0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

MXR EVH117 Eddie Van Halen Flanger Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR EVH117 Eddie Van Halen Flanger Pedal?

Questions about the MXR EVH117 Eddie Van Halen Flanger Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Joeski
    from Richmond, Virginia January 13, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar player(acoustic and electric.

    EXCELLENT PRODUCT

    If you want the EVH sound for flange this is about as close as you are going to get. I am a huge EVH fan and once I plugged this up I had a smile from ear to ear. No doubt the best Flanger on the market for getting the "brown sound". If you are looking for the "brown sound" I highly recommend the EVH Distortion and EVH Phaser. I realize it can be quite expensive but much cheaper then getting the EVH Guitar and 5150 head.

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!! Enjoy fellow rockers!!

  • Customer
    from August 24, 2016Music Background:
    Lead Guitarist in band

    Unchained!

    Perfect Eddie sound

  • Customer
    from August 16, 2016

    Magic Button

    THE SOUND with a much of the button. Amazing

  • Cody
    from Yakima, WA May 22, 2015

    Sounds great.

    Does what is expected and quality like everything MXR makes. Definitely worth the price. Suggest an 18v adapter, however.

  • Dave Senk
    from Clearfield, Utah December 22, 2014Music Background:
    50 + Years of Playing Guitar

    THIS IS IT

    I've owned many different types of pedals over the course of 50 years of playing guitar. This model is much better than all the others I've ever used for this particular effect.. It does exactly what it is supposed to do without introducing unwanted noise from other sources However, I have not used it with an AC adapter yet. It is very strong, but subtle. Other Flanger pedals produced sounds that seemed to be far too overdriven and had less separation between the intended effect of each control knob. This gave the impression of "fading" This is especially true when using "MULTIPLE effects pedals" and amplifiers with onboard effects. The metal case and controls are rock solid high quality; the best I've seen yet. Go MXR ! You can follow recommended instructions by setting the first three controls to between 11:00 and 11;30 with the fourth one all the way up; or if you just press the little white button it will automatically take you where you want to be with the sounds from songs like "Unchained" and "Ain't Talkin' About Love". Worth every penny !!!!

  • Michael O'Droski
    from Dearborn, MI November 11, 2013Music Background:
    P

    Shop no further

    I have an Ibanez flanger plus the Flanders in my pod 3 xt live and this by far is the best. Not because I'm a VH fan but I like to buy things that do what they are supposed to. If you turn a pedal on no other noise especially noise itself should come out. This pedal delivers all the VH sounds hear about it later,unchained and so on. Yes you can buy a cheaper pedal but you get what you pay for. This pedal is also is inspiring and I've written one working on two songs. And as always. You pay the same price at other stores but you don't' get the service or the 2 year warranty. Plus when ordering during October I got a little bag of candy. Most people so what but that little bit shows care for the customer all the way down the line at Sweetwater. Deliver was as fast as Flash the superhero and my sales rep Paul is great.

  • Ock
    from Fayetteville, NC USA October 12, 2008Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    EVH 177 Flanger

    If you love the sound Eddie had in "Ain't Talkin Bout Love" than you have to get this. It is spot on, I in years of trying could not get closer to the pre-programmed setting. Sounds great with your own tweaking on many other songs. I used it on "Crimson and Clover" to blend the sound a bit. Again great. Only dislike is it's 18v. Either buy a separate plug or go buy a SKB Stagefive pedal board. Godlyke won't cut it. REALLY COOL EFFECT!

  • Andy
    from March 11, 2016Music Background:
    Weekend bar band warrior

    Awesome sound, but has a couple of issues

    Right off the bat, let me say that this a GREAT sounding pedal and it's super high quality, not to mention that it's built like a tank. It certainly does everything its advertised to do and will no doubt provide years of service. However, the reason that I'm only giving it 3 stars is that it is NOT pedalboard friendly: I'm an amateur gigging musician and I cover a lot ground sound- wise, so pedalboard space is usually at a premium and this pedal takes up a lot of space and is quite heavy. In addition, the fact that it needs an 18V power supply is certainly a drag, as it complicates things a little if you don't have a power supply with an 18V adapter or socket. Finally, the battery compartment in the back sticks out, so if you remove the feet of the pedal, it still won't lie flat on the pedalboard, which means that the pedal rocks back and forth on the pedal board when you press the switch. If you plan to use it as a stand-alone unit or outside of a pedalboard, just the sound itself makes a clear winner. For us pedalboad slaves, not so much. TL;DR Great sound, quality build, not pedalboard friendly.

  • Customer
    from January 25, 2016

    EVH pedal

    It has a lot of feed back l maybe doing something wrong.

  • Tommy V
    from Upstate NY January 22, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Poor quality

    I bought this pedal about three years ago. The pedal sounded great. I play very few songs that require this pedal, so I used it a few times then, put it back in the box. It has sat in the box for the last couple years. I recently learned Unchained by VH and was excited to break out my Flanger and do some rocking. When i plugged in, I found it no longer works (yes it was powered up). This is extremely dissapointing! I probably used it no more than ten times and it never left the safety of my home. My delema is this: do I play the song with no flange or spend another $189 to get another one. Talk about B.S. I did not expect it to be warranted because of the time that passed, but I did bring it up to my Sweetwater sales guy and got no help. Bottom line: I am blown away that this product couldn't withstand sitting in a temp and humidity controlled room, in a box for a couple of years without giving out.

Questions about the MXR EVH117 Eddie Van Halen Flanger Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway