0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Bogner Ecstasy Red Overdrive Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Bogner Ecstasy Red Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Bogner Ecstasy Red Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    The first time I recorded with an Ecstasy, I fell in love with the Red Channel. Thick and crunchy, but detailed with great note definition. I have searched all over for a pedal that can do that kind of tone, but now that search is over. The Bogner Ecstasy Red Overdrive Pedal gets so close to the real tone that it's unreal!

  • from Washington, IL May 3, 2016

    Love the Bogner Red!

    I'm currently using the Bogner Red through a Fender '68 Custom Deluxe Reverb with an American Standard Tele, a pretty clean rig as far as tone goes. The pedal is super versatile and can give all kinds of variation of distortion. I can keep it bluesy or country or beef it up to a really nice, rich, heavier sound that's good for any kind of hard rock that I need and there's still headroom beyond that if you want to get REALLY heavy. The boost functionality is awesome. Being able to dial in my own boost volume and gain beyond is a very nice feature. It's nice to have a nice rich lead even if the rhythm I'm playing is a little cleaner. I really like the big chicken head knobs as well. It makes it so much easier to tweak in a live setting. I like it so much, I'm thinking about getting the Blue as well.

  • from Portage February 17, 2016

    Bogner Red Ecstacy

    I have owned this pedal for a few years now. I like the amp like tones I have been getting. It has many tweakable settings. It has a broad range of mid to high gains. I run this with a global parametric eq. Along with other high quality overdrives. The Bogner has the most control. I use a stereo pair of Orange Micro Terrors into a stereo 4x12 cab. SOUNDS huge. LOOKING to get the LA Grange next!

  • from Everett, WA May 19, 2015

    Bogner Ecstasy (Red)

    You get what you pay for. This is more than I usually spend on a pedal but is worth every penny. Very amp-like and lots of options for tweaking to play well with different guitars and amps. Love it

  • from Lafayette, IN September 12, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, collector, gear junkie, enthusiast

    Bogner glory

    Let me state first off, I've never been a huge pedal guy, especially OD/distortion, as none of them have particularly impressed me, preferring to get that straight gain straight from a high end tube amp. That being said, I purchased one of these on whim, and let me tell you... while not dethroning my current amp, the Rhodes/KSR Artemis, I was still exceptionally impressed by this little box of damnation. If you run a class A single channel and want to give it the attitude of a rabid Rottweiler with indigestion, this is JUST what you need. Definitely voiced for the more modern gain tones, such as the mesa-ish type distortion but with an organic nod to the marshall type bark and snarl. Well constructed, with each of the knobs offering a very dynamic difference in sound while turning them. The toggles also offer various tone shaping options, and the boost can put it over the top. can really push an amp hard, but is better off letting it stand on it's own merit, rather than running it through an already dirty channel. Now I see why these demand the price they do. An acquisition worth hanging on to. Now I've been considering the blue pedal as well, or perhaps adding the Ecstasy head to the arsenal. Quite impressive work, Reinhold.

  • from Northern Wisconsin August 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    amp in a box

    When I first read about Bogner's new pedals I was instantly intrigued.
    Being a starting collector of interesting amps and pedals, I decided to invest in all three. The Ecstasy red pedal delivers in all aspects. From one musician to another, you could agree that this pedal has "it". The unexplainable quality of any piece of musical gear that electrifies any person fortunate enough to own it. The tone, the feel, over all quality of this pedal shines on any setting. Do yourself a favor, save your lunch money and buy all three Bogner masterpieces.

  • from Northern VA April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great Pedal

    I bought this one and the Ecstasy Blue as well - I actually use the blue pedal more often live and the red is kept on tap for the harder rockin stuff - anyway, these pedals sound great - such a nice CRUNCH - really cut through the mix nicely - highly recommend.

  • from Northern VA March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging/Recording musician

    RED and BLUE - NICE TONE!

    I was using an Ibanez TS-9 OD and was looking for something a little more gritty and crunchy. My SW salesperson recommended the Bogner Ecstacy Blue but I decided to go with the red thinking I could still use the TS-9 for the softer bluesy stuff...well after playing a gig with the red there was no going back to the TS-9 for anything...so why not add the blue pedal and call it a day? Well I did just that and goodness what a sonic palette I now have to choose from. From a clean plexi boost to huge SONIC hard rock crunch these pedals can do it all and do it well! Beautiful tone. Expensive? Yes, but as the old saying goes you get what you pay for and besides I cant imagine ever needing another distortion/OD - pedal and the quality of the sound is worth it for sure!

  • from Troy, Mo. USA February 26, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Ronnie

    This pedal is great for the sound that I was looking for. It has a real amp like feel to it and responds very well to volume changes and picking styles. The only switch that I found didn't make much difference to my sound was the 3band EQ, but all the others do very much change the tone to your disires and able to dial in or out lows, miss, highs ect.

    I love the distortion/overdrive this thing delivers! It can go from blues to all out hard rock and has great sustain. I feel like I can play any style of music with this pedal it is just that versatile. I'm running my Bogner through a Marshall JCM 2000 TSL 100 with a Les Paul and its the best sound I have had coming out of my Marshall for a long time! I use this thing at church playing contemporary Christian music with lots of compliments on the tone and then playing rock as well and it gives me all I need!

    This is a great pedal with great sounds and if you want a pedal that will fit just about any style of music without swallowing up the tones of your guitar which lets each string be heard in your power chords and will soften up and react accordingly to how your playing.
    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!

  • from Monument ,Colorado February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Bogner Ecstasy

    I was looking for a way to create a great sound for my set up so I could play and enjoy without having to turn my amp up to mega volume. (and having a very unhappy wife!) My sales engineer at Sweetwater, Greg Savino, (many thanks again Greg).suggested the Bogner ecstasy combined with a Philosopher tone pedal. Absolutely worked out fantastic. This was after wasting a lot of time and money trying to do the same thing on my own. Sweetwater is a great place to get your gear. Their sales engineers really know about gear and will help you make the right choice the first time.

  • from Sonoma County, CA February 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    This one did the same as the blue one

    This is an amazing pedal for those Marshall sounds. The elusive brown sound hide in here. It can get OD and crunch but also the clean semi-clean sounds. Potentiometers are very active and it takes some time to dial a sound that you like or need. It the most robust pedal I have ever played and tones for everyone. Now, if I could just settled and a tone and stop reaching down.

  • from Front Royal, VA January 7, 2013Music Background:
    27 Year Hobbyist

    Sweet Sweet Tone

    Can't say enough about this pedal. Pricey? Yes. Worth it? Totally. The versatility of this pedal is amazing. The tone is amazing. Very user friendly and I was able to dial it in quickly. The boost function allows additional gain to be fed into the mix and essentially turns a 1 channel amp into a 3 channel amp. I purchased this and a Keeley Luna Overdrive to put to the test. While the Keeley is a fantastic pedal in its own right, the Ecstasy is phenomenal. I love the sound of a Bogner Ecstasy amp and this pedal really lets you hone in on that sound. Notes are articulated and again the tonal options are huge. Definitely one of the best I have ever played.

  • from Liberty, MO December 29, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years in the music business

    This pedal is amazing!

    It is like owning a Bogner amp at a fraction of the cost!

  • from December 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great pedal!

    Awesome brown sound machine! Great string definition, not fizzy sounding. Amazing with a clean Fender type amp. Incredible level service from Sweetwater as usual!!!

  • from KANSAS December 16, 2012Music Background:
    Been playing for for 40 years.

    Bogner Ecstasy Red Pedal

    I mostly just record in my home now, so I'm always looking for great sound at bedroom levels. The Bogner Ecstasy amp is my dream amp sound, but let's face it, it's meant for a big stage, not in your bedroom.
    This is the first pedal I've purchased that actually sounds like the U-tube clips! It's killer! I'm driving it through one of my older tube heads into my 4-12 cabs, and it's hard to even put my guitar down, I love it! It prefers the tubes cranked on your clean channel with the master up, but you can keep it quieter with your channel volume. Once you dial the amp in, this pedal sounds incredible at any volume with the pedals volume control. Man, amp simulation technology is getting unbelievable!. The musical dynamics of this pedal are amazing. Man, with a couple of beers I sound just like Van Halen! HA! Great job Bogner!

  • from United States November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Finally, a distortion pedal that sounds exactly like it's supposed to.

    I've been searching (and searching) for a great distortion pedal for my %13 rsa 23, something for some AC/DC to Van Halen crunch, but nothing was getting me close. This pedal nails it, the bloom and urgency of the brown sound to the raw crunch of Angus, and it has real tone controls and many (actually useful) options. I never write reviews and usually wait a couple of weeks to let the product sink in, however, I've been playing this for three hours and only stopped to write this review. If your thinking you might want this pedal, stop thinking and buy it, you will not regret it.

  • from November 2, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, live sound engineer, Recording engineer, Student.

    Everything You Need In a Box

    This has to be one of the best pedals out there!. Tried it accidentally at a guitar shop and fell in love with it directly. It could go from an ac dc tone to a beffy sound with ease. Love this pedal! It is like the Ecstasy 101 Head Cab but in a box! A bit pricy, but worth every penny! Bogner FTW!

  • from San Francisco, CA August 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Pro Mixing / Mastering Engineer

    Damn Good.

    The more I play with this thing the more I like it. This is the best distortion pedal I've tried yet. Different settings really suit different guitars and amps so what works best for one guitar and amp will likely NOT work best for another, which demonstrates how versatile this pedal really is. It will definitely stay on my pedal board and I like it so much I'm considering some of the other bogner pedals as well.

  • from Joshua Tree December 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The aptly-named Ecstacy

    Just like in "The Matrix", you gotta "take the red pill". You can get plenty of bluesy, roots-rocky tones outta this baby when the gain is set low and/or you roll off the guitar's volume knob but it's strong suit is the boost function and it's screaming lead tone. It's tight and responsive and loose and saggy all at the same time somehow..and harmonics just jump off the finger board and bent or vibrato notes sing for days...and on the right harmonic relative to your note choice. Built like a tank (most impressive battery compartment hatch ever), and even though it has nobs a-plenty, It is very intuitive and quick to figure out. At higher gain settings, kiss your natural tone wood tone goodbye...this beast has a strong assertive sound to be sure. It's meant to be the entire preamp section not just a distortion box to goose the front end of a Marshall. Thank you Mr. Bogner for this jewel of a pedal. German engineers over-engineer the best! -Pete Arnold

  • from Leominster, MA January 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Big THANK YOU...

    ...to Mitch Gallagher or actually playing CHORDS on his demo rather than wanking like the guy in the other video. i can judge a pedal's sound much better off of chords than leads.

  • from Northwest NJ April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Overpriced and underwhelming

    I was really excited to try this pedal, but I was so disappointed. The Ecstasy Red has WAY too much compression, totally squashing picking dynamics and expressiveness, like a cheap compression pedal. No excuse for that - there are so many great pedal makers out there these days (Wampler, Fryette, Alf Hermida, even Fulltone, lots more), with pedals that provide a playing feel and expressiveness almost as good as plugging directly into a fine tube amp, with glorious, raging tone that provide all the "ecstasy" you could want, for less money than these Bogners, some a lot less. After gigging with it a couple of times. I found that lack of dynamics made it a challenge to cut through a live mix. Also, the YouTube demos are somewhat misleading about the adjustable boost - there is only a tiny range of adjustment available. I returned my Ecstasy Red after about 3 weeks. Reinhold, we love ya, but you should have spent less time photographing yourself for the ads and more time on the pedal!!

Questions about the Bogner Ecstasy Red Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway