0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Epiphone Dot - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Natural?

Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 21, 2017

    Awesome Guitar

    I have several guitars--Gibson SG HP, Rickenbacker 330, American Strat, Epiphone Les Paul CP, Epiphone Casino, Gretsch G5420T and a custom Telecaster. Without a doubt, this guitar is my favorite. I couldn't believe that it was as inexpenisve compared to other similar models. The sound and feel of it are amazing. If you're in the market for this style of guitar, don't waste your time or money on anything else. Buy this guitar.

  • from USA December 27, 2016Music Background:
    player

    Best guitar under $ out there

    Fantastic guitar right outa the box!!!! Was blown away by fit and finish on this guitar. Have owned gibson hollow bodies of the 60's and this neck reminds me of that same feel!!! And tone this guitar is full of it!!! Jammed last night with a friend who's been playing professionally since the early 70's and he was blown away by the feel and sounds comin out of it!!!! Got a winner here and the natural finish is just plain gorgeous!!!!

  • from January 8, 2013

    Best semi-hollow guitar for the price!

    Great guitar, just what I was looking for, beautifull finish and solid construction with a great resonance acoustic body that gives you sweets warm tones. In my opinion this is the best website to buy your instruments. Excellent and fast attention, also the fact that you can see real photos of the gear you are buying is amazing.

  • from Los Angeles, CA USA June 30, 2012Music Background:
    Church musician.

    My go to guitar!

    I was playing the dot at a local guitar store thinking it would be alright. I have played many Gibson ES-335s and compared to the Dot, it blew my mind! I noticed the shape is not exactly like the gibson, along with the shape of the pickguard, but that is epiphones way of design. I don't mind it at all. It plays great! I use it more like my main guitar now. It has some negatives about it such as it not being set up, but thats an easy fix, after getting it set up at a guitar shop it now plays and sounds like a thousand dollar guitar! Later on I would recommend changing the pickups to Gibson pickups but it sounds like an Gibson ES-335, looks like a Gibson ES-335 and pretty much plays like one too! Its very versatile giving you best of both worlds with its Semi-hollowbody design, so many tones you can get out of it! I love it!

  • from Ogdensburg,N.Y. January 29, 2012Music Background:
    playing off and on for 20 plus years

    Rattle your house !

    I knew I'd love it .The Archtop has really surprised me .I wasn't expecting so many different sounds from this older style guitar .I've been playing it for a month and I'm still finding different sounds through the Marshall.My favorite is through the neck pickup with the gain on 8 with the amp and the tone on 0 and the volume on 10 .you'll rattle all the windows in the house !The 57's are sweet and the hollow body definately has it's own sound.I also really like the natural finish.It makes it look like it has a cream finish .I've always been pleased with Epiphone ,thanks Sweetwater .

  • from Old Bridge, NJ 08857 October 28, 2006Music Background:
    Playing for 39 years now but retired from gigging.

    Not Just For Beginners

    The high gloss and nice grain caught my eye. Knowing modern day Epiphone is a great line with the price for the Dot being too right, I had to buy it.

    No disappointments!

    Quality and craftsmanship are equal to guitars costing way more. Frets and intonation are perfect. The neck has a heftier shape yet, plays effortlessly. The Dot sustains wonderfully, stays in tune, and the pickups provide a wide tonal range. Electronics and hardware are trustworthy. The Dot is truly a joy.

    Couple all the above with impeccable Sweetwater service and you have a perfect buying experience!

  • from Suisun, CA February 11, 2012Music Background:
    Played professionally off and on for 40 plus years, no longer gigging.

    Wonderful value, great guitar!

    Received my guitar just a few days ago. Ordered it Thursday mid-morning and it shipped Thursday afternoon, got it the following Tuesday. Originally ordered the ES 339 but it wasn't going to be available until the end of April. Katie at Sweetwater called me and let me know of the long back order delay. I decided to go with the Dot and I'm glad I did. After reading many reviews on other sites I figured I'd have to put some time into setting up the guitar after it arrived, not the case at all. The intonation was right on and it was even in tune right out of the box. I did lower the action a tad and change strings other than that it was ready to go. I'm not sure if if it was Sweetwaters 55 point instrument check or I just got lucky, either way I'm happy!

    The Guitar's natural finish is great it plays and sounds wonderful and i've had no tuning problems at all. I've had many guitars over the last 45 years but for the last few years I've been playing a strat exclusively so it's great to get back to a humbucking sound again. Between the Dot and My stratocaster I have a broad range of sounds to draw on.

    If your considering purchasing this guitar don't put it off any longer, great value!

  • from United States November 17, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Guitarist and Instructor

    Very nice, but not perfect

    These are really a great value. Epiphone builds consistently good guitars at a reasonable price.

    PROS: nice top, solid tuners, comfy neck profile, responsive 2:2 control scheme

    CONS: needed a total setup including some messy frework, a few finish imperfections around the binding especially at the horns and neck joint, highly mediocre pickups that do the job but lack definition, bridge/tailpiece are flimsy and lower quality

    It might seem like that is a lot of cons for a four star review... but you gotta remember the money factor. This is NOT a 3000 dollar Gibson, so of course it has things that could be improved.

    I recommend a decent set of Tonerider Alnico IIs or IVs, or a set of DiMarzio 36th Anniversary PAFs if you want classic blues/country/rock tone. I also recommend a good, professional setup. Finally, a better bridge (roller perhaps?) might make life nicer and tuning a hair more stable.

    But, all that said, right out of the box it was playable. If you plan to gig it, expect to need a setup and eventually to want new pickups.

    I highly recommend this, especially to working musicians without massive amounts of disposable income.

Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway