use. Truth be told if I had not stumbled onto the Fulltone the 6505+ would have been history.

  • from Durham, NC October 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fulldrive 2 Review

    I've been using this pedal for a little over a year now and have been more or less satisfied with it. I bought it with the hope of having it replace my TS808 reissue pedal which is a good pedal but lacking in certain areas: 1) cuts a lot of low end. 2) slightly lacking in dynamic response. 3) limited range in the drive pot. 4) not true bypass. Additionally I liked the idea of having the FD2's boost option (drive boost instead of clean gain boost) which would be great for leads.

    In most of these areas the FD2 is superior to the TS. On the Mosfet setting there is definitely a lot more low end getting through than you can get with the TS. The pedal also responds a lot better to pick dynamics and volume knob adjustments. The range of the drive knobs on the FD2 are very superior as well. You can dial back the overdrive knob to get some nice clean or slightly gritty tones with the volume up or jack the OD and throw on the boost for fluid lead sustain. I also like the options you get with the Vintage/FM/Compcut switch too. Along with the Mosfet/Standard switch you can actually make this pedal sound pretty close to a tube screamer or use it as a clean boost or something completely different.

    The negative aspect of the FD2 is that it tends to push a little too much mid-range, even on the FM (flat-mids) setting. Since this seems to be mostly lower mids I found I have to compensate with my amp tone controls a bit. It's great for making a weak guitar sound big and bad but if you use high-output or active humbuckers things can get a little muddy. The tone control doesn't do all that much to help either. For me, the best tone of the FD2 is found with a moderate overdrive setting into a slightly dirty amp (either slightly scooped or with a bright switch on), using the boost for solos and rolling back the guitar volume as needed for cleaner sounds.

    Overall it's a really good OD pedal but I doubt it will be the last one I try.

  • from Weston Ct June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, Recording Artist, Producer

    Good, not the "best"

    I realize this statement is completely subjective. That's WHY there's a
    zillion Overdrive pedals on the market... But actually, I use a specific
    Overdrive approach for a specific song I've written...

  • from Redmond, WA June 1, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Mehh

    The overdrive is decent if you're looking for a clean mix sorta sound. Similar to sparkle drive, with half clean have drive. The boost was completely lacking.. extremely meh. Could hardly tell the difference switching it on and off. However I was using this with a solid state amp, which may have been the issue. But i was definitely not pleased. But expressed my displeasure, and was recommended various alternatives by my sales rep at sweetwater. YOU GUYS ARE AMAZING. THANKS BRIAN

Questions about the Fulltone Fulldrive2 MOSFET Overdrive / Boost Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway