0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Ebow EBow Plus Electronic Bow for Guitar Reviews

4.5 stars based on 31 customer reviews
Questions about the Ebow EBow Plus Electronic Bow for Guitar?

Questions about the Ebow EBow Plus Electronic Bow for Guitar?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris McCown

    This a a versatile tool that should be in every electric guitarist's bag of tricks. I've had mine for about eight years now, and I've used it countless times both live and in the studio. I have even used it to simulate bagpipes on a recording! Nothing sounds like an E-bow, and there aren't nearly enough guitarists using them. If you need something different than your standard stompbox-style effects, you need to check this out.

  • from Bakersfield January 18, 2017

    First Time with an ebow

    (Worship guitarist, 6 years, plays worship, rick, and ambient music) Review: Worth every penny. Although it comes with how-to videos, which is great, I messed around with it for about 20 minutes and was able to use it on every string, doing the different movements described in the instructions page, and I was coming up with beautiful sounds, especially when utilizing delay and reverb with a volume pedal, making synth sounds and Cello sounds when using an Octaver. The two settings of the ebow can actually create two different sounds from a string even if you place your finger on the same fret as before. One setting is lower and the other brings out a higher register. Beautiful product and for myself, it is an absolute keeper and part of my toolbox for playing live, or recording at home. Buy it!

  • from Texas December 1, 2016

    awesome!

    Must have for ambient music!

  • from United States May 12, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Excellent

    Great product! You really get some amazing sounds out of it.

  • from Moses Lake, Wa. March 28, 2015Music Background:
    Metal, screamo, ambient, progressive, worship music.

    Must Have

    I have played guitar for about 15 years. Mostly metal, screamo and ambient stuff. This has been on the bucket list for me to buy for at least 10 years and I just kept putting it off. Well I finally bought the Ebow and I can tell you I will never go without one again. I use it in the studio for filling up space, it is great for worship music and overall it's one of those things that once you have it, you'll never not have one again. Buy an Ebow now. Move it up the list of items you need. You will be glad you did.

  • from Fort Worth March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Ebow

    The Ebow is an awesome guitar sustain effect, but it isn't for the faint of heart or lazy guitarist. You have to spend time and learn how to use this amazingly useful tool.

    Just sustaining individual notes sounds great with reverbs and delays and relatively easy to get a hang of the technic. For adding ambient backing tracks to your recordings alone will make the Ebow indispensable to your arsenal of effects.

    But, this is just scratching the surface. If you can get the string skipping technic down combined with a dotted 8th note delay, you will be opening a whole new world of creativity to your skill-set.

  • from chicagoland July 5, 2014Music Background:
    singer songwriter

    strings and brass and more

    Fantastic sounds on bass and guitar. Some learning curve but worth your time.

  • from Crete, IL June 9, 2014Music Background:
    30 years of guitar bass and vocals

    An incredible pallate of endless sustains

    I can't believe how many effects this thing can produce. Have a look at the cartoon on you tube about it to see the possibilities. It truly is an electronic Bow. If you need a string patch in the background, or some brass, or a cool solo sound, get it and practice using it. It's as easy to use as a slide and can do roots. harmonic 12 and 5 on top of the root note. Works with Bass Guitars too!

  • from Greensburg, Indiana December 25, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Too Much Fun!

    I love my new EBow! I have been using these since they first came out. I play in an a progressive celtic band and always get asked about the EBow. In the celtic band I use it on my electric acoustics with a backwards delay! Very cool and eerie sound.
    I also play in the worship band at my church and use the EBow on my Les Paul for some really cool violin/flute type of effects. Lots of fun!!

  • from August 12, 2013Music Background:
    Wanna Be Guitar God

    At last, an ebow!

    Wow, this was a lot easier to play than I thought it would be. I've been a long-time admirer of those who play ebows and thought it was a tricky affair and only for those more "seasoned" professionals. Not the case. I was up and running after hitting the on switch. It's a little tricky getting the "hot spot" on the guitar string (it helps to run your finger up the fret to initiate the necessary vibration), but once you hit it, you are up and running. Lots of fun to loop and create dense layers of "orchestral" textures. The manual has far more instructions than one needs, but that shows how generous and enthusiastic the ebow people are about their product. Highly recommended for the more adventurous players out there. Actually, I really can't see why all guitarists don't have one in their arsenal.

  • from Lewiston, NY July 12, 2013Music Background:
    Studio owner ( Blue Dog Records )...guitarist, composer/song writer...I also play Drums, Key's & Bass Gtr.

    "Ebow"

    Always wanted one ( over the last 15 yrs. ) so I bought myself one for my birthday!!!!!!!!!!!! This thing opens up a whole new pallett of sounds.
    My suggestion is buy one, you won't believe the sounds you can come up with...they even give you a CD that helps you get going!!!

  • from United States April 18, 2012Music Background:
    recording artist, performer, composer.

    Worth it.

    I was so unsure about this purchase at first. It seemed like something you only play with, or use once, but it turns out to be quite useful. I don't need to explain how unique this product is, all I can say is this: Even if you never use it, it's an essential tool to have in your guitarist toolbox.
    Stop thinking about it, buy one.

  • from Los Banos ,CA January 31, 2012Music Background:
    Musician Student .

    The Best

    It's does everything I expected it to do when I am playing guitar and I learned some cool things with it came to a good use I just love it you want to sustain a string forever EBow is your tool !

  • from November 15, 2011

    One Of My Favorites

    I've had my Ebow for about a year now. I received it as a gift and at first I really didn't know what to do with it, so it sat shelved for nearly 6 months. One day, I'm cleaning up, and see it. I decide to give it another shot. I was completely blown away! You can create BEAUTIFUL sounds with this. I use it with my loop pedal to get harmonic sounds, and it is one of my favorite toys. You get an excellent tool for a GREAT price, just buy it.

  • from April 28, 2011

    New Guitar Technique

    The ebow produces unimanigable guitar sounds

  • from Chicago. IL March 16, 2011Music Background:
    Professional guitarist

    An Instrument in it's Own Right

    I bought the EBow out of curiosity, with hopes of using it in my composing, comping and improvising. After getting comfortable with the mechanics of how it works, I am still figuring out how to incorporate it into my playing but progress is being made. Get one if you like experimenting with violin-like sustain.

  • from Tennessee June 16, 2016

    great addition

    This ebow is a great addition to any guitarists bag of tricks...still getting used to it and the different methods or techniques (definitely a learning curve) but enjoying it...funny how many songs I hear it in now...didn't realize how popular these are! Can't really speak to the construction/durability of it yet - but for the price of a few lessons it's worth the money.

  • from USA November 25, 2012Music Background:
    Music Teacher

    More fun than any player should be allowed to have

    I have been blown away with this product. The sounds I can get are amazing. It's just too bad some of the cello music I want to play doesn't lend it self to guitar very well! Making it sound like a woodwind or cello is difficult - but if you like a sustaining lead guitar sound, this will be easy to pick up!

  • from April 13, 2016Music Background:
    bass ,stick player

    Ebow

    I've used one for awhile now . Live and in the studio. Used on fretless bass , I can get sounds anywhere from cello to moog ,to haunted spirits. Like anything else ,you need to take some time learning how to use it, but it's worth the time.

  • from Calgary, AB January 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby picker!

    eBow

    This s cool gadget once you get the hang of it, My last one hit the floor a few times and I destroyed it when I stood on it, so hold on firmly. Cool sounds will emanate when also used with effects pedals.

  • from High Desert USA September 20, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice toy

    My only complaint is the price. But I didn't have to buy it. Too much for what it does. But it's fun.

  • from Georgia, USA March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Modern tech

    I am glad they finally replaced that outdated 8-track with a shiny new modern cassette!

  • from Cincinnati, OH July 10, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    E-Bow

    Lots of fun! Quick learning curve!

  • from Dubai, United Arab Emirated June 28, 2012

    EBOW shimmers and sustains!!!

    Wanted to replicate that melancholy "Nohing Else Matters" solo, hence purchased this. Well it does it's job of providing endless sustain. Works really well with distortion. If you like innovation , this is your go to tool. The support manual and CD is also really happy. Keep on rocking!!!

  • from Champaign, IL June 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist with various string instruments.

    The Ebow

    This is a very interesting and unique little "thing". I'm facinated with the way it works and the sounds you can get from it. It does everything the description says and more. I just wish I was a better guitar player so I could master it a little quicker or at least the ability to make it perform the way I think it should. Kudos to the inventer!

  • from Manteca, CA March 16, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, composer, Project studio

    So creative!

    I've been putting this thing through it's paces with some sound design work using various guitars - electric amplified, direct; acoustic electric, amplified, direct, and just mic'ing it acoustic. There's a lot of interesting and creative things you can do with it musically and texturally. The most usefulness I've found with it in musical context has been sustaining a single string while tapping melodies or chord changes on a lower string to create interesting harmonies. It's got a bit of a learning curve as getting to know the various placements and distances from the string can be very finicky and depending on the string thickness. The only reason i gave it 4.0 out of 5 is I just wish it were a little more versatile (being able to vibrate more than one string). Overall, any guitarist looking to expand their sonic palette should definitely get one of these!

  • from December 25, 2015

    Good, not great

    It can be very finicky and hard to get use to. You can't really use it with your amps clean channel, which makes it harder to switch to in the middle of a song, especially if you're the kind of guitarist who only plays through your clean channel. You also have to turn your pickup volume down considerably which is one more thing you have to worry about before using it for one or two parts of a song. It seems more ideal for experimenting in the studio rather than live performances. It's very cool and a great idea, but it has a few issues that need to be worked out in order for it to live up to its potential.

  • from NYC December 12, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Coll, but not worth a hundred bucks,

    It's ugly, but I knew that when I purchased it. Its a cool device that lets you make interesting sounds with your guitar. All this considered, I still think it's a rip off. For $45 or $50 I can see it, but for $100 it's a ridiculous rip off. The guy who does the demos sounds like he's bored out of his skull and probably is.

  • from Ohio October 18, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Hobbyist Live Recording

    Ebow Plus Electronic Bow for Guitar

    I believe this device is better left in the hands of Phil Keaggy, and most certainly not mine.

  • from Defiance oh October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Musician. Two

    Elbow

    I have not mastered it yet, but I use it on Gordon lighfoot song "wreck of Edmund Fitzgerald".

  • from New Hampshire October 26, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, semi-pro

    Nice effects for guitar...

    Not exactly what I was expecting - the demos are superior to what I was able to do "out of the box", so I guess I need more experience using it. Doesn't work as good with my Stratocaster single coil or semi-hollow humbucking guitars, but seems to work better with my Rickenbacker single coil and my solid body humbucking guitars. The violin and woodwind effects are the easiest effects to attain, but the cello, harmonica and other effects definitely require adjustments between your amp (I used a Vox and a Marshall) and your guitar(s). It's fun to use, but it will never replace my fingers or pick. Great for creating melodic or eerie washes for your music. I can see how it can be used for some cool distorted guitar licks that benefit from lots of sustain. You can use it straight out of the box (doesn't come with a 9V battery, which is pretty cheap of the Ebow company considering the $100 price tag!) but don't expect to be a pro without some decent practice. Nothing that will knock you off your chair, but I have to say it's "OK" as an effect in your gear bag... The $100 price tag is really steep for what I'd consider more like a $50 value, but there's nothing else out there quite like it, so if you have $ to spare, you might want to pick one up.

  • from Beckley WV USA January 1, 2005

    PlusEBow

    Words fail me when I think of how to describe my EBow. Thanks to Heet Sound and direct string synthesis I can get sounds out of my guitars that would be impossible without it! This unit comes with a cassette and demo booklet to get you started and they urge you to experiment.
    The easiest thing to do with an EBow is to achieve infinite sustain, mimicing harmonic feedback. That's also just about the dullest thing to do, but believe me, it's still awesome! By bumping the EBow across strings you can arpeggiate phrases that sound like volume swelled arpeggios. You can alternate back and forth between two strings, ala "Shouts Of Joy" by Phil Keaggy. You can mimic string sections ala "Legal Kill" by King's X. Awesome stuff.
    Get an EBow and learn how to use it, then get ready to take some really interesting twists and turns along the road of music.

Questions about the Ebow EBow Plus Electronic Bow for Guitar?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close