0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Epiphone Casino - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Casino - Natural?

Questions about the Epiphone Casino - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Cleveland February 16, 2017Music Background:
    All types of music

    Nice guitar

    A great, versatile tone, beautiful finish, and good hardware make this a great guitar for any level of playing. Feels and sounds great, specially through the Vox AC30 Amplug.

  • from Tejas October 31, 2016Music Background:
    Former gigger, bedroom warrior

    Fun With P-90's

    I wanted a hollowbody, and I really wanted P-90's. I wanted something with vibe, fun to play, but I didn't want to spend a ton. I have a lot of nice guitars and have been playing about 35 years. I'm pretty much a blues, blues-rock kind of guy. I looked at a lot of guitars, and there are some cool ones out there, i.e. Reverend, Gretsch, etc., too many to name. At the end of the day, I kept coming back to the casino based on price point and reviews I had read. This was never going to be my number one, just something to have fun with and maybe, if I liked it enough, something to spur me to buy something more expensive, like an ES-330.

    It arrived in great shape, as usual from Sweetwater. I slapped a Bigsby B-70 on it and set it up to my liking.

    Through my Twin Reverb and my Blackstar HT-50, this thing sounds pretty dang good! I thought about upgrading pickups, but the neck pickup on the Casino is not typical, so it's not as simple as changing them out like most guitars. But these P-90's aren't half bad...I think I'll get along just fine with them, so for now, they stay.

    This guitar is well built. It's not going to fool you into thinking it's anything but a Chinese made Epiphone, but it is at least as good as you would expect. The finish is nice, the frets are filed nicely, it looks and plays great! And, with the addition of the Bigsby, it has lots of vibe! It stays in tune just fine and I find myself not wanting to put it down. I'm not wild about the neck carve, it's kind of flat across the back and thinnish, but it doesn't bother me and after a few minutes of playing, I don't notice it.

    Although the body shape looks 335ish, the body joins the neck further down, and higher registers aren't accessible like a 335. I don't spend a lot of time up there anyway.

    I'm happy with my decision to buy the Casino. For a budget axe, I couldn't be more pleased.

  • from Hawthorne, NJ September 3, 2016Music Background:
    Playing for 9 months

    5 stars for sweetwater 4 for epiphone

    I ordered this casino and revived it very promptly, however after playing to for a week I decided to take off the pick guard. Underneath was a couple of markings that I can only describe as discoloration spots were the pick guard usually is covering. I called sweetwater and the said they would send me a new one AND let me keep the one I had now. I just received the new one yesterday is and it EXACTLY how I wanted it to be. Dakota Bishop was my tech engineer and did an incredible of getting the new one to me and made sure it did not have the same problem. Overall I love the guitar have now and I love the people at sweetwater even more.

  • from December 13, 2015

    fun to play

    This guitar rocks! Ran it through 212 deville, love the sound. Ste up was great out of the box. For an inexpensive guitar, it is a blast.

  • from Fort Wayne October 23, 2015Music Background:
    Rock, Blues, '60's

    Love it! Can't put it down!

    I've wanted one of these guitars since I was 13 years old and finally pulled the on one trigger last night! I'm not going to lie I'm a die hard Beatles fan and ever since I saw the rooftop session on Abbey Road studios, a natural finish Casino is all I have ever wanted. First I had several to choose from and wanted the most visible grain possible. Upon inspection by my son a very gifted musician/luthier, the finish, frets, neck, nut and binding were extremely well put together. Upon playing it, well let's just say, right out of the box it was amazing. The intonation all the way up the neck was excellent. The action was superb, and the ability to "tap" play on the neck was way better than expected. It only took me 40 years to get one and it was worth the wait. The Sweetwater staff was excellent and gave me a great deal on an Epi hard shell case and a set of .11 strings(it comes with .10's) which I will swap as soon as I wear these out! Thank you Ben for all the help and you know I'll be back for an AC15 or AC30 as soon as she's paid off lol! For the money you won't find a better iconic guitar or a better sales staff around than at Sweetwater! Thanks again, I love her!!!

  • from July 16, 2015

    Epiphone Casino

    My cousin loves it!!!!

  • from November 20, 2015

    Good guitar

    Actually a fantastic guitar, action and setup are better than expected for the price. Only thing I don't care for are the strings are not the greatest (not a big deal) theneck and harmonics are really nice. I have wanted this guitar since I was 15, now 52 it's about time

  • from New Hampshire September 17, 2015Music Background:
    been playing guitar since late 60s. Rock and Blues

    Epiphone Casino, what a surprise

    Being a guitar snob, I have a few top of the line guitars from Strat deluxes to custom Teles to top of the line Taylors. So I wanted a less costly guitar that when my friends ask me to play one of my instruments I could give them that. So I saw the Casino at my local store, I had never bought a guitar at such low price, found it user friendly at the shop so I picked it up as something to leave out all day. To my surprise when I plugged it in I loved it. It has the classic sound great for blues and jazz. So since yesterday I have spent hours on this guitar. and just to make sure I took out a couple of my guitars that cost 5 to 6 times more that
    this and I am surprised at myself for loving this guitar so much. When I picked up the guitar yesterday I was already shopping for a set of Seymour Duncan pickups but the P90s on this guitar sound great. I really never thought I would like a non-USA made guitar so much it is a pleasure to play....

  • from SLC, UT August 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    This is an excellent guitar

    When I bought this guitar, I already had in my possession a Fender Stratocaster and a Gibson Flying V, both of which were considerably more expensive. This guitar played and sounded far and away better out of the box than any guitar I've owned previously. Hardware and electronics are about on par for the price range; the selector switch and knobs are noisy. Apart from that, the guitar is impeccable. The finish is flawless, and it plays itself. I found the neck to feel narrow which I don't mind. The stock p90s sound massive and woody. Fat, but also defined. While a hollow body p90 guitar may sound somewhat limiting in terms of heavier distorted sounds, it really isn't. This guitar can go to some surprising places, and for this reason I have since gotten rid of my other guitars. I've spent a lot of time drooling over instruments that cost 4 times as much as this and upwards, and I'm really not sure why.

  • from Colorado April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur guitar enthusiast

    Everything I expected

    Really happy with this guitar. I had read the reviews and it sounded like a lot of guitar for the money. It's pretty well built, and the sound is amazing. I wish I could tell you more about it technically, but all I know is it has a nice resonance and delivers that "60s" sound. Not to mention it's a great value in an iconic instrument. Now, I just need to get better at playing it. Also, I'd never ordered a guitar online, but the buying experience and customer service has been great. I'd do it again in a minute.

  • from Oceanside, CA March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Semi professional guitarist

    An Excellent Guitar

    Just what I was hoping for. It's a beautiful instrument with a very nice tone. I wanted a Beatle guitar and this Lennonesque Epiphone is just right. I'll enjoy playing it for many years.

  • from Ma March 29, 2017Music Background:
    Pro player

    Epi Casino

    Guitar was flawless,sounds great,even better than I expected,Sweetwater is terrific,to deal with.

Questions about the Epiphone Casino - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway