0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Ovation Elite TX Mid Depth - Gloss Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Ovation Elite TX Mid Depth - Gloss Black?

Questions about the Ovation Elite TX Mid Depth - Gloss Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Lafayette La June 19, 2017

    Just like I remembered

    I had an ovation back in the 90's and when I went looking for an acoustic I went right back to the ovation. Tyler Moore and Sweetwater came through with an excellent instrument. Ovation quality is still there and the sound is amazing.

  • from February 12, 2016Music Background:
    50 years of playing for personal enjoyment and group singing.

    Best Ovation in My Stable

    I own three Ovations: a CE44-5 Celebrity, a CC49S Deep Contour and the Elite 1778TX 5GSM. I also own a Martin DRS1 and two Taylor GS Minis (Mahogany and Koa). I love them all for their unique qualities, but I would have to say the Ovation 1778TX is the best all around guitar I own, both in playability and sound. Its tone is perfectly balanced with each string adding to an incredible chorus of sound, making it an excellent choice for strummers and finger pickers alike. Adding to the great sound is a great neck with its 10" radius fretboard, low action and smooth back. It's the poor man's McPherson as far as I'm concerned. The 1778TX is a Professional and Performance level instrument IMHO. It is the guitar I would recommend to anyone who can only afford one guitar. Buy it! You will not be disappointed. PS. The Spalted Maple Epaulet is gorgeous against the stark glossy black sound board.

  • from Havana,IL July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Started in 2002, played lots of jams. In a Gospil band last 3 years. I do vocals and rythm guitar.

    Ovation Elite Model 1778 TX-5GSM

    I started playing with an Ovation. I took to the Ovation Elite right away because of the style of it's top. I like something different and the Elite was it. I have tried out lots of Ovations and they all seem brighter in sound than most of the round sound hole guitars. I got a chance to play one of these at Sweetwater. The sound of these is much lower in tone. If you like Ovations but want one lower in tone check one of these out, I think you will be glad you did. One more good thing about this guitar is all the sound holes are on the top bass side and you can hear your guitar better playing at jams with lots of players. Sweetwater, the best place to get your gear, thanks Nathan Parker, Great Sweetwater Rep.

  • from Princeton (by god) West Virginia April 10, 2014Music Background:
    Long-time wannabe

    Shot paid off

    I'm not surprised very often. While I have several high-end guitars (Les Paul, Rickenbacker, PRS) I wanted something to sit around the beach with that I didn't have to necessarily guard with my life. In the picture this looked cool, had a good amount of "wipe-off" plastic, and didn't require a second job to pay for. Yea, I knew it was made in Korea but they need some income to buy our tanks and guns.
    Anyway, this is a terrific guitar. Good sound, easy and fun to play, and generally very well made. Came nicely boxed and set-up and nary a scratch or scrape. It's as close to a bargain as I've gotten for a long time!

  • from United States December 1, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Ovation Elite 1778 TX-5GSM

    Always have been an Ovation player. Played one at Sweetwater during the summer of 2013, was so disappointed I couldnt of brought it home with me then. Just was able to purchase one from Sweetwater October 2013. Sweetwater delivered, the buying process was so smooth, packages arrived in a timely fashion and undamaged. I love my Ovation 5GSM. Thanks Sweetwater

  • from May 28, 2011

    Ovation Elite Model 1778 TX-5GSM

    this guitar is amazing

    for the money it sounds beautiful, plays with ease, and looks gorgeous!

    a must have in the acoustic electric world

  • from Louisville, Ky August 20, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Absolutely amazing guitar

    This is an amazing guitar. I went into the local store looking at the Takamines, Yamaha, Seagulls, and whatever else they had because I was in the market to buy an acoustic. My price range was around $500.00. Afterplucking around for 2 hours because I am the pickiest person when it comes to acoustics I decided to pick up a Gibson songwriter just to play an amazing guitar. I would have loved to buy the Gibson since they are my favorite acoustics on the market, but I didn't have $2500. So I said well I guess I will ck out the Ovations. I never was a big fan, but I said what the heck. I played a few and they all sounded too thin for me until I picked up the Elite 1778TX 5GSM. The tone came so close to matching the Gibson. I was blown away. The bass response is amazing and the mids and highs are clear. I bought it immediately. Nothing in the store sounded this good except for the $2500.00 Gibsons and Martins.

Questions about the Ovation Elite TX Mid Depth - Gloss Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway