0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Toontrack EZkeys Upright Piano Songwriting Software and Virtual Piano Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Toontrack EZkeys Upright Piano Songwriting Software and Virtual Piano?

Questions about the Toontrack EZkeys Upright Piano Songwriting Software and Virtual Piano?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from oklahoma June 13, 2014Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Musician, and small studio owner

    Toontrack EZkeys Upright Piano

    one of the things I've been missing in my songs is tyne versatility on keys I've already written two songs and used EZkeys The cord wheel is excellent for making the cord sounds you want . the randomize function is really cool to give you song and music new ideas and new directions. and sometimes helps in creating new music for other songs Toontrack has done a great job.

  • from January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Wow!

    This thing blowed me away, thanks to this products i'm writing songs much more efficiently, very clever interface, you can build a chord progression in seconds, choose from grooves, change chords, drag to the DAW, add presets, and much more.

    Worth the money

  • from Lockport, NY January 2, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician...turned hobbyist

    Toontrack EZkeys Upright Piano Songwriting Software and Virtual Piano

    YUP... Blown away... I have minimal keyboard experience and I was able to load this into my DAW (Sonar X2) and flush out a fairly involved song in minutes. Sounds wonderful, easy to use and a great song writing companion. Watched a few You Tube clips and can't wait to get "in to " this VI. I was not aware of all the editing and options packed in this plug. Helped get me out of a writers block rut. Keyboard compromised???? Check this out.

  • from December 25, 2013Music Background:
    music educator, Pro Musician

    toontrack ez upright piano

    Greetings, this program is fabulous.
    The only thing is that the new Garage Band does not recognize it as a plug-in
    Thanks for your support.

  • from Nashville,TN December 24, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter/Producer

    Amazing

    Really wonderful..im a guitarist/songwriter/producer and this allows me to create piano parts that end up sounding like a session player played to my song..works in the same way their drum line works..

  • from Philadelphia, PA December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Songriter and producer

    Surprisingly amazing

    One of my favorite upright piano sounds. Reminds me of the piano from my old neighbors house. And they got the pedal noise just right.

    I bought it just for the sounds. But the included patterns are probably nice for people that need songwriting help. But for me that was just a plus. Try the demo first and see if it's your cup of tea. But it was the piano sound I was looking for.

  • from United States January 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice upright sound. Smooth MIDI and VST functionality

    Easy to download and install on my Win 7 PC. No latency problems. Easy proprietary interface. Worked nicely as a VST plugin with Reaper. Mellow, full bodied sound. My other piano is a Synthogy Ivory II Concert D and. I gave the EZkeys a 4.5 because the sound was not quite as full as the Ivory II but this was probably not fair as the Ivory II is a Steinway Concert Grand recorded with lid fully open while the EZkeys up right according to their promotional pictures was recorded with the lid closed.

  • from Greenville, SC January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Label owner, Producer

    EZkeys

    Fantastic! Very valuable as a songwriting tool and I see the audio ending up in our recordings.

  • from Tallahassee, FL December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    EZ Keys

    Great sounds, good solid MIDI library (with expansion options), and very easy user interface. My only regret is I didn't buy it sooner.

  • from McPherson, Kansas December 28, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Player, Gigging Musician, and Project Studio.

    My new teacher

    I bought this to help me write songs but it has ended teaching me music theory. It's easy to use and has already became an invaluable tool in my software collection.

  • from WI December 25, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist

    Another good one from Toontrack

    If you're terrible at the piano like me but want some keys on your tracks this is the way to go.

    It sounds amazingly close to a real piano, and there's also tons of different voicings like 80s chorus, 70s ballad, etc... if theres a tone you're after it's probably in there.

    I installed it, and had it up in running in Reaper in maybe 5 minutes. It's very intuitive, and by playing around with it you'll have the jist of it in no time at all. If you're familiar with EZ drummer, you'll have no problem getting EzKeys to do what you want.

    I'd highly recommend it. It's a great value.

  • from Neosho, MO December 24, 2013Music Background:
    Rock

    Super EZ !

    Whoever wrote this software read my mind. I am not a keyboard player and had given up on having keyboards in my songs. Thanks to a special Sweetwater sale, I decided this was worth trying. Wow, what a find!
    Just create chords, rename them to your progression and start playing with styles. This is a great songwriting tool and a great tool to add keyboard rhythms. I am so impressed.
    The ONLY reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it doesn't have a ton of options out of the box. However, it's given me plenty to work with and now I can add the styles I know I'll use.
    Thank you Toontrack and Thank you Sweetwater! Now, how about doing the same writing format for midi drums?

  • from El Segundo, CA October 13, 2014

    EZ Keys Upright.... awesome

    Excellent software. This paino seems to cut through the mix a little easier than the grand. On recommendation from Mr. Tony Dayton here at Sweetwater. Good call my friend, this has really helped me out. Thanks.

  • from Managua, Managua February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Composer.

    Perfect to start ideas

    I bought this because I am not a pianist but I love to compose with piano background. So, the EZKeys URP fit perfectly my expectation. The Intelligent transposition and the Music Theory Basic Support exceeded my expectations.

    I definitely recommend the EZKeys for anybody that want a great pianist in their composition process (for a fixed price).

  • from United States December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Musician / Producer

    EZkeys Upright Piano

    Very versatile piano sounds. Had been thinking about EZkeys for a while - and couldn't pass up a great deal.

  • from North Carolina December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Song writer, engineer

    NICE KEYZ!

    The EZ Keyz have done wonderful things for my composing. I Highly recommend them for the serious song writers out there!

  • from Boston, MA October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Singer, song writer

    Toontrack EZkeys upright piano

    I've explored the product and was genuinely happy with what I purchased. Haven't learned all there is to know but saw the potential. I think this is great, especially for someone who doesn't really play and since I am a song writer the creativity is endless.

  • from December 27, 2013Music Background:
    soundtracks, theatre, film

    Handy tool

    I got this mostly for the circle of 5ths style chord wheel, which is not an obvious option but once you find it you can hear how a lot of different chords sound with all the different inversions, additions & augmentations.
    I'm not a keyboardist so find it damn handy. Then it's a simple drag & drop of that chord into yr DAW. Using LogicPro8 & no probs so far. Upright piano sound is ok, just. Probably you'll want to use another piano sound.

  • from NY January 23, 2014Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Needs more to start with

    I like easy keys but I think it could be a little bit easier to use and it should come with a more melodies. I guess I'll buy one of the expansion packs to see if that helps any.

  • from April 16, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist

    Disappointed

    I am a HUGE fan of Toontrack's EZDrummer 2 software. When I decided to give EZKeys a shot, I was expecting a similar experience. I must say that compared to EZDrummer 2, EZKeys is extremely limited.
    EZKeys includes a "fair at best" MIDI file library, but you cant modify the files very easily. You have to search through the available files one by one and hope you find something close to what you're looking for.
    A big part of what makes EZDrummer 2 great is the ability to modify the MIDI files on the fly. You can find a midi file that is close to what you want, then change the file in real time within the software with a keyboard and a mouse. Not so with EZKeys. EZKeys midi files are what you see is what you get. You cant take a riff and change single notes within the riff. Also, It appears that I will have to add a MIDI keyboard if I want to write in a fill. I cant do it with the keyboard and the mouse is not quick enough. I found the software anything but EZ to use. I see potential in this software but I wont be purchasing any add-on's for this software unless Toontrack creates a much improved version.

Questions about the Toontrack EZkeys Upright Piano Songwriting Software and Virtual Piano?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway