0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Wampler Ego Compressor Pedal with Blend Control Reviews

5.0 stars based on 53 customer reviews
Questions about the Wampler Ego Compressor Pedal with Blend Control?

Questions about the Wampler Ego Compressor Pedal with Blend Control?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Phil Potts

    The Wampler Ego Compressor is the kind of pedal you notice the most when it ISN'T on. The blend knob (my favorite feature) allows me to dial in sweet tones without overwhelming the natural sound of my guitar.

  • from sacramento, CA February 3, 2017

    Compressed Joy

    I was hesitant with the price after all what would a compressor really do for me?
    It was well worth it, this compressor brings out the guitars tone without coloring it.
    I keep everything right around 12 to 2 o'clock and when I turn it on it's ballsy and warm.
    The mix knob is perfect, you can get subtle or all the way, in fact don't buy a compressor without a mix knob.
    If you're thinking about buying this pedal stop thinking and hit the buy button, you will not be disappointed.

  • from December 24, 2016

    Definitely worth it!

    This is my first compressor pedal. I had avoided the effect for years. Now, for clean tones, this is an always on pedal for me. It just makes it so much better. The sustain and chime are excellent. What makes it a real winner is the blend control. I put the sustain at about 1 O'clock, tone and attack nearly fully clockwise, and the blend about noon. It just has amazing 'make everything sound better' effect to my tone. I have not experimented with it much with overdriven or distorted tones (as they tend to compress the signal anyways) but I will get to it. I put the pedal first in my chain. For late night bedroom playing, you can use the volume control to get great tones at low volumes too. As with any compressor, cranking the sustain knob clockwise will add some noise to your signal. The setup described above is very quiet, noise wise, especially at bedroom levels.

  • from December 21, 2016Music Background:
    Assorted

    Wampler Ego Compressor Pedal

    Excellent! The blend control makes all the difference; get a nice balance of the compressed tone with the original tone. Or get a clean boost; very versatile compressor.

  • from Tennessee December 14, 2016

    Ego Compressor

    So far so good! I love the clean smoothness of it. Simple to operate.

  • from Brandon, MS October 21, 2016

    Awesome Compressor

    This is an awesome compressor! There is so much versatility, but it is easy to dial in. Wampler puts out high quality pedals and this is no exception! Glad to see this kind of quality can still be produced in the USA!

  • from Santa Rosa, Ca. October 10, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar

    Beautiful Clarity

    Great sustain and very clear. I am very happy with how this compressor sustains a note or chord.

  • from October 6, 2016

    Just Exactly as expected!!!!!!

    This pedal is a multi tool that Mr Wampler just knows what he is doinig for the best result.
    Perfect decision for backing and soloing while it holds the sound and tone as is.
    Very simple tool to place your position along inside the music whether you want stands out for solo or needs backing or making harmonies..Super option which it stands out is the tone and blend control.
    It is not just a compressor pedal but a 'control pedal.' It covers the weakness and expands the strong.

  • from Santa Rosa October 4, 2016

    Smooth

    Great sustain.

  • from Ohio July 22, 2016

    A word about bass guitar

    The outstanding reviews are true. I use this with a tele in a mostly-always-on configuration, and I love it. I was also hoping to try out compression with my p-bass, and I think it's fantastic with that too (through a 12-inch Ampeg bass amp). I've never had so much fun playing my p-bass! Bass compression is an amazing thing--you instantly sound twice better!

  • from July 8, 2016

    Seriously Amazing

    The Ego is the most versatile compressor that I have ever used. I can have sparkling cleans, retain my pick attack, retain my dynamics, retain all of my high end, and still sustain for rich clean solo leads. Paired with an overdrive, it adds to the sustain of my tone without losing any transparency. Truly amazing, I am so happy with it.

  • from May 16, 2016

    Awesome Compressor

    I love the sustain, clarity, noiseless. It's the best add to my guitar's signal chain. Incredible sound to add "ambient swell" with my DD and volume pedal. With my OD and "All tubes" amplifier, have exceptional pure tone, sustain and balance to my Stratocaster without noise.

  • from Texas March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    If Your Considering A Compressor Look No Further

    It took me a little while to get used to having this pedal on my board. I had never been much for compressors before and now I can't imagine playing without it. Once I got it dialed in, it became that pedal that pretty much stays on all the time. I've come to expect great pedals from Brian Wampler and this pedal is for sure on of his best. No doubt if it got lost or stolen I would have to pick up another.Mű

  • from NJ February 25, 2016

    A must own pedal

    Takes you from "that sounds good" to "oh yeah, that's the tone!". Makes everything sound better no matter what other pedals you use. You must own one.

  • from Kansas October 8, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced

    Best Compressor going!

    For Country, Blues and everything else I play I need a compressor to balance my levels. I'm primarily a rythum player which in today's word is not the cool guy, but underrated if you listen to a lot of bands who can't tighten their sound. This is the 3rd Whampler pedal I bought and has proven to be the best I've worked with. Clear, clean and no loss of brightness, no color added of its own. Simply the best on the market in my opinion. Like at Sweetwater is my guy, great to work with! Great experience all around!

  • from Minnesota September 30, 2015Music Background:
    A pro musician for 50 years

    The best compressor I've heard

    I've had a few compressors in the past, some being part of a multi effects pedal patch and weren't impressed with the noise and "clicking" from picked notes etc. I finally bit the bullet and bought this Wampler Ego Compressor and it is phenomenal... you can wring out the sustain and level out the weak notes with this hand built beauty and when adjusted properly, Noise and note clicks are nearly non existent. You truly get what you pay for. Buy this unit. If you're capable of setting it up properly, it WILL be your last compressor. All aces!

  • from Louisiana August 26, 2015Music Background:
    Southern Gospel

    Ego Compressor

    Overly satisfied with this purchase, I never turn it off.

  • from Louisville July 29, 2015Music Background:
    Giuitarist,bassist keyboardist, vocals

    This Pedal Rocks!

    Saw the video and thought I would give this pedal a try. I've used other compressor pedals and was disappointed in their performance. Had to wait a couple of days for it to come in but I'm glad I did. This pedal is remarkable! No hiss or hum. Totally silent. The blend knob is what does it for me. You can put just enough compressor on your guitar to rock back on the bridge pickup to get that "pop" off of the strings but it doesn't hinder the lushness of the neck pickup. Also the attack and sustain knobs allow for the right amount of sustain when using overdrive and the attack controls the amount of "pop" on the strings. A tone control help bring out the presence lost when using this type of pedal. Overall, you can turn this pedal on at the beginning of the show and never turn it off. Yet it will perform flawlessly when called upon. This is a must have for any country,pop and rock guitarist. I don't think mine will be coming off my pedalboard any way soon. Try one today!

  • from Wampler USA July 26, 2015Music Background:
    Forever musician.

    Brightens and Fattens..

    You don't have to sacrifice details and tone with this compressor. My guitars don't sound squashed or fabricated . I find the Wampler pedals have an uncanny ability to clarify and add volume. I use the Wampler Ego and the Euphoria fuel my Strymon pedals and its a fine marriage. I thought it sounded good but then I turned this baby on and now I can't go back again!!

  • from Fort Lauderdale, FL May 18, 2015Music Background:
    Musican, Songwriter

    Love this pedal!

    At last, the live sound I've wanted for a long time, is finally within my grasp! What a versatile pedal the Wampler is! Very responsive, and very easy to work with. Truly a "must-have" piece, for any pedal board!

  • from Hammond, IN April 7, 2015Music Background:
    Rock, blues

    Must have pedal

    I've been playing guitar for over 30 years. I own many pedals, I currently have 2 guitar pedal boards and 1 bass board. I have purchased and sold or traded many pedals over the years. I bought the Ego compressor and could not be happier. This pedal makes all my pother pedals sing! It is permanently on my main board along with my wah, 4 dirt pedals, phaser shift, chorus, tremelo, delay and reverb. I get a nice even sound and great sustain when I play clean and since I'm not a country player I stay away from the chicken picking attributes of this compressor. For rock and blues, it is a fantastic addition to my board and I can't imagine playing with out it. It is second in my signal train behind my tuner and all those pedals that follow it benefit a great deal. Well worth the money, wish I would have bought this sooner.

  • from Southlake, TX March 16, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Just Leave It On

    This is the best stomp box compressor I have heard. The T-Rex pedal is a close 2nd, but the Ego is #1. The compression is very natural and the blend knob allows you to mix just the right amount of compression with your guitar signal(versus all or nothing). I pretty much leave it on all the time. It sounds great and the price is great. Additionally, Brian Wampler is a tone freak and his pedals are extremely high quality(Even the packaging is first class. Check it out.

  • from Foxboro, MA February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Lifelong guitarist

    Always on Pedal

    Subtle or squashed the Ego Compressor is clean, quiet and versatile. This unit makes my Strat come alive with just a little sparkle or smooth sustain that sits nicely in a live band mix. Very wide range in each control knob that will let this pedal match up nicely with numerous different guitars and amps. It's got a personality all it's own but still mates perfectly with my associated gear. Great for all styles. Quality construction. Easy on the eyes. I miss it when I turn it off, so I leave it on! You can't go wrong.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar

    WORKS GREAT WITH FENDER TUBE AMPS!

    I tried this on a mesa boogie and it fell flat on its butt. Just didn't work out at all. I did however also try this out on two fender combos tube amps. It makes the amp come alive! Amazing sound. The blend knob is really useful to have as well as the sustain knob. All in all, I would HIGHLY recommend that you use this as part of your guitar rig arsenal with tube amps especially.

  • from Mamaroneck , New York January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist ,musician, playing since 1964

    Very nice comp pedal, I love it!

    This is a very versatile compressor that makes every guitar I plug into it sound great. I love trying different settings and different guitars and amps to see what develops. It produces such a musical tone with plenty of sparkle for clean tones. When I use it with my overdrive it really sings.It's built rock solid and sits nicely on my board .
    I'm glad I got it. Good recommendation Matt Emick, thanks.

  • from California January 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro , Full Time Gigging!

    Wampler Ego Compressor Pedal with Blend Control

    Best Compresser Hands Down! If Your looking to get sustain and not loose your guitat tone at all! this is it! BUY IT!

  • from United States January 3, 2015Music Background:
    serious hobbyist

    The best!

    Best compressor i've ever used. If you've narrowed it down to this or others, get this one. everything about it is fantastic.

  • from Chile October 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, Guitarrist, Song Writer

    An awesome compressor

    I am not used to play with compressors, but after i met this little boy, i cannot think about playing without it. It is a transparent and warm sound, and besides it mantains my highs in a incredible way!
    I have the EHX White Finger, but now i am selling it, because this pedal is all i need, and all i will need.
    I would like to have known Wampler pedals before, because they are awesome and this one, is in just two words: "The Best".

  • from October 27, 2014Music Background:
    Semi - Pro

    Ego compressor

    What a pedal!! I bought this to replace my Boss Compressor/Sustainer. This pedal really kicks it's ***. The sound is awesome and build quality 100%. It's now one of my favorite pedals. It's going to be hard to beat this pedal. In my opinion, it's the best compressor on the market. I've tried other Wampler pedals as well, and I must say, they build some of the best pedals there is. I highly recommend this pedal and also all the other pedals from Wampler. If this pedal don't satisfy you, then nothing else will.

  • from Nashville TN September 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby player/ and weekend gigs

    This pedal should be required to be in your pedal board!!

    I never had a compressor in my board, and never thought I needed one.. That was until I met Brian Wampler and saw him do a pedal demo show...this pedal adds so much body to your tone, it makes your other pedals and your amp sound 100 times better... Great for using to enhance your clean tone and great for mixing with overdrive.... There is nothing more to say other than stop reading this review and order your ego compressor asap!

  • from West Virginia September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Home studio, multi-instrumentalist, singer/songwriter, gear fanatic.

    YEP!

    Best comp I've ever played. Incredible versatility and precisely everything you would want a comp to be. Completely satisfied. Compressor pedal shopping is done. :)

  • from Palisades Park, NJ August 27, 2014Music Background:
    40 year adventure in six string bending

    Simply floored

    How I ever lived without this pedal on my board is amazing. If I could only keep one pedal this would be it; enough said.

  • from Ohio July 29, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Professional Guitarist, Hobbyist

    Great Comp!

    The Wampler Ego is amazing! I had no interest in buying a compressor for a long time after having a CS-3 for a while. Recently, a couple of the other guitarists at church suggested I check it out. They said it would put the finishing touch on my tone. I respect their opinions and I read many reviews about the Ego online without seeing a bad one. So I decided to just jump and buy it. The Ego is quiet and seems to add little noise if any. The blend and attack knobs really make it useful for me because I like having it set to always be on. I didn't want my compressor to squash my tone, but rather just smooth things out overall. I played with the attack and sustain knobs as well and you can easily get the percussive sounds for chicken pickin'. The Ego doesn't seem to really color your tone like other may. I don't see myself buying another compressor any time soon. Check it out!

  • from Marysville CA June 21, 2014Music Background:
    Praise/Worship

    Great compressor

    I had a goal this summer to upgrade my candy box(pedal board). I wanted to get rid of some foreign made digital pedals for some USA made analog pedals. After spending more hours than it will ever be worth(and more time than any sane human would spend) reading blogs and listening to clips, narrowed my search for a compressor down to about 3 or 4. The reason I chose this one:A: it's made in the USA. B:it has a functioning blend knob. C: no negative blog posts, and plenty of positive reviews. It is a great compressor for what I use it for. I can turn down the blend knob and just sort of smooth out the over all sound. You can still get that squeezed to death sound for chicken pickin, but I rarely ever enter anything close to that territory. Very versital and open soundind. Analog is ALWAYS better by at least 10xs in my opinion.

  • from Orlando, FL March 22, 2014

    Exactly what I was looking for!

    I've been looking for a compressor for a while now, not really for the tone but for the playing comfort and reliability that comes with compression. Most compressors do this but the problem that I have is I mostly cannot stand the "pop" that comes from hard compression, which is a standard for most pedals. This pedal is absolutely not one of those pedals. If you want the hard "pop" this pedal can obviously deliver but if you're like me and you just want something to smooth out your overall tone and playing, I can't recommend the Ego enough. Also in case you were wondering, many people recommend this pedal for playing the "chicken" picking country styles, including Brian Wampler himself. If that style is not for you, don't fret! This pedal excels in all guitar styles from soft clean tones to all the gain in the world.

  • from Ohio February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Most versatile compressor out there

    I must admit, I'm a big MXR fan, and I still love the Dyna Comp, but this compressor is much more versatile. It doesn't quite color your sound as much as the MXR, although the MXR does what it does very well. This is much more transparent and almost makes your notes "bloom". I play mostly country and rockabilly, and I run my '52 reissue Tele through this and an Aqua Puss delay, into a '59 Bassman reissue amp, and the sound is stunning. Yes, this pedal is expensive, but you get what you pay for!

  • from Harwinton, CT February 6, 2014

    THE best pedal comp, no room for debate.

    This is just the best. Very tasty favors of compression, and the blend knob is just fantastic - it just stays on. Wonderful to be able to dial in a semi-aggressive compression and blend it in at 40% - gets you all the boost and sustain to really beef up your sound without squashing your whole range or fighting feedback.

    This is an excellent circuit that hold my attention. So great I bought a second so I always have a loose one handy if I don;t have the big board!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN USA January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Really Impressive!

    I feel like I have so much control, especially with the blend feature. You can tastefully change your compression without feeling like it's compromising your sound in anyway. I'm able to get long sustain and at the same time have a real dynamic sound!

  • from Louisiana November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Blues and worship bands, recording hobbyist

    I will never be without it.

    Great piece of equipment. The versatility of the Ego is its best feature. Blending as much of the effect as wanted, along with the tone and volume controls allow me to dial in the precise sound I'm looking for. The attack adjustment adds even more options for sound control. That extra sparkle and punch really add a professional studio sound. American Fat Strat through a Fender Blues Junior knocks it out of the ballpark.

  • from San Antonio September 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Blues,Smooth Jazz,R&B Gospel Lead Guitatist

    The New King Of Compressors Pedals " Wamper Ego "

    The Wamper Ego Compressor Pedal is the finest Pedal of its kind no matter what kind of Music you play. After playing on Boss & Keeley Compressors for years I must truthfully state that The Wamper Ego Pedal is" The New King Of Compressor Pedals." It sounds good and gives me all my favorite compressor sounds without coloring the natural sound of my Guitar tone. I love it so much I rarely turn it off during Live Performances every week." I Don't leave home without it."

  • from Texas September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar & Piano

    Best Compressor

    I have used a Kelley Compressor for years. I own several Wampler pedals & they outshine all the others. Highly recommended.

  • from August 19, 2013

    Wampler Rules

    Great transparent compressor. Wampler know what they're doing. Versatile pedal, finely built, couldn't ask for more.

  • from Colorado May 16, 2013

    This Is The One

    As soon as I plugged in, it was apparent. Very slick and well designed product. It gives you seamless compression, and its very quiet. I would recommend this to a friend.

  • from Beaverton, OR March 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Composer, Producer, Former Performing Musician

    Blows Other Compressors Out Of The Water!

    I have a Keeley compressor, which I loved, and I thought was the best compressor out there...until I got the Ego Compressor on a whim just to try it. WOW! For country spanky twang, there is no comparison. The audio quality is amazing and the tweakability of the compression and attack make the Ego Compressor a far superior compressor to all others. The blend knob actually makes the attack spankier. I thought it would make the attack more subtle, but it has the opposite effect, if you use it correctly. If you play country, just stop looking and order this pedal. Wampler pedals are just phenomenal in terms of quality and versatility.

  • from Dalton , Ga February 12, 2013

    great compressor

    This compressor does it all , Very easy to use , and always produces always sounds so natural . Other compressors just made my tone sound muffled . If you want a natural sounding compressor that will not muffle your tone this is it .

  • from January 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The EGO Compressor one of the Finest Soundmachines

    I have had some priceworthy compressor before,
    like the Boss customcomp, the Diamond CPR xellow,
    the Mad Professor Forest Green, and the Keeley 3knob!

    With all respect to a lot of Compressors the EGO Comp is
    the one never left my board and is always in line!!

    Its by far one of the best versatile Machines for Guitar etc.
    Noiseless, not too much pots, best features, and after a
    short time to see how it works - it is a WAMPLER!!!

    Some of these pedals have reference status! Take it and PLay.

  • from Abington,Pa. January 3, 2013Music Background:
    guitarist,singer,recordj b

    A compressor for your rig thatf

    I have had 3 versions of this pedal by Brian Wampler. It is based on his design ,building a compressor for himself years ago, though he has tweaked the design. Very versatile,this compressor has 5 knobs to adjust your compression from full blown chicken pickin' to a much more subtle compression or to a separate clean boost channel.
    It is not parallel compression ,like The Barber Tone Press, It is more like 2 pedals in one, a clean boost and a Ross like compressor. Wampler uses only top grade parts in his compressor, and it is a very well built pedal. The blend knob gives you the choice of how much of each channel you want to use, boost or compression. The attack knob goes into action when the pedal has the blend knob on compression only, Honestly I have not found a setting of this compressor that I do not like. There is included in the compressor box, a very complete set of instructions.
    Finally, Wampler has a tone knob which can give you some bass to treble changes, going to clockwise. This was a request of customers, not the tone knob, it has been there, some customers wanted it's action to change in how it interacts with tone and presence and it is a little different than just a plain tone knob. All in all, it is a very good product at a fair price. I truly love it myself ,recently I turned on one of Philly's best guitarists, Jim Fogarty to it and He said it took his Pedalworx Squeeze Factor off his pedal board for the Wampler.

  • from Utah November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Finally...

    I've really never been a big fan of compressors. I bought Boss's compressor, the MXR Dyna Comp and Keeleys 4 knob compressor. None of them cut it for me.

    I absolutely love Wampler's compressor however. It allows you enough versatility to preserver your attack and increase your sustain. Or you can get the full on squash. Whatever you want really. It does it all.

    Top quality company designing the pedal. I'd recommend it to any body needing a compressor.

  • from Ashland,Ky January 31, 2017Music Background:
    Writer,weekend gigger tone freak, Recording

    Great

    fatten ,smooth ,boost ,whatever you want to do the blend control is where it's at I used to use another blue one for a long time but this is my new blue compressor I only use the other compressor for lead boost this one I leave on all the time and the volume control really makes a difference on the guitar thanks to Sweetwater !

  • from August 26, 2016Music Background:
    Various styles. . .

    Great!

    User friendly and versatile. One of the few compressors that is quiet and does not color or rob your tone.
    Built like a tank as well. Wampler's reputation is well earned.

  • from Ann Arbor, Michigan December 4, 2015

    Great compressor

    Very transparent compressor. Adds little to no coloration to your tone. Variable "attack" knob is an extremely useful addition which allows you to vary when the compressor activates when you hit the note. Helps maintain the dynamic characteristics of guitar. I keep it on most of the time. Super quiet pedal with just a little hiss when everything is turned up. With the help of the Sweetwater staff, I had tried several pedals. This is certainly at the top of the list!

  • from Cleveland, OH USA February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro guitar player, producer

    One of the best

    One of the best compressors around. With the "blend" all the way down i still feel my sound a a little tiny bit compressed but the precision and the compression are just great. I use it with clean sound or before a light overdrive to give it more sustain and it does its job perfectly. Love the quality of the attack and if you already have a good tone you won't need to play around with the tone knob. No noise whatsoever. Definitely recommended.

  • from June 23, 2015

    Solid Addition to the Pedalboard

    Moving away from the "all-in-one" multi-effects boards and concentrating my efforts on building a pedalboard that helps in attaining a clean and an overdriven tone that fits my style. My "Go To" guitars are all single coil (Strat, Tele, P90), and I've always used compression as a foundation for the tone. I was looking for a compressor pedal that evens out the picking attack and gives me a touch of the tonal aspects of a classic country Chicken Picker or a Mark Knopfler, but doesn't squish the life out of the tone.

    I had watched the videos of most of the compressor pedals that Sweetwater carries, and had narrowed down my choice to two. Talking with my Sweetwater Rep about my goals, he recommended the Wampler Ego. I trust the guys at Sweetwater and pulled the trigger on the Ego. Very clean on the signal, I find the BLEND control to be a crucial part of the design, allowing me to decide just how much of the affected signal is used. This means you can go full on "Signal Squash", or just a hint of attack depending on your style. The unit is very solidly built. And, as Don Carr points out in the video, the blue sparkle finish rawks! ;-)

    I highly recommend the Wampler Ego pedal for anyone who is looking for total control over their tone. Excellent value!

  • from June 28, 2014Music Background:
    audio engineer and guitarist

    Review of Sweetwater

    This pedal was not compatible with my rig. This may or not of had to do with running a kemper through powered PA. Anyway, Sweetwater bent over backwards to make sure that I was satisfied. When the first didn't work in my rig, they immediately sent a second. When that one had the same problem, deduction dictated that my rig was the stubborn piece of the puzzle. Sweetwater paid for the return of both pedals.

Questions about the Wampler Ego Compressor Pedal with Blend Control?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway