0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

D'Addario EXL120 Nickel Wound Super Light Electric Strings 10-pk Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the D'Addario EXL120 Nickel Wound Super Light Electric Strings 10-pk?

Questions about the D'Addario EXL120 Nickel Wound Super Light Electric Strings 10-pk?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Seattle, WA April 26, 2016Music Background:
    30+ years, mostly hobbyist

    I just keep coming back to XLs

    As a guy who came of age in the 80s wanting to be Eddie Van Halen, I got a pointy Ibanez V with an Edge trem and DiMarzios, and I put Ernie Ball Super Slinkies on it because Eddie was leaping his hockey stick Kramer across the Super Slinky ads at the time. The Slinkies sounded great, but the E strings busted left and right. I tried GHS Boomers, but they didn't have the same zing I was looking for and they broke almost as fast as the Slinkies did. After a couple years of this frustration, I manned up my callouses and switched to Hybrid Slinkies, which seemed to take my Pacifica 512's licensed Floyd quite a bit longer to chew up, but weren't as bright as Super Slinkies. I discovered SIT strings around 1990 (Steve Lukather ad) which were bright, stable, and long-lasting, but they were also more expensive and hard to find - I had to drive 100 miles down I-80 to Lincoln to get them. I got into SRV around 1992 and after a brief flirtation with Fender nickel Bullets, I started rocking heavy gauge Dean Markley Blue Steels on a MIJ 60s Strat reissue. The Blue Steels were expensive and I told myself I liked their sound because being cryogenically frozen simply had to count for something, right? I also kept telling myself I liked playing on piano wires. This ongoing illusion lasted like four or five years. Incidentally, thank you, Billy Gibbons, for telling your BB King story about string gauges every chance you get.

    I got my first pack of XLs (10-46) around 2002. That first set lasted my Gibson Faded V about two months, and I was playing two or three hours a night. The sound was brilliant just like Super Slinkies, but the tone lasted and lasted where the Slinkies would start fading after a couple weeks. I felt like I'd found the everlasting gobstopper of guitar strings! I could detune to D no problem, the tuning stayed true even with those green-key Klusons. Best of all, XLs were pretty much the same price as Slinkies, and everyplace stocked them. Where had these fantastic strings been all my life, I wondered. I sprang for a Jackson Soloist in 2010. This got me all posh-minded; I started buying 9-42 DR Hi-Beams strings, which were great, but harder to find and twice as expensive as XLs. Then I saw a 10-pack of XLs on sale for $25, jumped on it, and I quickly rediscovered that the XLs were every bit as good as the DRs for half the cost. Unfortunately, life reared its ugly head shortly afterward and I had to sell my gear. But when I got got back into playing again last year, that 5-year old 10-pack of XLs had six packs left, so I cracked a bag open. It was like they just came off the factory line, no tarnishing, same brilliant tone, and the first set lasted me 7 weeks. I flirted with the new NYXLs (8-38) for about six months and quality-wise they're everything great about XLs and then a little bit more, but they're also $12 a set. I'm back to 9-42 XLs and about one more string change away from ordering another 10-pack. The moral of the story is that if you like your tone bright and cutting, you just can't do better than D'Addario XLs without spending 2-3 times the money (on D'Addario NYXLs).

  • from Hendersonville June 28, 2015Music Background:
    Rock

    Best strings on the planet!!!

    Always played them....always will. Nufsed

  • from Chicago, IL July 25, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging musician for the past 30 years

    I've used these for years and they always satisfy!

    I've gone thru many brands and this is the one I rely upon. I rarely suffer from strings breaking (knock on wood!). I can keep a set on for weeks sometimes months and they keep on going. These are especially great for floyd rose setups. They bend awesomely. Just give them a good stretching when stringing up and they're good to go. Very stable. They have great shelf life. Granted, I've quite a few guitars so I can go thru a box relatively quickly. But I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a box even if you have only one guitar and change strings once a month. I string my Hamers, Strats, Ibanez and LPs with these. I have them on a couple of teles as well. Except for one tele (an old one) which I always string with Roto 10s for it's unique tone and feel. (but those wear out quickly and get dull). On my Hamer Special FM, they are really great and so comfortable to play. The tone I get from that guitar with these strings is awesome.

  • from Hendersonville, NC June 12, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    Always Awesome Strings

    Have been using these strings for years and not once been disappointed with them. Great deal from Sweetwater on price and service...can't beat that either!!!

  • from Riverside, CA June 11, 2012Music Background:
    Simi pro musician Project studio recording

    Great strings all around

    Ive been playing a long time and I've tried a LOT of different strings.
    I always wind up back with D"addario strings eventually..
    The tone IMHO i checks all my boxes for what a good set of strings encompasses . I usually buy two boxes of ten sets at a time. That sums up how much I like this company. I also use their nylon strings for my classical guitar

  • from Monticello, IN July 30, 2011Music Background:
    Songwriter/Home Recordist

    Best Strings on the Planet

    I have been using XL120's for about 21 years. When I first started playing I had nothing but trouble with every other brand of strings, they either broke easily or cost too much for a teenager. The D'Addario's were endorsed, at the time, by guys like Satriani and Vai so how could I have gone wrong. And even though I still can't play like those shredders I can appreciate a great string. Buy 'em you'll love 'em.

  • from UK, Kent July 6, 2011Music Background:
    Lead Guitarist

    EXL120 10-pack

    This is one of the best pack I've ever had and it is my first ones to have and will buy even more when the ones I've got gets old.

    MUST buy.

    Thanks to Dennis K

    Cheers

    Nikkie R

  • from White Haven, PA June 16, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician / Studio Owner

    Best strings made

    As a player of 35+ years, the feel of a string becomes more critical each day. The second most critical aspect is longevity. I switched to D’Addario several years ago after a near lifetime with another brand and I am very happy I did. Fantastic sounding string that feels great and lasts.

  • from Frazier Park,CA April 27, 2016

    Guitar Strings

    These are some of the best strings for my strat I have used. Strings are a personal thing. These are what I like.

  • from Ava,Mo. USA February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Getting back into playing again after 25 years.

    Great strings, worked well on my guitar.

    Needed to change strings on my Epi Sheraton II, and these were awesome on that guitar. Reallt brought out thr tones that this guitar can produce.

  • from Lockport, IL USA June 5, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Nice Strings for the price

    I have very sweaty palms and when I play live, it's get really bad. I know everyone's sweat is a little different but for me, it seems that mine eats up strings pretty badly and these are no exception. I know I should wipe my stings down after every set, but I have more things to worry about and I never do this. However, for those guitars at home that don't get a beating, the stings seems to last months on end.

    The thing is, when on sale, you can pick up a 10 pack for $30 which nets things out to $3 per set, and with free shipping, its an awesome deal.

    Bottom line, for the price, the are really good strings...and yes, there are probably better strings out there but you will pay more.

Questions about the D'Addario EXL120 Nickel Wound Super Light Electric Strings 10-pk?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway