0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Toontrack Metal! EZX (download) Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Toontrack Metal! EZX (download)?

Questions about the Toontrack Metal! EZX (download)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from C December 28, 2016

    Must Have!

    I bought this for my Superior Drummer software, and I am very happy with it. The default drum kit sounds awesome on it's own for a good Heavy Metal sound. Highly recommend this one!

  • from Corydon Indiana April 12, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist, Musician.

    Metal EZX

    I listened to many paks for metal, this one is simply awesome, thunderous really. I like all of the options I have and you can see my Ezdrummer2 posting. I am VERY happy with this selection and how it works, so many options to pick from, still learning. If you want something that sounds real, this is it. Metal EZX is simply a pulsating drum attack for your metal recording creations. I love it. Period.

  • from Portland, Oregon July 4, 2015

    Metal EZX Rocks

    I use this inside Superior Drummer and I love it!!! It's easy (hence EZX) to get ideas down quickly using the included midi files. Most of the time I lay down a guitar part and then find a midi file that fits it. The sounds are great right from the get-go and are a great alternative to the SDX options in Superior Drummer.

  • from Texas May 15, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Absolutely essential for ANY genre of modern rock!

    I write rock/hard rock/pop punk/post hardcore and realized right away the stock kits in EZdrummer 2 were woefully inadequate Reluctantly, I got the Rock Solid EZX, hoping to find some more usable sounds & was very underwhelmed, so much so I almost gave up on the entire program. The kicks were still way too dark, boomy, & vintage sounding to even cut thru the mix, let alone sound genre appropriate. I wish I'd looked at the Metal EZX first but hindsight is always 20/20. The very first thing I noticed is it was about 1.24 Gb of content, as opposed to the Rock Solid pack which was well under a gig so that was a good sign. Once I got to try out the different kits & individual instruments, DAAAANNNG. The different kicks are PERFECT! The snares & toms, also very, very good. The cymbals are a bit too dark so I swapped them out in favor of brighter ones from my library. Now, my kick & snare sit nicely in the mix & they sound very much like they belong there. Like me, you may also be thinking 'metal' drums aren't for you if you're not actually recording 'metal' music but I can say with the utmost confidence, these sounds are ideal for rock, hard rock, punk, hardcore, djent, thrash, whatever version of modern rock you can possibly imagine. Perhaps most surprising of all, I found the loops to be extremely useful as well! This was a huge relief for me because I really wanted to be able to utilize them but found nothing interesting until I got the Metal pack. WOW!! Right away, I was able to find a TON of content that actually matched the stuff I had in my head. I thought I'd never use loops at all before now but I had an entire song's worth of drum loops strung together in less than an hour with pretty minimal tweaking. Did I mention there's a LOT of loop content?? Well, there is! Compared to the stock library & the other EZX I purchased, the amount of & variations of loops included in the Metal pack is just amazing. It ranges from basic, to groove-heavy, to complex, to blast beats with a very impressive amount of fills. I finally feel like I'm getting some real results from EZdrummer 2 now & I'm excited. Makes it that much more difficult to have to do other things besides record music now.

  • from Auckland,New Zealand December 2, 2014

    Totally kicks butt!

    Since upgrading to EZD2 i guess i'm biased.....but seriously folks,if you can't grind out an absolutely killer heavy drum sound/groove from this library.....well,you should probably go and work in a library and forget music. Sounds,performances....so many options,can't ask for anything else. Toontrack= nailed it.

  • from November 16, 2014

    Audiohammer has done it again

    Toontrack and Auidohammer studios sound engineering are a match made in... hell

  • from Atlanta, GA September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Now THIS is METAL

    ok all the earlier metal packs were very good...but this one in AMAZING. The sounds are modern, fresh and very heavy. The groove library has stuff I could never even imagine. These guy really got it right this time.

  • from December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Toontrack Metal! EZX just ROCKS

    Very satisfied customer here!! :)
    Toontrack Metal! EZX is really awesome.
    Cheers, Sweetwater (and Toontrack)!!!!....you guys really know how to make us happy! ;)

  • from Almont, MI March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Drums, acoustic guitar, hobbyist engineer

    Cymbals are a little dead

    OK... let me start by saying that I'm a big metal fan, which is why I purchased this. The sounds from each of these engineers are unique and charachteristic of their individual styles. However... the cymbals on almost all of the kits are dead and lifeless. I know that within a mix, these are probably just what you'd want, but I really wish toontracks would have offered me (the user) the ability to chose whether I wanted the super compressed and processed sound or a kit with a little more life. Unlike several of the other Toontrack expansions that offer you the ability to pick a dry kit or a natural kit... all of these are really produced. The Vintage set is pretty cool and the cymbals within this kit are pretty nice. Overall... it's a good product, but I really wish that Toontrack would put more enphasis on giving the user a less processed version of all of their kits. But... I guess that's why you just upgrade to Superior Drummer.

Questions about the Toontrack Metal! EZX (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close