0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Toontrack EZdrummer 2 (download) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 147 customer reviews
Questions about the Toontrack EZdrummer 2 (download)?

Questions about the Toontrack EZdrummer 2 (download)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mike Winebrenner

    Drums have always been my Achilles' heel when recording my songs at home, but not anymore! Toontrack EZ Drummer 2 has made this process incredibly painless and simple. Whether I play the song on my electric drums or just plug in the MIDI grooves, I always end with professional-quality drums.

  • from Quebec City, Canada April 26, 2017

    Great quality, easy to use, extremely versatile

    Should have bought this a long time ago!! Simply makes writing music a million times easier. Drag and drop capabilities are awesome and getting a good solid drum foundation for your song takes minutes... even seconds...
    Awesome!!!

  • from Texas April 9, 2017

    Great software

    Ive use EZ Drummer on more than 50 songs and even seasoned drummer/ musicians dont have a clue that a live drummer didnt come in my studio and lay the trax. This is a must have software.

  • from Greenwood Arkansas April 6, 2017

    Best Drummer

    This is the best drummer I've ever had.It never breaks time, rushes or drags. And it never complains.

  • from Corpus Christi, TX March 24, 2017Music Background:
    Praise and Worship

    Toontrack EZdrummer 2

    Great sounds and easy to use.

  • from Bay Area March 20, 2017Music Background:
    40 years of Playing

    I found my drummer

    Final piece of the puzzle. I'm blown away how easy it was to to put a drum tracks together. Also helps me get creative with different playing styles and new ideas. Thanks Guys

  • from Florida March 16, 2017Music Background:
    Singer - Producer

    Love EZDrummer

    I can't say enough about EZDrummer. I love it. Now I just need to enlarge my library. It is very user-friendly and straightforward.
    I highly recommend it to all home studio producers.

  • from March 10, 2017

    Love it.

    This program is awesome. It gives you total control over the drums and you can really create whatever groove you need.

  • from Columbus Ga. March 1, 2017Music Background:
    Retired/Professional

    EZ Drummer 2

    Received the download and was blown away by the attention I received by the Service, The Sales man even called me to insure that everything was ok, Sweetwater is the greatest.

  • from January 31, 2017

    Great sounding drums right from the get-go.

    Very impressed with the sound quality of EZ Drummer 2. Most of the kits are demo ready and require little if any tweaking. Great variety of kits/sounds to work with. Several short but informative instruction videos to ensure you get the most out of the software.
    Registrering, downloading, installing and authorizing the Toontrack products is a dream. Hassle free.
    5 Stars to Toontrack.
    Highly recommend.

  • from Down South January 24, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarist song writer engineer producer.

    EZDrummer 2 is Worth every penny.

    Amazing if you haven't got yet get it, Far beyond the 1st EZDrummer Great tool for song writing & the tools given to make it EZ well Hearing is believing proof is in the Taste & this is tasty, it works perfect w/SD 2.0 . Sweetwater is there to help w/any issues.

  • from January 13, 2017

    Toontrack EX Drummer 2

    absolutely fantastic product!

  • from nashville December 23, 2016Music Background:
    home studio recordings

    wish i got it sooner

    i was holding off buying this program for the past year, hoping i could grab it on sale at a significant price drop. during this time, i often struggled to find just the right drum accompaniments for my song productions. i wasted many hours sifting through hundreds of assorted loops as i attempted to find appropriate drum parts for my songs using BFD, sample tank, loop loft, etc. about a month ago i downloaded a free trial of EZ drummer 2, and using tap to find, i was able to create a fantastic drum track in a matter of minutes. a light bulb moment! so at long last, i pulled the trigger and got the EZ drummer 2 program, along with a free expansion pack. only wish i had bought it sooner and saved all those frustrating, nonproductive hours searching for great drum sounds.

  • from Orlando Fl December 17, 2016Music Background:
    NYC rocker , classic , punk , metal , pro , fusion, alternative

    My coolest drummer

    I love this app the fact that you can have different drum kits and samples, when you have enough of them you can add the midi packs at a nice discounted price here in Sweetwater land
    Then you can have a nice variety of genres and beats
    .Also you can make up beats via midi and separate the tracks in your daw are powerful for mixing options. Easy drummer2 is also Great , it has less of the mixing in daw options but great for arranging songs faster with a nice stereo mix although you can break it down in the Mixer for panning and levels plus more . So that's why this my coolest drummer no arguments or opinions Just plays what you tell him or her to play lol

  • from Carol Stream, IL November 24, 2016

    Execptional

    I've been recording digital drums for quite a few years now, triggering them with an Octapad, and have always been very discriminating about how drum samples sound in general. I had been disappointed with the drum samples in Logic 9. Then Logic X came out and beefed them up considerably and frankly they sounded very good. Yet there was never enough "smack" to those drum sounds. Never enough "big right in your face" sound that a real set has That's now been remedied with Toontrack EZdrummer. I am completely blown away by this plug-in — how it sounds and how easy it is to get what I want. The samples are top-notch! I mostly trigger the kits with sticks in real time, but when I need the plugin to "play the drums for me", that has also worked out well. The MIDI groves sound VERY much like a drummer has just recorded a session in my house. If you are looking for a real rockin' drum plug-in, I recommend Toontrack EZdrummer big time!

  • from Atlanta, Georgia November 18, 2016Music Background:
    Modern Worship, Rock, Pop

    Friggin Boss

    Not going to get long-winded here (though I easily could), but basically this software is simply incredible. The quality, the options, the variety, the price - everything about it has saved my studio from decay. Waiting on a drummer to commit, show up and set up a set, deciding how to treat the room, which mics to use and where and how to place them - no longer.

    With this bad boy, EZD2, I write my own licks (in perfect time) and use the stock grooves and tweak them how I want. I literally have not stressed about drums once in 2 years!!!! I get exactly what I want, how I want it, and with incredible sound quality. The expansion packs and midi grooves are icing on the cake and I suggest sampling and finding the ones that suit your style and taste and invest in them. You won't regret it. I am a huge fan.

    P.S. the EZ Mix2 and EZ Keys by Toontrack are also excellent choices.

  • from November 7, 2016Music Background:
    Musician

    A great tool for songwriters, creator and producers!

    I'm a songwriter and was looking for a good drum software, as I don't have drums or ability to record drums at my disposal, so I bought EZdrummer 2. It's such a great software, from the flexibility and sounds of midi tracks and drum kits, to the ease of use of the program itself. I use it as a plug-in on my Logic Pro X and it works great. I recommend this to anyone who's looking for high quality drum tracks.
    My experience with sweetwater was amazing as well. The emails came through quickly, with detailed instruction on how to download everything with no hassle. I had no problems or issues whatsoever. Thanks Tommy Winter for following up with me after the purchase, to make sure everything was fine.

  • from October 31, 2016

    Amazing tool

    I ordered this to lay down Drum track for some pre production demos Using it as a VST instrument within Reaper. I have been able to program drum tracks that sound and feel real. The quality of the samples is amazing. I have not even delved into expansion packs at this point, the stock kits are so good.
    Fantastic product

  • from Orem, UT October 24, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Worth it no matter what your budget is

    There are so many ways that you can use this program that I'd definitely suggest it to literally anyone thinking about buying it. The drums sound really good to me, they have a dial that lets you make it more realistic by become less robotic and exact. You can also send all the parts of the drum to a different track in your DAW. You can make your own beats and use that or find similar beats based on how close it is to the beat you made. I like to record actual drums and then use the sounds from this kit over those drum parts. To me they sound realistic with some simple effects. Superior drummer might have more customization but this is enough for now and it sounds plenty realistic.

  • from October 6, 2016

    Awesomeness

    Easy to use and great at helping to generate ideas!

  • from New Orleans, LA. October 1, 2016Music Background:
    Trumpet, Guitars/Bass,Keyboards, Vocals

    EZdrummer 2

    This software, is perfect for me. It allows for fast song creation, with excellent sound. I also love the ability
    to assign each drum part, to its own separate track in Pro Tools.
    Thank You; The Best Ever

  • from August 27, 2016

    A Great Software.

    A perfect drumming addition. I use it for recording and triggering on my e-kit and it does both very well.
    A definite 5-star product. Thanks Toontrack and Sweetwater.

  • from Texas June 19, 2016

    Toontrack EZ Drummer 2- Super Easy

    I just purchased the software last month, and previously only using drum machines, I was blown away by how easy it is to create drum parts for any song in any style. Once you get your footing with the software, it is easy to select and create a style with different parts to it. Less time figuring out the software, equals more time creating music! Love it!

  • from Los Angeles April 6, 2016

    Don't Listen to the Naysayers

    I've only been using the demo for the last few days but this is a must buy for anyone wanting authentic sounding drums. People complaining that you can't edit the midi have it wrong. First, you can go in and change instruments, etc., with ease. Second, if you want to get in deep and edit the midi, all you have to do is drag your finished drum track to your DAW track and you can edit to your heart's content. You also have the option of playing your own beats, which are instantly quantized.

    If you want a virtual drummer that takes the headache out of virtual drumming, this is the best I've used—especially when you factor in price.

  • from Colorado March 12, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    I Was Wrong-The Magic Bullet DOES Exist!

    I have always been terrible at programming drums. The sounds were always crappy, and the patterns always came out bad, because hey--I'm not a drummer! Then I tried EZdrummer. I've always said that no plugin is a magic bullet, but I'm eating those words now.

    I used it to re-do all the drums for everything I've recorded in the last few years, and it has literally made everything sound better. It's so easy to use I released a new song within two weeks, and all of the drums are from this plugin. None of my audio friends even noticed--they wanted to know how I had got such a great drum sound. Now I'm looking at some of the EZX expansions, especially the Indie/Folk bundle.

    So, yeah, long story short, get EZdrummer!

  • from Gainesville, FL February 11, 2016

    Great. Buy it.

    It's easy to use. It easily integrates with Reaper. I don't have to program drums. The drums sound like drums. It lets me kick around ideas to bring to practice. More specifically, it allows me to flesh out how things might sound, and have a concrete example to show to the rest of the band when I get there. It's a real bummer when I get to practice and find out my idea that sounded awesome at home with just me and my looper, sounds like garbage when I can't explain to a drummer what I was envisioning. I bought this in conjunction with a Scarlett 2i2 Studio Bundle, which also works great and is easy to use. This is exactly what I've wanted for a long time. If you're like me, and you like to make up all the stuff on your own without pesky input from others, and then dictate to the rest of the band what you want them to do without any backtalk or sass, you're gonna love this. Buy it now, and streamline the continuation of your established pattern of interpersonal domination. Buy it from Sweetwater for the customer service. Get the expansion packs if you want to do metal stuff. One could probably mess around with tempos, and put in extra drum hits and stuff, and just use this for metal, but that gets a little too close to programming something for my taste.

  • from Portland, Oregon February 6, 2016

    EZ Drummer is easy

    EZ Drummer was really easy to set up. It loaded right into Studio One. I watched two videos on Youtube and started using it.

  • from ALISO VIEJO January 21, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby musician

    Toontrack has it!

    Such a great system. The 2.0 EZD system is so intuitive for song writing. And the additional drum kits that they have available as software downloads are incredible as well.

  • from January 14, 2016

    EZ drummer 2

    Probably the best drum software around. Huge step forward from the original EZ drummer. Very cool to operate and professional drum sounds. (Only suggestion, in my opinion of course, is that there should be a few more drum variations) Having said that, I am still blown away by the easy use and the way you can select your drum sounds and drag them into a track set out for you at the bottom, and then manipulate to suit you. So easy to create your own song in a matter of minutes. Love it!

  • from Evansville Indiana November 28, 2015Music Background:
    Part time pro, rock, metal, worship team, recording guitar, bass and drummer

    EZ sounds great!

    I've come to trust the advice of my Sweetwater rep, Jeremy Clifford, and I've yet to be disappointed. He told me that the "EZ drummer" plug ins were good programs, with some great sounds--and to not be fooled by the name. He was right! Definitely easy to learn and use, with each drum, cymbal or mic very adjustable. Highly recommend!

  • from September 29, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Amazing

    I'm not a pro by any means but I do know my mixes haven't been sounding like i want them to. I am a seasoned musician who just couldn't get my mixes right but not anymore, with ez mix it dials in the sounds i want quickly without the hours of tweaking. I'm just upset I took so long to order. I spend more time playing and recording then I do mixing now. product is amazing don't hesitate to buy it's well worth it

  • from Bellmore, NY September 10, 2015

    DRRRRRRUMS!!

    Bloody fantastic!! The missing link to digital/computer songwriting for guitarists is here!!

  • from IL August 23, 2015Music Background:
    Recording engineer, musician, live sound

    Holy s*** didn't know what I was missing!

    Best thing I could have ever done was buy this program!!! I'm an engineer and a guitar player I play drums but not well enough for recording. This program took the stress off my inadequacies as a drummer and gave me high quality grooves and sounds to accent my guitar playing ,songwriting and recordings.

  • from New Milford, Nj August 23, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Bassist

    Awesome!

    A great sounding drum software, super easy to use. Build AMAZING sounding full drum tracks in minutes! Also great when you have a real drummer in the studio. Just hook up your e-drums and play EZDrummer 2 in real time.

  • from July 22, 2015

    Perfect songwriting tool

    I am a keyboardist who focuses mostly on melody and lyrics. Creating percussion parts has always gotten in the way and been a challenge to me. No longer. This makes it easy to add a beat to song ideas. Love it.

  • from June 30, 2015Music Background:
    Song writer

    EZ DRUM NUMBER ONE!

    Easy to use, quick and seamless. I was able to build a complete professional sounding drum track in a matter of minutes. Because it is so easy to use, you can alternate between different drum grooves seamlessly to give your tune a different rhythm feel, and then choose the one that fits bests. Sometimes your song takes on a completely different feel from what you envisioned, but that's great!

    If you are a song writer and do not have the luxury of time, definitely consider this product!

  • from detriot mi June 6, 2015

    ez drummer2

    i finally found a way to write quickly and without having to bother with punching alot of buttons or programing alot of software ,,,this is the best tool for guitarist ,, to write without alot of hassle,,,, provooo toontrack can"t wait to see what next PATRICK JACKSON (DETRIOT)

  • from Florida June 1, 2015Music Background:
    Classical piano/ guitar, Pro Tools, synths, etc self-taught

    Good even if only for the Song Creator and Edit Play Mode!!

    I am NOT a drummer, but I DO know good sound when I hear it. This software is GREAT!!! Although I've been a songwriter for many years, I must admit that laying down drum tracks was not my favorite thing to do. I recently got Superior2, and ... at the advice of Brian VanDeKeere, I use EZ Drummer2 in CONJUNCTION WITH Superior2. Just the Song Creator and Edit Play Mode in EZ grants me the best of both worlds. I've seen numerous reviews asking ... "EZ2 or Superior2??" My answer is ... GET BOTH !! (Perhaps a future upgrade of Superior may include the EZ features just mentioned, but until then this is my recommendation). I've already prepared a list of my more EZx sample and/or MIDI packs. Simply put ...
    I AM SO PLEASED WITH THESE TOONTRACK PRODUCTS.

  • from Acworth, GA. May 13, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Musician

    Toontrack EZdrummer 2

    I know it is a bit premature at this point considering I have not actually programmed anything just yet. As a matter of fact I just installed the program and imported it in Cubase 7.5 but I am still extremely impressed with the whole idea and functionally. To be able to create drum parts on the fly is what I have needed for a long time and didn't know it. So, there you have it, I think it is great.

  • from Battle Creek April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Studio dude

    Wow! Wow! Wow!

    I've had this for several weeks now and written several songs with it. I had to come back and write this review. This has changed my workflow and made writing really, really fun again!

    I used to start with the drums and bass then everything else. Now I wait and add the drums as one of the last things I do. You know why? Because it's like inviting some super cool, top session dude over to your house for a song writing session. And everything he plays makes your music sound like you've rehearsed for weeks! Plus it's sooooooooooo easy to make changes!

    THANK YOU TOONTRACK!!!

  • from March 9, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist

    world best drum software ever :)

    I am really really happy to have ezdrummer 2 .. It sound awesome and really easy to use it .. thank you toontrack

  • from Everton, MO March 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Product.

    Very good drum software. Great audio and interface.

  • from FL February 22, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Player, Songwriter

    EZdrummer 2, easy but awesome

    I'd been looking for an easy to use (no programming required) "drum machine" for a long time. This is it. EZdrummer 2 makes workflow effortless through its user interface. Out of the box, I was arranging drum parts in short order without a learning curve. The drum kits sound amazing to me and the MIDI content was so good I ended up buying the expansion MIDI six-pack. I'm guessing this isn't a product for audio tweakers or drum purists. But for me, this is as close to an always-on-call live drummer as you can get (and it doesn't drink a whole lot!).

  • from Western Montana February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player with some gigs, but mostly songwriter.

    So good it feels like cheating.

    I have gone through the gauntlet of making my own drum backing tracks including a drum machine, looper drums, keyboard drums and GarageBand drums, with nothing really even close to satisfying. After reading Mitch G.'s write up in early 2014 just after EZD2 was released, I decided to abort my portostudio and go all in with a DAW, just to be able to take full advantage of EZD2.
    Well, I'm here to tell you that not only did it meet my goals, it way surpassed my expectations. I consider it extremely high value for your dollar.

  • from Northport, Alabama USA February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, Live Sound

    Toontrack EZdrummer 2... Great Software !

    A friend and fellow musician recommended the program after he had purchased and used it in his home studio. I could not be more pleased with my purchase! I also added the Latin expansion pack, and recommended to my friend, who immediately bought it as well.
    This is truly an amazing program, and the possibilities are limitless. There are numerous expansion packs, and very detailed tutorials to guide one through making really great drum (& percussion) tracks. I had no trouble registering and authorizing the software. A special thanks to Mike Godlove @ Sweetwater for all his help.

  • from NY,USA January 26, 2015Music Background:
    singer,songwriter,bass,Keys,guitarist,producer

    Great Production values and quality sounds

    The interface is straightforward and easy to use/compose the amount of choices when editing the grooves,kits, and sounds is endless and the EZX expansions are great additions to your library. 5 out of 5

  • from January 21, 2015

    EZdrummer 2 Best investment

    One word sums it up, FANTASTIC! Very easy to use and to have a great drum track in my composition in a matter of few minutes is mind blowing. My compositions sound professional with the drum tracks and follow exactly the style I need for the song. It's the best investment I have made in a long time.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK January 19, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Great!!!

    Great sounding drums! Just about the closest thing to "real" drums. In the home studio, recording drums are sometimes just not an option, not just by budget. I have all the mic's I need to record drums (I use them live,) but I'll get a better sound out of this software, because personally I don't have the ideal acoustics, and barely enough space. If your in the same situation as I am, I highly recommend this. You'll ultimately get a better sound. Its not like these weren't recorded with "real" drums. Because they were, so that gives them that sound, if you know what I mean. Cheers to all of the home studios out there, to make great (sounding) music!

  • from Huntington Beach, CA USA January 17, 2015Music Background:
    Previous Pro Musician, now a Hobbyist

    Awesome

    unbelievable sounds, choices and very easy to use. Can't wait to get back to the home studio.

  • from January 1, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AWESOME...

    Absolutely the BEST DRUMMER TOOL for any music genre..TOTALLY AWESOME..

  • from NC December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Working Musician

    EZdrummer 2

    I have been using drum loops for years in my recordings and I have always felt stuck to the loop I was using meaning I couldn't quite dial in what I really wanted without it being a pain then there was the sound of the loops that were available to me and most of them were par .Well that is all over for me this program has it all great sounds and ease of use weather its standalone or inside my DAW as a vst plugin it just works great with no glitches if you need great drums and don't play drums this is the deal try it you wont be disappointed .

  • from United States December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Musician for 56 years and Home Studio recording

    EZDrummer

    This plugin is so easy to use and comes with a lot of different patterns and midi files for creating songs. Additional drum kits and styles can be purchased that are easy on the pocketbook . I would highly recommend this for anyone building their own home studio or even as a stand alone drum machine for live gigs or jamming .

  • from Fairfield, Ca December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Home Studio Owner

    Thank You Toontrack!!!

    I'm blown away. I've been programming my drums with other software, old school MIDI style, and it is truly a labor of love when you are a perfectionist. My creative energy is often exhausted by the time I finish the drum track, and I have to get back on track...not easy. But this! It is truly EZ with capital E and Z. I spend a quarter of the time getting my tracks done. Excellent sound quality aside, what makes it for me is the play style editor, and song creator. Thank you Toontrack for this time saving, and incredibly intuitive tool. You put the fun back in music. And Sweetwaters unbeatable customer service on top of that. You made my year!

  • from November 25, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician,home studio owner etc...

    blown away!

    After checking all the reviews and videos etc..i always new this was going to be a welcome addition to my virtual instrument collection. But i definatly wasn't prepared for just how good the sounds,and performances for that matter,were going to be. I mean,Toontrack have just thought of everything in my opinion and I'm having to do less and less to get that natural feel and sound we're all after. And,after adding a couple of extra add on packs,things got even better! Killer product...if you can't record real drums or even if you can,I'd be getting this for sure...its that good. My only question is....how the heck are they going to top this. Love it!!!!!!

  • from Dayton, OH November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer, engineer

    EZ 2 outstanding, easy to use!

    EZ Drummer 2 is very easy to learn and use. The ability to drag and drop beats and fills makes creative composition easy. Editing on the fly, such as using 1/2 a beat, or 1/2 a fill makes it simple to fit these patterns into an idea you have in your head simple. The midi expansion packs give you so much more of a good thing! I highly recommend this product. They sound so real!

  • from South Africa November 8, 2014Music Background:
    Graduate, sound engineer, composer, arranger, producer.

    Awesome!

    This is a must-have. I absolutely love the richness in sound, the versatility, and the usability of EZ Drummer and most of the libraries I bought together with it.

  • from Fredericksburg, TX November 7, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    EZDrummer 2

    Easy to use. Great Sound. I think this is a great and valuable asset to my recording studio.

  • from Plymouth, MI November 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    what about Superior Drummer 2.0 left outs?

    awesome product! Why no discounts for Superior Drummer buyers? We feel like we've been left out of the party..

  • from NJ USA October 28, 2014

    EZ Drummer 2

    If you need great sounding drums to add into your mix, you need EZ Drummer 2. Easy to use, works great with any DAW and it sounds exceptional!

    Thanks to Joe Schafer (ext 1393) for a quick and easy transaction.

  • from Houston, TX October 27, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Hobbyist

    Incredible!

    When creativity strikes there is no better tool for quick and easy drum tracking. Like having a real drummer on tap.

  • from Florence, SC October 21, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Audio Nerd

    Great Software

    With convincing samples and super flexible routing, this program is fantastic! It works flawlessly with my DAW and my Roland V-Drums via MIDI. Very easy to run as a plugin and cut audio or midi or both. Really enjoying it and highly recommend it.

  • from September 25, 2014

    Completely Happy

    As someone who doesn't play the drums, i couldn't be happier with EZdrummer. It makes my life so much easier. Setting up a drum track for a song used to be the most annoying part of my day. Now it's no big deal and the hardest part is deciding which patterns i like best.

  • from Portsmouth, VA September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound engineer, novice musicianE

    EZdrummer 2

    I have owned and tinkered round with just about every type of drum machine or program out there. I found this program to be one of the best for live drum applications. Nothing got me more motivated to write than this program and i love my maschine! It is my opinion the easiest to get up and running when a drum idea comes to mind especially if you use the tap function!. Thats worth the price right there. I have not even talked about all of the drums sound quality, how you can manipulate, tune, change out each drum or effect quickly! It Is my goto drum program now!

  • from Mesa, AZ USA August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, Guitarist, Producer.

    Tour de force

    EZdrummer 2 is very user friendly. The sound is fantastic, and the user library combined with the song creator makes it easy to create great drum patterns on the fly. I especially like the tap to search function since it allows me to find the rhythm I want quickly. This software is awesome.

  • from United States August 20, 2014Music Background:
    Everything but Primarily Nu-Metal

    I am still in denial

    Being a musician of multiple instruments of 25 years, this is absolutely amazing. I'd recommend this to any musician(except Drummers) that wants a dependable drummer at a minutes notice. My only complain is the main kit should have the Famous Z Hi-hats(Excalamation point)

  • from SLC UT USA July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, part time pay for play

    EZDrummer 2 Review: drumtracks for noobs and pros alike

    Like many guitarists, I've been moving forward with songwriting lately, and as is always the case, you need a beat. Or several, depending on how your music sounds. I usually try to go for something in between Devin Townsend and Pantera when writing riffs and needed something to create with. After trying numerous apps (I'm an iOS based musician and guitarist) and failing to find anything that didn't completely stifle my creativity, I happened upon some discussion and vids for EZDrummer 2. I watched in amazement as guys clicked and dragged and adjusted velocities on the fly, and created jam tracks and even whole songs in under 5 minutes. I thought to myself "it can't be that easy....these guys have been doing this stuff for years, and they're cutting a TON out of the video for the sake of time, or whatever".

    I was intrigued and it sounded good, so I figured I'd give it a shot. I know EZDrummer and EZ2 are kind of old news around here, but things that impress me as a guitarist are pretty rare anymore as I've been playing for around 20 years off and on, and I know a lot of you have too....so I figured I'd mess around with it for a while and see what I could do, especially what I could do as a serious 'noob drum programmer'.

    I DLed the demo and gave it a shot.....inside of 5 minutes I had a workable beat. Enough that I threw it up on a guitar forum to see how they'd take it, and the guys went at it...we had a blast and it was cool to see how the board interpreted the jam. We had a lot of different sounds come out of that one backing jam, everything from extreme 7 string brutality to 70s wah infused funk.

    I did a few other jams just for me....it's a lot of freedom to a guy who's never programmed his own drums before, and it's honestly hard to make this sound bad.

    It's easy to use, sounds great and infuses your tracks with exactly what you want; drums that sound awesome.

    I've since written about 25 tracks with this program, and I've had it about a month or so....yeah, about a track a day give or take. So easy. Get it, you'll dig it.

  • from Charleston, Or July 28, 2014Music Background:
    20 yrs in las vegas show rooms

    ez drumer

    ez drummer is great, full control of drums
    also can lay down a track real fast from
    the selection from presets.
    you should have if you are into writing!

  • from Ottawa, Il July 26, 2014Music Background:
    Song writer, Recording Hobbyist, Guitarist

    I've been waiting for this program for a decade!!!

    EZ Drummer 2 is Amazing!!!
    After installing this software, I was able to build a full drum track to one of my songs within 20 minutes.

    The "Tap2Find" and "Song Creator" is the best thing about this software.

  • from Chapel Hill, NC July 21, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    At last!

    I've worked with drum programs for years (I own Drumsite Pro, Battery 3. and Battery 4, and have demo'd many of the others) but have always been frustrated by the fact that the programs don't make you a better drummer -- and I'm not one to start with. Now Toontrack has come up with a relatively straightforward way for a non-drummer to produce credible drum parts.

  • from July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Write, sing play and record.

    EZdrummer 2

    I had EZdrummer first.
    What a remarkable difference in agility and applications!
    I simply love using it .
    I am re-recording all of the songs I previously recorded with EZdrummer 2.

  • from July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyst

    Ezdrummer 2

    Excellent product! Great drum sound already mixed!

  • from June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Very nice in the studio

    Did not get the chance to use it a lot but so far irs greate. I love the search function where you tap your desired be and it gives you all the possiblities instantly!

  • from Udine, Friűl, Italy June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ezdrummer 2

    Easy to use, powerful, nice kits and sounds better than the previous version, works friendly as a plugin in Cubase 7 or stand alone; affordable price by Sweetwater, so it's a real bargain!

  • from Trenton, MO June 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This Program is awesome!

    This software is awesome! And Sweetwater was great!

  • from ATLANTA,GA June 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Toontrack EZdrummer 2

    Well, "I'm a Truck Driver on the road, and I use Laptop, Now at time, I do not have internet, so I mostly use truck stop WIFI for download etc.. Now this EZdrummer 2 is a nice size file, and it come with great sounding drum kits. I was impressed with it looks and most of all the sound. I'm blown a way, an I'm still just get start with this plug-in. THANKS

  • from Alexandria, VA June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    EZDrummer rocks

    This program did all it promised and more, for me. I don't know if it's what everyone needs and wants, but as a songwriter and performer, it is perfect for putting together quick demos, sorting out arrangement ideas, and generating song ideas. It's very easy and intuitive to use, and it's sounds are top notch, with lots of flexibility and options.

    It has all the functionality I need (in and out of my DAW). Only two (very minor) issues have I noticed, that I would change to improve the program (for my specific needs/wants):
    1) It doesn't have a count-in function. I would love this, though there are very easy work arounds.
    2) I can't see any easy way to edit the actual midi. This also has both a workaround (export and then import the midi) and there are excellent functions that change features (sounds, beats, and such) that allow one to interact with the program as if one were speaking to a drummer. But as a drummer and song arranger, there are times I'd like to be able to actually access and tweak the midi itself.

  • from June 11, 2014

    Great Program well worth it !!

    Extensive for songwriting. Expansion packs and midi packs also available but can be pricy.

  • from Clarksburg, WV June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Old School Rock 'n' Roller Preachin' the Word :)

    The Best over all Drum Plug-in

    I have just about every drum plug-in there is from Steven Slate to Studio Drummer (NI) to Superior Drummer. Which each one is a wonderful plug-in. But I think that EZdrummer 2 hits it out of the park.
    From the editing to the drum kits and the fact that it works perfect with our Roland TD-20. With all mapping done for you by clicking on the Roland kit. Very cool!!!! If the drummer is not at the session it is very easy to put together great tracks from the MIDI Library. Also we started a file of our drummer's style of playing. The fills and grooves that makes his way of playing so unique. So when I put a groove together for one of our songs it has his stamp on it. This program does it all and if you're wanting the best over all plug-in, you need EZdrummer 2!!!!

  • from Israel June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recoording engineer /music producer

    Ez drummer 2 a must have drum vi

    The best drum vi !
    A must have for any music producer.
    Super user friendly and ez to use.

  • from Mission Viejo, CA May 30, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Composer/Songwriter

    Awesome Program

    You just can't beat this program for the price. It sounds awesome and is really easy to use. You can copy and paste parts from one groove to another so the possibilities are endless and it is way easier than messing with sampled loop patterns. I am using this to go back and re-do some drum grooves on old songs that I created and am thrilled with the results. bird party MIDI works great and their EZX expansion packs and MIDI packs are also very reasonably priced. You can't go wrong with this. I had high expectations from the pre-launch hype and I can honestly say that my expectations were met.

  • from Canada May 24, 2014Music Background:
    47 years as a musician

    OVERWHELMED!!!!!!!!

    The guy above can't be serious
    There is alway a complainer
    Just the upgrades alone are more than worth the price

  • from Fort Worth, TX May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Sound Mixer

    A Must For Any Songwriter

    I own a few Toontrack software including Superior Drummer 2. When I saw the songwriting creation tools I knew I had to have this. Logic pro X's Drummer is a really cool quick drum tool, BUT, EZDrummer 2 blows it away with intuitive songwriting structures. What blew me away was the ability to tap a beat, have the program find all sorts of similar loops, and then drag that into song creation. In an instant you have an entire song structured with solid beats, fills, and changes to accent the elements of the song. Save the song. Drag it into your DAW. You can then tweak it, change drums or even play the midi with a different program. Being able to quickly create the elements to a hit song is the best thing this program can do.

  • from Chico, CA May 13, 2014Music Background:
    songwriter

    Fantastic

    This changes everything. I bought a V-drum to try to make my midi drums sound better. The only problem is that I'm a crappy drummer. I tried using grooves in other programs but it would take forever to find the grooves I wanted and modify them for my song. The tap search feature in EZD2 speeds up the process tremendously. The ability to quickly modify the grooves saves me time and keeps me from losing inspiration. I happily put the V-Drums in storage.

  • from Colorado Springs, CO May 11, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist/Bassist/Singer

    Very impressed

    I have never used drum software before and within minutes I had drum tracks ready for a song. I got EZdrumer 2 and the Metak Machine expansion pack and it's like I have Joh Tempesta in my home studio. This software is so intuitive, especially the tap and find feature. I would have a rhythm in mind and within seconds I had a list of grooves with that pattern. I love it.

  • from ID January 3, 2017

    Awesome tool

    As a songwriter who's not a drummer, i can say this is an awesome tool for my work. Immediately after opening up the program for the first time i went to 'tap2find' and started laying down a sweet track for one of my tunes. Literally within 30min i had an awesome and creative drum line that fit perfectly with my song. in the past, getting something this good - if i could even have come close - would've taken hours.

    I got the Nashville expansion and on the songs i've completed, it's been my go-to kit.

    Well worth the money!

  • from Seattle, WA July 27, 2016Music Background:
    working on my 10,000 hours

    Great piece of kit!

    This is a great little virtual instrument.

    First, the good. The install and licensing process is easy, protools integration is seamless. The GUI is well thought out.

    Second, the amazing - the virtual room and mic emulation is so good that when wearing headphones, I thought I'd somehow taken them off and was hearing the booth speakers. The support for dynamics on the drums is excellent, the sample depth is good, and the ability to quickly run a pattern to use this as a drum machine while songwriting is a definite plus. The kick and snare sounds are good (although the kick could be better - I look forward to other drum packs with better kick than the default), the cymbal sounds are great, and the tom sounds are about as good as I think they're ever going to get.

    Third, the areas that need work - not a lot that I've come across so far. My only real thing I would change is not to pan the toms so wide in the default setup - something that's easily changed from the interface.

    Overall, this is well worth the purchase price and I look forward to other loadable drum packs from the Toontrack folks.

  • from July 19, 2016

    Great sounding drums

    EZ Drummer 2 sounds greats and is easy to use. The ability to create
    an mix drum tracks within EZ Drummer before you move it into you DAW is great.

  • from May 30, 2016

    EZdrummer 2

    It's has awesome sounds, and looks really clean! I like how you can add Expansion packs. It's a good drum sample pack for the $.

  • from Corydon Indiana April 12, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist, Musician.

    EzDrummer 2

    I bought this about 2 weeks ago, and love it, it is very useful. I am a guitarist, and while I needed this to get to the real meat and potatoes of the Metal Pak. I have found this program VERY helpful to start things off for songs that are not metal based. If you are looking for some great sounding drums, this is it, any app or additional package like the Metal Series, is simply awesome sounding as well. Now, here is where Sweetwater stepped it up a notch and really helped me. I consider myself PC savy, but when I bought these for my Presonus Studio One recordings. The EzDrummer2 downloading instructions are just for your PC, and not very helpful for interacting with Presonus files and where to put them for VST access. The Sweetwater tech. was INCREDIBLY helpful. He logged into my PC, and corrected an error I was receiving from the download of Ezdrummer2. I was extremely lost and the tech explained what and why he had to move things around and walked me through things and had my Studio One accessing EzDrummer2 and the metal addition in no time. I would have never been able to do that on my own. So, serious customer service kudos to Sweetwater on helping on this. I read all the nice things about how helpful they are, but when you really need them, and they come through, you truly understand the level of quality and expertise they have on the subject matter. I was impressed to say the least. So, I am a happy customer, appreciative, and will definitely consider ANY new purchase for music with Sweetwater.

  • from March 1, 2016

    EZDrummer 2!

    If you write drum parts you will love this! You can create drum patterns and entire drum parts in no time. The drums sound good enough to pass for the real deal if done right. Definitely try EZdrummer if you want a faster way to write drum parts.

  • from Landenberg, PA February 15, 2016Music Background:
    35 years amateur rock band/studio experience

    Excellent, and great for the non-drummer

    On the advice of my sales engineer, Mac hatton (thanks Mac!) purchased this software for my bands DAW. Sounds great, intuitive interface, good integration with Cubase 7. For now, I attribute any small difficulties we are having to the fact that we DID NOT RTFM! Which is amazing - that's how easy it is to use.

    And of course, Sweetwater kicks ***.

  • from Minneapolis, MN February 8, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Works awesome!

    Very easy to use, and much more flexible than I first thought. I was able to get a nice drum track setup for a song I had written within 15 minutes. You need to play around a bit to see how flexible it truly is. But once you get the hang of it, it flows pretty smoothly. Great product for creating demos and such.

  • from Ca. February 2, 2016

    EzDrummer

    This App works great for creating drum Loops for practice..demos.

    Like It

  • from Des Moines, Iowa November 2, 2015Music Background:
    Lyricist.

    EZ Drummer 2

    I have the Roland JD-XI and I'm awaiting the arrival of the Roli Seaboard controller. I'll attempt to use what I have with the most out of the EZ program. I'll do a better review then.

  • from Utah June 1, 2015Music Background:
    Basement recording studio

    EZDrummer = Great Drummer

    I bought EZDrummer2 because I had too. It's one of the greatest forced purchases I've ever made. Wish I'd have purchase EZ2 sooner. I recently switched to Pro Tools as my DAW, and I assumed that the Boom plug-in would handle my drum needs. Not even close. There's not even a single acoustic drum kit included with Boom. I was very disappointed when I realized I needed to purchase drum software. After much research I purchased EXDrummer 2, and I've been blown away ever since. Its sounds and versatility are amazing. I need to create a lot of my own beats, and I was worried because EZ2 doesn't have it's own stand-alone sequencer. I quickly learned that I can create my own beats with EZ2's great sounds in the PT midi editor. The sound quality is great! The ease of use is great! The options are great! I can't believe I'm saying this about virtual drum software, but I LOVE EZ2. I used to hate creating drum tracks. Now I actually enjoy it. This is an amazing program. Wish I'd have figured this out a long time ago.

  • from February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Composer, and Sound Engineer.

    Best in class!

    The drum sounds of ezDrummer2 are truly magnificent.
    Much better recorded than many studio's session recordings.

    Another thing I really love is the Search function, which makes it
    so easy to build a good drum track for anything I do.
    I like to start off with a kick/snare beat that I hammer in myself,
    since that's by far the most significant part of any groove,
    and then see what matches Search finds.
    I can then audition the matching patterns and cut'n'paste
    "real drummer" hi hat, cymbal, and tom grooves that
    complements my basic beat. That's *really* neat :)

    On the off side, it can be a bit confusing to work with ezD2's pattern
    building function when plugged in to a Cubase, as the song position sync may skip past what you're working on, and you may get multiple
    patterns playing simultaneously in the DAW and ezD2.
    You get used to it, but you need to keep your tongue in your mouth.

    Another minor thing is you can't use the Delete key to remove a pattern
    from ezD2's pattern editor. Worse though, is that if you're in your DAW,
    you may well be deleting a part of a track when you thought you would
    delete a pattern in the ezD2 pattern editor.
    Keep your wits about you when plugged in.
    It may be easier to build up your groove "stand alone"
    before moving on to your DAW session.

    All in all though, I *highly recommend* ezDrummer2.

  • from United States November 7, 2014Music Background:
    Studio Musician

    awesome

    does what it says. full, rich drums. with so much cheap, fake stuff out there, just know this is the real deal. you wont be disappointed !

  • from Atlanta, GA October 31, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Sound Designer

    Love it!!!!

    I have been a musician for many years and own a small home studio. While I play guitar, bass, keyboards and can sing, I don't have room for a drum kit, nor do I have drum mics, or any talent as a drummer for that matter. I needed an easy way to program drums (hate tedious programming!) that sound like a human drummer and not a machine. EZ Drummer 2 to the rescue!!! It is so easy to work with and the drums sound awesome. With relatively little time, I achieved great results. If you want complete control over every small parameter of the drum sounds you may want to get Superior Drummer 2 instead - but of course, you'll spend much more time tweaking all those parameters. I wanted to get the job done quickly and was willing to sacrifice a small degree of control to do it. Superior Drummer 2 is also twice the price. If you want a quick, easy and inexpensive way to get drum parts that sound human then EZ Drummer 2 is your answer. And Sweetwater's customer service was fantastic. Couldn't be happier!

  • from United States October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Home studio hobbyist

    EZDrummer 2- excellent sound, excellent value

    I recently purchased EZDrummer2 and completely happy with the product. Installation of EZDrummer2 was no problem at all. It worked like a charm. It sounds very good. Works well as a stand-alone program or with a DAW (I use Protools 11 & it worked great.) It has excellent search features, song building functions, and works well with a MIDI keyboard as well. I am 100% satisfied. It is a lot of fun, sounds professional, and has a lot of cool features. The user manual could use a little more detail, but it's not bad. (There are plenty of online video tutorials that make up for the manual.) It is very reasonably priced and does the job. It's a nice quality virtual drummer that is EZ to learn and certainly a good value for the money.

  • from Sacramento, Ca October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, recordist, one man band

    EZDrummer

    I've been putting off using a software like this...well...for way too long. I've been using a hardware and software drum sequencer and I thought...not bad.
    I had EZDrummer lite for about a year and liked the sounds in that..but, it was extremely limited. I wondered how much an upgrade was and I could kick myself in the rear.
    This is so fantastic. I only gave it a 4.5 because this is my first day using it. The sounds are so good and it works great with my DAW. Talk about easy. I love the "TAP" feature. I just hit what I want to hear with my keyboard and I can get a realistic...and exact copy of a song as never before.

    I can tell I'll be adding other of their packs in the neat future. Now...back to the fun...

  • from United States June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Actively performing musician, hobbyist song writer

    Finally!

    Yup...finally a drum product that is (relatively) easy to use and exceptionally flexible! I had purchased the Addictive Drums app a while back, and though it's a great sounding piece of software, it is not nearly as focused on making the task of song composition intuitive and easy. Now, make no mistake, the new EZdrummer is fantastic, and it sounds amazing, but there is just a little bit of a learning curve to figuring out the "song creator" functionality, but with a little trial and error anyone can figure it out relatively quickly. I play guitar, bass, keys and sing, but playing drums is something that just does not compute for me, so once I got the song creator figured out, I was off and running, writing new material, whereas with Addictive Drums, I often found myself getting bogged down with trying to find drum parts that worked together, and then having to figure out how to stitch them together in a way that sounded natural...with EZdrummer 2, those are much less of an issue. This is a great product...definitely worth the $$$.

  • from Media, PA June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    As EZ as they claim

    I've played with a number of software programs that claim to be easy to use. I've used computers since the 1970s, but as a 55 year old, most of these programs aren't so easy. This is the exception. With only 1-2 hours of playing around, I had a nice slow 6/8 time groove laid down, over which I can play my guitar.

  • from Tacoma, WA June 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Quality and Versatility

    Having used a drum machine that only recorded mono tracks for many years, using the EZdrummer 2 software is very refreshing. The free kits that it comes with are very versatile and give a lot of options right off the bat. The drums are very full and organic sounding, and the edit play style feature helps you make your drumbeats sound even more realistic. It comes with a large library of drumbeats, fills, intros, and endings for various styles, many of which I have already used in my recordings. As far as making custom beats, I have found that with the Tap2Find section, you can make whatever beat you want, and if the beats in the library don't match it enough to your liking, then you can just drag your own MIDI file with all of your specifications from the Tap2Find into your DAW. I like the mxing feature, but if could change anything about it, I would make it so that you could have all the features like tape drive, reverb, and delay available for all the drum kits, not just for particular kits. It would also be handy to be able to apply effects to the individual parts of the kit, but this is a small drawback that I'm sure Toontrack will eventually improve on. EZdrummer 2 is the best sounding virtual drum software I have heard so far, and highly suggest purchasing it.

  • from Sewanee, TN USA June 7, 2014Music Background:
    College Professor and Semi-Pro Musician

    Very Solid Product

    I've had the software for about a month now and so far I am completely impressed with it. One of my colleagues listened to a track I made and couldn't believe the drums weren't live. I got the software because I primarily write and play jazz, but the rest of my trio live in different areas of the states, and I don't get out to jam sessions at all anymore. Don't have the time. This software makes it possible to create rough drafts of songs to send to them so when we get together to rehearse for a concert we don't have to start all the way from scratch. I do wish that the jazz expansion pack had mallets along with the brushes. That would put this software over the top, which is why I can't give this a 5. The modern and vintage kits are pretty amazing, and the funk kits are outstanding. I would highly recommend this to songwriters & arrangers as it does make it easier to hear your ideas come to life. Overall this is a very solid product.

  • from United States June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Indie Recording artist, Vocalist, Songwriter

    My EZ Drummer 2

    I dig this new drum program. It's cool for laying down drum tracks for my live solo gig. The fact that it's a stand alone unit with an on screen track saves lots of time, since I don't have to dump it onto a DAW to use it. The sounds (or samples) are perfect. I don't know all the ins and outs yet but I'm already getting good results. The manual is sort of useless in that it doesn't really show you how to use the program but there are some tutorials on you tube that are helpful. Toontrack should put out more, in depth tutorials for us newcomers. All in all, it's a big hit with me. I can play the beats in from my Yamaha sequencer or my Roland SPD-6 pads or my Alesis Vortex Keytar. I need to learn more about using the mixer; for instance, I don't see a master volume fader or know how to pull up the compressor to manipulate the parameters, Stuff like that. I even had to call a Sweetwater tech to find out how to pull up the vintage set, which he said he had stumbled onto to get to it.

  • from PA, USA May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist, Live & Studio Recording

    EZdrummer 2

    Have been using a competitor's solution for years; although I found that tool to be highly configurable, EZDrummer-2 is frankly light-years ahead of the pack. The samples are fantastic, and the ease of song creation – smooth. They have truly created a direct link between creativity and results… putting EZDrummer into my Studio One(2) environment only blew the doors off the solutions – Great Job…!

  • from CO March 17, 2017Music Background:
    Producer - Muscian

    EZdrummer

    EZdrummer is very intuitive. I like that you can find drums for versus, fills, chorus, bridges etc to structure your song around. I also have Superior Drummer which I can then embellish the drums in EZdrummer. Makes life easy on the drum track scene.

  • from Illinois March 3, 2017Music Background:
    Rock musician for 50 years, production certification from Berkley College, Boston.

    EZ Drummer 2

    This is a great buy. So easy to use, especially after watching the demo posted on the Sweetwater site. Not only does it sound like a live drummer playing, but you can tweak the sound, the hit velocity, drum pitch, and even make your own bar or two and copy/paste it into your track. Very versatile, it only takes a few minutes to put together a track for a complete song. You can go back at any time and change whatever you want, from style to tempo to fills, anything. This is by far the most user friendly and fun drum software I've used. I use ProTools 8, and it installed right into RTAS.

  • from Norristown, PA January 22, 2017

    Excellent product.

    For a guitar player like me, this is a perfect tool for recording in my bedroom. Everything is laid out well and super user-friendly. As a plug-in, just drag your finished track right onto the track in your DAW and it's good to go. It sounds great and natural, and is very tweakable. All the other reviews in here tell you all the positive aspects, so I'm not going to go into everything here - but I will say, there is one main reason I took off one star: the program really only gets you in the ballpark of your groove - if you want to program that perfect beat you have in your head, you'll have to transfer it to your DAW and use the step editor, which will make it less natural sounding. Having an in-program step editor would really streamline the process of getting your hits exactly where you need them. Either way I think it's definitely worth the money to have great drum tracks whenever you want.

  • from NY January 12, 2017

    Ezdrummer 2

    Ezdrummer 2 is an awesome product

  • from United States October 21, 2016

    EZ DRUMMER 2

    Love it! I need to expand the libraries which I fully intend. Lots of fun and quite inspiring!

  • from Tucson September 13, 2016Music Background:
    pro guitarist

    EZdrummer 2

    great tool for recording and teaching. I would buy again. The PC and MAC version are the same however when viewing the drums as they were playing I noticed the MAC version viewed a little out of sync but the PC version was completely in sync. This didn't affect the recording of it - just the viewing of the dreamiest during playback

  • from phoenix, AZ May 30, 2016

    perfect for me

    the ability to easily create songs is second to none in the products I have been exposed to.

  • from San Marcos, CA March 15, 2016

    Good Sounds

    Like the virtual instruments coming though my DAW and making the MIDI data sound great. Once I render it down, tis may become a regular habitual library to turn to. So far, so good!

  • from January 28, 2016

    EZ Drummer

    The drum sounds are fantastic and it's relatively easy to navigate. I did find it a bit difficult to get the right groove at first but after some practice, it's been a breeze. Highly recommended.

  • from West Hills, CA November 3, 2015

    Great recording tool

    After struggling through my first EP to find that true 80's metal sound, I picked up EZ Drummer 2.0. Initially, I thought I'd just use it to share thoughts with some of the high end session drummers I've used in the past. Boy, was I wrong. If you couple this with a decent midi controller, you can program your own beats to suit your needs (To the reviewer who complained of no "galloping double bass," that's where your creativity comes in). Moreover, finding pre-programmed rhythms to suit your needs isn't that difficult, either, with the Tap 2 Find feature. Those are adjustable as well, simply by dropping them in the Tap 2 Find and making necessary changes or adjusting them on the fly with the many options within the program. I purchased the Metal and Rock EZX's, which are fine, but I'd suggest branching out and picking up different styles-even if you're "just a rock artist." I've used jazz swing beats and even disco beats, from the standard purchase, while programming.

    Finally, be warned: programming legitimate drum sounds takes time and effort. And while EZ Drummer does make it easier, to appropriately program a song EXACTLY the way you like it will take a minute...and probably require a revisit once you start laying down other tracks (ie bass, guitar, etc).

  • from August 24, 2015

    EZdrummer 2

    EZdrummer 2 is an excellent tool for laying down groove ideas. The ability to drag and drop full MIDI drum parts makes it easy to get the foundation of your track down and since its MIDI the possibilities are endless. Micro transactions for additional kits is a bit off putting but overall great product.

  • from Colorado August 9, 2015Music Background:
    Rock instrumental guitar player

    Great product as long as . . .

    EZDrummer 2 has some of the best sounding drum tracks I have ever used. The library presets give you the ability to change to tonal quality quickly and easily, something that isn't quite as simple when using audio loops. All the grooves and fills sound so natural hat you can't help but smile and be inspired to create a new piece of music. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is the base package doesn't include enough grooves to really explore your writing. I purchased 3 midi expansion packs and now I feel that I have a library that will get the job done, so in the end, the total cost was a bit more than expected.

  • from July 17, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Guitarist. Blues/rock

    Easy and sounds great!

    As a singer song writer drums are my weak instrument, however I don't seem to use the in system drum beats very much. I create my own beats via DM10 midi, and use EZdrummer for the great sounds. Mixing is pretty easy as well. A little pricy for me since I don't utilize all this programs functions, but it is still something I really enjoy.

  • from Texas May 14, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Great product, but depends what you use it for...

    THE GOOD

    EZdrummer 2 is extremely good at allowing you to create general ideas fairly quickly. It's fun & has some really useful features. All the individual instruments sound great & very authentic. It really focuses on the subtle nuances of a real drummer playing real drums so you never really end up with a fake or digital sounding drum track. That is why I got this software. There's a fair amount of content in terms of sounds, loops, effects, etc.

    THE BAD

    Loops are fairly limited. If you're anything like me & know exactly what you wanna hear, you're going to end up just manually recording your own loops to get what you want. I've tried relying on the prerecorded loops, even went as far as getting one of the add-on packs, but still the chances I'll find exactly what's in my head are slim to zero. I've found that in the end, I have to compromise on something every time & that's not something I'm willing to do. I write rock/hard rock/pop punk/post hardcore songs so the drums play a huge role in defining the sound. Clearly, this program was designed to accommodate more basic songwriting. Though you can get pretty deep into customizing the individual loops that are there, it's still obvious that the sky's NOT the limit.

    SUMMARY

    I like the authenticity of the drum sounds. I'm very impressed how lifelike the tracks sound. I've worked with other programs & none of them sound this good. I like how easy it is to combine different pieces from different kits. I like the simple layout of the mixer, effects, EQ, etc. I'll continue to use EZdrummer 2 because of the sound quality, simplicity, & authenticity. Even if loops weren't integrated in the program at all, I'd still say it's well worth it as a standalone midi kit.

  • from Alabama April 29, 2015Music Background:
    Many years playing, composing, recording jazz to metal

    Ezdrummer 2

    It's a great program for creating ideas for your songs and sounds are are really good. It won't replace a real drummer but is a decent program to help you create. It is available 24/7, never late, and typically in a good mood. I have not yet purchase any expansion packs but plan to soon.

  • from Brunei January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    loved it!

    Easy to use, yet powerful and comprehensive piece of software. All I've needed. Thanks

  • from United States December 4, 2014

    AMAZING!!!

    The only reason I gave this four stars is because in the week that I have had it I have not been able to use the search tab because the libraries do not show up and I have been working with tech support to fix it. With that being said, I don't think it happens often and this is truly an amazing plug-in. Until I bought this I was using Xpand 2 in pro tools to create my drum tracks. As a perfectionist it would take me days to get a short song the way I wanted it. With EZdrummer 2 I was able to create an entire drum part in about 10-15 minutes. The best part is that the drums actually sound real. You can do so much with EZdrummer 2. I highly recommend it to anybody who does not play drums. I guess it would still be very useful for those that do play drums as well.

  • from November 9, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, musicians, etc

    Toontrack EZdrummer2 plugin

    For the price, its more then good. Thanks to Sweetwater.
    Personnaly, I always check for specials and deal so its even better deal.
    I am using Reaper and the comptibility is 100%.
    For mucisians, think about the problems to deal with: real drum set ajusment and tunning, microphones and equipments to record with...
    Dont limit your self and start creating music NOW.
    The world need some more artist to share some truth and love.

  • from Daly City, CA October 16, 2014Music Background:
    36 years playing drums - guitar - vocals.

    Excellent tool, but with 2 minor exceptions...

    I absolutely love the versatility in available samples as well as the interface itself. There are just 2 issues I have with it... I wish Toontrack would incorporate the ability to change window size (auto size or double click to maximize per Windows 7) and it also seems to lack the ability to edit or nudge at the note level any segment without having to undo and tap in again or having to export a segment to be edited, then re-import it to continue your creation (helpful if you're manually creating by inserting notes via mouse or compatible MIDI keys).

    All of the MIDI samples are of great quality and interface nicely by drag and drop. Very, very easy to construct a whole layout for a basic song concept in just minutes. Refining is fun and easy - just wish they had a MIDI note editor built in...

  • from CO September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    EZdrummer2

    EZdrummer 2 sounds great and is very easy to use. I was up and running in 10 minutes and even managed to record a demo the second night I had it. The only reason I would not give it 5 out of 5 stars is because the sounds it comes with out of the box are limited.

  • from Brazil September 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyst

    EZDRUMMER 2

    Great sounding easy to use virtual drums. Some crashes running together with Cubase AI 7.

  • from Heber, AZ August 13, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, and recording student.

    Toontrack EZdrummer 2

    I have not had the time to really explore this plug-in in depth, but what I have done with it so far leads me to have every confidence it is going to do for me exactly what I expected and hoped for. I am glad I made the purchase and as usual the good folks at Sweetwater made it easy and pain free.

    Thanks Jason Koons and crew, and thank you Sweetwater and Tontrack,
    James

  • from July 16, 2014Music Background:
    Studio Owner & Engineer

    Ezdrummer 2

    I purchased this as a download from Stuart Niven, who I have worked with for years. Even though I have BFD, I'm finding the audition groove feature to be a big time saver while scoring in Digital Performer, I haven't even tried most of the grooves, but the sound is fantastic and and of course it works perfectly in DP8. I'm giving 4 stars only because I thought they should have added a few more kits, but for the price its fantastic!

  • from United States June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur piano and upright bass player, composer, arranger

    Great new tool

    EZdrummer is my first virtual instrument, and I was a bit worried about having to learn to use it, plus I was a bit skeptical that it would serve my needs as a (primarily) jazz artist. But especially with the combination of the Jazz EZX extension and the jazz MIDI pack, it serves my needs perfectly. I really can't believe how realistic it sounds.

  • from Granville, Ohio June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur musician and recording engineer

    EZDrummer 2 Rocks….

    This is a very good piece of software for creating backing drum tracks when you do not have a real drummer handy. It is especially useful when you are writing a song. The samples are wonderfully true and are very flexible and manipulative to suit the overall sound you are looking for. My only knock is that it is not as intuitive as I would have liked, but once I discovered all of the basics, the rest came quite easily.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA May 3, 2017Music Background:
    Play drums and bass

    Good tool for Roland TD11-KV

    Was an acoustic drummer all my life but had to switch to e-drumming due to living circumstances. Anyway, was happy with the TD-11 module and also added the Masters kits from V-Expressions but heard a lot about drum software.

    I originally bought Steven Slate drums but needed a DAW and I didn't need that much functionality. Went with the standalone EZ Drummer 2 and I'm pleased with the purchase. A lot of cool drum sounds and don't need to upgrade Modules. Plus it was very easy to install.

  • from northeast USA June 2, 2016Music Background:
    classical, jazz, flamenco guitar; MD for singers and Crocodile River Music, African music

    Not as EZ as before

    While the array of sounds is the usual excellent selection, well-recorded and manipulable, the overall
    interface is more complicated and less intuitive than before. This is a small problem, I hope, once I get into the RTFM phase.

  • from branson mo June 7, 2014Music Background:
    pro bass player,vocalist,songwriter,authorillustrator,album cover artist.

    ez drummer 2

    THIS IS A GOOD PRODUCT BUT WAS KIND OF MISSLEADING BECAUSE THE GUY ADVERTIZING IT SAID, OH YEAH WITH IN MINUTES I WAS UP AND CREATEING DRUM TRACKS FOR MY SONGS. I WAS ALSO UNDER THE IMPRESSION AFTER WATCHING THE VIDEOS THAT IT CAME LOADED WITH THE DRUM LIBRARIES YOU SEE ON THE VIDEOS IT DOES NOT !
    YOU ONLY GET TWO KITS AND NOUTHING ELCE. YOU HAVE TO BUY DOWN LOAD AFTER DOWNLOAD TO GET WHAT YOU NEED. IT DIDN'T EVEN HAVE A COWBELL ! ALSO YOU DONT JUST FIGUE ALL THIS OUT IN MINUTES,AND ONCE YOU DO YOU CANT BURN THE TRACKS TO CD TO REHURSE WITH OR SEND TO OTHER BAND MEMBERS WITH OUT FIRST BUYING MORE SOFTWARE SO YOU CAN CHANGE THE MIDI FILES INTO AN AUDIO FILE ,AND YOU NEED AN INTERFACE TO ADD SAY BASS,GUITAR,VOCALS ETC...IF YOUR USEING THIS FOR AN ELECTRONIC DRUM KIT LIKE ROLAND IT'S SET UP FOR MIDI ANYWAY. BOTTOM LINE IS NOW I'VE HAD TO BUY ALL THIS OTHER STUFF AND NOW HAVING TO LEARN A GOB OF OTHER THINGS TO BE ABLE TO USE THIS FOR MY NEEDS, BUT I WILL SAY AFTER ALL I PURCHACED THE DRUM KIT FROM HELL WHICH LOOKS GREAT BUT I DIDN'T USE FOR ANYTHING,AND I BOUGHT METALBEATS WHICH IS EXELLENT AND I WAS ABLE TO LAY DOWN DRUM GROOVES FOR ALL THE SONGS ON MY ALBUM IN 6 DAYS. THE ONLY OTHER PROBLEM I RAN INTO SO FAR AS WELL WAS IF YOU WANT TO USE OTHER KITS TO PUT DIFFERENT SOUNDS IN YOU CANT, AND IF YOU HAVE A TEMPO CHANGE LETS SAY FOR A CHORUS YOU CANT RESET THE TEMPO FOR DIFFERENT PARTS OF YOUR SONG. WHAT EVER YOU START WITH SAY 135 BPM YOUR STCK WITH IT THROUGHOUT SO WHEN YOU REACH CERTAIN PARTS THAT NEED TO SPEED UP THEY ARE LAGGING FORCING YOU TO PLAY AND SING SLOWER TO COMPENSATE.

  • from Co March 29, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter,singer,guitar,bass,synth player and i record

    Where's the step sequencer?

    I've had the EZdrummer 2 for some time now. I do really like it but I'm not very good at tapping the instrument to the metronome. If a step sequencer was added to this software, it would be much easier to construct different drum patterns. I also have a Roland TR 505 Rhythm Composer that i really like. I have created several different drum patterns that can't be duplicated on the EZdrummer 2 because it lacks the various rhythm instruments. I am considering the purchase of the Arturia Spark VDM Drum Machine because it does include a step sequencer, but i don't like the idea of having to purchase more software. A step sequencer would be a very good addition to the EZdrummer 2.

  • from Oregon March 10, 2015Music Background:
    Many years live, touring musician.

    EZ for real

    Gotta be honest. I do very much love this software. i don't have a lot of experience using this type software so I have nothing to compare it to.

    The user are is great and easy to use, very quickly learned my way around.

    The sounds are great for what I do. I have has a bit of trouble with the tap to find feature. I often have to tap out several times to get something close.
    That being said I am very happy with it and frankly it would be hard to get better sounds on my own.

  • from United States October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Music Teacher, drummer and Recording Engineer

    EZdrummer 2

    This program is a real game changer. I am using it with a Roland TD 11 Kit and recording into Protools 11. Great I have never been able to get this kind of sound out of my acoustic kit. People can't believe the drum sounds that I am getting on my recordings. It is like a little secret that I am using electronic drums. Unfortunately I have had CPU overload problems when I am multi tracking the drums into Protools. I should have plenty of RAM and CPU power. My whole system is up to date and fast. The issue may be with my hard drive. I am not sure. It seems to only happen when I am using EZdrummer 2. I would like better documentation on how to use the percussion instruments. It would be really nice to have a better cross stick sound on the snare drum and it would be nice to be able to turn the snare off on the snare drum.

  • from Seattle, WA June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Bass

    great sounds

    the samples and interface were enough to sell my SR16. Really easy to put together a string of rhythms, and tweak and tune them. Interface is limited to a smaller space, so that would have to be fixed to get a higher rating (ok to leave the drum window the same size, but expand the interface to allow for tweaking controls to sit next to , and not over the drums) Still spent another 150.00 on drum packs, so it can't be bad.

  • from Kona, HI May 14, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist/Composer/Engineer

    Good For What It Does

    I'm a bit underwhelmed. I will say that EZD2 does what's advertised, and sounds pretty good doing it. If all you're looking for is a super fast and simple way to get some drums going on your tracks, this may be your baby. However, if you're someone who is serious about crafting original music, you'll likely be disappointed, especially if you work in more modern genres. This is not terribly versatile, the on-board signal processing is kinda junky, and while you can technically make your own beats, there are things that do it way better. Also, be warned-the sample library included with the plug-in is pitifully small. So if you plan on buying EZD2, plan on spending at least another bill on expansion packs to make it really useful.
    For my money, I would have liked more tools and less hype.

  • from California July 13, 2016Music Background:
    Player

    Not so great

    Ez drummer 2 seems like a great tool but once you get into it you may find as I did It's lacking. It comes with a modest compliment of loops. Nothing really great and certainly nothing I didn't already have. You can buy more loops but there is a cost to this. Building a song can be time consuming as the loop styles need a lot of editing to get a great sound. It has a nice mixer feature and it's true you can adjust the drum timber and attack but if you're looking for fast and easy drums you may want to avoid this.

  • from Raleigh NC March 18, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior/Formal Music Education

    Not flexible

    If you want a lightweight "give me some tracks I can jam over" app, this is great. And the drum sounds are good. Otherwise, it's pretty bad. Specifically:

    1: The UI is archaic and poorly implemented: it can't be resized, so it looks terrible on a large display; there are no keyboard shortcuts for many functions; the mouse accuracy/latency is awful, making most of the tap functions worthless without a MIDI pad.

    2: MIDI editing is non-existent, so far as I can tell.

    3. The bundled libraries are too limited. I don't need 50 different vintage boutique kits, but I DO need at least some basic latin percussion and it's pretty cheap to have to buy an add-on for that.

    4: The workflow isn't flexible. In my case, I have the song already written and the guitar and bass parts are ready to record. I need a specific groove under it - nothing exotic, just a classic primitive Bun E. Carlos sort of thing. There is nothing in the libraries that will work, and creating one from scratch is too painful to in EZ Drummer 2. So my workflow is now Anvil Studio to create grooves, EZD2 to make them sound semi-decent, and then Reaper to mix with the other tracks. Meh.

    tl;dr - Not what I was hoping for

  • from Cocoa, FL June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, vocalist, composer, non pro

    Difficult

    I haven't yet figured out how to use the program effectively. Since I don't have touch screen, tapping in the beats doesn't work, and if you can use an external MIDI controller to do this, I haven't figured out how yet. The drum sounds are great, though; very realistic

  • from California December 4, 2014

    Just Program

    I would give it a better rating if the drum sounds that came with it were not so lame. You need to buy those separate. Don't plan on having good sounds though without buying the additional packs.

  • from June 6, 2015

    Lacks basic drum editing capabilities.

    EZ drummer may be great for slapping together demos and it sounds good, but there is no way to edit an individual track. Everything is on a tiny piano roll, which is not editable, at least in any traditional way. The only option is to delete an instrument entirely and then play the new part into the beat before quantizing it. Not really ideal, especially for fills. I was expecting a lot more functionality from this product, and i regret purchasing it.

  • from July 19, 2014Music Background:
    Musician that has been home recording since the days of 4 track cassettes.

    Problem with Sonar

    I am a long time Sonar user. I have had ez1 for a number of years and loved it. When ez2 came out it seemed like a no brainer to upgrade. However when I installed it and tried to open a project I was currently working on in Sonar all the previously recorded softsynth tracks were screwed up. No sound in most of them. My findings were that ez2 has more outputs than ez1 and Sonar can't handle that. If you do a web search on the problem you can find out more. EZ2 works fine in any new projects but if you open any old projects to make changes in anything EZ2 just screws things up. I decided to uninstall EZ2 and reinstall EZ1 and everything is fine now. There is really no fix for this and Sonar is the only DAW that has this problem. Toontrack says it is Sonar's problem, Cakewalk says it is Toontrack's problem. If you plan to use this with new projects in Sonar it is probably great but if you plan on opening any old projects while this is running you will be dissapointed and aggravated. I have tried every work around and nothing works. And as I am constantly tweaking old projects my upgrade of EZ2 is useless to me. I wish vendors that sell this would make consumers aware of the problem before they buy it. While Sweetwater attemped to help with this problem with no success they also would not give me a refund. I understand to some degree why they wouldn't do that but overall I am dissapointed in Toontrack, Sonar and Sweetwater (all of which I have been using for good amount of time)

  • from June 11, 2016Music Background:
    Former Professional/Hard-core user

    A Different Beat

    Interesting how "Just Not Right For Me" is the bottom choice. The truth is: this software has been garbage for me.

    I should have known better, when I tried to download the trial version and it caused my computer to behave so erratically that I had to take it to get serviced.

    Then, I allowed myself to get talked into buying the full version and it has been nothing but a floating turd in a sewer of substandard software.

    I can't get the software to consistently read the midi note from my drum set. The software causes the crash cymbals to render a mute hit, instead.

    It's not like I have some "Joe's Drum Shop" drum set, either. I have an Alesis DM7X.

    Stay away from Toontrack software. You'll be glad you did.

  • from Phoenix May 29, 2016

    installing process failure

    This software is trying to access it's own files from locations that I can see they exist, but yet not finding them. I would only purchase products from this OEM via physical media moving forward, the digital delivery aspect is not this companies forte. I will contact Sweetwater for a refund.

  • from jersey August 16, 2015

    Overrated

    Don't buy into the hype of all these glowing reviews. If you have a half decent DAW you already all the capabilities this software offers. I use Logic Pro 9 and this doesn't do anything I can't do in Logic. It's like paying $150 to go back to GarageBand. I'm so bummed I wasted money on this. I seriously have no idea what the big deal is with this lame program.

Questions about the Toontrack EZdrummer 2 (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway