0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 3 days left

Toontrack DFH EZX Reviews

4.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Toontrack DFH EZX?

Questions about the Toontrack DFH EZX?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Zach Neels

    Toontrack Drumkit From Hell EZX has the heaviest drums for the at-home studio. Combine this with Metalheads and The Metal Foundry, you'll have the biggest, baddest, loudest kits known to man!

  • James C
    from Las Vegas December 28, 2016

    Awesome Software

    I recently bought this for Superior Drummer and I am more than satisfied with everything that this comes with. I highly recommend getting this!

  • John Paterson
    from January 17, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, photographer, Martial Arts Instructor

    Incredible sounds and versatility. The best kits I have ever used to date.

    Its fun to have a lot of toys in the studio but when you come across a pro quality unit such as EZDrummer 2 and all the available software it makes life so much easyer. Time and money is well spent. EZDrummer is so user friendly that you spend your time creating instead of always having to learn rather than playing and recording. This package is mind blowing. I wrote and recorded a song within a few hours of playing instead of reading... Actually as soon as I complete this review I am buying more software. Great job guys and I look forward to a good and long relationship.
    Rock & Roll.

    Sincerely

    John

  • Andrew
    from Muncie IN December 5, 2013Music Background:
    Studio owner

    Sweeet

    Awesome drum sounds

  • John M.
    from Little Rock September 5, 2013Music Background:
    semi 'pro' musician, home recording geek.

    DFH is impressive indeed.

    You can't beat Toontracks and DFH for generating drum lines on your computer. The sound is top notch. I find DFH to be a crisp and quick sound as compared to metalheads which I find thicker. I like both equally. DFH is recommended 100%.

  • Sean Gale
    from Colorado October 23, 2012Music Background:
    Metal/Posthardcore

    Drum kit From hell is a must buy!

    This product is absolutely amazing. Transformed my electronic drum kit sound into a professional sounding drum track. Best 180$ software package I've ever purchased. Could not be happier with this product.

  • Jens Jorgensen
    from Houston April 23, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Intro Recording Study

    Awesoime Grooves

    This is an essential expansion if you desire to write great metal songs. The grooves are out of site. The drums are so realistic and human it's scarry.

  • justanotherguitarist
    from North Dakota, USA March 8, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    Amazing

    EZdrummer as a stand alone program is great, but DFH is literally untouchable. For a project/small studio will fewer resources, the results will likely be better than a real drumset and take only a fraction of the time! Also a great songwriting tool, and I LOVE the artist loops.

  • Customer
    from January 29, 2012Music Background:
    Independant musician

    Awesome product!

    I was inspired to check this out after listening to cloudkicker and thinking "wow, the drummer is amazing." DFH sounds great and is totally flexible. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a high quality metal drum machine.

  • joe c
    from bethlehem,pa December 26, 2016Music Background:
    guitar player and metal head

    great grooves!!!

    what i like about this ezx is the grooves section in this program,,has some really awesome sounds and beats for the brutal tunes you can write....my only disappointment with the program however is the pictures in the advertising show two kick drums in the program and in fact there is only one,,,otherwise this is a great and pretty versatile program,,,im using it within superior drummer 2...

  • Customer
    from December 25, 2016

    Dr. Z

    As Superior Drummer 2 user a number of years, I find that the EZX expansions like DFH provide me and easy way to add new groves to my productions. I like that it also gives me new pre-programmed sounds that give a different feel and timbre to my music. Always happy with the EZX.

  • Customer
    from April 29, 2012

    Nice grooves

    From strong grooves to insane heavy metal, this has cool grooves and a great sounding rock kit.

  • Brandon Burnett
    from WI, USA April 14, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Must have for heavier music

    Drumkit From Hell is great add on to EZ Drummer. Its perfect for creating beats for anything from hard rock to thrash and whatever else is at the end of the metal spectrum.

    Its pretty easy and intuitive to use with the DAW if your choice. I'm still a novice at recording but its been a breeze using this with Reaper. Its pretty much just select your beat, drag and drop, and you're good to go.

  • G.G.
    from August 31, 2015

    Not bad...MIDI file selection is Great!

    Kind of expected it to sound a little out dated, and in some areas it does. Going back & forth between real drums, old drum machines/ EZX kits I find it's shaping my preference somewhere between the two worlds. For me the kit over all sounds a little thin, The bass drum is too fake at this point, and reminds me of the stand alone drum machines out 15yrs ago. I knew all of this before I purchased it so I'm not going to be too hard on it. There are plenty of good cymbals,snares, & toms to pull from when customizing your own kit using other EZX packs. I gave it 4 starts because the midi included is fantastic and was the reason I went ahead and got the DFZ EZX.

  • Flats
    from Seattle, WA December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro Guitarist and Home Recording Enthusiast

    Toontracks DFH

    I have Superior Drummer 2 and wanted some expansion kits to work with, so I ordered the now legendary DFH kit. It is a great tool like most of the Toontrack products, although I do prefer the raw sounds of the Superior line to these more "processed" EZDrummer kits. I just go in and delete all the processing and use the raw drum tones, so having all the processing already on the drums is a waste of time for me. That said, after removing any processing, the kit sounds are high quality stuff.

  • Customer
    from November 30, 2012

    DFH

    A must have expansion for EZ DRUMMER

  • Cy
    from Denver, CO USA September 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good but I will need more

    Since my music style is harder, more aggressive than classic rock, I bought DFH EZX (Drumkit from Hell) for my compositions. I have used it in one piece and found it good, more aggressive than the kits delivered with EZDrummer but I will probably have to buy the electronic drumkit soon to get the sound that I want.

  • Customer
    from December 5, 2015

    Cool but not as impressive as demo videos

    Admittedly I'm not a metal head, there's a -lot!- of options and patterns but still quite as robust as the video on Toon track's seems to indicate- not in my mind anyway (and I'm a huge fan of EZ drummer!!!). But then again there are more Metal options to choose from Toontacks now.

  • Will Snyder
    from February 16, 2012Music Background:
    Sony Artist/ Producer/ Songwriter engineer

    Neat

    I might be know more for country music... but one of my passions is metal drums! I love the sound of a killer kit, and a drummer that can play fast and crazy beats... I think this kit is neat, but I'm not a fan when you compare it to the newer stuff toontrack has put out.. It's just so thin.... yeah I know that when you have thrashing guitars, and fat bass... you really can't make everything fat in a mix, but to me.. I think having a thick heavy drum is so important in any style of music for the most part... especially Metal... Right?? I know this kit has won awards... and good for toontrack in winning them... but I think if you are wanting a bigger butt kicking sound.. might want to look into Metal Machine... Compare the fullness of the audio... Plus, Metal Machine seems to sound way better as far as over all tone. My opinion... However, this kits strength is Cymbals... so.. if you are an audio expert and know how to beef this kit up with some post production tools.. then I think you'll like it.

  • LANCE THUNDERSONG
    from branson mo. June 10, 2014Music Background:
    pro bass player,lead vocalist,song writer.

    IT IS WHAT IT SAYS

    I DIDN'T END UP USING ANYTHING ON THIS KIT OR GUEST GROOVES ON MY ALBUM,THE CYMBALS ARE GOOD AND CRISP DRUMS BUT MOST OF THE GUEST STUFF IS JUST A SPEED RACE TO THE END WITH A MILLION SNARE HITS. IF YOUR INTO SPEED METAL THIS IS FOR YOU, BUT NOUTHING TASTEFULL.
    I DID HOWEVER DOWN LOAD METAL BEATS WHICH GAVE ME WHAT I NEED FOR EVRY SONG EXCEPT FOR PROBLEMS TRYING TO CHANGE TEMPOS MID SONG.

Questions about the Toontrack DFH EZX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway