0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

PreSonus Eris E8 8" Powered Studio Monitor Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus Eris E8 8" Powered Studio Monitor?

Questions about the PreSonus Eris E8 8" Powered Studio Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Stafford, Virginia September 14, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist, Drummer

    Loud and Clear!

    These monitors have superior sound quality.
    I use them to enhance the sound of guitar backing tracks and tutorials that I play to on my laptop computer.
    Easy to hook-up...You won't be disappointed.

  • from Sulphur, La December 11, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Arranger/Producer

    Yes!

    These speakers perform as advertised. Perfect for my small home studio. I also use a pair of small Auratone
    speakers to slightly enhance the mid-range just to be sure that I don't overshoot the highs when mixing.

  • from Georgetown, IN August 5, 2015

    Great Monitors

    I played around with KRKs for a year before I had to give them back to the guy who shared them with me. I chose these because I wanted to expand my horizons on the matter a bit and they were a bit cheaper. Now I've been using these for almost two years and I have almost no complaints. In my current environment (completely untreated bedroom producer setup) I get good sub, decent mid-low and great highs. It tends to make songs sound a bit funkier, as in (assuming you aren't FOB as far as monitors go) if you jump over from KRKs to this you might notice a slight valley between the upper and lower end of a bass track, but the difference is negligible. They've been through many a night of drunken block blasting and an above-average amount of moving around and they're still solid as a rock. No regrets with this what so ever.

  • from Albuquerque, NM June 11, 2015

    Incredible Powered Monitors

    These are incredible monitors for the price. The are practically full range, have a very neutral sound, and are powerful. I'm quite impressed with their sound. They are being used for mixing audio for video and music. I was not expecting this sound in this price range and to my ears sound better than many others costing much more. You won't be disappointed, try them out.

  • from Tallahassee, FL November 14, 2014Music Background:
    35+ years as a studio engineer, sound designer, musician

    Open your eyes and ears!

    I work at a government job in the production studio. Sweetwater's Kenny Bergle recommended these monitors because my home studio speakers (which I love) are no longer available. I finally got them hooked up to the amazing new MacPro and the sound quality is as good or better than my treasured home monitors. One thing in particular impressed me: The spacial soundstage is stunning. Listening to a favored reference track, I actually heard the calves seemingly "floating" above the other instruments. With eyes closed, I felt like I could reach out and touch them hovering two feet above the Eris E8s. Beautifully articulate with more bass than the specs would lead you to expect. And the price is a steal! Buy 'em and prepare to be amazed!

  • from Jamaica October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Composer, Record Producer

    Eris 8 all the way!!

    Simply brilliant. Glad I got these over the KRK's!!. My previous monitors were too bright, the Eris 8 revealed that and shamed me at the same time when I replayed previous mixes through them. These are honest clear, flat, punchy monitors!!. Maybe the next leap is the Sceptre 8? hmm

  • from Cape Elizabeth, ME USA October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    PreSonus Eris E*

    Very sweet speakers and nice low end for this size.
    Appreciate all the support and advice received from Andy at Sweetwater, always spot on. Buy these with confidence, you will not be disappointed. Great value for money, difficult to find anything better sounding set at such low price

  • from Goose Creek, SC August 21, 2014Music Background:
    Roockie Producer/Songwritter

    Love em, Love em, Love em

    Full Disclosure:
    This was my first purchase of real studio monitors.

    I have had these for 9 months now and have no issues, They have a feature that ramps up power so you don't get that POP sound when you turn them on, The bass is very clean and the overall sound is very flat. I use monitor headphones as well and have found that my final recordings to MP3 sound closest to what I hear on these E8s. I love having so many forms of connections on the back, and their are video instructions on how to properly tune them for your studio on the web.

    Ow yeh,, make sure you compare the stats of what you're looking for. I personally could not find better stats for any 8" monitors in this price range anywhere on the net.

    P.S. make sure you register each speaker. EACH SPEAKER comes with a license of their Studio One Artist software. I don't use the software but it's nice to know that it's out their.

  • from Maurice, LA August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Engineer, Student

    Incredible

    These speakers sound incredible definitely worth the money, you will not be disappointed.

  • from Sacramento, CA June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording engineer

    Loud as heck

    Massive amount of volume coming out of these puppies. Love the connectivity (RCA, 1/4 inch, and XLR). Amazing detail is easy to achieve with the Middle and Treble controls. They take up a bit of room, but will fill a rather large space with loud, punchy sound.

  • from Kennewick, WA USA May 6, 2014Music Background:
    Mixing and Recording Engineer

    Won't find better monitors for the price

    As a rising audio engineer I have worked in a few different studios. I've heard a vast array of studio monitors from the legendary NS-10 to the sE Munro Egg. For the price these monitors are more than fantastic. The accuracy that these monitors output is great.

    Having a trained ear I was amazed when I first turned them on, switching from my old JBL studio monitors, the difference was almost night and day. I was pleased right from the start and after retuning my room I was even happier. These bad boys tightened up the response of my room tremendously. Even bringing in friends who are very non "audio oriented" commented on the clarity of these studio monitors.

    The biggest PRO is obviously what you are getting for the price. They also have a clean look and excellent features. If you are looking for the absolute best response obviously you are going to want to get a subwoofer as these are not designed for crazy amounts of bass. I'm looking forward to trying the PreSonus Temblor T10.

    So far I have not come across any cons. They do what they are designed to and do it well. No issues and even when running them all day long they do not get very warm.

    Great studio monitor if these are what your price range allows I would highly recommend them.

  • from Groveport, OH February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    These are EXCELLENT Reference Monitors

    For the price these are an excellent deal. I opted to spend the extra money and get the E8's over the E5's to make sure I had necessary bass response. These work perfectly in my studio and I see no reason to purchase a subwoofer.

  • from Fort Worth TX May 23, 2013Music Background:
    DJ, Hobbyist producer

    Powerhouse Budget Monitors

    I was in the market for a set of monitors for 2 reasons: First, I am an amateur producer, learning my craft. I needed monitors to get a clearer picture of what I was producing. Second, I'm having to relocate to a tiny 1 bedroom apartment. I have a 3000 watt pa system complete with subs that I use for shows that I put on myself. My current living situation allowed me to use that system without too much police involvement lol. But for a tiny apartment I needed something smaller, and I didn't want to sacrifice sound quality.

    I had originally intended to purchase a pair of KRK Rokit 8 monitors. However I noticed these had a lower frequency response and higher wattage. I had a lot of experience with the KRKs because a lot of my friends had them. After hearing the Eris 8s in person, I have no regrets about not getting the KRKs.

    The bass response is phenomenal. I play mainly dark dubstep and drum and bass. I was dreading not having a subwoofer, but honestly these have enough response under 40 hz to keep me happy. Even at extremely low volumes. The sound is very transparent. If the song doesn't have a lot of low end it becomes very apparent.

    If you are looking for a speaker that won't color your sound with artificial bottom and mid range boost, these are for you. If sound quality at low volume levels are your thing, get these. If you need to rock a house party, these can handle that too. I'm absolutely amazed. I'm thinking about getting a pair of the e5s for my tv haha.

  • from United States February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Hobbyist

    Amazingly Honest Monitors, especially for the Price!

    I got to test a set of these speaker for a magazine review, and didn't realize how bad my previous monitors were until I heard my mixes through these! When I sent the speakers back, I ordered a pair from Sweetwater the next day! The Eris E8 speakers give you an honest representation of the recording, making it easier to get the mix where you want. I am so happy I made the jump to these monitors. My mixing time has been cut in half because I can get most of the way to a final mix in one pass! When choosing monitors, definitely consider a pair of these.

  • from Paso Robles, California April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Re-Recording mixer

    Eris E8

    So far without a tuned room I'm able to use them for editorial purposes. The next test will be in a tuned room syayed tuned………….no pune intended

  • from January 23, 2014Music Background:
    music producer

    make sure you buy 2

    A great studio monitor. I ordered only one piece thinking it would ship in pairs.
    Very solid and ruggedised. You woukdnt regret it.

    Use it for my electric drums.

  • from Maryland September 15, 2016Music Background:
    Dj & Internet Radio show host

    Awesome when they work

    I have been using KRK Rokit4 monitors for the past 8 years and decided it was time for a change.
    I bought a Pair of these E8's and the Temblor 10" sub.
    The reason why i did not give this monitor a 5 star rating is because, i think that i got a lemon with one of the Eris E8's.
    These speakers sound awesome you really only need one sub with these depending on your application.
    The first time i connected one of the E8's 10-15 minutes after turning it on and running music at 40% volume, it stopped working.
    I tried changing Power cord, power outlet, xlr cable, and the fuse and still no sound. The logo was still illuminated and the back was warm to the touch "not hot".
    Fortunate i called my Sales guy Jared and his associate Josh help me out with getting it replaced fingers crossed.

  • from United States November 29, 2014Music Background:
    production

    on point for mixing and true listenig

    Just to add to other reviews, the E8 has a great flat sound with naked lows and mids..might be too naked for those looking for a KRK hyped sound..great for mixing and producing at medium to low volumes..I have a 10" subwoofer that when active, doesnt add much to the low end..the E8 has a detailed low end. it not meant to rumble the room..It allows me to get busy when mixing my kicks and basses...i also have a set of behringer cubes for referencing the mid freqs..when I a-b them, it gives me accurate translations..lastly, the sweet spot is very wide allowing for excellent traditional mix position or moving around the room.. the sound stays consistant..i have a treated room that truly shines with this set up...im coming from yamaha hs50

  • from March 24, 2015Music Background:
    Composer

    The most accurate and honest speaker in the price range - this may or may not suit your style!

    I purchased these about four months ago. I really should have saved longer and gone for something a little high up the food chain (These are my fourth or fifth pair of entry level speakers... I could have kept the first pair for the past few years and gotten some Focals or Neumanns for no extra outlay by now!) but I was really keen to try something new and these were getting absolutely rave reviews, so I thought why not? I did a/b comparisons in the store with monitors I was more familiar with, and was indeed very impressed with the clarity and level of detail these speakers have to offer - comparing them to several MUCH more expensive speakers, their stereo imaging and overall sound (minus the lows, where these are decent but far from exceptional) was perfectly usable. Of what the store in question had on demo, you had to go all the way to the Dynaudio BM speakers (with a price tag three times that of the Eris) before you got any real, noticeable difference in quality, to my ears at least. I found them a little bright and forward for my taste, but there was no denying that their level of detail was streets ahead of anything else for the money, so I decided to take the plunge.

    When you're breaking them in, the bass seems to flake out even at fairly modest levels - don't worry, this is temporary. After a week or two of moderate to light use, they start to sound like their true selves.

    Listening to a wide range of material confirmed my initial findings - the Eris E8 is has a fairly forward sound, ever so vaguely reminiscent of the NS10 in the fact that the harsh upper mids (maybe 2-4kHz) are very present and in your face. This gives you an excellent insight into a well recorded & mixed track, which will seem to blossom right in front of you, but a poorly mastered (read: overly loud) track will grate your ears to shreds and sound terrible, so I'd call these fairly unsuitable if you're working in EDM or such, unless you want tinnitus. The stereo imaging is rich and detailed, and there is plenty of volume. My only slight criticism of the sound is in the low end, where you'll find them to be a bit muddy in the time domain and fairly overshadowed by those powerful mids. It is however a fairly strong, creamy bass tone, with enough detail to work with, and is certainly the best I've heard in the price range. There are controls to tame or boost the highs above 4K & the mids between 500hz and 2K, but the aforementioned overtly powerful 2-4K range cannot be controlled, and there are only controls to attenuate the bass, so my two personal gripes with these otherwise excellent speakers happen to be the only two things you can't shape with the tone controls. However, if you like honest, forward monitors, these will not be issues for you.

    As good as they sound, I must confess that they really haven't done me much good. I work as a composer for media, and most of the music I make is orchestral with lots of modern sound design elements. This is a tricky genre to mix - the dynamics and grace of an orchestra need to be blended with the full-frequency chaos of aggressive synths and really, really big drum & percussion sounds. To top it off, any companies that don't use 3rd party mastering studios ask you for this kind of music delivered loud, with crisp highs and strong bass. From a technical perspective, my mixes on these are better than they have been on any other monitor I've owned - the bass is controlled and tight, the instruments fill up the frequency and stereo space in a well ordered, clean manner and there is a nice sense of cohesion to the finished product. HOWEVER, no matter what I do, I can't seem to avoid making the tracks a bit dull in the high end, in both frequency and dynamics. With all my other pairs of monitors (entry level speakers from Event, Tannoy, M-Audio, Mackie and more), the cleanliness and technical structure of my mixes was sloppy in comparison, but I delivered loud, punchy, crisp mix downs that people responded well to. With the E8s, the tracks do translate well to other systems but they just sound so faded compared to other peoples work, and I often get several requests to remix the tracks before they're signed off. With all that searing detail pushing out in the upper mids, it takes a braver man than I to crank the treble and make an aggressive mix down. If you work with music that suits softer mixing, such as pop or any acoustically dominated music, I'd call these the hands down winners in the price range, and would probably take them against anything I've heard at twice the price too. But if you need to mix loud and aggressive (and let's face it, that's most genres these days), it's legitimately difficult to do so on the E8s without hurting your ears.

    So overall I can't give these a bad score - they sound fantastic, and for the price you certainly won't find a better monitor in a technical sense - but if like me you need to make loud, aggressive music, these are a gamble. I think next time I'll probably go for something like the BM6 or Focal CMS series. If they only had a control to tame those harsh upper mids, I think Presonus would be putting a lot of other companies out of business with these. Perhaps a future version will address the issue.

  • from June 25, 2015

    Great at the gun, doesn't quite finish the race.

    These monitors are GREAT*
    These are great if you're just tracking/producing and are eventually send it off to someone else.**
    If you're trying to produce album ready / super great mixes for clients and/or submissions to artists/engineers/managers... Just save up and wait to get a better pair....

    The 1 - 5k range is very harsh.*** You'll probably reduce everything in this range to preserve your sanity, then fix it after you hear your mixes elsewhere.

    The lows are pretty bad. This bad (-_-)
    5 star price
    2 star 1-5K
    1 star lows
    3 star mids
    3 star stereo imaging
    100 stars if you're finally putting on your big boy pants and stepping into the enthusiast lane and buying real monitors.

    * if they are your first pair... ** But they won't be excited about you as a human. ***probably more 2-4k, but don't wanna get overly specific

  • from tacoma, wa January 25, 2014Music Background:
    songwriter/engineer

    PreSonus Eris E8

    When I first got them I thought they were loud as heck and very edgy....in the highs.....but they crap out if you turn them up....especially with the bass, it will make the woofers flabby....I don't listen to music too loud, but when turn them up above -.3.0 or -4.0 db if the music is mastered loud they start flabbing out.....like most stuff is mastered too loud, I agree with Bob Katz all the way but I'll take the KRK Monitors....I used the Rockit 5 monitors for 8 years and never once ever heard the woofers flap out....at the highest volumes....so Presonus has a mismatch in either speakers or amps .....and I will not buy anymore Presonus Monitors.....save your money and get the KRK Rockit 10-3....man I sure wish I had waited cuz now I'm stuck!

Questions about the PreSonus Eris E8 8" Powered Studio Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway