0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Bogner Ecstasy Blue Overdrive Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Bogner Ecstasy Blue Overdrive?

Questions about the Bogner Ecstasy Blue Overdrive?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 17, 2015

    Well worth the price

    The words "surgical precision" come up in Sweetwater's review of this pedal, and they're 100% correct. You get so many options with four switches, a boost channel, and a highly responsive three-band EQ. There are literally seven knobs on this pedal (count em!). The circuit is great, and the hardware components (housing, footswitches, jacks) are high quality, having withstood a few years worth of use. I've never had to tighten or replace anything. It's super responsive, not only to the guitar's volume knob but even to picking intensity.
    If you have the time and money, the Bogner Blue will give you what you want. It's been my favorite medium-gain drive for years on end. I feel like Bogner went beyond conventional build expectations for guitar pedals in making this product. It's objectively a great product while maintaining artistic nuance. It's just beautiful.

    (Note: when running at 12v power, there was a really obnoxious hum in my signal. At 9v the pedal is silent, even totally boosted and at the highest gain. So run it at 9!)

  • from Beautiful ...Isanti, mn. June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Old tone junkie

    Worth it and then some

    I already have the red and was curious about the blue,...I'm partial to the blue because it's a little less harsh and sounds more harmonic and smooth in a really class a pushed old school way....very impressive and versatile

  • from San Francisco, CA October 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Pro Mixing / Mastering Engineer

    Bad*ss

    Love this pedal. I have the Ecstasy Red as well but I prefer the Blue overall (both great pedals though). The red is nastier and the blue is creamier. I like them both so much I ordered the uberschall as well. I run an EP Booster into the blue pedal and the combination is just excellent. I'm an overdrive pedal junkie but this may be my favorite of them all.

  • from Palm Harbor, FL August 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Home Recording

    Simply Incredible

    I watched some pretty good demos of this pedal that made the pedal sound other worldly and this thing did not disappoint. Very organic and rich sounding. Very full compared to other OD pedals I have. Goes from a very nice clean/breakup sound to pretty heavy OD. Not quite distortion territory, but that is what the Red pedal is for.

  • from Northern Virginia April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great pedal!

    This is the pedal you need! I bought the red ecstasy first, love it but it really is too much gain for most of what my band plays. So I bought the blue one as well....and now the blue is the one I use most and stays in my pedal board for live use. (Ill keep the red for studio use). The blue has a very nice CRUNCH and focused punch. EQ and modes are subtle but thats a good thing as its very hard to find a bad tone in the pedal. The best distortion pedal Ive ever owned. If you are a metal head go for the red. Everyone else get the blue...it has plenty of gain, trust me. Thanks to Sweetwater salesperson Mark Magdich for the recommendation!

  • from Northern VA March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging/Recording musician

    Red and BLUE - NICE TONE!

    I was using an Ibanez TS-9 OD and was looking for something a little more gritty and crunchy. My SW salesperson recommended the Bogner Ecstacy Blue but I decided to go with the red thinking I could still use the TS-9 for the softer bluesy stuff...well after playing a gig with the red there was no going back to the TS-9 for anything...so why not add the blue pedal and call it a day? Well I did just that and goodness what a sonic palette I now have to choose from. From a clean plexi boost to huge SONIC hard rock crunch these pedals can do it all and do it well! Beautiful tone. Expensive? Yes, but as the old saying goes you get what you pay for and besides I cant imagine ever needing another distortion/OD - pedal and the quality of the sound is worth it for sure!

  • from Sonoma County, CA February 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Threw about 12 to 15 pedals off my pedal board part 1

    This is an amazing pedal for those fender type clean or semi clean sounds. It can get OD and crunch but on the clean semi-clean side. Potentiometers are very active and it takes some time to dial a sound that you like or need. It the most robust pedal I have ever played and tones for everyone. Now, if I could just settled and a tone and stop reaching down.

  • from Liberty, MO December 29, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years in the music business

    Bogner Ecstasy Blue is AWESOME!

    It is like owning the amp for a fraction of the cost.

  • from Baltimore, MD November 16, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Artist, Session player

    The feel of an amp!

    Very rarely do I give 5 stars to anything.

    I bought both RED and BLUE Bogner pedals and thought I was going to like the RED better but I was wrong. The BLUE breaths like a real amp unlike any other pedal I've played through. It has enough gain for Blues and crunch. I'm using this as my primary overdrive pedal. It's hard to describe the feel, but the vibe/mojo is all there. Don't forget about your guitar volume pedal with this pedal; it does wonders to the tone, cleans right up and still breaths tone glory.

    How many pedals do you know that are great but run at 18-24V and thus take an extra PP2+ port or require their own AC adapter? Not here! The fact that Bogner figured out a way to power it up with a simple 9V+- connection (PP2+) while boosting up the voltage inside the pedal is HUGE when it comes to practicality.

    I love the boost, and the fact you can change its volume/gain settings separate from non-boost mode.

    Very impressed!

Questions about the Bogner Ecstasy Blue Overdrive?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close