0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Epiphone Dot - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Vintage Sunburst?

Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Vintage Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from N.Y.C. February 26, 2017

    Epiphone Dot

    I've been a strat guy most of my life and I wanted a change..The guitar arrived perfectly from Sweetwater..I've in the past purchased 4 guitars from sweetwater, this Epi dot cherry being the 5th..Since I started doing business with Sweetwater I've bought many things from them..Amps pedals etc..all arrived when promised and all in perfect condition..
    Alan is the man...Back to the dot...Since I got it I can't seem to put it down..All it needed was a slight lowering of the action, it felt a bit stiff at first but after a few days it felt like an old friend..I sometimes think about buying the Gibson 335 but not because this guitar seems inferior, thinking about buying because I'm nuts..I keep wondering that if this guitar plays and feels so good I can only imagine how the Gibson is..

  • from San Jose, Ca. January 19, 2017Music Background:
    Playing for over 51 years, professional now retired.

    My first Epiphone

    The Story:
    I received this as a gift from my wife for Christmas, and I was a bit apprehensive about getting a guitar that I had never played before from an on-line retailer.
    (BTW..I have bought equipment from Sweetwater before and have nothing but good things to say about the service and my contact Lucas Anderson!)
    As someone who has had many guitars over the years I have pretty high standards (Gibson, Fender, Paul Reed Smith, Taylor, Martin...), and since I haven't had a semi-hollowbody electric for a long time I wanted to get a Gibson ES-335, but they are out of my price range now.
    The Review:
    I was very pleased when the guitar arrived and I checked it out. It was packed well. The workmanship was excellent and the Sweetwater set-up was really good right out of the box. (nice job guys!) Understanding that it's impossible to set up an instrument that will be exactly the way every musician wants it, it took me less than 5 minutes to lower the action a wee bit on the treble side and it was ready to go for me.
    The neck was straight, frets level and all the electronics worked perfectly. The finish on the guitar is beautiful with no flaws found and everything fits and is put together well, and it stays in tune. (Bonus..it came with Grover tuners, which I put on all my guitars). I am very impressed with this guitar!
    I then plugged it in and proceeded to fall in love with this guitar! It sounds great!! The pickups respond well to the way I pick, and it will growl, sing as well as whisper when coaxed gently. It also plays very well. The shape of the neck is different then any of the guitars that I currently have, but not bad at all, just different, and it didn't take me long to get used to it.
    For the price, I think this guitar is a fantastic buy! I worked at a music store for 15 years and sold and played all kinds of guitars, and as a salesman and a musician who has owned a lot of great guitars over the years, this guitar is a keeper and I am very happy to have it. Great job Epiphone!
    Did I mention that I like this guitar a lot? :o)

    I also got the Epiphone E519 hardshell case for the guitar and it also is excellent. It fits this guitar perfectly the way a case is meant to fit, snug without being too tight, and it appears to be solidly built. It is well worth the money to protect your guitar with a good case!

  • from Rapid City, SD January 12, 2017Music Background:
    Folk and Punk Rock

    Best guitar I own!!

    I have had a lot of guitars in my career but I would have to say this guitar is by far the best I have owned! It plays so amazing ias God as its model after the Gibson ES 335 it stays in tune and it won't break the bank! Sweet water you guys carry some of the best affordable instruments I tell all my friends all over the world!

  • from Yuma Arizona June 9, 2016Music Background:
    Been playing since the age of 7 I am 61 now . A Few Years

    Epiphone 335 DOT

    I have owned many guitars from Gibson's to Fender's to Gretch . My Epi DOT 335 plays just as great as others I have owned and played . The feel the action is great . If you are looking for a semi-hollow body this is the one for anyone .

  • from January 28, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-professional, Studio recording.

    Don't hesitate to purchase

    Everything about this DOT is right and I fall for her each time I play. It compliments my American Standard Stratocaster. Sometimes I don't know which one to play. The Dot has a warmer tone which works for clean blues sounds. The string height and intonation was dead on. I play thru a Ampeg GVT-52 60 watt tube amp. Heaven on earth. Good job Jason Koons @ Sweetwater and Epiphone.

    By the way, don't listen to the snobs about Epiphone. They make great guitars that have life and great tone. Isn't that what's it all about?

  • from Baltimore November 26, 2015Music Background:
    I play and lead worship in church each week.

    Epiphone Dot

    This was the first time to order an instrument from Sweetwater. The guitar came when it was supposed to and was in perfect shape. I unpacked it and played it right out of the box! Setup was good. One string (G) needs a little fine tuning, but overall I am very, very pleased!

  • from January 8, 2013

    Best semi-hollow guitar for the price!

    Great guitar, just what I was looking for, beautifull finish and solid construction with a great resonance acoustic body that gives you sweets warm tones. In my opinion this is the best website to buy your instruments. Excellent and fast attention, also the fact that you can see real photos of the gear you are buying is amazing.

  • from Atlanta GA November 29, 2012Music Background:
    Working pro for over 40 years

    Great, Basic Semi-hollow

    I bought it to upgrade and have had it for 3 years. My main guitar is a Clapton Strat. It covers 80% of what I do (blues, roots and boogie). But I needed something for 5 or 6 songs per night to cover B.B., Freddie, early Clapton type tones. Couldn't justify the price of the Gibson 335 for this. Besides, several new ones I played needed work right off the bat. Any guitar I buy gets a new nut right away - solves most or all tuning problems. This Dot was no exception-really needed it. The Dot does exactly what I wanted - gets the semi-hollow humbucker tone I was looking for, great tone and sustain, nice chubby neck - very well done. After upgrading wiring and pickups it's even better. I have about $750 in it total. I might be a little happier with a Gibson 335 but could have 2 or 3 more upgraded Dots for the same price. In fact, I recently bought another Dot to use for slide in open D tuning. Sounds great!

  • from Kingston Canada January 24, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician

    Epiphone Dot

    My wife bought this for me as a Christmas present and I have to say that this is one amazing guitar! I have always wanted a Dot and now I really know why! The fit and finish are flawless. The fretwork is perfect and this guitar plays and sounds like a dream! Epiphone really knocked this one out of the park! I can get beautiful cleans and huge crunchy rhythm tones from this guitar with nothing but sheer tonal bliss. This has become one of my favorite guitars and will never be sold, traded or given away!

  • from DeSoto Mo. September 16, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    epiphone dot

    i got a good one ,no fret buzz,appears to be a quality guitar.they inspect all of stuff they sell. I bought the same guitar from musicians friend and had to send it back,fretboard seperated from neck,from now on i'll go with sweetwater.

  • from Desert Hot Springs , Ca November 29, 2014Music Background:
    working musician top 40 classic-new rock /metal

    epiphone dot vintage sunburst

    The only flaw when I first played it was the action was a mile high and was difficult to play, but after my guitar tech did a set up and put on new strings , it came alive. It comes stock with gauge 10-46 . but I had it set up for 9's which feels better for me. The sustain is killer and the pups are good. I hear putting seymour 59's is a good upgrade but I don't plan on it anytime soon, but since I own three of these I may give one of 'em a 'PUPGRADE' . Great ax for the price.

  • from Ephrata, WA March 22, 2017

    Semi-hollowbody guitar

    nice guitar has a low string buzz but I can get that fixed otherwise great

  • from Orlando, FL March 29, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Songwriter.

    Incredible guitar

    I can't believe that I finally own one! Sweetwater really is incredible. I got it shipped to me in only 3 days. It sounds so good as well. The pickups have a lot of output, but also are super warm at the same time. I could not have asked for a better feeling, playing or sounding guitar. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because there is some fret buzz, but other than that I love it!

  • from Binghamton, New York February 12, 2014Music Background:
    Have played guitar almost my entire life, local bands, church folk groups, but these days play basically for my own enjoyment.

    Overall excellent guitar

    The guitar is strikingly beautiful right out of the box. You can tell of the quality workmanship on the finish, and it sounds truly fine. My only complaint and why this not a super high grade is that it gets out of tune frequently. A distraction as you really just want to play and enjoy.

    Customer service is great, and it arrived at my house in just a couple days from purchase. I will certainly do business again with them and have no problem recommending business to others.

Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway