rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Roland EV-5 Expression Pedal Reviews

3.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland EV-5 Expression Pedal?

Questions about the Roland EV-5 Expression Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Dave
    from Florida March 23, 2017

    Like

    Works well with My PX 560 after running the adjustment routine in its setting.
    Great value for the price

  • Lido Raposo
    from Rhode Island November 21, 2015Music Background:
    Music & Visual Artist

    Roland EV5 Expression Pedal

    I combine this pedal with my Roland RD-800 Stage Piano. I cannot imagine not using the EV5 with the RD-800. The EV5 offers such versatility to the RD-800 that to play without this combination is a waste in my opinion. The two go hand in hand. I also, use the EV5 Pedal in conjunction with the Seymore Duncan Vapor Trail Delay Pedal. Again, the two together lend each other very well for the wet mix.

  • Jim G.
    from New Orleans, La April 6, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Nice Expression Pedal

    Light weight , simple to use. Feels sturdy enough, I don't expect any problems using this pedal. It serves it's purpose well.

  • Ted Killian
    from Medford, OR USA January 12, 2013Music Background:
    Rock, Jazz, Avant-Garde

    Greatest Thing Since Sliced Bread

    I have rather complicated guitar rig that utilises both dedicated outboard gear and software on a laptop. I currently use 12 of these pedals (and yes I DO use then) to control parameters of all sorts. They hardly ever fail, and when (and if) they do it tends to be after a decade or more of hard service. Don't leave home without 'em.

  • Sean
    from Singapore February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Keyboards, Studio owner, composer

    Perfect

    Gosh, I think I now have 6 of these units. I use them on the Eventide SPACE, Time, Mod and Pitch Factor pedals, as well as on my Strymon delay pedals. Perfect, faultless. Plastic, yet rugged and lightweight. Ample length on the cord. Never had an issue.
    I prefer these units for guitar pedalboards due to their light weight and compact size. I haven't tried one on my Master Midi Keyboard as I have a metal BOSS unit and the additional weight keeps it in place when I fumble around with my feet.

  • Loren Linnard
    from Berkeley, CA USA November 28, 2011Music Background:
    Pro keyboardist

    Great pedals

    I've used these pedals with a variety of keyboards for many years and never had a problem with them other than the cords eventually wearing out where they attach to the pedal - which can happen after a few hundred one-nighters! I currently use them as volume and control pedals for a Kurzweil PC3. I especially like the low profile and ease of action.

  • Mark
    from Woodland Hills, CA July 4, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    A quality volume pedal

    A solid volume/expression pedal from Roland. Adjustment knob stays put, and the pedal does not move around. Haven't used it on a smooth surface like tile, but the rubber feet should grip well. This pedal takes a bit more foot pressure to move up and down, which is a good thing IMO, as the cheaper knock-off was loose and could easily be moved unintentionally.

  • Customer
    from Canton, OH USA March 25, 2013Music Background:
    Professional

    Roland EV-5

    Works great with my Kurzweil PC3x.

  • Customer
    from May 15, 2017

    Buy it

    Compact, lightweight, does the job.

  • Joe Brown
    from West Hempstead, NY October 7, 2016Music Background:
    Playing in bands since 1964, Bass, Guitar, vocals, and recording bands.

    EV-5 Expression Pedal

    The EV-5 Expression Pedal works great with the Roland combo VR-90.
    Iíve had the pleasure of purchasing items since 2009. And as always, quick shipping service and follow up calls from Zack Neels and the Sweetwater crew.

  • Craig (Bo Blue) Seavey
    from Miami, Florida September 3, 2015Music Background:
    I play blues.

    Expanding your Cube 80gx...

    I got two of these pedals for my Cube 80gx. I created a "pedalboard" that consists of the Roland foot pedal (GA-FC) and the two EV-5 pedals. The EV-5 can connect directly to my Cube 80gx, but they also connect to the GA-FC.. These pedals control VOLUME. Instead of going to the amp, I can step on the pedal to control volume. I have two because 1 is for MAIN volume, and the other is for DRIVE volume. The bottom line is, instead of turning knbs on the amp (which is very difficult when you are in a "live" situation. I just step on the pedal. The GA-FC switches the clean channel, the lead channel and the effects. The EV-5s control volume. This maximizes the utility of my Cube 80gx.

  • W.R. Tschanz
    from Philly, Pa. July 26, 2013Music Background:
    Free Lance Blues, Funk & Jazz Keyboardist

    The Roland EV-5 Expression Pedal

    I set the star rating to great simply because I had owned an EV-5 and know of the quality of the unit. I purchased 1 Roland EV-5 expression pedal as a replacement for one I had worn out after say six+ years of use. A few days later I purchased a second EV-5 for organ swell for the Nord NS2 HA88. I have one pedal for control of horns, pads and synth parts over Piano and Organ zones and the second for the Hammond swell. This by far the best control pedal I have used for my equipment. A solid, well engineered pedal that will give you that Wow factor of 5 stars on your first purchase. Highly recommend the EV-5 to all you control freaks.

  • Sean
    from Singapore September 13, 2011Music Background:
    performing musician, teacher, recording artist

    Great with Eventide Factor pedals

    I have five of these units, one on each of my four Eventide pedals (TimeFactor, PitchFactor, ModFactor and Space) and one on my portable pedal board connected to a strymon el capistan. Range of motion and range of control suits all these units perfectly. Additionally, though they are light weight, they are sturdy - which really helps on the portable pedal board that I take when I fly.

  • Jason
    from Indiana March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/moonlighter

    Nice, but not ideal for Alesis

    Seems pretty well built, at least given the plastic chassis. And the gray knob on the side for setting a minimum volume is a nice touch. But even though it's a 10k pot, it's pretty touchy on my old Alesis QS7, with most of the adjustment happening in the last 1/3 of pedal travel. I suspect this uses a logarithmic pot, and that the Alesis is looking for a linear pot. Still, does the job well enough.

  • Duane
    from Ohio December 14, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer in training.

    Disappointing to say the least

    If you read my review on the DP-2 pedal then you can only imagine how I feel about this unit. The DP-2 is made entirely out of plastic. It will certainly fail with heavy use but since it's cost effective to replace that's no big deal.

    This unit on the other hand is nearly four times the price of the DP-2 and it's made entirely out of plastic as well. That's totally ridiculous for something that costs this much! What the heck Roland? I don't mind spending money on quality gear. I already spent good money on your FA-08 Keyboard which is excellent by the way!

    How can a company that makes such a fantastic keyboard allow such a sub standard product as the EV-5 enter circulation? I would gladly have paid twice as much to have a unit that was made out of aluminum or something more durable than cheap plastic!

    The life of a control pedal is going to be spent getting stepped on. How long do you think this thing will last? I sure as heck hope it's a long time for what it costs! Needless to say when this thing does eventually fail, I'm going to find a better quality pedal to replace it with, even if that means I have to build one.

    I will not be buying this unit again in the future and would not recommend this unit to anyone else. It's not a good value (at least not at the current price) but it's at least working for now. For how long only time will tell.

  • Joseph A. Munier
    from Toledo, Ohio March 16, 2014Music Background:
    A half century at the Steinway

    Shop around

    I bought this as a recommendation from my Sweetwater guy. It has the right polarity for the Kurzweil PC3K8. The top appears in the photo to be rubber which would make it none slip. It's plastic. It's very light so it's easily knocked about. The footprint is small. Good for a munchkin, not a human. Here's the bad part. The first two thirds of the pedal travel does nothing. Then it goes from soft to max loud. I'm used to a Hammond. When I sell my old rig I'm throwing this in with the deal.

  • Todd
    from L town, PA March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Roland EV-5 Expression Pedal

    In short, an OK expression pedal. This pedal is made for "In your house use" and should not be used on stage (live). The cord is cheap wire, casing is plastic and not durable for touring. I like some boss pedals but this one needs an upgrade!

  • Richard Enders
    from Jacksonville, Fl. November 7, 2012Music Background:
    X-Roadie, Hobbyist.

    Not what I expected

    I got this pedal to use/tweak my Boss RE-20 Space Echo, (great echo btw) It's just not what I expected. It's plastic for one, which I don't like.
    I was expecting something a bit more beefy, more like a Wah. Mine seems flaky as well, It may have been used before. I'm not 100% sure.

  • Steve
    from Appleton, WI July 26, 2016Music Background:
    Director of Worship Arts

    Disappointed

    This expression pedal is not very expressive! (at least not compared to the Yamaha version that is half the cost) Bought this pedal because the Yamaha expression pedal wasn't playing nicely with the new Roland RD-800 keyboard I bought, so I thought I had to stick with the Roland brand pedals. Hope to get this figured out soon. Even the build quality is cheaper compared to the Yamaha!

  • BRIAN BURKE JR
    from ROCHESTER, NY October 7, 2015Music Background:
    Keys++

    They raised the price!

    I wasn't going to write anything aqbout this pedal, but now that the pricw is a wopping $122.50, I just couldn't resist. Having had this piece of trash for 3or 4 years now I can say without a doubt that it is the worst volume pedal I have ever used. I have used Yamaha's, KORG's, and M-Audio's. The M-Audio was great until it got soaked with water and then it stopped working correctly although I have to say, the M-Audio ($30) worked better after getting soaked with water (until it just died after a few months) than the Roland. The Roland NEVER worked well. When I firt got it it didn't control the volume smoothly, i would say it was more like volume jumps almost like you were turning a switch with detents. Them it started making noise. I found this strange because it is not in the Audio line but a controller, never the less, it mad a crunching noise as well as a wining squealing noise. Thats when it got put in the bin where gear goes that I can't seem to throw out yet doesn't work well enough to use. I have tried to lubricate the pot inside, I even had a profeaaional technition look at it and he said he cound not do anything but replace it. He suggested I get a different model as he has seen these problems in more than one of these pedals. I got a Yamaha $50 pedal that work ok. Then I bought a Korg XVP-10 I actually got 2 of them one from another online company in NYC and another from Sweetwater. The one from Sweetwater had a noise issue when I used in it the Audio line but not as an actuator. I am considering sending it in for credit as KORG no longer makes them, the other one is a work of art. Quiet, smooth, works, works as both an actuator and in the Audio Line. The NYC place has one left and I may just get that or I could be lazy and use the one I have for an actuator only. Well this is about the Roland. I definately would use something else, especially for $122.50 for a plastic piece of junk basically

  • Alex Allred
    from August 28, 2014

    Uneven Volume

    I've been using this expression pedal for a few months now. Every time I go to fade out on a patch such as Strings or Organ I struggle to get an even decrescendo. The issue with this pedal has been mentioned in other reviews. From 0% - 50% you get minimal volume gain. From 51% to 75% the volume increases from minimal to maximum. Everything after 75% is full volume. Do not use this pedal for live or recording purposes. It's going to fail you every time.

  • Chris
    from Eaton, IN September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Professional keyboardist and media composer

    Causes problems with DAW's

    I have used the Roland EV-5 pedal with two different sequencing programs (Digital Performer 5 and Sonar 8.5) to control volume levels on a single virtual-instrument track (either in real time OR to edit a pre-recorded track). Sometimes it works great, but other times it causes volume changes to MULTIPLE tracks even when only ONE track is record-enabled!! The worst part is, these multiple-track volume changes cannot be undone (Even when clicking on "Undo" in the edit window of EITHER sequencing program, the unwanted volume changes remain. The only "solution" is to do a "Revert to Saved"... but even THIS doesn't really help the situation unless I had saved the song file RIGHT BEFORE the multiple-track volume change anomaly occurred; yes, doing a "Revert-to-Saved" corrects the volume-change issue, but I often end up having to re-compose/re-record lost material). I would STRONGLY caution anyone considering purchasing this pedal for use with sequencing programs.

  • Customer
    from July 6, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Good in theory

    I was told by a friend that this is the volume control I need to get. I'm sure it is, but the one sent to me is buggy. It causes my keyboard to drop at odd times, and I can't bring it back up unless I pull out the cable and reset the keyboard (Kurzweil PC3X).

Questions about the Roland EV-5 Expression Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway