0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

PreSonus Eris E5 5" Powered Studio Monitor Reviews

4.5 stars based on 45 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus Eris E5 5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Questions about the PreSonus Eris E5 5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Massachusetts November 22, 2016Music Background:
    Shred

    Cool speakers

    Really enjoying these speakers. Look great, sound great, priced great. I mostly purchased them for guitar track playback and listening to music. No extensive mixing/mastering, just basic rough tracks for writing new songs. Definitely handle what I need them for. Adding the Temblor 10 at some point in the future because I require lots of low end.

  • from Gardnerville nv November 12, 2016Music Background:
    Composer recording artist

    Sweetwater

    AWESOME!!!

  • from Boston, MA October 12, 2016Music Background:
    Musician. Student

    Great Monitors

    I bought two of these during an after Christmas sale and I got an insane deal on them. They're clear and very loud, I love how they sound. One of my best/most well timed purchases to this day.

  • from July 6, 2016

    Surprisingly Awesome

    I bought these for some multimedia use and a backup pair for my regular studio monitors. The price is just right. I own 3 pairs of monitor including these. I can say these ones are better than those that cost twice as much. They seem really flat and truthful. I was a little unsure because Presonus doesn't have a reputation for monitors. They will soon.

  • from Dallas Texas June 26, 2016Music Background:
    Music Composer, Drummer, Sound Designer, Mix Engineer

    The best money can buy

    I love these monitors. I mostly mix on them and get a great solid mix. Only thing I had to do was tweak the high frequency knob on the rear of the monitor which was nice to be able to do. Some would say the highs on these monitors are too harsh but again you can tweak them. Great quality sound. I can hear everything much better versus other moniters I've owned like the Mackie HR824 or HR624. I'm looking forward to the Sceptres my next purchase.

  • from Spotsy, VA June 3, 2016

    Great Monitor Speakers

    I love the great sound comes from these very efficient speakers! I really didn't know which monitor speakers to buy. However, Will Newbill (Sales Rep) recommended these with the PreSonus Audio Box and what a great pairing! Outstanding Service from Sweetwater and Will Newbill!!

  • from Wilmette, IL May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Amatuer

    Great monitors

    Great sound. Helping hear the low end in my recordings even better.

  • from NY May 8, 2016

    A resounding WOW!

    I recently got into quality audio listening, with my Asus laptop-> Schiit Modi 2 Uber-> Schiit Asgard 2-> AKG-Q701. I wanted desktop speakers for when I didn't want to put on the headphones. Didn't really want cheap computer speakers - so I researched an decided on the Presonus Eris E5. The stereo imaging and sound stage is nothing short of amazing.

    I never knew speakers could sound this good. I'm sure the other offerings in this price range sound good too, however, I don't think you can go wrong with these speakers. Love them!

  • from April 18, 2016

    Fantastic

    Love it highly recommending !

  • from Fort Wayne February 24, 2016Music Background:
    Live Sound, musician, recording / mixing

    Spend the money, get em

    I was looking for some near field monitors to help get my mixs more in the "center lane". I saw a couple of options and was not sure which way to go. Greg Concer (sweetwater sales guy) suggested a pair of E5's. Wow, as soon as i heard the first song through them i was happy. For under $400 I'm not sure what else you could want. It was like the sound went from 2d to 3d. As they say, the right gear, the right advice and the right price. Well done Sweetwater.

  • from California January 9, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter / Chapman Stick Player

    Love these

    Crisp and clear. Loud if you need it or workable at lower volumes.

    I liked the Power User Tip in the manual for being able to recreate the sound of your car stereo or a boom box via the settings on the back.

    These are flexible, go anywhere, near field monitors.
    A great match for my Tascam 32SD

  • from Detroit December 22, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur Musician, Professional Developer

    Very happy with these monitors

    These are my first studio monitors, and I spent a lot of time trying to find the sweet spot for accuracy, price, and general musical range. I'm a web developer with a simple studio mostly for mixing video tracks, so I also use these as general listening speakers. Two things really struck me about these nearfield monitors: 1) They sound fantastic at low volumes, which is how I listen to them most often— the full range of sound is still present and clear, and 2) They have amazing sound staging with good recordings. Sound often seems to come from the center of my monitor, sometimes 3 feet to the left, and sometimes even from below me! Until I got used to this, I would be looking around my workspace for the source of some previously unheard click or instrument as if there was some other sound source in the room. One negative: the speakers render such detail that I really couldn't listen to them from unbalanced lines to my Mac's headphone jack. With a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 and TRS cables I eliminated the unbalanced cable noise.

  • from D.C Area December 20, 2015Music Background:
    Played music before I walked

    Great Monitors

    Great sound quality for a great price

  • from Nashville, TN November 6, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Keyboardist / Entertainer / Voice Talent

    First Class Speakers

    Just bought these from Sweetwater. Wow! I am a full time voiceover artist, and these are just what I needed. The vocal definition is fabulous! Thanks Jon Gillespie for the wonderful recommendation!

  • from Anaheim CA March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Multi-Instrumentalist.

    Outstanding

    These really are a great monitor for the home/project studio. The highs and mids are on par with the pricey Sonodyne monitors that I have been using, but the Eris E5's have better low end extension. Not hyped low end - just tight and punchy. How it should be.

    Even though the frequency response is extensively adjustable, I started with them flat, and I don't find the need for any tweaks at this time.

    Better in my opinion than speakers costing 3x as much. Outstanding job, Presonus!

  • from September 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Studio Monitors

    We just installed these and what a difference ! I can hear all the details ( and some problems ) in the mix. Totally transparent, the one downside is that the bad mp3's really sound unbearable ( before they were just bad ).The are 110/220v compatible for travel. We are using these with the Scarlett 2i 2 kit ( the mic for this kit is also recommended ). Thanks again Bart and Sweetwater, you guys got it out on time for rush delivery !

  • from United States August 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Presonus Eris E5

    I can hear my breath between speaking when I playback voice recording. Awesome. Because I'm coming from using small computer speakers I am blown away at the depth and richness of the sound. These monitors will support my new career in the voice-over field and I couldn't be more pleased.

  • from Kansas City, MO June 5, 2014Music Background:
    Rock and Roll Hall of Famer (Public Enemy), Composer, Recording Producer

    DYNAMITE!!!

    I've just received my Eris E5's this afternoon and I'm HIGHLY impressed with their accuracy. What you hear in the mix is TRUE!!! I'm sold on these!

  • from Florida April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician/Engineer

    Just lovely

    Crisp, clean and articulate. Accurate. Combined with the Temblor T10 sub, this is one of the best reference systems I've ever laid ears on.

  • from nashville, TN February 23, 2014Music Background:
    pro drummer / recording

    great speaker

    I needed something for my bedroom studio. these really are the perfect solution for that. they totally took me by surprise . my first master I did with these sold me on the whole deal . what a true sound they helped me do my mix to perfection . but the cd in every stereo I could and it blew my mind . a true value , a great price and a perfect size wow life is great thanks presonus

  • from Wichita, KS January 31, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Song Writer, Recording Engineer, Mix Engineer

    Perfection!

    First, let me say that these monitors have exceeded all of my expectations! I bought the Eris E5's to replace KRK Rokit8 G2's. For the size of room I'm in (typical bedroom dimensions) the Rokit8's were just too big! I was never really able to drive them hard enough to get good bass response. I had every intention of buying Rokit6's until I stopped by a local music shop. They had the full line of KRK's and Presonus monitors set up so that I could easily compare the different sets. I started out by playing a mix that I'm very familiar with through the Rokit6's, which sounded exactly like I was used to hearing. The sales engineer then flipped a switch to make the sound come out of the Eris 6's… what a HUGE difference in sound quality! For the first time (in a long time) I could hear the full range of the guitars in the mix. Vocals were clear and full, the bass guitar was detailed and punchy, the kick drum was full and tight! I also couldn't get over the fact that the Eris 5's sounded almost identical to it's big brother, minus a tiny bit of low end. Even on a 5" cone, I could hear detail and clarity in the low end that I just couldn't hear from the KRK's.

    Now that I have the Eris 5's set up and integrated into my 'studio', I can say that these are the best project studio monitors… not just for the money, but the best you can buy! For the first time ever, I'm able to mix at comfortable levels and have the mix translate perfectly over various sound systems. With the KRK's I had to do a rough mix, play it in the car then make adjustments. Play it at work then make a few more adjustments. Take it to church, play it over the PA and make yet more adjustments! After my first mix on the E5's, I took it to the car and it sounded just like it did in my studio. Then I took it to work, the TV, a large PA, and it still sounded like my initial mix! I'll be honest, when Presonus first announced that they were getting in to the monitor game, I rolled my eyes and thought 'oh great, another budget studio monitor'. Budget yes… but with a sound quality not found in ANY other monitor at this price point Do yourself a favor, pull the trigger. I did, and I have NO buyers remorse!

  • from United States January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Soon to be Recording Engineer

    Sound Great

    These are my first pair of Studio Monitors, so I can not really compare w/ any others. But to my ears they sound great for just listening to music, and my mixes are 10x better than b4.

  • from NJ January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    No regrets

    No dissapointment whatsoever! Clarity & quality is top notch for the category these are in (affordable, 2-way). Great purchase!

  • from Albuquerque, NM December 19, 2013

    Impressive sound!

    I just received two Eris E5 monitor speakers this afternoon. The sound, coming from these monitors, is simply amazing. Love being able to hook my computer up to the unbalanced RCA connectors. Of course, the keyboards go through the balanced connections.

    Thanks Carson! :)

  • from New Mexico November 12, 2013Music Background:
    Professional musician and Producer

    PreSonus Eris E5

    These or great monitor's for any studio, a breeze to set up, my mix's now sound MUCH better as opposed to mixing with Head phones! I purchased a pair of these (Many Thanks to my sales engineer Bob Furlong) for the recommendation! I would recommend these Monitor's to anyone. What you hear when you have a mix finished to your liking on a final mix, sound's exactly the same when you burn it to a CD and play it in your CD player!!!

  • from SF CA September 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    excellent!!

    Exceeded all expectation. Sound reproduction, lows and highs, challenges any criticism. Heavy, well constructed and compact. The ideal monitor for your desktop studio. Thank you Sweetwater for the recommendation to spend $30 more, best money I ever spent.

  • from Union, OH July 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Great Monitors

    These monitors are excellent, especially at this price point. The settings to compensate for speaker placement in the room are great, and they give a clear, accurate sound that translates well to other sources. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the bass response for the size.I would highly recommend these monitors.

  • from Belton, MO April 9, 2013Music Background:
    local Recording Engineer, Musician

    WOW, WOW

    I cant believe these monitors they are awesome. They sound crisp and clear the acoustic adjustment is awesome to you can set it up the way you want for a bedroom studio. Just love them thanks Sweetwater for the awesome price.

    PS. These monitors shakes my walls in my room.

  • from West Hollywood, CA May 2, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, producer, supervisor

    Tight and Clean

    These monitors are fairly badass for the price range. There's a lot of selection out there for this range, and The Eris E8's seem to pack a nice punch.

    To put if fairly though, this is an upgrade from a stereo system to a surround system. I moved my (awesome, 1st Gen) KRK V6's to the rear and bought a pair of the E8's and (unfortunately) the MTM 4" for the center. I love the MTM, but am truly kicking myself for not initially going for the MTM 6" (which by the way is mounted on my front wall, good setup). I also invested in the 10" Tremblor, sub system. All of this by the way is running to my little line mixer out of Protools, then out to the speakers. This is so I have a master volume knob.

    I use this setup for 95% feature film sound design and pre-dubs, and the rest of the time in TV land and when I'm able, music. I love my KRK's, but I heard some great things about these...and I have to mention the payment plan is pretty sweet too. My system pounds now, it's tight, pretty round and not ear covering annoying.

    I recommend these guys if you want an upgrade that isn't going to break the bank, and that is well worth the money paid (and if you can get these with one of their notorious sales...that's even better)

  • from Sharon Pa February 19, 2016Music Background:
    gospel

    Great buy

    I must be honest.I was happy with a set of Fostex pm04s they did well in my small room.I was going to wait and get a set of Yamaha or JBL 5inch monitors.I had listened to both.I jumped on these because the 2nd monitor was 75% off for a limited time. when I first heard them they were louder and more bass then the Fostex. but I was expecting more,plus they were a little noisy.they broke in and I got better low noise cables.and they sound much better.they are just right for my room.they tell the truth about my mixes.I heard noise on one of my recent recordings.which sounded great but.I did not know were the noise was coming from.I would listen in my car and home systems. had a listen with these and it was the furnace at my church. were I recorded the mic picked it up.we did not notice at the time.note to self turn off furnace during recording.these left me place everything just right.my salesperson James Masterson was a great help also he has never steered me wrong.

  • from Nashville, TN February 16, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging Bassist, Guitarist, and Home Producer

    Great Monitors, Even Better Once You Learn Their Sound

    I use a pair of these (as anyone looking for monitors should) for my home studio running Logic Pro X. They have proven to be extremely helpful to my mixing process and have fostered better sounds and creation abilities from me. That being said there is, in my opinion, a learning curve with these as there is with any set of monitors that once mastered, can put these at a genuinely pro level but until then, can be problematic. I'll hit that con first and then mention all the overwhelming pros.

    The Con: Bass Response. A big draw to these monitors specifically is that as far as "budget" monitors go, they have a very flat, unhyped, true-to-source response. When you are listening critically to make improvements, this is key because if a mix can sound good on unflattering speakers, it can feasibly sound good on anything. However, one of the realities of budget gear is that you can't have your cake and eat it too. Because of this natural response, they do not have a large amount of bass extension. This poses a problem because most standard grade stereos in this day and age have hyped bass because it's what people want for popular music. If you think you have the perfect amount of bass with these monitors, then when someone plays your mix on a bass-heavy stereo you will be surprised with something ranging from a little bit of boominess all the way to a muffled, muddy mess. This is why I say there is a learning curve. Once you know the limitation, you can mix with the knowledge that a little less bass than perfection on these monitors will yield actual perfection for the average listener. End Essay.

    The Pros:
    Stereo Imaging/Sound Space - These give an amazing stereo response that instantly makes you feel immersed. When I pan any vocals dead center, I feel like I can reach out and touch them on the computer screen. For this to be true though, you definitely need to be sitting in the sweet spot.

    Sound Quality - As long as the mix was made well, these are also just enjoyable monitors to listen to music on. They are loud and crystal clear, and I've never heard mine distort.

    Response - Other than the slight lack of bass listed above, their response lets you hear exactly what was recorded. This makes for a much-improved ability to mix well.

    Affordability - Will a $2000 set of monitors sound better? Of course. Even a $700 pair? Most likely. But for any home studio, this $300 pair (at time of review) will not disappoint. I would actually be confident taking them into a higher-than-home studio situation, as long as I knew their response tendencies and wasn't mixing a music genre where I needed to hear very deep bass.

    I would recommend these without hesitation.

  • from September 28, 2015

    Love my Eris e5's

    I got these from a local audio shop for 199$ for the pair and I absolutely love them. Don't get me wrong I have a pair of yamaha hs8 m but they are too loud for my apartment so these little babies are perfect !!!

  • from Ft. Wayne, IN September 14, 2015Music Background:
    Nothing fancy here, just a normal guy doing my best to make, produce and play the best music I can

    Great Deal, Great Sound

    I picked up a couple E5's for my home studio after a long deliberation between the E5's and other "big name" monitors, and I'm glad I did.

    First of all, I think PreSonus is a great company and make quality products across the board. And their ability to diversify their product line over the last several years with things like Studio One, show me they are trying to stay atop of the wave and put out products that not only compete with the big names out there, but in some cases outshine them.

    The speakers are just solid. Super clear, great dynamic range. Awesome low-end on relatively little speakers. And for vanity's sake, they look pretty cool too. Great for mixing, great for recording, and great for just listening. Pair them with a set of open or semi-open headphones and you're really doing work.

    You can split hairs all day trying to decide between gear and at the end of the day not really have anything to show for that. But if you're going to split hairs and try to find a landing point, land on the E5's. PreSonus is a company with something to prove with their new products and a company with something to prove makes a great product. The E5's are a great example of that, and I'd put them up against any 5 inch monitor in the game (and similar price point) and still end up choosing them.

    Great work PreSonus, you deserve all the hype you've been getting recently.

  • from September 11, 2015Music Background:
    song writer, 6 years experience with performing,

    very pleased high quality for a low price

    for a 5 inch speaker im amazed, these things have great punch nice high, the mids dont sound or feel muddy and the lows come through like a knife in butter, when mixing music i looked and looked for a quality name brand at a low cost that would help with my beats and when i needed to play the full song or just simply each sound to hear what im doing with my EQ and so forth not to mention they have great features with db switches on back to customize your sound to taylor the room for your acoustic environment in witch you work witch i also thought was a costly plus but thru presonus was still put on the speaker for to me what it seems at no additional cost, the sound its-self sells this little guy, and if i where to blow these speakers id buy them time and time again, no football team makes it to a super bowl without a good quarter back, and well no good song makes it to the radio with good equipment, do your self a favor if your reading this post and your finding yourself in my shoes i wish i could afford the 8's but ill wait for those to have a sale i just cant fork out the 249 dollar a piece price tag in witch youd get the quality of the 5's but only on steroids im sure, in general presonaus makes great equipment very reliable as ive pounded these speakers with bass countless amounts of times and they havnt let me down thank you presonus for a professional product :)

  • from Millis, MA June 11, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio/Hobbyist

    Great Project Studio Monitors

    I have had a pair of Ris 5's for a few months now and am very happy with them. They replaced a pair of 'superior' Sampson monitors which to me never sounded convincing. The Eris 5's are very clinical and precise, taking a lot of the guess work out of my mixing. For my needs they offer unbeatable value and I cannot see me out-growing them any time soon.

  • from West Viginia June 30, 2014Music Background:
    All around musician 22 years experience

    Great Monitors

    I love these speakers. I was looking for a great pairs of monitors for my studio and PreSonus is it ! These things are great and you can hear everything in your mix. I have them hooked to my Lexicon interface and they are loud and clear....great sound. I use these with Mixcraft and FL Studio. These speakers arrived in a day...didn't even pay extra. Sweetwater is a great company and they are nice and polite.

  • from Indianapolis, IN April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Great for a Starter Studio!

    At first I was skeptical about the E5's. But honestly, these monitors are brilliant. I'm getting great, clear sound with no buzz. For the price, the E5's are definitely good quality for the starter's studio!

  • from Central Illinois December 24, 2013

    Presonus Eris E5 monitors

    I've had them for a few weeks and I'll give them a thumb's up with reservations; that being one of the pair had a stroboscopic power on light that made me want to switch to disco mixing. Sweetwater promptly replaced the defective monitor, and I'm hoping that doesn't indicate overall build quality.

    I purchased these to replace Event 20/20s that were just too large for my mixing room, and I have to say that they instantly sounded better in the small area that I have. Bass is lighter, but that's a good thing. These monitors still put out a surprising amount of bass for their size, and the extra settings to match room acoustics is certainly icing on the cake. That said, I've found the flat settings to work best, with the "acoustic space" selector dialing back the low end by 2 db.

    They sound very similar (to me) to Rockit 5's, but that should come as no surprise. I prefer the form factor and size of these to the Rockits and they really fit into my desktop edit / mix area nicely.

    I'm confident that anyone could do great mixes on these, with the caveat that you need to compare your mixes to what you previously liked as your preferred reference CDs. Keep a good pair of headphones close by to double-check your low end and you'll be golden.

    I cried to part with my 20/20s, but the size, overall great sound, lack of need for a separate power amp and picking up a few feet of valuable floor space have eased the transition.

    I DO love these monitors!

  • from Oceanside, Ca. August 13, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, DJ (16 Years)

    PreSonus Eris E5

    Great punchy little monitor! Have it set up with the PreSonus E8 which sounds great!! Just waiting to throw the Event 20/20 BAS that I bought from you guys in the mix, can't wait! Service is always top notch as well. Much appreciated.

  • from Brooklyn N.Y December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Amplifier

    Very satisfied with the amplifier

  • from Washington October 13, 2016Music Background:
    Producer, DJ, Worship Audio Volunteer

    Good starting point

    You play over-compressed mp3 songs, they will sound ugly on these. You play your raw, well-mixed fire mixtape on them, you'll be blown away. I would recommend a sub to pair with, as they don't have a powerful low-end, though present. Not stunning, but does the job well.

  • from Seattle April 25, 2016

    Great Starters

    Punchy and clear. If your room size permits, I would suggest a sub-woofer to pair with these, as their low end is clear and punchy but there really is not a lot of it--which as an EDM producer--is crucial. Definitely recommend though.

  • from Chicago June 7, 2016Music Background:
    Play guitar and Native flute and keyboard

    Nice

    Have not fully utilized this speaker yet, as I am still trying to learn the recording software - - - which would not download one of the instrument modules - - the piano. The recording software looks a lot easier to use than it actually is.

  • from NY January 31, 2017Music Background:
    guitarist 25 years, recording and mixing for 6 years

    white noise from tweeters

    These monitors do sound good. The sound good at high volume, and have useful tweaks. However when mixing you do not necessarily want a speaker that sounds good, you want one that sounds true. I find that these tend to add a little bass which leads to mixes that sound relatively thin.
    I used the tweaks on the back of the monitors to compensate for the extra bass, but then they sounded a little too thin.

    My major issue with these is the white noise generated by the tweeters. I use a Furman power conditioner but the Eris 5's had an annoying hiss. The support staff at Sweetwater was very helpful when I contacted them about this issue. They tested some units and found that they all have white noise coming from the tweeters, so this problem is inherit to the model. It really is a shame. These could be very good monitors for the price, but the hiss will lead to ear fatigue and I can hear it over soft parts of my music. I'm also not sure I would want them for turntable for this reason.

  • from Tx December 1, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, engineer.

    Don't buy these.

    I went and tested these out at guitar cent and they sounded hollow, the clarity wasn't very good either, for the same price you can get a pair of jbl lsr 305's which destroy these and krks in ever aspect. I'm not trying to hate, just don't believe in all the hype. They're decent but don't cut it for mixing and mastering.

Questions about the PreSonus Eris E5 5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway