0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Epiphone B.B. King Lucille - Ebony Reviews

4.5 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone B.B. King Lucille - Ebony?

Questions about the Epiphone B.B. King Lucille - Ebony?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Sacramento, California December 15, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist extraordinaire

    LUCILLE

    They did a fantastic job on building that Epiphone. Thank you Tim Harrington for picking that guitar. You do a fabulous job.
    ]

  • from November 1, 2016

    Epiphone Lucille

    The tone versatility is impressive. Plays better than anything I've ever owned.

  • from El Paso October 14, 2016

    Not What I Expected

    After reading each and every one of the 21 glittering reviews and watching video after video review about this guitar a I went ahead and gave it a chance. Being a big fan of B.B. King I was really disappointed with the build quality of the instrument. I am not sure if the problem was just because of a defective batch of instruments sent from Epiphone, but to cut my review short, I had to order a replacement and shortly after receiving it, return it as well. (The first one had a buzz sound on the 19th fret, 1st and 2nd strings and the knob was worn. The second one look used as the guard and bottom pickup had no guard and were already scratched.)
    Besides the flaws in the instrument, if you decide to buy it and it turns out ok, you will be surprised at what you can do with it. It goes from soft-jazzy to aggressive overdrive with little to no effort. The pickups along the 6-position varitone knob widen the spectrum immensely for any musician looking to play different genres with the same guitar. IF you are one to play high on the frets (19+) you might not want to choose this style of cut since it limits the space for your hand to really get in there.
    Having said that, the only upside to this incident was the EXCEPTIONAL customer service from sweetwater. From day one they tried to resolve all my issues and once there was nothing else to do, they offered me a refund for the instrument. This level of quality service toward us, the customers, is perhaps the only reason why, whenever I think about buying an instrument, I think about sweetwater first.
    Now that the process for reimbursement is being processed I am thinking about getting another model. No Epi anymore, perhaps a Godin XTsa in case anybody has experienced the same issue as me and looks for a dynamic range of options in a guitar.

  • from September 27, 2016Music Background:
    I play mostly blues

    Very nice

    It is a very nice guitar and I love the BB sound that I can get from it. The only issue I have with it is when I'm playing it my hand turns black. Must be what they finished the fret board with? Hopefully it will be temporary? It does look great and is comfortable to play.

  • from Pnw August 9, 2016

    She sweet!!!!!!!

    It's a really nice guitar,switch is cool nice blues tones are easily obtained.Its's as close to a gibson w/o being one.QUALITY is great and it's made in China.If you like blues baby SG for blues is top notch and les paul is great too.For the money though Lucille is sweet.
    ..Peace and blues to you.

  • from Carl junction, Mo July 26, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician, mostly retired

    Lucielle

    Bought this guitar, and I have to say I'm very pleased, I had to have it set up by a pro after I got it and it plays and sounds great. Very hard to beat for the price. This is the first Chinese or foreign made guitar I have ever owned.

  • from Renton, WA June 14, 2015

    Sweet Lucille

    First of all, I've only had this guitar for 4 days so I know some people will think my opinion doesn't count, but I believe in first impressions, at least for this. My first impression is wow! I mean, I know it's not a Gibson but with the Gibson Lucille's going for $4200 right now and this going for $700 it's a no brainer. You can get 1 Gibson for the price of 6 Epiphones. I mean, you could change everything, the pickups and pots and switch and probably even the varitone and all the wiring for that price. Not that you would want to. I mean, I think the sound of these pickups is plenty fine for me. I gotta hand it to the Chinese, they're making a nice guitar. I checked my guitar up and down and every which way and I could not find any visible flaws. I have been playing with all the different sounds it makes and it sounds great to me. But then I'm not in a band, I'm not going out "gigging" anywhere. I just like to play for me, and maybe for church on Sundays.

  • from bowie, MD June 4, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Just got it...

    I ordered mine the day B.B. died... it was back ordered for a few weeks until Epiphone could make more, i guess. Anyhow, the level of communication i received by my rep Kenny was unlike any I have had by any online store. He called my home # after I placed the order and spoke to my wife about my purchase (uhh.. be sure to leave your cell # in your contact if you only want them to talk to you!) But that was fine. :) The day sweetwater did my 55 point inspection, Kenny sent me a bunch of pictures of it and then the next day a tracking #.. 2 days later, she was at my door. The quality of the Epihone Lucille is amazing. Fit and finish are perfect and it sounds great! thanks sweetwater.

  • from Palm Harbor, FL March 22, 2015Music Background:
    Former full time musician, now just for personal enjoyment

    Great guitar!

    I wanted this model since last year and ordered when they were in stock in January. Really exceeded my expectations. My only complaint is that they apparently dyed the fret board and if you play for a long time (which I do) you will get some trace black dye on your finger tips. Cleans off easily. Other than that, lots of usable tones, stays in tune very well, neck is very comfortable, build quality was perfect. Body swings out slightly when it hangs from the strap but I do not notice it when playing at all. I've played a few different types of music on it but the singing single notes and the clear sounding chords make it great for blues. Awesome guitar overall.

  • from Carlisle Pa. February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Ex semi pro/Teacher/collector and always still a student

    A real TONE MASTER!

    This is one guitar that will cover any tone or style you wish to play. I have wanted the Gibson Lucille for a few years but never was able to save quite enough to buy one. After buying a few other Epiphones and seeing the incredible craftsmanship (the quality and craftsmanship of most Epiphones I have seen and played that were produced end of 2013 through 2014 has been excellent!) I decided to give this Epiphone version a try. As with the previous Epi's, This is also very well made and plays and sounds fantastic! And for the price you simply cannot go wrong! You will quickly get over the fact that this is a LARGE guitar, The range of tones and the ease of playing/Bending on this neck is something you would expect only from guitars costing 4-5 times as much. Add the awesome and personal customer service provided by Sweetwater this is a MUST BUY!

  • from Clinton, ME July 20, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, gigs, mic nights and pure pleasure from playing

    Thank you Sweetwater for the replacement

    I can't get enough of this guitar and wrote a previous review about my blemished Lucille I bought. Sweetwater (Ryan actually) offered to replace it with a brand new one just like it for a minimal cost and even paid the return shipping!!!
    THIS is one of the reasons I keep buying and WILL keep buying from Sweetwater. It seems as soon as I receive a guitar, I order another one. Everyone who has seen and played my Lucille wants one, they are that good. I own 7 Gibsons but play the Epiphone Lucille most of the time. It is so versatile, it does and plays ANYTHING. This one is absolutely perfect in every way.
    Thank you Sweetwater for making me happy, as always.

  • from Texas July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist. I have played off and on for 30 years.

    Love this GUITAR !

    Great guitar for the money. Sweetwater had the action set up perfect out of the box. I like the maple neck and the rosewood fingerboard. Fit and finish on this guitar was first class.

  • from Clinton, ME June 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist but getting better by the day...

    Wow, just WOW

    First things first, I DO also own a Gibson Lucille. I don't play it because it's on my wall with BB King's autograph on it. Looking at it every day killed me to the point I had to have one to PLAY but wasn't ready to drop another 4 grand for a duplicate.
    I bought a demo Epiphone and honestly wish I had spent a few extra bucks and bought a new one as it was obviously damaged, right on the front of the guitar. I don't like that, I'm just picky I guess. I plugged in and played for about 5 minutes and broke a string so I guess this one was demoed HARD.
    After replacing the strings, WOW, It came to life. I can not believe the sounds and adjustability that this guitar has. I am surprised Gibson doesn't make another model like this but there is NOTHING else like it. Other than the big DENT and break in the paint on the front, the guitar is beautiful. She's a big girl, but she has a big sound. I love the warm, mellow tones created by this guitar. The action is low, tuners are fantastic , bridge is unique, gold hardware is gorgeous, everything about this guitar is perfect....except that darn dent!!! If given the chance I will trade this one for a new one.

  • from Bridgewater, mass June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist.

    No Case

    Would not, could not spend the money without having the case included. I have never bought a guitar without one being included. The key here is having it included in the price, even at cost, plus 10%. Protect your guitar. I'm sure guitar is great. Service is awesome.

  • from Hurricane, WV USA March 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Best Guitar I Ever Played

    WOULD'VE BEEN A 5; HOWEVER, THE BACKPLATE MOUNT WAS NOT GLUED OR CUT CORRECTLY FOR IT WOULD MOVE IF PUSHED ON SLIGHTLY. SWEETWATER DID OFFER TO HANDPICK ANOTHER LUCILLE THAT WAS NOT, BUT I COULDN'T PART FROM THIS ONE; SO I GORILLA GLUED IT.

  • from Cincinnati, Ohio February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ephiphone B B King

    great sound, excellent customer service

  • from Virginia Beaver January 20, 2014

    Epi BB KING

    I am an old run of the mill wanna be. I've had this guitar nearly three weeks and have been playing it every day since Christmas. This BB KING model sounds great even with my hands on it. I wanted a black guitar and this was my selection. If the top, back and sides are laminated, it will take Mr. King to discern so. The electronics are working properly with no hums, snaps or "loose" wire crackles. There is no static when pots and toggle switches are operated. I have looked from head stock to end button and the finish on this Chinese-made guitar is as perfect as these old eyes can see...even in bright light with cheaters. I opened up the back plate thinking I would have to shake manufacture's saw dust from this hiding place. It was perfectly clean of debris. I would recommend you have a set of your favorite strings handy and change them as soon as you pull this guitar from its box. I broke the E on my first day with a whole step bend. I checked intonation, string height, etc. Everything was fine by me on initial play.

    Great buy!

    Ed N. is my Sales Engineer. Service to a "T". Thanks Ed and all the SWEETWATER Team.

  • from Baton Rouge, LA November 13, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    What a great guitar!

    I have a Gretsch Country Gentleman in my studio and wanted a Gibson Lucille for the Gibson vibe in my recordings. After reading the reviews for the Epiphone Lucille, I decided to try it. This guitar saved me $3,000.00. The craftsmanship is excellent and the sheer beauty of the instrument is breath taking. And the sound is fabulous. The tone selector and the stereos feature blows me away. Now I can have the Chet Atkins sound AND the B.B. King vibe.

  • from Midwest City, OK June 3, 2013Music Background:
    Immediate player

    Epiphone B.B. King Lucille

    I have always wanted a B.B. King Epiphone Guitar because of its tone and ease of playing. I am very impressed with the style, volume control, and tuning. Plus the price was right!

  • from MississUga< Ont March 20, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist musician

    EXCELLENT BANG FOR THE BUCK

    COULD YOU PLEASE REMOVE MY LAST REVIEW AND REPLACE IT WITH THIS ONE . I CAN'T TYPE WELL WITH THE IPAD...... THANKS...
    .
    I have a few guitars in my arsenal (2 Gibsons, 1 Martin, 1 Gretsch, 1 Fender Stratocaster, 1 Taylor to name a few).. BUT.. This guitar is my all time fave.. So easy to play.. And sounds fantastic.. I would highly recommend this guitar to someone on a budget. Michael, my salesman, is a great guy. Can' t ask for more than that. Hats off to Epihone and Sweetwater. The case arrived damaged and we are working on returning and replacing it. If you want a great sounding guitar for blues or any other type of music.. GET ONE of these. The vari-tone gives so many sound variations. I have not tried the stereo output but I am sure it works to a "T". I also like the fine tuners to get the pitch right on when tuning.

  • from West Virginia USA December 1, 2012Music Background:
    Professional guitarist/recording engineer/recording studio owner

    Absolutely the "Best Bang for the Buck"

    I'll make this simple and to the point.
    I have been playing everyday since 1954. I play mostly the blues and some country. This instrument provides all of what you need and none of what you don't.
    I have owned so many "high end" instruments over my life. Gibson/Fender/ PRS/Martin/Collings/Taylor/Santa Cruz...ect
    No it doesn't have a nitro finish like it's more expensive Gibson cousin or Gibson 490R and 489 pickups BUT the pickups in this guitar are very decent and capable of producing excellent tone and mojo.
    The Varitone takes some experimenting with but has useful abilities.
    Out of the box it has a real good setup (at least mine did) and the pots are of good quality even if they are not full sized CTS ones. The pickup selector switch is solid. The tuners are very good and rock solid. The intonation was excellent.
    In the end... it all comes down to ones God given talent,hands,ears and musical soul, so if you possess these things then you can create amazing music with this guitar. Put it together with a great vintage all tube amp and let your musical heart soar!
    It has become my "GO TO" guitar night after night, performance after performance. It never lets me down. It's a pleasure to hold, great balance and feel. You can't go wrong on this instrument.

  • from ROLLA, MO USA November 25, 2012Music Background:
    semi-pro

    EPIPHONE LUCILLE

    compared to the Gibson version this one's a no brainer!!! I tried them both locally and went straight to my great friends at Sweetwater and ordered the Epiphone. It arrived perfectly set up for me,and the best part is I saved over $2k. Thanks guys, I couldn't be more pleased.

  • from February 17, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    nice quality , great tone

    I'm very pleased with this guitar . I am glad I got it at sweetwater ! It makes a difference !

  • from Silver Bay, Minneosta USA August 1, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist & Student

    So fine Lucille

    The various voices of this guitar are unreal. The voices are
    changed using the Vari-Tone filtering 6-postion switch with the
    chickenhead knob.

    Then, you also have the tone controls for each pickup toboot !
    So fine !

    The size is much larger diameter than my Epi Special II.
    I love the looks and the weight is still a bit heavy. The
    finish is total black... glossy and shiney nice black.
    The inlays on the neck are precise and look like jewels.
    The genuine gold accents and platings are a stand out
    which only few can equal or match in beauty.
    I am fond of the pick guard as well, the brown with
    white trim is a nice contrasting touch. Less we forget,
    the total white trim from head to toe is very flashy and
    pretty and under low lighting will stand out as only
    Lucille could. She's so fine !
    Very pleased. I believe this guitar is worth every penny.

    I have been playing for a year with a Epi Special II beginner's Les
    Paul and done well... and this Lucille is my major upgrade.
    My anniversary present to myself. I play the blues and
    black gospel... including reading the notes off staff paper.
    I am age 65 now. Hats off to Lucille, Blues Boy King and
    Epiphone ! Long live the Blues.

    I also ordered a strap and hard case for Lucille as well.
    The delivery of Lucille from Sweetwater was flawless.
    Thanks Sweetwater for the professional service.




Questions about the Epiphone B.B. King Lucille - Ebony?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway