0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

SONiVOX Eighty Eight Ensemble 2.0 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 24 customer reviews
  • Customer
    from Los Angeles, CA March 18, 2015

    Eighty Eight

    I've only been using Eighty Eight 2.0 for a few hours, and I am already impressed by the piano sounds. The realism, space, flexibility, and even slight imperfections have enchanted me, and I am eager to start using these sounds in a mix setting. I feel that Eighty Eight is up there with some of the best recorded piano sounds, and the price point should easily sway people who are on the fence about other products. SoniVox should be charging a lot more for this particular plugin, as it exceeds expectations in fulfilling the job. The GUI is beautiful, and the ability to tune Eighty Eighty within the plugin to my project is absolutely amazing; perfect for the projects that are in 432hz.

  • Godznor
    from Orlando, FL February 8, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, musician

    Superb real piano

    Really nice piano sounds. Pretty much all the piano you'll need.

  • Ric Holloway
    from Cleveland Ohio December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Producer, engineer, writer, performer

    Fantistic realism

    The most realistic, natural,
    great feeling piano sample I've ever used!

  • Clarence Williams
    from Albuquerque New Mexico December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Recording Engineer and Producer

    49es

    received this item from Sweetwater, really cool just plug an play, and much to my surprise it works flawlessly with my SONAR X3 producer!!
    For 49 bucks..you can't go wrong!!

  • Customer
    from December 22, 2013Music Background:
    project studio

    High Class Sound

    I already owned the four classic pianos from Native Instruments and while I still find them useful, I thought Sonivox 88 blew them out of the water. The realism is incredible, and the reverb like silk. Also. the tone control using four bands is a great tweaking tool. It takes a long time to load so the other keys in my collection are sometimes preferable. But when you want to go all out with the piano sound there will be no disappointment with this one! The included instrument layers and splits allow for replacement of multiple plugin setups if needed.

  • Customer
    from December 16, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Student, Musician

    Great Piano Software!

    When installing this in my computer I wasn't really sure how this was going to work or sound. After I put it through pro tools and my 49Keystation I was amazed how real this sounds. There are so many choices too with the piano tones and different piano models. It is all based off a Steinway Grand piano and the program is very versatile. You can change the EQ, reverb, and even the pedal tone of the piano. It is a must buy and I would recommend it and its easy to use too.

  • Bryan Edington
    from South Bend, IN United States December 14, 2013Music Background:
    Guitartist, keyboardist, songwriter, recordist

    88 ensemble

    I am very critical of most virtual pianos. I tune pianos for living and I can tell the difference. The Sonivox Eighty Eight sounds like a real piano. I love it.

  • Chuck Suba
    from Uniontown, PA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Degree in Percussion, Full Time Musician/Studio Owner for some 50 years

    Sonivox Eighty Eight Ensemble 2.0

    I own a small recording studio, Wall Street Studios in southwestern PA and I can say that the samples are outstanding, The plugging is excellent and the ease of use is one of the best in our chest or plugins. A great vale bundled with the M-Audio Keystation from Sweetwater. We give it a thumbs up.

  • Johanan
    from Thoreau, NM December 6, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Jazz musician.

    HARD TO INSTALL BUT WORTH THE EFFORT!

    The installation was quite difficult, mostly because I am not adept at complex installations. However, after excellent technical help form both Sweetwater and Sonivox, I was able to get the 88 going. Once you get it going, frankly, the sound is so realistic, if you stand outside the studio you could not tell it was not a real grand piano of the finest quality! Absolutely amazing realism.

    There is lots of variety and endless ways to make music with this VST. Look no further for a professional sound in piano music. This IS the last word. Glad I got it!

  • Dave
    from MI December 4, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist

    Love it!

    Working with many VST's this was one of the best I have used. The audio is great, install was a snap(downloads do take some time).
    Seems others have had issues with load times but I'm not sure why, loads samples fast and easy. EE 2.0 is a great addition to any workstation.

  • Charlie
    from Usa December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Keyboard Player

    Wow

    Great sound, natural & warm!

  • Ericleclic
    from June 5, 2014

    Very Good vst

    A Very good Soft Vst !
    With a standalone version it would be perfect !

  • Don Schiff
    from United States December 13, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    M-Audio Keystaion 49es

    It does exactly what it says. nice 49 note keyboard, light, easy to use functions. Perfect for sitting on the desk and triggering your soft synths.

  • Greg Shoemaker
    from Athens, GA December 12, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Hobbyist & Amatur Musician

    Great Samples

    The piano sounds are really great although I haven't had an opportunity to play them through my rig in a large hall. The mixes are good as well. File size 11.2 GB took several hours to download through U-Verse. I had some issues with downloading and had to contact Sonivox support to get a different mirror so it took twice as long. Since it came bundled with my Keystation49es it was worth the price. I also don't know why the installer puts a shortcut to the authorization program on the desktop. I've been using it as a VSTi with Reaper so don't know how well it works on it's own.

  • Customer
    from January 2, 2014

    Could be great

    I like the way the software sounds but I can't run it on my current OS. I have a couple Sonivox products, like the DVI HeavyPick Bass. It it works as well as that then it will be a 5 star product.

  • Rob Davison
    from Marshall, Texas USA December 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    a Great Sounding Piano

    I will first admit that SONiVOX Eighty Eight Ensemble 2 was not a software that I purchased while shopping for a Piano Plugin. It was a bonus piece included with a purchase of a midi keyboard. With it being essentially free to me, I may be a little more forgiving than someone who made a decision over several products. Regardless, I am very glad to own this great sounding piano plugin. It is now my go to instrument when in need of a piano. If there was any gripe to have, it would only be regarding the significant loading time of the instrument. This is only in comparison to any other instrument plugin. I imagine it is related to the gigs of files used to create the amazing sounds. Not a deal breaker in my book but the only thing that has stood out.

  • John
    from Chicago,Il December 22, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer,Guitarist, Bass Player

    Eighty Eight

    I'm not a keyboard player but I try to add some new sounds to my recordings and this plug in has some very nice, realistic sounding pianos

  • Chris
    from South Carolina December 19, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Rapper

    SONiVOX 88 Ensemble 2.0

    Sounds great, but takes forever to load and sometimes crashes the daw. Also, the velocity selection always changes back to linear. Once it loads up though, very nice sound which is what really matters. Plus it was free with my MIDI Keyboard!!!

  • Michael
    from Central Park, WA (USA) December 8, 2013

    Keyboard is fine

    The software was of no use though because I don't have the current enough operating system on my Mac. Would have to upgrade to use it. Also the file names in the instructions don't coincide with the file names on the download page which was confusing.

  • Customer
    from January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer - Pro Musician

    SONiVOX Eighty Eight Ensemble 2.0

    I gave it 3 stars... the only reason why is, I've heard better.

  • Robert Appere
    from LA January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    Sonivox Eighty Eight Ensemble 2.0

    Luv the sound but causes Logic X not to open for 60 seconds if it is used in a project. I am using it on an IMAC 27 with Mavericks.
    The folks initially got back to me and wanted me to do a few permissions things and some other routine fixes. It's a brand new machine everything else works great Logic X opens up in 4 seconds without it. I think it they need to make an update for mavericks.

  • metamorphis8
    from Sunny Riverside November 26, 2013Music Background:
    Pianist

    A Good Buy if it's Free!

    I bought this software along with the M-Audio 49es controller, at a very reasonable price. In fact, I bought the controller for $50 just to get this software. I am a pianist of reasonable skill, and have, like many others, invested in various piano plug-ins, some of which come close to reproducing the feel of the real thing.

    First, the installation process. After buying, Sweetwater promptly sent me a license code for the software. It did not work. So, I emailed Sonivox support and they sent me a new code. I used this, and downloaded the software. It is somewhere around 12 gb, so it took a very long time. I ran the installer, and it refused to accept the license key. This required more support, and a few days later, I was instructed to manually request authorization. I did this a few times, and no authorization. Yet another email was necessary, and finally I was sent a file with the license code which I had to manually install into the program. Several days wasted there. Next, I got the program up and running, and for about 7 minutes it worked. After that, it refused to load any samples at all. More suport requests. Eventually, the tech told me to delete everything and try it all over again. Which I did, and the second time around, it loaded properly. The tech support is helpful, but not responsive, which I suppose is much like the software itself.

    On to the software. After spending ten days trying to install it, I finally got a chance to play it. It's all right. That's about all I can say, and in this market, all right doesn't really do the job. Compared to Ivory Keys II, there really isn't a comparison. Ivory is much larger, much more expensive and uses the dreaded ILok system, which I despise. But Ivory sounds like a real (and very good) piano, where Ensemble 88 sounds like a pretender. It takes a good bit of time to load each sample, and it is just no match for the higher end VSTs on the market. It sounds acceptable, but not much more than that.

    If this is your first piano plug-in, and you buy it as part of a promotion, it is probably worth the small cost. It does sound better than most keys that come with DAW's and lower end budget software. It is certainly playable and sounds nice. If you already have good plug-ins, this one isn't worth a look. In the same price range, XLN's Addictive Keys is much better.

  • Ben Schmidt
    from Iowa City, IA December 17, 2013Music Background:
    performing singer songwriter / part time Producer / Engineer

    No support for XP

    This came bundled in a midi keyboard so, to be fair, I wasn't shopping for this as the primary product, but I was disappointed that they no longer offer a version that works with XP. It seems silly to stop offering older versions - the bugs are worked out, and wouldn't you want to appeal to the greatest number of potential customers? I can't imagine anyone changing their OS so they can have a simulated piano sound - even a good sounding one. It's just not worth it when there are options out there that are compatible. Please note my rating is not for the quality of the instrument, just the business practice of discontinuing older versions.

  • Roger Jackson
    from Gaithersburg, Md. USA January 1, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, live sound engineer, dj

    Sonivox Eighty Eight Ensemble.

    Very long download and have too download multiple parts. Then it is easy to install. But once install very difficult to run then program it ask you to do something first so I gave up. I will just use Ignite.

Questions about the SONiVOX Eighty Eight Ensemble 2.0?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway