0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 3 days left

Toontrack The Classic EZX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the Toontrack The Classic EZX?

Questions about the Toontrack The Classic EZX?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 25, 2016

    The classic

    It's a "Must Have"

  • from CHAUNCEY, OH March 16, 2014Music Background:
    instrumental guitarist/composer

    Truly A Classic Library

    Comprising superb mixer options, grooves, and drum kits, "The Classic" is probably the best EZX. This expansion offers two different micing set-ups, and it is the 4-mic component that I use most often. The 4-mic system is simple to use and mix, with a natural sound which blends seamlessly into funk, jazz, or classic rock. The snares and cymbals in particular are full of character and realism. The samples from this EZX sound great with no extra processing, and can add a professional polish to songs. The kits on offer are all unique and suited to different purposes, my favorite of which is the default Noble and Cooley. The groove library includes extensive selections from two ace drummers, Chris Whitten and Peter Fredlander, and offers 22 full song drum arrangements with each song broken into verse, chorus, bridge, and fill sections. The grooves are very useful and often weave themselves into my arrangements. One caveat: although it should be evident from the library's title, don't expect modern sounds from these drums.

  • from January 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Classic EZX

    Do yourself a favor Just buy it !!!

  • from January 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Classic EZX

    I am really amazed how good this one is. a definite must have

  • from September 2, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Incredible :)

    I got this for $40 during a sale. It comes with a LOT of MIDI. It has full mic and 4 mic sound which is too cool. And ultimately the sound is smooth and requires little layering. To me it is the best made EZX with MEtTAL machine at a close second. This may eb the final EZX I buy as I don't think the others come close :).

  • from New York April 4, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Singer, Song Writter, Recording Engineer and Producer

    Classic EZX from EZDrummer is awesome!

    Classic EZX from EZDrummer is awesome! I've had it for a few months now and I use it everyday. I've used it with a few DAWs like GarageBand, Studio One, Reaper and others. It works great with all of them. It's easy to use and it sounds great. I like to use it in multi-track mode which allows me to add compression and EQ to the the kick, toms and snare. I hope to get a few more add-on kits in the future.

  • from Dallas, TX January 25, 2012Music Background:
    musician, songwriter

    AWESOME Drum Solution

    I was needing a really good drum solution for my DAW for quite awhile and in my search found EZ Drummer by Toontrack. I’ve used it now for about two years and have added expansion packs with different drum sounds and styles as my budget permits.

    However with CLASSIC EZX expansion pack I get not just the ease of use EZ Drummer is known for, but also the incredible sonic quality of a “close mic” configuration as well as the “four mic” configuration made famous by Glynn Johns (don’t get me started on his brilliance).

    For songwriters looking for an easy to use drum solution to the experienced sound engineer (I guess I’m somewhere in the middle) ANYTHING by Toontrack is the way to go. Ease of use, great sonic quality, and ready to use VST’s make this a product well worth the money. On a 1-10 scale of ‘bang for buck’ I would rate this #10 Best in Class!!!

  • from NYC January 17, 2012Music Background:
    Eternal Student of All Music

    The Drum Sound You Truly Need is HERE!

    This is it! The uncomplicated Glyn Johns 4mic recording method WITH bonus ambient stereo mics (i.e. wet reverb) allows for fast and effective process from MEGATONS of New York Studio recorded drum loops to mono WAV tracks for each mic (keep ambient stereo). Then individual pan, compression and EQ for Kick, Snare, Overhead, TOM and Room tracks. Voila, you can concentrate on MAKING MUSIC in mere minutes with something that does not sound MIDI download. Youtube has many good instructional vids how to get the best out this EZDrummer Classic Extension. What really helped my drumline creation process was getting also Toontrack's EZPlayer that allowed me to QUICKLY compile different arrangements with accelerating velocity and unique transposing on the fly! You can then just drag and drop the tracks on your DAW of choice (Presonus Studio One).

  • from Mobile, AL January 8, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Songwriter, Engineer and Producer

    Simple, yet effective!

    Although I have all the EZXs and SDXs, I find myself using The Classics EZX for most things I do. It doesn't have those shrill higher pitched snares you find in today's music. This EZX is the drum library you are constantly searching for when you can't find "that sound" in the other libraries. It comes in 2 configurations - 4 Mic setup and complete Mic setup... both of which bring new dimensions to your tracks. I just wish they would have made an SDX out of it!

  • from Montreal, Quebec December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Home studio "do-it-all"

    Toontrack Classic EZX

    I used to play with an awesome drummer who had a set of Yamaha Recording Customs, and they sounded great. This Expansion library brought all those memories floating back. If you want to get that retro Toto, GRP, 80's and 90's Weckl sound.... just load this up and instant Yamaha sound.

    One step better, you can start to tweak them with more current styles of compression and reverb and get reall punchy sounds that fit in great to a modern mix.

    Really good stuff.

    The 4 mic mix is a great find too, just the right balance between control and ease of use.
    Just excellent!

  • from December 23, 2011

    Toontrack The Classic EZX

    Excellent addition to EZDrummer, installed without problems, very good sounds, nice and useful MIDI grooves, easy to use, good source of inspiration.

  • from Enterprise, AL September 11, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, songwriter, producer

    CLSSIC EZX

    It's a great sounding and very versatile kit !! I love it for pop & rock recording !!

  • from Nashville May 29, 2011Music Background:
    Songwriter/Producer

    Most natural sounding EZX or SDX

    These are my main drum sounds right now - fantastic, organic sounds. I have Superior, EZ, AD, etc...and I find myself using this most of the time. Perfect for Rock, AAA and Organic POP.

  • from Nashville May 3, 2011Music Background:
    Stuck in the business too long to do anything else...

    Essential

    By far the best EZX out there for acoustic drum sounds...I would even be so bold to say that these sound better than all the SDX's I have...It's REALLY nice to have a great sound ready to go without having to tweak like crazy. Killer midi patterns too.

  • from Dallas, Fort Worth, TX August 1, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist and home project studio producer

    Very nice expansion library

    These samples and midi patterns are musical and have real human feeling to the patterns. A notch up from EZ Drummer core. Then I saw the Superior Drummer 2.0 upgrade for $ 99 and can't be more pleased. M drummer rocks! Please keep new midi patterns coming Toontrack!

  • from Phoenix Arizona (USA) September 28, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter, Engineer, Producer.

    The Classic EZX

    All 3 Toontrack products that I own, have far exceeded my expectations. I really like the mixer on EZdrummer. I own EZdrummer, The Classic EZX and Pop EZX. I will be adding some MIDI packs soon!

  • from Sterling Va USA September 5, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician. Songwriter

    More than I expected

    Easy to use and very friendly.The patterns could be better, but still very good

  • from Springfield Ohio January 12, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/ Video Producer/ Worship Leader

    Great sounding kit and mics

    This is my favorite kit for EZ Drummer. The inside and outside kick mics are great. Lots of versatility in the drum and mic choices. My work demos just went up another level. I also like the "theme" choices in the grooves. The player who recorded the grooves are great.

  • from Binghamton New York December 12, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer 40 years bass player songwriter

    ez drummer the classic

    I really like the drum sounds in ez drummer.
    i use them all the time .
    Will also buy more add on kits from toon track

  • from VA August 24, 2012Music Background:
    Player, engineer

    The Toontrack The Classic EZX

    Quite satisfactory for my composition needs. For the price, I am very happy.

  • from Belo Horizonte / MG Brazil June 20, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Composer and Producer

    A very nice pack

    Greatly enhanced in the process of creation. The next step is to go to Superior Drummer.

  • from rural Kansas April 28, 2012Music Background:
    writer/home studio owner

    Classic EZX 4 mic set up nice and full sounding

    I am fond of the 4 mic set up. feels nice and full , like you hear a drum set. Do we need to tweak everything, all the time?

  • from Peoria AZ December 15, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Producer

    Classic EZX

    This is a great sounding kit for ezdrummer. I don't use ezdrummer a lot because it doesn't have the flexibility I need for Country Music. I also have Superior and both BFD's but I absolutely love the way Tunetrack approaches their recording. They just do a top notch job and no drum kits from software sounds better than theirs. They record like they're trying to make a hit record. Fantastic company!!!

  • from Las Vegas, NV September 14, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Musician

    This one is okay for a classic rock sound

    If you have 'drum kit from hell' then 'The Classic' will sound really dull in comparison. I suppose if you are going for more of a vintage drum feel then this would be the pack for you. The drum sounds here need some eq-ing and post processing to say the least (they are raw). If you want some big modern rock drums that are dialed in already then just get the 'drum kit from hell' and skip this one.

Questions about the Toontrack The Classic EZX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway