rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Toontrack Metalheads EZX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Toontrack Metalheads EZX?

Questions about the Toontrack Metalheads EZX?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from SLC UT USA July 28, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, part time pay for play

    You want metal? It's right here.

    To a drum noob, having Tomas Haake in my computer, doing whatever I tell him to as far as drums go is incredibly rewarding. I am such a fan of this guy's work and to be able to make use of his beats and techniques is an absolute blast.

    This sounds fantastic, is easy to use and fills your tracks with HUGE drums....this is metal of the highest degree.

  • from Chicago, IL June 1, 2014

    Perfect

    The sound is amazing. Other than a few kick drum samples this is the only thing I'll ever need. Sequencing is as easy or as intricate as you choose to make it. Have already passed my praises of this to other musicians.

  • from December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player for 7 years and record lots at home

    This is a great program!

    I highly recommend this program to any person who are wanting drums for their track, demos, ect. Very user friendly and the packs you can buy are great as well! Great sound too. I give this deumming software a 5. Hope you guys enjoy it!

  • from Muncie IN December 5, 2013Music Background:
    Studio owner

    Awesome

    Great sounds. I use it to enhance recorded kits that maybe weren't in the best shape.

  • from Dallas/Fort Worth Texas USA June 21, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Artist/Performer (Pistol Whippin Ike) Engineer/Producer

    Metalheads EZX add-on

    They call it Metalheads for a great reason, Tomas Haake is a monster drummer, but man these drum samples are so good I use them on everything. The midi patterns are outstanding if you want those to chop up and make your own, but the drum sound samples are freakin killer! I use these sounds for all kinds of music, they are superbly recorded. This is my favorite add-on.

  • from Newport, mi April 10, 2012Music Background:
    Recording/ live sound student

    Diverse drum kit

    Not only a great metal kit but Si eras enough to write any drum tracks from soft rock to country.

  • from sacramento, ca January 22, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer, musician

    must have if you love metal

    I love this so much, the drums sound amazing, toontrack makes the best products. The metalheads ezx took my music to the next level.

  • from Los Angeles, CA October 5, 2011Music Background:
    drummer, writer, engineer

    Another awesome EZX

    I started with the basic then added the metalhead and funk expansions to my set up. While the regular EZ drummer is good the expansion offers much more realistic sounds on top of the full professional studio sound. I usually use this with a roland v drum set but it also works well using a keyboard/mpc midi device.

  • from Traverse City, MI September 28, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Metal musician.

    Killer

    This piece of software is amazing for the target audience: Metalheads. The samples used are from Thomas Haake (Meshuggah). They sound flawless and I had no trouble getting the software up and running as a plugin for Cubase. I've been wanting a drum program for a while especially for metal and this one attracted me right away. Don't forget that this is an expansion pack and you must have the regular EZDrummer software to use this.

  • from Jacksonville, FL June 7, 2011Music Background:
    Metal/rock/industrial/ebm

    AWESOME!!!!!

    If you write and produce metal/hard music, this expansion is a MUST HAVE. I compared one of my songs side by side, with regular ezdrummer on one track, and metalheads on another, and i was BLOWN AWAY how much better my mix and sound was with this expansion. It takes your drums to a whole new level. Throw a nice compressor on it and you are ready to pump out some sick tracks.

  • from Los Angeles, CA December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer, Producer

    Great addition to Superior Drummer 2!

    Metalheads EZX was totally worth the $39 I paid for it. The samples sound great, they're easy to use, and with SD2, you can tailor the kits however you want. The Ludwig ALONE is worth the $39, it's perfect for a dense metal mix. Toontrack is no joke, they produce the best sounding software drums that I've ever used.

  • from Las Vegas December 27, 2011Music Background:
    Home studio guy

    Say goodbye to boring loops

    It's great for upping your guitar or bass skills . I got this shortly after buying the original ez drummer and was very pleased. It would have gotten 5 stars if it was broken up in grooves like the other titles but I knew what I was buying and love it

  • from San Francisco, CA USA June 21, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar, electronic music

    Metalheads EZX

    Very nice sound. I wanted something heavy for dubstep, and this was a good option. I have a few other ezx's (electronic, #1 hits, pop) and this is my favorite.

  • from January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just good

    Great drums sounds, but i think that could be available more drum loops.

  • from Norfolk, VA USA April 20, 2012Music Background:
    Independent Musician (Aspiring Producer)

    Metal Mayhem in a Digital Package

    As a songwriter who lives in a small apartment, I can rarely pull out my drum-set and bang away without being cited by the fuzz. When it comes to the intricacies of metal drums, it is a tedious and arduous chore to program the sequences by hand... not to mention that kills the creative mood. That is why the Metalheads EZX is a phenomenal tool. I am able to capture the drum feel I am looking for without much programing allowing me to lay down song ideas quickly and conveniently. It seamlessly integrates into my DAW (Logic Pro) and also is fun to connect to my Roland HD-1 Electric Kit. The potential is there. The only thing I wish this EZX included... some basic song segments versus a breakdown of a specific song.

  • from Omaha September 17, 2011Music Background:
    recording rock musician

    Good not great

    The sounds from the drums are amazing if running with an electric kit or making your own loops with it this is the expansion to get. If just looking to expand your drum library midi files then this isn't for you all the new midi files are based around songs from the artists involved which is good though doesn't realy allow you to create your own song with them. The drum sounds though are very worth it if you can catch it on sale for them alone i would go for it.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA, USA September 8, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good but not essential

    If you already own Toontrack's Metal Foundry library, this set will provide some more variety.. but is nonessential. I particularly liked the new toms, which have a substantially different character from those in Metal Foundry. If you only own EZDrummer and are looking for metal drums, this will provide more mileage than for those who already have their flagship metal product. I am pleased I bought it on sale, it was worth the discounted price. The sound quality is excellent, as it always is with Toontrack.

Questions about the Toontrack Metalheads EZX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway