0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

PreSonus Eris E66 Dual 6.5" Powered Studio Monitor Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus Eris E66 Dual 6.5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Questions about the PreSonus Eris E66 Dual 6.5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from March 13, 2017Music Background:
    Music Engjneer

    E66 Amazing!

    E66, will what can I say but WOW! The minute I started using the E66 I walked out of the darkness into the light. The E66 MTM will improve your mix I a 100% I guarantee weather your a beginner or a seasoned Vet you will love what you hear. Great job Personus. A must have

  • from Hilton Head Island April 10, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist, songwriting and live sound for 30+ years

    Great Quality and Sonic Fidelity

    I am not a long time studio mix/master veteran however, I have been gigging, live mixing and recording in studios for just over 30 years. I bought these as part of home recording studio setup. I no longer have the time to dedicate to live/recording projects.

    That said, I decided on these MTM monitors due to price point, flexibility of usage in various room configurations, amp/power specifications and tune ability. The monitors appear to be manufactured to very high quality standards and upon initial inspection and hookup, I cannot find a single flaw with workmanship. The mass is substantial and the chassis is very well designed.

    After using these for 3 months, I have grown very fond of their clarity and sonic fidelity. I have not heard higher end monitor systems to compare, however I have a clear understanding and an adept ear for acoustic fidelity and, after proper tuning (which Presonus provides clear, pragmatic tips) these MTMs are strongly producing all of the frequencies and advertised without muddy 80-300-ish-hz. During mixes and post dynamics, it is very discernable shelving EQ's and compressor/limiter parameters through the spectrum. Note that I do pair these with a T10 and have tested them with active and de-active. Being a bass player, this was a must. You know how we are about low end.

    I connect them with Mogami XLRs and plug them into a highly shielded power chain. I cannot even tell they are on as I type this. Very quiet with no persistent anomalous noise.

    In summary, for the price point, the excellent support structure from Presonus and high level of QA and workmanship, I recommend these monitors to anyone who is looking for quality gear in this price range. I have a high degree of confidence with these monitors. Which in my opinion, is very important.

    Sweetwater? Goes without saying.. You cannot find better service and support in this galaxy.

  • from January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Producer

    What a great product

    I was looking for a dual LF drivers and found the E66. Didnt think twice and got one speaker as central (for mono references). Very pleased with it. I gotta thanks Mike for his help. Thank you guys :)

  • from Poplar Bluff Missouri January 13, 2017Music Background:
    Producer/Artist/Musician

    Giant Killer

    The PreSonus Eris E66 are the first Presonus products we have ever owned. I am coming from the original Alesis Active Monitor One's that have been in use for about 14 years. PreSonus caught my attention with the Sceptre series, but due to a limited time buy one get one free special, I couldn't pass on the E66.

    The first thing one will notice about the E66 is the aesthetic, I am a fan of the design. The dual 6.5 inch kevlar woofer design is unique not just technically but visually as well. I am a firm believer in presentation, and the look is all class. The cones are finished in a blue tint that gives the boxes a modern look without being obnoxious and clashing with other studio elements.

    Coming from the Alesis these are my observations. Immediately the biggest difference was stereo placement of instruments. In my mix position, placement in the stereo field really stands out. The frequency spectrum is well represented, starting with a solid, tight, controlled bottom end. There is more than enough power for mixing. The E66 seem to provide a clearer window into what is happening in a mix overall relative the Alesis, FX choices, EQ choices, etc. all seem much more distinct, and will push the producer to polish the mix, which is the ultimate goal. If one wants to intentionally hype the mix to a degree to inspire performances while tracking, there is plenty of control on the rear, which can be returned to a flat state for translatable, serious mixing.

    Ultimately the only issue I have doesn't really involve the actual product at all. From a marketing perspective I think PreSonus, undersells the Eris series, not as much with the MTM line, but the series in general is presented in much of their material in a way that to a degree diminishes the product's potential. They should really position the speaker as a giant killer, a professional tool usable on the highest of levels, while being accessible to most anyone. Products of this sort truly are equalizers, they take budget out of the equation and make producers competitive based on creativity and talent. PreSonus really should sell that angle, reaching beyond the entry level marketing language.

  • from Austin, TX October 26, 2015Music Background:
    Mix Engineer

    You can't find anything better at or near this price.

    The E66 reproduces dynamics and detail throughout its range well. There is a little bit of smear on the low end but you can virtually eliminate that with the Iso Acoustics stands which I consider a must have for any monitor purchase. After doing 3 mixes this past week on them I find the translation to other playback devices is predictable. The usable low end goes down to about 60 to 65Hz. The sweet spot is larger than a typical single woofer and tweeter design but maybe not as huge as the marketing material claims. However this is more than adequate for smaller home studio mix positions.

  • from Houston, TX February 9, 2017

    Perfect for bedroom studio.

    I believe these monitors are the solution for the home studio. Small room with basic corner traps and 2 by 4 foam panels about 40% to 50% should get you there with out any flutter echo,or delay. The cool thing is adjusting and calibrating them. For example if its a bit muddy or boxy sounding just back off on the space acoustic button, and back off or boost mids and highs if needed for flat response using a frequency analyzer (free apps work well). Imaging is superb, of course if you have a good DAC it really shows. They will amaze you on power (very loud). Ive owned Yamaha hs5 w/sub, mackie h8, events 20/20, and alesis m1active (the originals). None of them produce imaging like the iris e66. Now they do hiss and buzz, but it shouldn't bother you unless you're Hans Zimmer or something of that caliber. I got these from wifey cause it was buy1 get1 free this past Christmas (trying to keep me from buying some hi-end stuff). Well, Hope this info helps those who are creating music, not kids in the bedroom.

  • from March 30, 2017

    Eris 66

    The Eris 66 is a very good monitor, its sound is very well balanced with very little colorization. I have had mine for about a month now and love the responsive stereo width of these monitors, allows you to hear nicely your panning and spread. surprisingly they are very comparable to the $11,000 + monitors that are used in other studios I have been in, in the past. They allow for a lot of tweaking to get the perfect sound that you desire. I only gave them 3.5 stars due to the fact that even though they are comparable to the much pricier models they do lack in bass response, especially at lower volumes. Hands down they are worth the money, and become my primary mix monitors.

  • from Los Angeles May 31, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer And Mixer

    Good Not Great

    I bought these blindly mostly because I owned a pair of M-Audio EX-66s a while back, which were a similar Woofer-Tweeter-Woofer combo, and I loved them! The other monitors I use at home for production/mixing at KRK Rokit 6s, which have a decent Low/Mid Low range, but the top end is not very pristine. The price for these monitors are just a little bit too much for what they did for me. I felt these monitors SERIOUSLY lacked in the low/low-mid frequency range, I could not get used to it nor could I boost what I felt like it was lacking. A/B'ing against the KRK's, the top end and high frequencies sounded crisp on the Eris 66s but kick, bass, and low range instruments (synths, rhodes, etc) just didn't sound the way I needed them to on these speakers, so I had to return them after sitting with them for 10 days.

    If it helps at all to know, I intended on having these be my go-to for at home mixing; I was looking for something that could be a happy medium between professional recording studio loudspeakers and $250 KRKs. Obviously $500 speakers are not going to be anywhere near professional studio loudspeakers, but I feel like there are plenty of other options in the same price range that would be more suiting for detailed mixing at home (Yamahas, Focals, JBLs).

Questions about the PreSonus Eris E66 Dual 6.5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway