rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Cordoba Espana FCWE - German Spruce Top Reviews

5.0 stars based on 6 customer reviews
Questions about the Cordoba Espana FCWE - German Spruce Top?

Questions about the Cordoba Espana FCWE - German Spruce Top?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Minneapolis, MN June 11, 2017Music Background:
    Intermediate Beginner.

    Second Impressions

    It's been 7 months since I described my first impressions. This guitar continues to grow on me (and my instructor). The quality and volume of the sound from such a small-body guitar really surprises me. It continues to open up. While the sound of most electric acoustics are enhanced by the Fishman Aura pedal (as is this one). I rarely use the pedal, because the sound stands so well on its own. Very easy to play. I use it strictly for classical, but the protective plastic gives me the option to use percussion and flamenco techniques. I really love it, and am not tempted in the least to look at anything else (sorry Sweetwater).

  • from Seattle, WA July 11, 2016Music Background:
    Professional guitarist

    ˇMás flamenco!

    Great action, with a dry, quick snap. Begs to be played fast. Rasgueados jump out and pop like machine gun fire. I dig it unplugged. It's still too early to tell how it responds plugged in (I just got it today), but the quick test I gave it through an amp was satisfactory. Looking forward to getting it onstage this coming weekend.

  • from February 4, 2016

    A Gem

    I have been playing guitar since 1963, own a 1960 Les Paul, have had my share of Fenders and some very nice acoustic and classical guitars over the years (my father, a classical percussionist, owned music stores when I was growing up.) About a year ago I began looking for a Flamenco guitar that would also be useable in other styles as I compose jazz/classical/folk/bossa/rock, etc. songs with a strong fingerpicking style, and often with rasgueado, golpe, etc. I preferred the larger fretboard of a Flamenco to a steel string size fretboard, but not as wide as that of a classical guitar. I researched a few nylon Taylors and the Martin 000C, but the nut size is basically the same as a steel string guitar, making them more of a hybrid designed for steel players than a true Flamenco guitar. Since I live and teach in Okinawa, Japan, I did not have any way to try any of the guitars out. I did loads of research and after talking 5 or 6 times with Danny at Cordoba (very patient and enthusiastic about his guitars,) decided to give this guitar a try, sight unseen. I liked that it was handmade in Spain, had solid wood top, sides and back, ebony fingerboard and a cedar neck. I have never not tried out a guitar that I purchased, didn't know what to expect. The guitar arrived within a week (hats off to Sweetwater) in a very nice HumiCase and when I opened it, I immediately smelled sweet, fresh-cut wood. I picked the guitar up and was quite surprised at how light it was. Since it is a thin-body, I expected a thinner sound. I was very wrong. The resonance is rich, full, comparable to that of a full size guitar. I was also looking for rosewood rather than cypress as I didn't want the sound to be too bright. Again, I was pleasantly surprised at the depth of sound from the Spanish cypress, comparable to some very expensive nylon guitars I've owned/played. And then I plugged it in (I also purchased the Fishman Loudbox Artist, a great amp BTW) and was also impressed with the electronics, especially the mic and the blend. This guitar is a find, a gem; it is not a typical "factory" production model, but has the look and feel of a custom made instrument. I consider it to be very well made, lots of attention to detail, and is capable of being played in a wide range of musical styles. Though I might purchase a custom Flamenco in the future, I also wouldn't hesitate to purchase another Cordoba guitar. They didn't cut any corners on this model.

  • from Bay Village, OH February 8, 2014

    A Fantastic Guitar

    The FCWE is an excellent guitar with an unexpectedly strong unplugged tone and an impressive sound through an amp or recording directly. You just cannot go wrong. Highly recommended.

  • from United States November 4, 2013Music Background:
    I play classical,acoustic, and electric.

    fcwe

    This guitar sounded much better than what I thought ,once I plugged in to a guitar amp. I was able to get a great range of sound . The guitar is well built and play very well.

  • from Minneapolis, MN December 5, 2016Music Background:
    Passionate novice (3 years).

    First Impressions

    As a result of increasing bilateral shoulder difficulties, and an inability to maintain nails for classical playing, I looked for a smaller-body nylon-string guitar with electronics that sounded good plugged-in and unplugged. My reliably-helpful Sweetwater Sales engineer, Chris Leonard, recommended the Cordoba FCWE. It arrived four days after I ordered it, in perfect condition. Looks-wise: stunning. Volume and sound quality, unplugged, really surpassed my expectations (which were not low). Great sound; am anxious to hear as it opens up. So so easy to play. Despite, its Flamenco design (low action), traditional classical and contemporary fingerstyle sound great: plugged-in and not. I will follow up in 6-12 months. So far so good. I recommend without hesitation.

Questions about the Cordoba Espana FCWE - German Spruce Top?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway