0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Akai Professional EWI4000S Wind Controller Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Akai Professional EWI4000S Wind Controller?

Questions about the Akai Professional EWI4000S Wind Controller?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    If it's good enough for Michael Brecker, it's good enough for any of my other sax friends!!!

  • Stan Scott
    from NY, NY June 17, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Player

    Great but be sure to get the updated sounds from Patchman

    I love the EWI. I got it several months ago and played it for while but got tired of the horrible internal sounds. I updated my EWI with the Patchman Music EWI4000s soundbank and now IT ROCKS!
    They also offer a package deal that includes their sounds and the horn calibrated by a pro.

  • Jim Lytle
    from San Jose CA December 10, 2007Music Background:
    Reno style duo for five years and Hartnell College Jazz band alumnis -Shout out to Dr. Carl Christensen

    Akai Wind controller gets thumbs up.

    I am enjoying this EWI4000S by plugging it through my Alesis HD8. I am impressed that the Akai wind controller has no moving parts except for nine control buttons. This tool will last a long time. Some pretty smart people dreamed this thing up and made a digital horn that will take trills at lightening speed. I could not trill that fast on a keyboard. It really sounds like a horn. The models that are built in include a great soprano sax but nothing that sounds much like a tenor or alto sax. I assume horn players already have saxes so they want new synth and sample sounds anyway. I am a guitar and keyboard guys who wants a sax sound in my headphones while my neighbors and family hear nothing (I can practice longer) so I have to plug into a tone module for sax sounds. I do love this horn and believe its "no moving parts" idea will prove best as the years roll by -no moving parts = no maintenance I will predict. The Alesis HD8 has a wind modeling engine and it will prove useful with this horn. Yamaha Motif racks and synths offer a horn modeled soundchip option that I look forward to trying. In short, if you are a horn player you can use the Akai. If you are not a horn player, then you can become one and your chest and lungs will swell with pride! (ha ha). Because the breath sense if adjustable, you can make it easy or hard to breath into, and it takes a fair amount of wind to drive this thing, so it will get you into shape and that cannot be bad, right? I mean it. This thing will be my close jamming buddy for years.

  • Customer
    from February 12, 2017Music Background:
    Music teacher

    EWI4000

    It has a great sound once I figured it out. I also purchased the patch man sound bank , which is well worth the cost. This wind controller is a very good product.

  • Dan Tong
    from Chicago April 16, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    EWI-4000s is Excellent BUT...

    Like Reviewer Don Blum says - the instrument is excellent but the manual and instructions are terrible. Confusing, unclear, pretty near impossible to understand and follow.
    Also why provide setup for the worthless built in kazoo sounds, but no software to setup for the rest of the configuration (MIDI settings)?
    That would be far more important and useful. Too bad EWI developers lack common sense.

  • Spencer Crockett
    from Overland Park, KS USA September 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, writer, studio apprentice

    Played very little so far, but it's a pretty nifty critter!

    Great idea for us wind players, versatile, compact, perhaps a case would be nice to offer. I'm very much looking forward to playing it more!

  • Wesley English
    from Marco Island, FL, USA August 20, 2012Music Background:
    Music hobbyist

    Very versatile and engaging electronic instrument

    This electronic wind instrument is well designed and probably quite easy for reed players to adjust to. As a brass player who did some reed playing in earlier years, I thought I would try to use the sax fingering because a scale can be played using the four fingers of each hand without making any other adjustments until it comes time to shift into another octave. In the end I decided to stick with brass fingering (EVI fingering) in spite of its awkwardness when changing octaves. By that I mean that it requires two separate finger motions of the left hand at the same time to transition to the next octave above (index finger has to come back down on K1 and thumb has to move on the rollers). I am hoping I will have this smoothed out after another month of practice.

  • Don Blum
    from Paradise, CA December 5, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist & Live Sound Engineer

    EWI4000S Review

    The instrument is GREAT but the User Guide--Owner Manual, except for the different fingering charts and balloons identifying the different buttons and knobs is worthless ! ! A true professional may understand parts of the manual but I feel that even they would have trouble a lot of it.
    No wonder many are trying to sell the instrument that was just purchased, Because of lack of decent instructions. Akai could sell more instruments and have satisfied costumers if they would take the time to write a thorough and understandable Owner's Manual. A link to some good tutorials as far as they go, was sent to me by Geoff Allen, but they are incomplete at this point in time. They were of help though and I thank you Geoff. db

  • Gregory W.Dawson,Sr./Crosswinds Band
    from New Orleans La. February 28, 2006

    EWI4000S

    I had the old EWI1000 model its all gone now thanks to the hurricane,anyway i had the opportunity to play the ewi4000 i have to say that the 4000 is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! very easy to work with on stage as well the studio.


    Thanks;
    GWD

Questions about the Akai Professional EWI4000S Wind Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway