0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Toontrack Indie Folk EZX (download) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Toontrack Indie Folk EZX (download)?

Questions about the Toontrack Indie Folk EZX (download)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Florida August 30, 2016

    Indie Folk EZX

    So good! Great value!

  • from Hatfield, PA December 12, 2013

    Great, musically useful, sounds

    This is a great-sounding expansion pack. The kits have a unique, vibey, sound that can fit into a variety of musical styles. The inclusion of the 4-mic sample set is a cool addition.

  • from GA, USA November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    A hit

    Like the other reviewer, I too own a very healthy amount of drum libraries, my favorite of the self-contained bunch being BFD2 and its El Dorado expansion, but with that comes a hefty price on system resources and hard drive space. So I often find myself calling up my EZXs to fill in temporarily. Indie Folk PERFECTLY satiates all my needs for classic rock and soul derived drum sounds without all the labor on my poor Macbook Air, bless its heart its trucking along pretty well actually.

    Indie Folk is highly versatile. If you understand drum recording techniques of the last 60 years, you'll be able to nail just about any sound imaginable in this one EZX...from mono room-only mic sounds of the 50s to mid 60s, to 4-mic Glyn Johns type sounds of the late 60s/early 70s, to tight disco-like sounds. It'll even do classic metal (I was able to get a Ride The Lightning era Lars Ulrich thing going without much fuss at all). Im finding this particular Toontrack product to be quite limitless and I've quite settled on it being the drum VI of choice for my EP that I'm finishing up. Hands down, best EZX. Vintage Rock would tie if it weren't for that ugly room sound it has. Yeesh.

  • from LA, CA July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    My new favorite kit

    I'm not trying to brag but I have a lot of drum libraries. I mainly have been using Toontrack (Music City & Roots), Slate's SSD4.0/Trigger with the Platinum Samples and Chris Lord Alge (heavenly cymbals), and every once in a while the NI Kontact kits hit the spot (Abbey Road 70's is great). Those are just the ones I use. I own a hell of a lot more that I never use. But I wont name names because its all preference in the end.
    So when I first heard this kit I was intrigued enough to add it to the collection. Well I'm blown away. This is right in my wheel house. Its not your every day kit, but when you need something big, warm, dry and need to be able to fool your audience on realism... well this one takes the cake. Its a shame they did it as an EZX in my opinion. I would love to see a larger library with a few more options. The hats at first I didn't like but I've figured out how to tame them. Would be nice to have a 2nd or 3rd option but again its an EZX, not an SDX. And this has since become my go to for snares. The Gretsch Roundbadge and 1950s Ludwig are just perfect. Fat, dry, snappy, no bad resonances at all. And its one of the best libraries I've heard for doing authentic sounding rolls and ghost notes. The toms are great, you can bring them up in a mix without them over powering everything else. First time I've been able to do that from a library without even tweaking them.
    Bottom line is this kits is cheaper than most on the market. And while it is some what of a niche kit, to tell you the truth every kit is a niche kit. There is no one kit that works on every song in every genre. But this is one of the most masterfully recorded kits I've heard from Toontrack for a long time. Worth every penny, do not think twice about it.

    And to Toontrack: Next time do an SDX!!! It sounds far too good to be an EZX.

  • from January 16, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Drummer, Percussionist, Composer/Songwriter

    Definitely Worth the Investment

    This is a solid investment for anyone who writes indie folk songs or collaborates with someone who does. I am currently drumming for a folk project which has a definite Fleet Foxes influence and they love the sound of these drums. Actually, this software could probably work in all kinds of styles; I am also involved with a post rock unit (sounds a bit like Russian Circles) and some of the drums in this software (the Gretsch and Slingerland Bomber in particular) also sound really good in that setting. The ONLY thing that keeps me from giving this software 5 stars is the complete absence of folk percussion sounds (washboard, spoons, etc).

    Overall, another satisfying purchase from Sweetwater and great customer service yet again from my sales rep AJ Becerra.

  • from August 7, 2015Music Background:
    home recording artist

    A nice addition

    Way better than the EZ Drummer samples and midi. The midi library is conveniently organized into songs with various parts for each. The samples are pretty good, though not as good as the Jazz EZX expansions. However, the midi files are overall more useful than the Jazz expansions. If you're going for an indie or folk sound, don't pass this up. A lot of the included midi files have a slightly country sound to them, which I found to be a great addition to my EZX/SDX collection.
    Also: Tamborine!

  • from Tacoma, Wa USA February 22, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer Hobbyist

    More than just for Indie Folk

    I did buy this kit thinking I would be producing softer styles of music, but the kits also work great in rock and even jazz contexts. The Slingerland kit has a very big and unique sound that can really spark creativity. and the Ludwig set is worth price by itself. I have to say that overall this expansion has probably the most organic sounding kits Toontrack has ever made, as well as having some very nice reverb and ambience settings. If your looking to add a less processed and natural drum sound to your EZdrummer arsenal, I would definitely suggest purchasing this expansion.

  • from Lancaster,Ca September 8, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Artist, Producer,Writer, Recording Engineer, Etc.

    Just finishing my Library

    Just finishing my library of drums If your Producing different type of music you will need everything that Toontrack has for drums. So this purchase was a no brainer at this price and Randy Akins is my guy at Sweetwater and I give him ******************** for the best customer service.

  • from NEO September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Paid Hobbyist

    Can't Go Wrong

    Ok, actually I AM blown away, but I feel like I need to leave something for the next review. I've purchased a lot of stuff from Toontracks through Sweetwater and I've never been sorry. Sweetwater is awesome and Toontracks sounds amazing. This may actually be my favorite expansion pack yet...

  • from Mableton, GA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Hobbyist

    Very good samples

    This EZX has a classic similar to the original Ez Drummer. The snares are amazing. There is room ambience which you can mix in or "mono room." There is a 4 mic setup included too.
    There are two hi hats. One of them has a tambourine which is triggered when you put your foot down on the hi hat pedal.
    Take care with the massive amounts of bass in the floor and bass drum samples. They sound huge.

  • from Brooklyn November 29, 2016Music Background:
    Composer/engineer

    Good sounds

    These drum kits are a bit closer to real, for me - not too perfect to be believed, but a little more garage-y, warm and worn. T shirt on the tom a nice touch :-) I dig the mallet kit. also appreciate the 4-mic versions and have already found good uses for them.

  • from United States September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician / Producer

    Indie Folk EZX sounds great!

    This is a really nice addition to our EZX and SDX kits. I've used it mostly in Superior Drummer so far, but will sometimes open it in EZ Drummer just to revel in the extra-cool drum kit graphic. The sounds are very organic (compared to many of the other EZX / SDX kits) - and really give an authentic - more relaxed - touch to your drum tracks. Perfect for when you don't need an overly big or processed sound.

  • from June 29, 2015

    Home enthusiast

    Thanks to Sweetwater tech support, (AWESOME!!), for help in downloading, it works fine with superior 2. and has some interesting drum parts &I sounds! I can get an outstanding "Salvation Army" marching drum sound!!! Seriusly, as with about all Toontrack virtual plugins, it is great, topped only by the service of all the folks at Sweetwater!!

Questions about the Toontrack Indie Folk EZX (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway