0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Line 6 FBV Shortboard MkII Reviews

4.5 stars based on 28 customer reviews
Questions about the Line 6 FBV Shortboard MkII?

Questions about the Line 6 FBV Shortboard MkII?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from September 30, 2016Music Background:
    5 years off and on

    Shortboard

    This thing is awesome, I love the versatility with my spider iv 75. The ability to go in a change the presets on all your songs through the monkey software. It has truly got me playing again. I've been playing with a guy that's played for around 40 years and he is thoroughly impressed by all this gear. For the price you cannot beat it. The short board has the versatility to do practically anything that you want it to do and is very easy to set up. Would recommend to anybody.

  • from Plano, TX February 8, 2016

    This is a must for your Spider IV amp

    I have owned a Spider IV 75 combo amp for years but have been hesitant to pull the trigger on the Shortboard. Now after purchasing it, I wish I had bought it much sooner. It really makes your Spider IV amp so much more usable. It's built like a tank, all metal, and the switches feel like they will never wear out.

  • from Lynwood, IL September 18, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar, bass, vox

    Great value

    Wanted to switch between more patches than just back and forth, or one at a time either way. I have a song that I use, in this order: patch 1, 2, 1, 2, 4, 1, 2, 1, 2, and 3. This was nearly impossible with my old FBV2 two-switch channel switcher. The board is built solidly, I don't use it with the PODs. My only issues are the vol/wah on-board pedal. You have to push down pretty hard to get it to change from one to the other, and I haven't yet figured out how to adjust the parameters independently for vol and wah. Since I don't use wah very often, it's not a show-stopper,

  • from Kiln, MS March 27, 2015

    Line 6 FBV Shortboard MkII

    Sweet is all I can say if you have a Line 6 Spider IV 120 or 150 you definitely need the FBV Shortboard to go with it

  • from Tulsa, OK January 6, 2015Music Background:
    20+ Years Bass guitar. Church musician.

    This was a gift

    I had never known of a pedal board that was just for a specific amp other than a channel selector. I am looking forward to sing this one being used.

  • from December 6, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    great piece of kit

    Solid construction, great control, a must have if you own a line 6 amp and want to use it to its true potential. I dont know why I waited so long to get it.

  • from Goshen, Ohio July 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Frees your hands

    A must for the line 6 spider amps. can easily use your foot to change presets instead of laying down the guitar to do it. Well built. Glad I got it.

  • from Irmo July 19, 2014Music Background:
    Musical Hobbyist

    Awesome Accessory!

    If you have a Line 6 Spider amp you need (check the wording, "NEED") this accessory. Simply plug it directly to your amp with included RJ-45 cable or connect to your computer via USB cable to customize the configuration and use within apps such as POD Farm and Reason. It is incredibly flexible and very well made using heavy duty construction materials.

  • from Maine, USA June 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great so far...

    This board does everything I hoped it would, it is definitely a step up from the Express version. In fact, I have to say that my Express board just flat-out died, so hesitantly, I bought this one. I wanted this product originally but couldn't afford the extra $100. And in case your wondering, I didn't do anything out of the ordinary to kill the Express. So I am definitely going to see how the Shortboard MkII holds up. So far, so good...

    The reviews I have read pretty much cover how well this board is made, and I agree that it is a sturdily built product. And the 2-yr warranty was a selling point as well. My Express board warranty had already run out. So I'm quite happy with the Shortboard MkII, and highly suggest it over the Express board, in case you're waffling over the money. My experience says, BUY the Shortboard, it's worth the extra $100.

  • from Yorkville, IL April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Musical Hobbiest

    Wow!

    Absolutely fantastic! Does what it says and more. One note: the secondary pedal jack does nothing different than the on-board pedal with a spider jam amp. That is not mentioned in any of the Line 6 literature, and you wouldn't know it until you tried it out. I talked with line 6 today and confirmed this. They agreed they should probably mention it in their information. The Mk II is fantastic!!

  • from Buchanan Dam, TX August 31, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, church player/singer.

    MUST have if you own a Spider Amp!

    Never owned a guitar stompbox before, and was anticipating a really hard time learning all the ins and outs of this monster. Ha! Up and running (comfortably) in minutes (seconds, actually). Didn't take but a few days before I ran across a video on it, detailing some things I probably could've read in the manual (if I'd read it), such as the Function 2 switch putting the looper ready for use. Owning the Spider IV amp without the FBV Shortboard is NOT AN OPTION!

  • from Mobile, AL USA October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Songwriter

    A Must Have

    If you own a Line 6 amp and perform live this control board is a must have. Complete control of your amplifier at your feet.
    From volume, presets, effects and an awesome expression pedal.
    Well built and solid.

  • from Sunny Southern Wisconsin January 21, 2012Music Background:
    Basement, backyard and garage band musician

    Added flexibility for the HD bean

    Not mentioned in the compatibility list is the Pod HD desktop "bean" model. This board is recommended in the Pod HD user's guide.
    I use my HD live mounted on a mic stand or attached to the top of a powered monitor. Now I have the option of adding a wah pedal to my patches along with many other choices accessible with the footswitches.
    This MkII model is an improvement over the older shortboard featuring hardier footswitches and rugged steel construction all around. The size of the display is a non-issue for me as I can look at the screen on the HD bean when I'm using them both.
    I recommend getting the Line 6 FBV Shortboard/PODxt Bag with this as it fits perfectly.

  • from Son, Holland January 16, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur in a coverband

    Perfect combination with LowDown LD 300

    I play in a coverband and created several variations on the Rock, Motown and Eden-models. Now I can choose the right one for any song we play. 36 presets in stead of 4. Perfect !

  • from Toronto, Ontario December 18, 2011

    Great Pedalboard

    The FBV Shortboard has great versatility with my Spider Valve Mk11. Best possible choice for any Line 6 product.

  • from Costa Rica October 31, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Nice Gear !!

    It works perfectly with my Lowdown (LD 300)

    Full recommended !!!

  • from Levittown, Pa. October 21, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, Singer/Songwriter ETC.

    Line 6 FBV Shortboard MkII Is AWESOME!!!!!

    I love the way that the pedal needs no electrical adapter just plug it in via the CAT5 cable (Included) and your off to the races. It's also laid out very well and gives me instant control. I am especially blown away at how rugged it is. This board is a Brick S@#T House. Solid as a rock. I love the controller as well.

  • from Buna, tx USA July 16, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome !!

    This is an awesome tool to have and very versatile. My only complaint is that it only works for Line 6 products.

  • from Brooklyn, NY May 3, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, Vocalist, Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer, Music Producer and Songwriter

    Perfect match for my perfect amp!

    I use the FBV Shortboard MKII with my SpiderValve MKII 2x12.

    The integration is perfect! At first I had thought that I wished for it to have two expression pedals, but it's fine with just one (plus you can add one if you like). The coolest thing is that it serves as a midi controller for your computer. Line 6 is pretty reliable with their software so you can perform updates and program your amp and pedal board via usb.

  • from Naperville, Illinois April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Jazz Studies Student at North Central College

    Great complement for my Amplifi

    I saw a video online of the FBV Shortboard MkII being used with the Amplifi and it seemed to be the missing piece to make that amplifier perfect for live performances; and sure it was! It is very easy to use and it allows you to get the best experience out of an amplifier like that. You can take control of all the effects and features of the Amplifi so you can easily turn them off and on during your performance. I don't have the optional expression pedal that you can add to it, but with the built-in volume/wah pedal it's been enough for me.

  • from Elkhart Indiana U.S.A. January 28, 2014Music Background:
    40 Years+ Performing and Recording Musician

    Works Well

    This is my second "Shortboard" for my Line 6 Amps. If your going to use these amps for a gig, you MUST have one ! The only thing I would change is the "tap" with the "funtion 1". But other than that, it works well. Good construction,and road worthy.

  • from United States November 21, 2013Music Background:
    40 PLUS YEARS PLAYING GUITAR

    Like Magic

    I'M REALLY IMPRESSED - - I HAVE TWO LINE 6 AMPS AND I WAS OVERWHELMED BY THE NUMBER OF DIFFERENT SETTING OPTIONS, BUT AFTER DOWNLOADING THE APPS FROM THEIR SITE I FIGURED IT OUT. I HAVE 6 GUITARS, BUT DON'T USE A MULTITUDE OF EFFECTS, SO I ASSIGNED THE FIRST 6 SETTINGS TO EACH OF THE DIFFERENT GUITARS AND NOW ALL I DO IS DIAL IN THE GUITAR MODEL AND I'M GOOD TO GO WITHOUT EVEN USING THE FOOTSWITCHES IF I DESIRE - - AWESOME!!!!!

  • from Elkhart IN. U.S.A. November 12, 2013Music Background:
    Working Musician 40+years

    Good controller

    If your going to "Gig" with a Line6 amp, you MUST have one of these ! The foot switches are far enough apart to work easily. And the "readout" is easy to see. I would have put the "Funtion1" elsewhere, but other than that, its fine.Make sure you "Calibrate" the volum pedal for what your using or it "surges" but thats fixable.Good steel construction , and well worth the price of admission

  • from 93436 February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Working cover band musician

    Not what I was expecting, but it's still quality

    I thought I'd have more control over effects and more memory storage from the purchase of this board, for the price. Since it does not, I am making the best of the situation and realize that I may still have to purchase an effects board. Seems like an expensive upgrade from what I used to use.

  • from Frabklin, TN November 23, 2010Music Background:
    50 years of guitar playing mostly as a hobbyist, including several years as a profesional and a number of years teaching. I am now a retired executive and have much more time to compose and record music in my home studio. I play keyboards as well.

    Great Addition to Compatibale Line 6 amps

    The Line 6 FBV Shortboard MkII is a great piece of equipment but cannot really be reviewed on its own without linkage to Line 6 amplifiers or other equipment that are fully compatibale with the FBV Shortboard. Accordingly, please read my review of the Line 6 Spider IV amp. The review of the Spider IV 150 discusses how well it works with the FBV Shortboard and vice versa. Together they are a rare complete guitar amplification package that contains hundreds of preset FX and sounds and lets the user edit those sounds into what is seemingly an infinite variety.

  • from Sunny Southern Wisconsin February 13, 2012Music Background:
    Garage and basement rock star

    Sturdy and functional

    I bought this to pair up with a Pod HD desktop bean. Based on recommendations from the Line 6 HD forums, this model conveniently opens up the functionality of the HD bean for live playing. LEDs are nice and bright, and I haven't had any issues with the readability of the on-board display.
    The switches are well constructed and the pedal action is smooth and easy.
    The case is steel, and seems fairly sturdy without being too heavy to tote around. Comes with a nice long cable (to plug into the unit to be controlled) that's coiled up tightly, so when you unroll it, it's easy to coil it right back up again.
    Get's the job done and it looks pretty cool too.

  • from Michigan February 10, 2012Music Background:
    clarinet. guitar

    A must have for Spider IV 75

    This pedal board is a must have with a line 6
    Spider 75 amp. The ability to plug in a laptop to
    tweek and organize sound pathes is a lot better
    then using the amp screen. Plus you get the wah/volumn
    pedal and foot switch control of the looper.

  • from Walnut Creek, CA August 12, 2012Music Background:
    Embedded Systems designer and music enthusiast

    Good product when/if you can figure it out....

    I am a very savy computer guy, and I have to say, I do not understand how the earlier reviewers of this pedal board can say it was easy to setup and learn! I suspect they work for Line 6!

    Upon first use, the pedal board will switch patches easily but if you want to use the extended functions (like the looper function or control Amp & FX parameters), be prepared for hours of experimentation and pain.

    First of all, the manual only contains 50% of what you need to know. You will be jumping all over the manaul to weed out the bits and pieces needed to configure the unit. It will drive you nuts when the manual tells you a function exists, but does not tell you how to access it or configure it! This happens throughout the manual.

    Here are a few examples: The manaul constantly refers to FS1 thu FS8 (footswitch 1-8) but you will not find these identifier on the face of the unit! There are 13 footswitches on the unit and FS1 - FS8 are not contiguous and/or marked on the unit. After careful experimentation and using an obscure table in the appendix, I finally deduced which buttons are FS1 thru FS8!

    Here is another example: in the manual, they refer to the 'Toe Switch' to change modes on the Expression Pedal. Not once in the manaul will you find the definition of a Toe Switch or where it is located. I assume it is part of the Expression Pedal, but I never figured it out. These are only two examples of the many ommissions in the manaul.

    Next, It amazed me that there is no picture of the unit in the manaul with a legend showing button ids and functions. After a lot of digging, you will find deduce 50% of the information by reading and re-reading the manual, but this is un-acceptable. Most technical manuals will have tutorials on the use of the equipment. There are no tutorials in the manual.

    Lastly, After 6 hours of painful experimentation, I finally figured out most of the pedalboard functionality. The only problem I could not resolve is how to engage the expression pedal EXP-1. I tried for two hours to get the expression pedal to contol my POD HD Pro WAH pedal. I never got it working. At this point, I am convinced that the expression pedal was DOA since I received the pedalboard in an open box. My one and only Line 6 support experience was akin to 'go away, don't bother us', so I am shipping the unit back to the Sweetwater and asking for another unit in an unopened Line 6 box.

    On a positive note, I think Line 6 has an excellent engineering team and I am very impressed and happy with my POD HD Pro and the excellent software that came with the unit. It is obvious that Line 6 put very little effort into documentation of this pedalboard, but I will get another unit and try again.

    To conclude, I will tell you that features of the pedal board ARE NOT intuitive. Imagine being told to stand on your head and spin with your left hand behind your back to engage a pedal board function. This is something you would never guess and you will not find in the manual. However, I do believe that at the end of this painful journey I will love and recommend the unit!

    Good luck and happy hunting!

Questions about the Line 6 FBV Shortboard MkII?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway