0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Behringer MIDI Foot Controller FCB1010 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer MIDI Foot Controller FCB1010?

Questions about the Behringer MIDI Foot Controller FCB1010?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Harlan Stanley
    from TX November 15, 2016Music Background:
    Beginner

    Nice Setup

    I got this to drive my Fender CyberTwin SE. Initially daunting task to get the thing working with my older gear, but folks have been doing this config since 2003, so I figured I could get it done!
    I was able to download an application and get the pedal system working with my Amp as I liked, Still a bit of tweaking here and there but it works!

  • Scott Neubert
    from Nashville, TN November 15, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great Controller, Killer Price

    Best price anywhere (and I searched, believe me). Fast shipping you can't bet the tech support from Sweetwater. Great Midi Controller. I personally installed a Eureka eprom 2 and use the controller with my Kemper Profiler, Rack Eleven and Lline 6 POD stuff. The EPROMs and pedal will control all. Best kept secret. Haha

  • Will
    from Seattle area March 8, 2014Music Background:
    20 year guitar player, gear nut

    Great Budget MIDI Foot Controller

    I owned one of these years ago to control a Peavey Transfex Pro 212s guitar amp. Great amp, but have since sold it and the FCB1010 I used to run it.

    This MIDI controller was absolutely great. I remember it having a fairly steep learning curve getting everything setup and working, but once I got over that hurdle, it did everything I wanted. I loved having the two exp-pedals. For being my first (and only) experience with MIDI, I thought it was great. I'm actually looking to get into it again - and is why I'm here checking out this pedal (and the reviews) again.

    I think people give Behringer a bad rap, but I would buy this product again and would consider any of their other products in my quest for tone.

  • Lance Sheffield
    from lsheffield13@netzero.com December 21, 2013Music Background:
    I've been recording and playing guitar for over 30 years

    Amazing

    Amazing...considering it sat in my basement for 2 years waiting to be programmed. Only after heavy flooding this summer in North Florida which also flooded out my basement while I was out of town only to come home and find it had been underwater for 2 days!! Needless to say, I was sure it was history. I decided just this week to turn it on...it came on, then I took it apart to see all the rust inside....no rust, then I decided to see if maybe it wasn't such a pain in the neck to program contrary to a lot of reviews I read....Now I feel very ignorant for not utilizing this extremely durable and useful unit earlier when I first bought it two years ago. I have had several other midi controllers over the years and this one was very simple (also Google FCB 1010 set up for idiots online) made it a 20 minute initial set-up. I use this with a tc electronics g-major with a BBE Sonic Maximizer through the effects loop on my Mesa Boogie MK II C+ and I have virtually any number of sounds and or configurations under my feet at any time. I doubt you could beat this unit at any price. There are tons of user groups and information out there to help out if you get stuck. If I can program this, you can program this....enjoy.

  • Customer
    from October 30, 2012

    FCB1010-- highly recommended

    I love the price and flexibility of this controller. I found a yahoo group dedicated to this product that provides excellent info- which is great considering the manual is useless. Please don't let some of the negative reviews steer you away from this box! A lot of these devices require programming! Give it a try- it will be worth your while.

  • Calvin Thomas
    from Baltimore, MD November 22, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    The Utility is in The Chip

    The Utility is in The Chip

    I read a review addressing the difficulty in programming this controller, and while the reviewer is correct, there are 3rd party chips out there such as the UnO chip and the EurekaProm, which make the pedal more useful. I use my FCB1010 with the Adrenalinn III and originally installed the UnO chip when I bought it. When the EurekaProm came out, I bought that and the difference was instantaneous. I did not have to do any external programming for the pedal; it was just plug and play. The EurekaProm is designed to optimize the FCB1010 to work with other units besides the Adrenalinn III, but my experience is only with that box. The FCB1010 with the EurekaProm installed allowed me to make maximum use of the Adrenalinn III, especially in a live situation, I can do tap tempo (for synced effects) right from the board, and the expression pedals can be configured to control whatever you need. I set most patches to have one pedal control volume and the other pedal control whatever parameter (delay volume, wah, etc.) I need from that patch. I can also turn off effects such as delay and compression, or turn on amp boost right from the FCB1010 in real time. When I compared the price of the FCB1010 with the Roland FC300, even adding in the price of the EurekaProm, you’re less than half the price of the Roland pedal. While the Roland pedal is easier to program, I say, why program when you can just plug in a chip and be on your way? If you’re the least bit squeamish about installing the chip yourself, rest assured I have close to zero tech skills and I was able to install both the UnO and the EurekaProm chips without killing the chips or the FCB1010 pedal, so if I can do it, so can you.

  • Customer
    from January 10, 2017

    what the Dr. ordered

    I am using a 5 keyboard rig (Thank you Aaron!) for live and needed a way to send out multiple prg changes and have pedal functions. This fits the bill perfectly. it also fits 'perfectly' in between the Z stand and X stand legs.
    I single tap and all 5 boards are setup. The ONLY thing that is a challenge is programming. I highly recommend the FCB1010 editors for Mac. it will make this a million times easier.

  • JT
    from EAST SIDE LONG BEACH November 14, 2015Music Background:
    IM A PLAYA

    PRETTY COOL CONTROLLER FOR ELEVEN RACK

    THIS THING WORKS GREAT WITH A EUREKA PROM2 AND THE ELEVEN RACK.
    SETUP WAS EASY, AND I WAS USING JUST LIKE I USE MY BIG TRAILER TRASH PEDALBOARD. WITH THE BUILT IN EXPRESION PEDALS IT COVERS MY BASES. ITS A VERY COMPACT UNIT AND FITS NICELY UNDER MY WORK DESK. ITS A NEW TOOL FOR CRAFTING SOUND SO THERE IS A LEARNING CURVE THAT GOES WITH IT BUT FOR 150 BUCKS AND A 35 DOLLAR CHIP ITS AWSOME.
    BUT ONE AND BE STOKED.

  • Juan Grabiel Pena
    from Pearsall Texas August 3, 2015Music Background:
    ALL MUSIC / PRO DRUMMER

    Juan Garbei; Pena

    Well I have the Behringer MIDI Foot Controller FCB1010

    MIDI Foot Controller with 2 Expression Pedals, 10 Banks Of Presets, and 2 Relay-controlled Programmable Switch Jacks
    had this in my room since 2012 and do enjoy it

  • Customer
    from Colorado September 15, 2014Music Background:
    38 years singing and playing Piano/keyboards

    Behringer MIDI Foot Controller FCB1010

    Use the pedal to control to and three keyboards. I play the bass and play keys and therefore need foot to control program changes and volume between boards. This pedal in direct mode works great and I am pretty sure there are not to many other manufacturers that have a pedal that perform this function for keyboard in a live performance environment

  • Rob
    from Columbus, OH July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Dependable

    I bought my second FCB1010 to use with my Kemper Profiling Amp. For me this FC has always been a pain to program but with the Kemper I order the UnoForKemper chip mod and its basically plug and play. I now can use both foot pedals for Wah and Volume.

    As for my other rig I use a G Major and use it for patch switching only. I now have purchased the Eureka prom for it and it's made programming much easier. I can use it for stomps and patch changes working right out of box.

    The one thing I like about the FCB1010 is that it is sturdy and has held up for many gigs. Red LED display for dark environments and it's own power cable not a wall wart.

  • Nikollo Nåst
    from November 15, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Sweet controller

    This controller works perfectly (easy to program). I use it to select/control the presets of a Mesa Boogie TriAxis and TC Electronic G-Major... Stereo sounds, effects loop, with no ground effects. Only a Boss TU-2 beside it. The expression pedal and volume pedal feel nice, although they don't feel strong, as if they would last forever. I will give this controller five years, and for the price, who are we kidding? It serves its purpose well.

  • Brian Higgins
    from Oak Forest, Illinois September 23, 2016

    great bang for your buck

    It does what its supposed to. I use mine to control my axe fx ultra, and its a great alternative to fractal's midi board because it is a lot cheaper, but you don't necessarily lose out on quality. Been using it for a while without any issues at all. There will be a bit of a learning curve to it as it is a bit hard to learn how to use, but once you do, its a solid piece of gear.

  • Harold
    from Arlington, Virginia April 9, 2016Music Background:
    Vocalist and midi woodwind player

    Midi Connection Under Foot

    Thanks for shipping the Behringer Midi Foot Controller. It works very well, and I am having a lot of fun using the foot controller.

  • David Hayes
    from Colorado November 6, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Musician, Songwriter, Producer

    Great value, minor issues

    Overall its a very good controller for the price. People sometimes complain about the difficult programming. But in my case it was not difficult at all, just a bit tedious. To make it faster this I purchased iFCB. Easy. It works great and I haven't had any major issues. Its pretty solid build-wise with a few minor annoyances, which I overlook due to price. MIDI merge works great. Recommended if you are looking for bang for buck.

    Minor issue, the optical sensors for the expression pedals are near impossible to calibrate to get a full throw. Essentially CC values start at 0 when the pedal is all the way back, but then skip over 2-13ish as you press up, so its pretty difficult to get a clean sweep of values up to 127. Volume swells are kind lame because of that. I may look into taking it apart and adjusting the optical sensors. I heard it has to do with their alignment and sensitivity. So maybe a layer of masking tape will fix it. Roland's expression pedal's do not suffer this fate.

    I would imagine that the momentary switches (inside each foot switch) are a little weak, and are the weakest link, as they are fairly cheaply made. However I doubt I will ever use this enough to see a problem.

    Be aware that without a new EProm you will not be able to get the lights for each foot switch to operate in a stomp box on/off way. It doesn't look like that is supported.

  • Alex
    from Santa Barbara July 1, 2015Music Background:
    Aspiring pro

    Additional program chip recommended

    My only issue has been the need to either program the Behringer myself or purchase a pre-programmed chip, which wasn't obvious to me at the time of purchasing the Behringer. In hindsight makes sense due to the Behringer's ability to work with a range of other products. I went ahead and ordered a Eureka prom 2 chip for $35 and now with fairly minimal installation work the Behringer is up and running with my eleven rack fine.

  • William Wittington
    from San Francisco July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good controller , does what it says .

    I reluctantly got this weary of stories of chips that needed replacement and that it was not the best build quality . I use it to control guitar rig and ableton at the same time . Its very simple to program . It's pedals feel as good as any multi fx guitar processor . I didnt need the chip or additional software though im sure those will allow more functionality . Like to beable to bypass specific fx per patch as opposed to just switching presets the chip will come in handy, at least when Controlling certain devices , but I havent needed it . Like a Akai MPD on the floor . I dont find it bulky but rather compact . Thanks to Jeff Law and the other folks at Sweetwater .

  • Jason
    from Detroit May 27, 2015

    Works if you put in the work!

    There has to be an easier way to do this stuff (for the less-initiated, that is), but now that I'm wrapping my brain around it, I think I'm going to get a lot of use out of this pedal. I'm using it with MainStage and once I got some additional software for that purpose, plus the right interface, and put in the hours, it all started to come together. Along with my Apogee Duet and a midi keyboard, I can control every aspect of the song like a mad scientist. My caveats aside, this setup is really powerful and opens up a lot of possibilities.

  • Jeremy Shimabukuro
    from United States February 26, 2012Music Background:
    Lifelong musician, recent convert to digital musician

    Firmware issues solved with iFCB software

    My primary motivation for purchasing the fcb1010 was the need to control Amplitube. Amp simulations have become my primary guitar platform, and using a mouse to adjust stompboxes is simply counterintuitive.

    I had researched the problems concerning fcb's limitations with such products, but decided to try my luck anyway. The general consensus is quite correct... by itself, the fcb1010 is a virtually useless controller for Amplitube, and a cumbersome "riverdance" for any other application. Fortunately, there is a third party software called iFCB which solves a host of complaints if using a MAC. (There is also a PC program from a different developer, but I have not used it.)

    Not only will it give you a straight forward interface in which to program the controller, but it also solves the stompbox problem in Amplitube which demands 2 CC values to operate properly. The only limitation with this fix is that you can only control up to 5 pedals. This wasn't a problem for me, but might be for some.

    I was happy I didn't have to install a chip and void my warranty. I still had to purchase this privilege, but even after the 20 bucks for the software, the fcb1010 is still the best bargin for what I needed.

    It's built like a tank and has a ton of flexibility, making it useful for virtually any situation where you need to control something by midi. I'm still finding uses for it.

  • Doug McCutcheon
    from Cleveland OH May 16, 2017Music Background:
    Keyboard with Swamp Boogie Band

    Nice unit, but....

    I'm not the kind of guy who likes surprises. I bought this unit to send program changes to my Yamaha Montage when the gig requires more speed than digging through the playlists.
    This has a couple if different selection modes. You can either select a patch by selecting the bank via the up and down switches and then the second number of the patch by pressing one of the 1 thru (1)0 switches. In direct mode, you can select the first and second number one after another.
    What they don't tell you in the manual is that if you go into to direct mode, you have to subtract one from the patch number to get the patch you want. What would be patch 41 in nondirect mode becomes patch 40 in Direct mode. Their support personnel can't seem to explain why this happens, only that it does.
    I would have given this unit four stars, even with this little glitch, except for the fact that the manual seems to be the work of a very lazy staff. Be sure to visit the online forums and user groups for this particular unit; they were invaluable to me.

  • Blane Weiss
    from San Francisco December 2, 2015

    FCB101 - is a drag!

    So far it's been a nightmare to even get this FCB to register with my MAC. You have to buy an additional program like IFCB , then you need a very specific midi unit to transfer the info back and forth. It's a nightmare to get going. Why don't these guys just make this a USB plug and play. I don't want to be computer engineer to get this going. I just want to be able to plug it in and map the FCB controls to whatever program. Is that too much to ask. Way more hassle than it appears

  • Customer
    from October 14, 2011Music Background:
    professional

    musician

    This is very complicated, not very user friendly to program. Would not recommend it!

Questions about the Behringer MIDI Foot Controller FCB1010?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway