0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Epiphone Dot - Cherry Reviews

4.5 stars based on 32 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Cherry?

Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Cherry?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Baton Rouge, LA February 1, 2017Music Background:
    Studio and church musician

    Gibson Quality under an Epiphone name

    I watched some You-Tube videos comparing the Epiphone Dot to the Gibson Dot. You cannot tell the difference in look, sound, or quality. This is a Gibson Dot at a fraction of the cost. I put chrome knobs on mine. This guitar sounds just like its Gibson sister. The neck is thin like back in the 60's. The pickups are great. I've been playing this guitar a lot.

  • from Tulsa Oklahoma July 3, 2016Music Background:
    Live and studio player for 30 years

    Best Man-sized guitar for the money!

    As a musician I always look for the best value for my dollar. I have a great job, but I can't spend all of my earnings on expensive equipment. Especially when there is so much great equipment to buy! Epiphone Dot allows me to have a variety of setups and guitars without invoking "don't you already have 3 guitars" from my spouse.

    In addition to the price point, the quality is top notch! American made axes cost a lot. Because we have a very high cost of living - God bless America - when Americans work, they demand high pay. Asian made products tend to run far less because their cost of living is dramatically lower than ours. But that does not mean the quality is diminished. Not in the least. The Dot is a quality build. All the parts that count from the neck, frets, body, and finish are all high quality. It's a great guitar and anyone who trashes it because it is not American made is just dead wrong.

    Now the hardware is a different story. I generally love the Grover tuners. They get to stay. And the pots and switch are good quality as well. But on my guitars, the first thing that goes is the tail, bridge, and pickups. I prefer TonePros and Humbucker-sized P90s. The stock pickups have no life. The swap is super easy. Oh and I usually replace the pickup rings and knob with cream.

    So take a modest priced guitar, add $600 to it and like magic, you have a pro-spec guitar. I should also say here that my setups are frequently traded to my friends for their expensive, American axes...

    Be good!

  • from August 12, 2015Music Background:
    39 year player, song writer, was in band.

    Best I've found all around!

    I bought an Epiphonne Dot/Block (ES-335 with blocks instead of Dots) 9 years ago and this guitar has been my favorite of all I've had. I replace a Casino with this one. I loved the Casio, but it squealed and feedback too easily. I have had Tele's/ Strats/ ES-339, and others, but this one feels great in my arms and hands and I can do any tone from country to hard rock. It is the most balanced guitar I own. If I'm going to play for someone, this is the one I pick up. I have played this guitar hard and pulled on the neck to get sounds out and it still stays tuned and the action is smooth. If you don't own one, it is worth trying it out and seeing if you can get your sound. The pickups are strong on mine and the three-way switching makes useful and different tones to your liking.

  • from LONG ISLAND NEW YORK August 4, 2015Music Background:
    FUN JAMS

    NICE JOB EPIPHONE

    VERY WELL MADE GUITAR. PLAYS NICE AND WORTH THE MONEY MANY TIMES OVER.

  • from July 3, 2015Music Background:
    Looking for a band

    Amazing

    I bought my ES 335 in addition to a Gibson Lp 58 just because I didn't have the money to buy a Gibson 335. What a luck I was broke that day. When I bought it I had to carrie it out of the shop in a cheap plasticbag. It all seemed so cheap. Then when I came home and plugged it into my Crate 3112 and cranked it up a little the circus really started. First;the playability is way better than any, set up to a lowaction just the way I like it it had me going on playing for hours. A little minus for the tonality of the humbucker. I switched them out with a pair of Kent Armstrong 57 classic alnico 2 magnets with maple dividers and that did it. I would say that my Epi now has the same tonality perhaps even better as a far more expensive Gibson 335 available. There is a warmth and glassy tone to it that almost makes me addicted to it.

  • from Central PA April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/collector

    Epiphone Dot

    It's hard to imagine a better value than the Epiphone Dot. The tone and playability are very close to a Gibson 335. I bought this as a platform for adding a bigsby and possibly upgrading the electronics. Even still, without any modifications, it's a great guitar!

  • from Vermont May 19, 2014Music Background:
    60 Year old Student, learning to play just for the joy of it.

    Great Job Sweetwater, on a Great Guitar

    Ordered it on a Tuesday morning and had it in my hands in time for my Thursday lesson. Came out of the box, had to tune a couple of strings and it was ready to go. I'm just learning but even I sounded better on this guitar. what a sweet instrument, and what great service. I even got a phone call thanking me for my order and offering any help or answer to questions. Made me feel like Sweetwater cares about me as a customer. I will be ordering again.

  • from Dayton Ohio February 23, 2014Music Background:
    been playing guitar all my life..... and I'm older than dirt

    great guitar

    There have been seveal generations of this guitar by Epiphone. I have one of the ones that far surpasses the price paid. I owned one that I purchased about fifteen years ago, and in a fit of stupidity let it get away. I thought that if the Epi had been that good, the "real thing" would have to be really great. So...I bought a custom shop Gibson ES 335 which turned out to be one of the worst guitars I've ever owned. I got rid of the Gibson and bought another Epi soon as I found one. Still have it, play it regularly with a band and like it so well I purchased a natural finished Sheraton which is every bit as good but different. If you play guitar you know what that means.

  • from Pennsylvania June 6, 2013

    Unbelievable quality for the price

    I read all of the reviews (well, most of them) and nearly all spoke of the quality and craftsmanship in this guitar. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box and found this perfect instrument inside. The Sweetwater setup was perfect and I only needed to tune the
    G string slightly to start playing it. Great action, awesome sound from the pickups,and just beautiful to look at. I got the cherry one. When I wasn't playing it I couldn't stop staring at it. I couldn't be more pleased. My main guitar has always been my Strat and it won't be forgotten but now I have this to take on some other styles that just never seemed quite right with the Strat. This Dot is so much warmer sounding. It's large bodied and has a thicker neck than I'm used to but it didn't take long to adjust to it and the sound was the reward, I would recommend this guitar to anyone looking for this type of instrument. You won't be disappointed.

  • from February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician & home recording enthusiast.

    Love the DOT!

    i recently received my new Epiphone ES335 DOT from Sweetwater. I had and swapped a Gibson ES335 thirty years ago and always regretted it. This was my "poor man's" choice. What a wonderful surprise! The Epi is a fantastic guitar - beautiful action; sweet tones and immaculately put together and set up. I think its every bit as good as my old Gibson. I also have a '72 Telecaster which I love dearly. The Epiphone will be a great compliment to it. I now have those warm bluesy tones that the Tele lacked. Thanks, Sweetwater for the great set up and prompt delivery. You guys rock!

  • from January 8, 2013

    Best semi-hollow guitar for the price!

    Great guitar, just what I was looking for, beautifull finish and solid construction with a great resonance acoustic body that gives you sweets warm tones. In my opinion this is the best website to buy your instruments. Excellent and fast attention, also the fact that you can see real photos of the gear you are buying is amazing.

  • from Atlanta GA November 29, 2012Music Background:
    Working pro for over 40 years

    Great, Basic Semi-hollow

    I bought it to upgrade and have had it for 3 years. My main guitar is a Clapton Strat. It covers 80% of what I do (blues, roots and boogie). But I needed something for 5 or 6 songs per night to cover B.B., Freddie, early Clapton type tones. Couldn't justify the price of the Gibson 335 for this. Besides, several new ones I played needed work right off the bat. Any guitar I buy gets a new nut right away - solves most or all tuning problems. This Dot was no exception-really needed it. The Dot does exactly what I wanted - gets the semi-hollow humbucker tone I was looking for, great tone and sustain, nice chubby neck - very well done. After upgrading wiring and pickups it's even better. I have about $750 in it total. I might be a little happier with a Gibson 335 but could have 2 or 3 more upgraded Dots for the same price. In fact, I recently bought another Dot to use for slide in open D tuning. Sounds great!

  • from NW Arkansas June 7, 2012Music Background:
    Im a couch Rocker & a BIG thorn in my neighbors side!

    Epi Dot

    I really like it. It's sounds great. I enjoy playing it off the amp while my wife sleeps. Then plug it in & get nasty after she goes to work! It's large enough to be a lap axe....but works as a good neck hanger.
    Can't say enough great things about this piece of wood & wire. Just get one & you'll see how hard it is to put down.
    Play the Ole Southern Blues & it'll make the Cats cry & the Dogs howl.

  • from Elmira, New York USA February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Studio/Band Musician

    Absolutely Perfect

    I've been a guitar player for 10 years. I've always played solid body guitar, from SG's to Strat style guitars. I have to say my preference changed when I received the Epiphone Dot. Having never played a semi-hollow guitar before, I never even really thought about it. I was worried that I wouldnt like the sound and that it would lack the punch of my other two favored guitars (A Samik SG, and Yamaha Pacifica). When I plugged in the Epiphone Dot, all i had to do was tune it up and start pickin away. The crew at Sweetwater did a perfect job at setting up my Dot! no adjustments were needed. I play everything from The Black Keys to Crosby, Stills and Nash to Zeppelin to ZZ Top and this guitar can serve all those styles. It can handle heavy distortions and griddy fuzz tones from my fuzz face and the sustain is to die for!! through all the morph changes and distortion levels the Dot keeps it tone without getting noisey or having a load of feedback. It even cleans up to a perfect sounding acoustic when the time comes to do some classic strumming. The neck is nice and wide and easy to get a grip on without any fuss or fighting. An absolutely perfect gutiar for a great price!

  • from Bass Lake,Indiana September 30, 2011Music Background:
    Musician-Guitar & Piano

    Epiphone Dot (cherry)

    This Eppi-Dot is everything I could want in a guitar.I compare this Ax to an ES-335 Gibson,except for the price difference.The wider neck makes it very playable,the stock eppi humbuckers have a great tone and sound. This guitar is very well built and as for it's looks,it's like a piece of art .

  • from n.j. June 2, 2011Music Background:
    musician, guitar teacher

    For the price you can't beat it.

    I have had the guitar for 2 days and I am very happy with it. I am putting it through a Fender Vibrolux. The tone is fantastic. For $399.00 it is a steal!

  • from Kansas February 28, 2011Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Great Guitar

    Just recieved this the other day and, I could not be more satisfied! First of all this guitar is absolutely beautiful, the cherry red color is breathtaking, the feel,look, and, sound is everything you could ask for. I have owned a Gibson ES330,335 and, an older model melody maker. After I got married I didn't think I would gig anymore so I sold them, well after a couple years I realized how much I missed playing music and, I've been on a roll every since. This guitar will give you everything that you will expect form it. I have nothing against the Gibson's at all but, they really have got out of range in price for the average performing musician. I own a Epi Les Paul Plus Top and, an SG 400, no modifications done to either one and, they sound and, play wonderfully! All I ever do is lower the action and maybe a new set of strings and, that's it. I lowered the action on this one and, that is all it needed to play just right. I have played and, owned just about every guitar out there, Started playing Gibson's in the 60's, went to Fender's in the late 70's, but I always remembered that first cherry red 335 that I saw when I was a kid and, dreamed someday of owning one, now I do. I still have my Fender's, a PRS and, several more other really great instruments but, this one will have a special place in my collection.

  • from Murfreesboro, TN February 26, 2010Music Background:
    Video Game Music Composer/Solo Artist and Engineer

    Worth more money than it's being sold for!

    Looks like Epiphone isn't kidding around anymore when it comes to quality. I really think the DOT would do well in a blindfold test with the Gibson counterpart. I really love this guitar for its warmth, nice tone, and surprising flexibility. The only complaint is the "e" on the pickguard kept coming off so I eventually just took it off myself. All it needs now is a bigsby tremelo arm!

  • from Adelaide, Aussie June 22, 2008Music Background:
    blues, rock,ballads,I've played in several bands, but mostly with my friends on a friday ight, over a few beers.

    Epi ES335 Dot

    I have played many guitars in my day(I'm 46yo)however I love my Epiphone ES335 dot the best, It plays better than some of my more expensive guitars.
    I hear a lot of people make many hardware mods (pups, volume, tone pots etc. Why?) to these Epihones, I however like the sounds mine gives as per stock (I've not had cause to change any of my hardware, as it works fine, no defects etc.) I suppose it all boils down to what one expects thier guitar to sound like.
    Epiphones are not Gibsons, so why would I want it to sound like a Gibson, it however is not short of the Gibson ES335 sound by much.
    Many blogers have complained about loose bits and pieces , I have not found this to be the case with my Epi.
    It is priced well within the average guiarists budget.
    Had I had access to this quality guitar when I was younger it would have saved me a lot of hardship trying to raise the money for a Gibson ES 335 Dot.
    As far as I am concerned my Epi is my main tool of trade.
    Why would one spend thousands of dollars on a Gibson when you can own a Epi for less than half the cost of the afore mentioned.
    As i have mentioned, I have not modified my Epi Es335 dot, I like it the way it is, it plays beautiful through my JTM 45 Marshall amp.
    Also I have found the quality of the Epi to be just as good as the Gibson, if not better than some of the Gibson ES335 dots.
    I think the Americans are starting to "slip" a bit with thier product quality.
    My Epi can be sweet or it can be agressive, I can ballad on it or I can AC/DC on it, it's a very well finished instrument, AND it is considerably more cost effective.
    Mine is a blond not a cherry, I find the cherry to be too common, every one seems to own one!
    All in all a very nice guitar, no complaints here.
    Keep em com'in Epipone.
    Ready to play straight out of the box, not like some of my other more expensive guitars, just about all of my more expensive guitars, needed some set up work done on them, not the Epiphone, it was ready to rock and roll right from the start, well almost, I changed the srings to Gibson vintage.
    Why pay excesive amounts of money for a Gibson (just because it is made in yanky land?).
    I suspect there are those amungst us who like to stand up and say, hey look at me,I've got the real thing!
    Well a Epiphone is not a Gibson, so as far as i am concerned I've got the real thing, an Epiphone real thing, not a Gibson.
    If Epiphone ES335's were good enough for the Beatles, they sure are more than good enough for me.
    All this aside, as I have mentioned, I love my Epiphone, my wife is very jealous, she complains, you never hold me like yo hold that guitar!haha.

  • from Lima Ohio February 21, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist Teacher

    Cherry Epi dot

    Great guitar for the money . i've been playing it so much my strat is getting jealous.

  • from Indiana, U.S.A. February 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AWESOME DOT 2

    I had one before, but traded it away for another guitar from Sweetwater. I regretted trading it in so I had to get another one. It is a great guitar for the price. It is good for Blues, Rock, Country, Jazz, or just about any music needing a electric guitar. The look of it is classic, the feel of it is also classic. The quality of this guitar is really good for the price you pay. The quality of Epiphone has really improved over the past few years, a lot of the hardware used on these guitars are the same used on some of the sister company, so that means a quality guitar. I would highly recommend this guitar for those on a tight budget, but still get a HIGH quality instrument. You won't regret it!

  • from Osan AB S. Korea November 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Cherry DOT

    This guitar is beautiful and plays quite nicely. It has good sustain. My only issue with it is playing harmonics. It just does not do harmonic notes nearly as well as my much cheaper Dean guitar.

  • from MILLERSBURG, MI August 6, 2013Music Background:
    53 years playing guitar, banjo, mandolin

    Epiphany Dot

    This guitar offers great value for the minimal cost compared to the Gibson 335. The guitar's fit and finish is immaculate. I was a little disappointed in the sustain and the tuners. I expected a more significant sustain based on other reviews. I have had some problems maintaining the instruments tuning but I can certainly live with that or change tuners. Overall I still believe the guitar is a great value. I am also pleased with Sweetwater's service as I received the guitar in two days well packed. Chris Leonard also emailed me pictures of the instrument to drool over while I awaited delivery. Great service.

  • from Indiana, USA February 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Dot

    This guitar was absolutely one of my favorites. I traded it in for another guitar from Sweetwater. I am seriously thinking about getting another Dot again. It played really great, had super tone when played through a Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue. I regreat trading this guitar away. Oh well, learn by your mistakes! I would highly recommend this guitar for any type of music from jazz, country, rock, rockabilly, etc... This guitar can handle any type of music.! It is a really good buy at this price listed.

  • from Spokane, WA January 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Exceptional value

    This must be one of the best bargains in the guitar world. The guitar is well made and plays very well. It also stays in tune like a much more expensive Gibson 335......It you are looking for a semihollow and cannot afford the price of a new Gibson 335, this is the answer.....

  • from EAST COAST /USA May 27, 2015Music Background:
    ALL AROUND PLAYER

    E/S335 BY EPIPHONE

    IF THEY COULD BUILD THESE ES 335'S LIKE THIS IN 1958 EVERYONE COULD AND WOULD OWN ONE.NOW THINGS (CNC) UNITS ARE TAKING OVER... THE HAND MADE GOODIE ARE GONE AND FOR THE BETTER AS WE ALL CAN SEE....

  • from chicago, il April 17, 2015Music Background:
    Crazy Amateur

    Very Good Guitar - Great Price

    Been playing guitar off and on for 40 years. I have played and owned tons of guitars. I favor Fender Strats, I prefer the "long" scale Strat neck. But there has always been that urge to own a Gibson ES335, and this is the closest I will ever get to realizing that dream.

    So the guitar...starting with what is most important, the sound. The pickups are better than I expected. Perhaps a bit wooden, they are missing something that I can't quite put my finger on. The word that comes to mind is soulless, but that is really harsh, and in the right hands, probably not true. Perhaps lack of color is a better description. With that said...

    The treble (bridge) pickup has good bite and is clear through clean amps, dirty when overdriven. Exactly what I was looking for. The neck pickup has a deep bluesy / jazzy sound but is missing the richness I was hoping for but did not expect at this price range. Regardless, for my style and level of playing the sound is fine. Just the right amount of grunt and bite. Great for rock, perhaps not as great for jazz where color and nuance make more of a difference. Of course pickups and caps are fairly inexpensive to swap out, just a bit of a pain on semi-hollow body guitars.

    The look and feel of the guitar is outstanding. The action is perhaps a tad high, but out of the box I was very impressed. The neck is straight and true. Intonation is spot on. The tuners have a good feel to them and the guitar stays in tune. The neck plays well however I miss a note or two here and there given the shorter than Fender scale. It is amazing how a small dimension can make such a great difference when you are accustomed to something else. The neck feels fat, which I prefer given my large hands.

    The finish is incredible for a guitar of this price. I also own an Epiphone Les Paul that I bought for a song a few years back. The fit and finish are incredible on both guitars...and not just for the price. Love the cream binding around the body. The neck - fret edges are nicely finished. A real joy to play.

    The guitar feels solid, almost heavy. The top strap location places the neck in a slightly different position than my strats, which exacerbates the shorter scale leading to a few note misses. But that is no fault of the guitar. The pots have that great viscous feel to them. No hum from the pickups. Chrome plating seems deep and looks great.

    If I were an ES335 nut and played bars, this is the guitar I would be travelling with. And for an amateur like me, this guitar fits the bill perfectly. Could not be happier with it, honestly. I rated it 4.0 trying to compromise between how it fits my playing level and the sound quality of the guitar. If it were just me, I would give it a five, perfectly happy with it. However, compared to the real thing, it is probably a 3.0 or 3.5. But I am not Larry Carlton, for me it is a very good guitar and an even greater value.

    Thanks to Sweetwater for the before sale check (did miss a knob that was not squarely installed) and the quick delivery. I have purchased several guitars sight unseen from Sweetwater and have not been disappointed even one time!

  • from United States May 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone Dot

    Loved my purchase of my Epiphone Dot Cherry. It's the closest thing to a 335 that I could get for half of the price of a 335. My only issue would be I may want to switch out the pickups for Gibson 57's. Other than that it is awesome and plays great! Very easy action.

  • from Chicago, Il January 25, 2011Music Background:
    student, hobbyist, solo/band playing.

    nice guitar

    I have an epiphone dot with the cherry red finish and it looks beautiful and plays pretty well. The stock pickups were decent at best. I swapped them out with gibson 57's in the neck and bridge. Once i did this, the guitar sounds fantastic. It sounds so nice now but the only thing i don't like about the guitar other than the stock pickups is the action on the bridge. I have adjusted it over and over again, and i cannot get it as low as i'd like without it buzzing. Other than this, it is a fantastic value

  • from Urbana, IL November 23, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Very, Very good guitar!!

    I have several Epiphone DOTs. While they don't have the luxurious feel of a Gibson 335 or even an Epi Sheraton, for that matter.... they still play very nice and stay in tune just fine. Also they have a great warm tone that I just LOVE!! They sound phat and lush through my all tube Marshall or my Peavey Classic 30. I play classic rock, country, blues, and hard rock and the DOTs work well for any style. At first I was worried about un-controllable feedback with higher gain and volume.. but that's not a problem at all. The DOTs play good, sound great, and look BEAUTIFUL!! And are extremely affordable!! I love 'em!!!

  • from Sacremento, CA April 1, 2004

    Love At First Sight

    Being an Intermediate guitarist, my old electric was not working anymore. it could not do what i needed it to do for me, and the tone was horrible. i needed a new guitar fast. i went to my local music store, and i tried out a few different guitars, with little success. Then, i tried out the Dot. it was love at first sight. not only did it have a warm, full tone, its playability was better than some of the more expensive models i had tried. it works on any style of music that i play, and i have never had any problem with it. The best part is, it was affordable. this is one of the best guitars you can get for under $1,000. i highly recommend getting one.

  • from Morganton, NC February 1, 2004

    Dot Rocks

    30 years ago I owned a Gibson ES 335, and foolish youth that I was I didn't keep it. Last year when I decided to take up guitar playing again I looked for for a 335. Have you priced them lately? Or even a 333? Then I found my Epi Dot. Everything good I recall about my Gibson is present in the Dot. It will sing. It will growl. Wonderful sustain with the set neck and semihollow body. The action is comfortable. A few blemishes in the finish but nothing major. I realize I'm an amateur and perhaps look at things differently than a pro, but I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this immensely playable guitar. When you factor in price you can't go wrong with the Dot.

Questions about the Epiphone Dot - Cherry?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway